Now Reading:
Maison et Objet 2020: Minimalist design in the spotlight

Maison et Objet 2020: Minimalist design in the spotlight

Maison et Objet brings together, as it does every year, an impressive number of brands, from all universes, and whether they are joyfully emerging or proudly established, all came to present their novelties and the products that set them apart. Among them, our preference went towards minimal and well-made pieces, which naturally stood out thanks to a clean, efficient and very contemporary design. Here is our selection of products among 12 brands and designers to follow very closely.

 

 

101 Copenhagen 

 

The young Danish brand 101 Copenhagen founded in 2017, is the first to have drawn our attention to Maison et Objet, with a stand offering timeless pieces and novelties in beautiful materials. Indeed, 101 CPH is committed to offering objects and furniture in perfect harmony with the know-how and the Scandinavian tradition. The collection presented is all about natural shades, close to the earth and nature, with pieces made by craftsmen and whose inspiration also comes from Japanese technique and lifestyle.

 

In this sense, the vase series Cobra appeared to us to be a beautiful representation of the aesthetic aspirations of the brand, as well as the very massive Brutus Chair, the very mystical collection of Dawn Lamps and the rug and marble stool Neo set. Singular and symbol-filled pieces that are perfect ambassadors of minimalist design.

 

Maison et Objet 2020, White ceramic vase series by 101 Copenhagen
Maison et Objet 2020, Dawn floor lamp by 101 Copenhagen
Maison et Objet 2020, Neo marble stool by 101 Copenhagen
Maison et Objet 2020, Brutus metal chair by 101 Copenhagen

 

 

Asaf Weinbroom

 

Asaf Weinbroom is an industrial designer, whose studio has focused on the development of luminaires since 2009. Using mainly wood and simple and functional mechanical principles, his entire collection is handcrafted with a real concern for creating minimal environmental impact. The Israeli designer, in his creative process, has the desire to create high-performance luminaires thanks to a high-end craftsmanship that he himself has learnt being confronted with a country with a small industry compared to the rest of the world.

 

But it is precisely free from all the constraints related to mass production that Asaf Weinbroom has been able to experiment and create by putting forward his passion for moving objects and the art of articulating things that allow his lighting fixtures to transform themselves. Bringing together art, design, and technology, we are particularly passionate about the Sam Lighting presented at Maison et Objet representing a face, in-wall and hanging versions. 

 

Maison et Objet 2020, contemporary wooden pendant light by Asaf Weinbroom

Maison et Objet 2020, face Sam wall light by Asaf Weinbroom
Maison et Objet 2020, minimal wall light by Asaf Weinbroom

 

 

BEEM

 

Co-created by the renowned designer Samuel Wilkinson and lighting specialists Chris Stimson and Bujar Shkodra, the brand BEEM offers a collection of LED lights designed in a cheerful, graphic and highly contemporary aesthetic. The objective of BEEM is to offer lamps at the cutting edge of LED light source technology, with simple but bold shapes, capable of adapting to all types of environments.

 

The manufacturing process includes a strong commitment to creating luminaires that are designed to last, and to further maximize their performance, by relying on the highest quality components available today as well as hand-crafted manufacturing.

 

Maison et Objet 2020, minimal LED lamps by BEEM
Maison et Objet 2020, minimal LED lamps by BEEM

 

 

cc-tapis

 

The brand of high-end rugs cc-tapis took advantage of the Maison et Objet trade fair to present new products, including Plissé, designed by Cristina Celestino, Super Fake "Hot" by Bethan Laura Wood, and Bliss Natural by Mae Engelgeer, three of the most emblematic female designers who took part in the current collection. In addition to the product, the staging designed by Studio MILO was also very pleasant and allowed to truly immerse oneself in the dreamlike and retro-futuristic universe offered.

 

Already seen during the presentation of the catalogue Spectrum of cc-tapis, the stand integrates chromatic gradations with a clever visual impact, plunging us into an atmosphere borrowed from the past as from fiction ...

 

 

Maison et Objet 2020, cc-carpet new collection, Laura Bethan Wood
Maison et Objet 2020, cc-tapis new collection
Maison et Objet 2020, cc-tapis new collection
Maison et Objet 2020, cc-tapis new collection

 

 

Cruso

 

Cruso is a young Belgian brand whose philosophy and concept will inspire many. Indeed, while offering warm and minimalist design furniture, the company has adopted an environmentally friendly production process by, for instance, using only local and sustainable raw materials. Each piece is made in Europe and has been imagined by renowned designers such as Keiji Takeuchi, Julien Renault, Jean-François D'Or, Big Game and Benoît Deneufbourg.

 

Pure lines, noble materials, quality at the service of work environments as well as residential projects. Refined details that make us believe in this brand and its strong potential for the future. Would we not have here something worthy of a Muuto in its early days?

 

Maison et Objet 2020, Cruso Belgian wooden furniture, shelf designed by Big Game

Maison et Objet 2020, Cruso Belgian wooden furniture, shelf designed by Julien Renault
Maison et Objet 2020, Cruso Belgian wooden furniture, bench designed by Jean-François D'Or

 

 

Darkroom

 

Darkroom is one of the good surprises of this edition of Maison et Objet 2020. Although having an in-store presence since 2009 at London, it was a true discovery for us. We particularly loved the new collection of furniture, simple, geometric and so colorful, with a particular affection for its big thickness, so singular.

 

Among the novelties, the brand that tends to make design accessible by moving ever more towards bold colors and patterns, presented a series of abstract wall prints in perfect harmony with the furniture series. Darkroom is a brand that does not leave indifferent, everyone will inevitably see his curiosity piqued by a beautiful object of the booth...

 

Maison et Objet 2020, Darkroom London, new furniture collection

Maison et Objet 2020, Darkroom London, new furniture collection
Maison et Objet 2020, Darkroom London, new furniture collection
Maison et Objet 2020, Darkroom London, new furniture collection
Maison et Objet 2020, Darkroom London, new furniture collection

 

 

ENOstudio

 

The French publisher ENOstudio also presented its new products, including an interesting wall light, Beluga. Indeed, this piece stands out from the others by its innovative design and unexpected shapes, and although at first designed for a Parisian environment, it is totally easy to imagine it in the most beautiful apartments in London, Milan or even New York.

 

Moreover, the brand's objective is to position itself as an ambassador of the French design, by bringing up to date details and styles that have made France a great nation in the decorative world. 

 

Maison et Objet 2020, ENOstudio, Beluga wall light
Maison et Objet 2020, ENOstudio, Beluga wall light

 

 

Mathieu Peyroulet

 

Within the selection Rising Talents highlighting this year several French designers, we has a crush on the refined work of Mathieu Peyroulet. The designer, after graduating from Ensci Les Ateliers, was selected to take part in numerous residencies and design and art festivals, including the Villa Noailles, the Cité de la Céramique and Villa Kujoyama, in Japan.

 

From these events were born delicate pieces, made of glass, ceramics, for which the process of research seems to hold the designer firmly to heart, always more inventive when it comes to a material he loves and is fascinating about...

 

Maison et Objet 2020, Rising Talents, French design, Mathieu Peyroulet
Maison et Objet 2020, Rising Talents, French design, Mathieu Peyroulet
Maison et Objet 2020, Rising Talents, French design, Mathieu Peyroulet
Maison et Objet 2020, Rising Talents, French design, Mathieu Peyroulet

 

 

NOOM

 

NOOM Being one of our partners on our online gallery, we are all the more excited when new products are announced. On the occasion of Maison et Objet, the studio Ukrainian studio unveiled its first-ever furniture collection, in honor of the 100th anniversary of the Bauhaus School. Inspired by the elementary and functional forms of movement, the studio has created the Gropius ChairThe design is a composition of circles and cylinders forming a contemporary and colourful seat, in harmony with the style of the NOOM.

 

Accompanied by sleek metal sideboards and sideboards, the new Vases The limited edition collection has also been expanded, offering a new shine to these now well-known pieces with a gradient finish.

 

Maison et Objet 2020, NOOM, Gropius furniture collection

Maison et Objet 2020, NOOM, new Genke Limited Edition vase
Maison et Objet 2020, NOOM, Gropius furniture collection

Maison et Objet 2020, NOOM, new Malevich Limited Edition vase

 

 

 

Pierre de Valck

 

The young designer Pierre de Valck has exhibited a series of furniture with a minimalist design, in the selection Maison et Objet stand Belgium Design booth. The will of the Belgian designer is here to highlight the raw and exceptional aspect of several million years old mineral stones, as precious objects containing the collective memory of time. Both functional and decorative, the collection highlights different materials such as Jasper stone, Lapis Lazuli and petrified wood.

 

With a desire for real sustainability, the work of Pierre de Valck is undeniably part of a translation, but also an insertion of the symbolism in everyday life, with the aim of creating attachment to an object that has become precious, for each individual, but also for the collective.

 

"A stone is a stone, but when offsetted onto an aluminum backdrop, it suddenly becomes a jewel with a story to tell."

Pierre de Valck

 

Maison et Objet 2020, Pierre de Valck, Cabinet with stone, Belgium Design booth

Maison et Objet 2020, Pierre de Valck, Cabinet with stone, Belgium Design booth
Maison et Objet 2020, Pierre de Valck, Cabinet with stone, Belgium Design booth
Maison et Objet 2020, Pierre de Valck, Cabinet with stone, Belgium Design booth
Maison et Objet 2020, Pierre de Valck, Cabinet with stone, Belgium Design booth

 

 

Techxture

 

Techxture merges technology and textures to generate unconventional design objects, and was founded after the association of the interior design studio As Duas por Três and Digitalab, using the technological know-how Pear Panel. With the firm intention of blurring the lines between art, design and technology, the collective explores materials such as marble, engineered stone, ceramics and recycled glass by reinventing them, giving them new assets and new forms, thanks to the modern technology and digital manufacturing.

 

Thus, Techxture has appropriated the principle of morphing, which consists in merging forms, objects, materials, in order to metamorphose them into a new and third state. The collective, exploring new forms, also seeks to detect new functions...

 

Maison et Objet 2020, Techxture, white marble lamp
Maison et Objet 2020, Techxture, marble book ends
Maison et Objet 2020, Techxture, black marble coffee table
Maison et Objet 2020, Techxture, decorative marble trays

 

 

Toni Grilo

 

Designer Toni Grilo was also in the spotlight at Maison et Objetwith a presentation of his recent work for several brands, including INOT, Marm and BlackCork. Many of these pieces have marble as a common raw material, including the extraordinary chair Arco, and a new lighting series called Satelite, for Marm.

 

A new and elegant way of conceiving the design of marble objects, including roundness and therefore a certain delicacy in the forms, whether it be the luminaires or the chair. In any case, here are beautiful and promising pieces for the evolution of these brands.

 

Maison et Objet 2020, Toni Grilo, Arco chair for INOT
Maison et Objet 2020, Toni Grilo, Arco chair for INOT
Maison et Objet 2020, Toni Grilo, Arco chair for INOT
Maison et Objet 2020, Toni Grilo, Satellite marble lamp for Marm

 

LIKE and and SHARE!

T H A N K S

 

Share This Articles
Written by

Chloé founded Huskdesignblog in 2016. Ever since, she is decoding every nook and cranny to find the best interiors and furniture ideas for her beloved readers and followers, eager for beautiful things.

Input your search keywords and press Enter.

Now Reading:
Maison et Objet 2020: Le design minimaliste à l’honneur

Maison et Objet 2020: Le design minimaliste à l’honneur

Le salon Maison et Objet rassemble comme chaque année un nombre impressionnant de marques, tous univers confondus, et qu’elles soient joyeusement émergentes ou fièrement établies, toutes sont venues présenter leurs nouveautés et les produits enclins à les différencier. Parmi elles, notre préférence est allée vers des pièces minimales et bien faites, qui se sont naturellement démarquées grâce à un design épuré, efficace et très contemporain. Voici notre sélection de produits parmi 12 marques et designers à suivre de très près.

 

 

101 Copenhagen

 

La jeune marque danoise 101 Copenhagen, fondée en 2017, est la première à avoir attiré notre attention à Maison et Objet, grâce à un stand proposant des pièces intemporelles et des nouveautés aux belles matières. En effet, 101 CPH a à coeur de proposer des objets et mobilier en parfait accord avec le savoir-faire et la tradition scandinave. La collection présentée est toute en nuances naturelles, proches de la terre et de la nature, avec des pièces réalisées par des artisans et dont l’inspiration vient également de la technique et du lifestyle Japonais.

 

En ce sens, la série de vases Cobra nous est apparue comme une belle représentation des aspirations esthétiques de la marque, ainsi que la mtrès massive Chaise Brutus, la collection de lampes très mystiques Dawn et l’ensemble tapis/tabouret en marbre Neo. Des pièces singulières et emplies de symboles en parfaites ambassadrices du design minimaliste.

 

Maison et Objet 2020, White ceramic vase series by 101 Copenhagen
Maison et Objet 2020, Dawn floor lamp by 101 Copenhagen
Maison et Objet 2020, Neo marble stool by 101 Copenhagen
Maison et Objet 2020, Brutus metal chair by 101 Copenhagen

 

 

Asaf Weinbroom

 

Asaf Weinbroom est un designer industriel, dont le studio s’est concentré sur la rélisation de luminaires depuis 2009. Utilisant principalement le bois et des principes mécaniques simples et fonctionnels, sa collection toute entière est réalisée à la main, dans un réel souci de créer un impact environnemental minimal. Le designer israëlien, dans son processus de création, a le désir de réaliser des luminaires performants grâce à un savoir-faire artisanal haut de gamme qu’il a lui-même appris étant confronté à un pays avec une petite industrie comparé au reste du monde.

 

Mais c’est justement libéré de toute contrainte apparentée à la masse production qu’Asaf Weinbroom a pu expérimener et créer en mettant en avant sa passion pour les objets en mouvement et l’art des articulations qui permet à ses luminaires de se transformer. Rassemblant art, design et technique, nous nous sommes particulièrement passionnés pour le luminaire Sam présenté à Maison et Objet, représentant un visage, en versions murale et suspendue. 

 

Maison et Objet 2020, contemporary wooden pendant light by Asaf Weinbroom

Maison et Objet 2020, face Sam wall light by Asaf Weinbroom
Maison et Objet 2020, minimal wall light by Asaf Weinbroom

 

 

BEEM

 

Co-créée par le designer de renom Samuel Wilkinson et les spécialistes de l’éclairage Chris Stimson et Bujar Shkodra, la marque BEEM propose une collection de luminaires à LED conçue dans une esthétique joyeuse, graphique et hautement contemporaine. L’objectif de BEEM est d’offrir des lampes à la pointe de la technologie en matière de source lumineuse LED, et des formes simples mais audacieuses, capable de s’adapter à tous types d’environnements.

 

Le processus de fabrication inclus une ferme volonté de créer des luminaires conçus pour durer, et de maximiser toujours plus leurs performances, en misant sur les composants de la plus haute qualité disponibles aujourd’hui ainsi qu’une fabrication manuelle.

 

Maison et Objet 2020, minimal LED lamps by BEEM
Maison et Objet 2020, minimal LED lamps by BEEM

 

 

cc-tapis

 

La marque de tapis haut de gamme cc-tapis a proité du salon Maison et Objet pour présenter des nouveautés dont Plissé, créé par Cristina Celestino, Super Fake “Hot” par Bethan Laura Wood, et Bliss Natural par Mae Engelgeer, trois des designers femmes les plus emblématiques de la collection actuelle. Outre le produit, la mise en scène pensée par Studio MILO était également très agréable et permettait de s’immerger de manière totale dans l’univers onirique et rétro-futuriste proposé.

 

Déjà aperçu lors de la présentation du catalogue Spectrum de cc-tapis, le stand intègre des dégradés chromatiques à l’impact visuel malin, nous plongeant dans une atmosphère empruntée tour à tour au passé et à la fiction…

 

 

Maison et Objet 2020, cc-tapis new collection, Laura Bethan Wood
Maison et Objet 2020, cc-tapis new collection
Maison et Objet 2020, cc-tapis new collection
Maison et Objet 2020, cc-tapis new collection

 

 

Cruso

 

Cruso est une jeune marque Belge et dont la philosophie et le concept en inspireront plus d’un. En effet, tout en proposant des meubles chaleureux au design minimaliste, l’entreprise a adopté un processus de production respectueux de l’environnement en n’utilisant, par exemple, que des matières premières exclusivement locales et durables. Chaque pièces est fabriquée en Europe et a été imaginée par des designers de renom tels Keiji Takeuchi, Julien Renault, Jean-François D’Or, Big Game et Benoît Deneufbourg.

 

Des lignes pures, des matériaux nobles, de la qualité au service des environnements de travail comme des projets résidentiels. Des détails raffinés qui nous font croire en cette marque et en son fort potentiel pour l’avenir. N’aurions-nous pas là quelquechose à la hauteur d’un Muuto, à ces débuts?

 

Maison et Objet 2020, Cruso Belgian wooden furniture, shelf designed by Big Game

Maison et Objet 2020, Cruso Belgian wooden furniture, shelf designed by Julien Renault
Maison et Objet 2020, Cruso Belgian wooden furniture, bench designed by Jean-François D'Or

 

 

Darkroom

 

Darkroom est une des bonnes surprises de cette édition de Maison et Objet 2020. Bien qu’ayant une présence en magasin depuis 2009 à Londres, ce fut pour nous une découverte. Nous avons particulièrement adoré la nouvelle collection de mobilier, simple, géométrique et colorée, avec une affection particulière pour son épaisseur, si singulière.

 

Parmi les nouveauté, la marque qui tend à rendre le design accessible en allant toujours plus vers des couleurs et des motifs audacieux, présentait une série d’affiches aux motifs abstraits en parfaite adéquation avec le mobilier. Darkroom est une marque qui ne laisse pas indifférent, chacun verra forcément sa curiosité piquée par un élément du stand…

 

Maison et Objet 2020, Darkroom London, new furniture collection

Maison et Objet 2020, Darkroom London, new furniture collection
Maison et Objet 2020, Darkroom London, new furniture collection
Maison et Objet 2020, Darkroom London, new furniture collection
Maison et Objet 2020, Darkroom London, new furniture collection

 

 

ENOstudio

 

L’éditeur français ENOstudio présentait également ses nouveautés, avec notamment une applique murale intéressante, Beluga. En effet, cette pièce se détache des autres par son design innovant et ses formes inattendues, et bien que pensé pour un environnement parisien, on l’imagine totalement prenant place dans les plus beaux appartement de Londres, Milan ou New York.

 

D’ailleurs, l’objectif de la marque est de se positionner en ce sens comme ambassadeur du design à la française, en remettant au goût du jour des détails, des styles qui ont fait de la France une grande nation de l’univers décoratif. 

 

Maison et Objet 2020, ENOstudio, Beluga wall light
Maison et Objet 2020, ENOstudio, Beluga wall light

 

 

Mathieu Peyroulet

 

Au sein de la sélection Rising Talents mettant cette année en avant plusieurs designers français, nous avons découvert le travail raffiné de Mathieu Peyroulet. Le designer, après un diplôme à l’Ensci Les Ateliers, a été sélectionné pour prendre part à de nombreuses résidences et festivals de design et d’art, dont notamment la Villa Noailles, la Cité de la Céramique et la Villa Kujoyama, au Japon.

 

De ces évènements sont nées des pièces délicates, en verre, en céramique, pour lesquelles le processus de recherche à l’air de tenir fermement à coeur le designer, toujours plus inventif lorsqu’il s’agit d’une matière qu’il aime et le fascine…

 

Maison et Objet 2020, Rising Talents, design français, Mathieu Peyroulet
Maison et Objet 2020, Rising Talents, design français, Mathieu Peyroulet
Maison et Objet 2020, Rising Talents, design français, Mathieu Peyroulet
Maison et Objet 2020, Rising Talents, design français, Mathieu Peyroulet

 

 

NOOM

 

NOOM étant un de nos partenaires sur notre galerie en ligne, nous sommes d’autant plus excités lorsque la sortie de nouveaux produits est annoncée. A l’occasion de Maison et Objet, le studio Ukrainien a dévoilé une toute première collection de mobilier, en hommage au 100ème anniversaire de l’école Bauhaus. En s’inspirant des formes élémentaires et fonctionnelles du mouvement, le studio a créé la chaise Gropius, soit une composition de ronds et de cylindres formant une assise contemporaine et colorée, en harmonie avec le style NOOM.

 

Accompagnés de tables d’appoint et d’un buffet en métal épurés, de nouveaux vases en édition limitée viennent également grossir les rangs la collection, offrant des finitions dégradées et un nouvel éclat à ces pièces dorénavant très connues.

 

Maison et Objet 2020, NOOM, Gropius furniture collection

Maison et Objet 2020, NOOM, new Genke Limited Edition vase
Maison et Objet 2020, NOOM, Gropius furniture collection

Maison et Objet 2020, NOOM, new Malevich Limited Edition vase

 

 

 

Pierre de Valck

 

Le jeune designer Pierre de Valck a exposé une série de mobilier au design minimaliste, dans la sélection Maison et Objet du stand Belgium Design. La volonté du designer belge est ici de mettre en avant l’aspect brut et exceptionnel de pierres minérales agées de plusieurs millions d’années, comme objets précieux renfermant la mémoire collective du temps. A la fois fonctionnelle et décorative, la collection met ainsi en valeur différents matériaux comme la pierre de Jaspe, le Lapis-Lazuli et du bois pétrifié.

 

Avec une volonté de réelle pérennité, le travail de Pierre de Valck s’inscrit indéniablement dans une traduction, mais aussi une insertion du symbolisme dans le quotidien, avec pour but de créer de l’attachement à un objet devenu précieux, pour chaque individu, mais également pour le collectif.

 

“A stone is a stone, but when offsetted onto an aluminum backdrop, it suddenly becomes a jewel with a story to tell.”

Pierre de Valck

 

Maison et Objet 2020, Pierre de Valck, Cabinet with stone, Belgium Design booth

Maison et Objet 2020, Pierre de Valck, Cabinet with stone, Belgium Design booth
Maison et Objet 2020, Pierre de Valck, Cabinet with stone, Belgium Design booth
Maison et Objet 2020, Pierre de Valck, Cabinet with stone, Belgium Design booth
Maison et Objet 2020, Pierre de Valck, Cabinet with stone, Belgium Design booth

 

 

Techxture

 

Techxture fusionne la technologie et les textures pour générer des objets de design non-conventionnels, et a été fondé après l’association du studio d’architecture d’intérieur As Duas por Três et Digitalab, utilisant le savoir-faire technologique Pear Panel. Avec la ferme intention de brouiller les pistes entre art, design et technologie, le collectif explore des matériaux tels que le marbre, la pierre d’ingénierie, la céramique et le verre recyclé en les réinventant, en leur donnant de nouveaux atouts et de nouvelles formes, grâce aux nouvelles technologies et à la fabrication numérique.

 

Ainsi, Techxture s’est approprié le principe de morphing, qui consiste à fusionner des formes, des objets, des matériaux, afin de les métamorphoser en un nouvel et troisième état. Le collectif, explorant de nouvelles formes, cherche également à détecter de nouvelles fonctions…

 

Maison et Objet 2020, Techxture, white marble lamp
Maison et Objet 2020, Techxture, marble book ends
Maison et Objet 2020, Techxture, black marble coffee table
Maison et Objet 2020, Techxture, decorative marble trays

 

 

Toni Grilo

 

Le designer Toni Grilo était également à l’honneur à Maison et Objet, avec exposé, son récent travail pour plusieurs marques, dont INOT, Marm et BlackCork. Parmi ces pièces, beaucoup ont le marbre comme matière première en commun, avec notamment l’extraordinaire chaise Arco, et une nouvelle série de suspensions appellée Satelite, pour Marm.

 

Une façon de concevoir le design d’objets en marbre de manière élégante et nouvelle, en y incluant de la rondeur et donc une certaine délicatesse dans les formes, relativement féminines, qu’il s’agisse de la chaise ou des luminaires. De belles pièces prometteuses pour l’évolution de ces marques.

 

Maison et Objet 2020, Toni Grilo, Arco chair for INOT
Maison et Objet 2020, Toni Grilo, Arco chair for INOT
Maison et Objet 2020, Toni Grilo, Arco chair for INOT
Maison et Objet 2020, Toni Grilo, Satellite marble lamp for Marm

 

LIKE and SHARE!

M E R C I

 

Written by

Chloé founded Huskdesignblog in 2016. Ever since, she is decoding every nook and cranny to find the best interiors and furniture ideas for her beloved readers and followers, eager for beautiful things.

Input your search keywords and press Enter.