Now Reading:

Art Elysées X Huskdesignblog: A unique exhibition of contemporary design in Paris

For the first time, we are partnering with Art Elysées to present an exhibition of contemporary and collectible design pieces in Paris, throughout the event, from October 17 to 21, 2019. This is the opportunity for Huskdesignblog to present our first exhibition as curator to a wide audience of enthusiasts and professionals and to highlight emerging as already well-known designers in whom we believe. Discover our selection!

 

 

 

Today's design is on display at Art Elysées

 

Illustrating a new era, that of the design in the present and its future transformations, the furniture and objects presented are assembled and connected in a panel of bold materials and shapes. Thus, on the occasion ofArt Elysées our goal is to initiate contact, to ensure that contemporary design and its actors can interact with a diverse audience and listen to the new generation of design: that of an era or finally, its relationship to art is being recognized. Because if in our minds as connoisseurs, design has a clear and well-defined place, it is not the same for everyone.

 

 

Huskdesignblog exhibits contemporary designers at Art Elysées 2019

Huskdesignblog exhibits contemporary designers at Art Elysées 2019
Huskdesignblog exhibits contemporary designers at Art Elysées 2019

In France and Europe in particular, the tradition of so-called drawn design, inherited from architects and the democratization of design for all of the 50s and 70s, is still very much rooted in morals and the vision we have of it. So what is the place of the designers who are often makers that we are ready to do today? Because it is now common for these creators themselves to turn more towards a so-called artistic, independent and collectible design, by choosing, for instance, to sell their pieces themselves or to be represented by a gallery.

 

Moreover, it should be taken into account that, in the same way as art, designers offer pieces in limited or even unique editions, which know-how and technology make quite unique, in contrast to the tradition of so-called drawn design, for major brands.

 

 

Huskdesignblog exhibits contemporary designers at Art Elysées 2019

Huskdesignblog exhibits contemporary designers at Art Elysées 2019
Huskdesignblog exhibits contemporary designers at Art Elysées 2019

Huskdesignblog offers an exhibition that aims to highlight the work of these talented international artists who are renewing the genre in their workshops, and are not afraid to combine their aesthetic and technical aspirations with today's trends. Thus, various works exposed to Art Elysées represent the work of metal, wood, ceramics and many others in today's era, the relationship of designers to the material, and especially how they have appropriated it.

 

 

An international representation of contemporary design

 

During this edition ofArt Elysées 2019, we have the honor and deep pleasure to present a panel of international designers presenting furniture, mirrors, vases, and textiles. Design is a question of emotion, of feeling, and all the pieces thus present gave us more than positive sensations on contact. Because we favor design, which, as you will have understood, in the same way, that art provokes something in us, the one that is not only the support of the functional to satisfy a need, but also the one that takes the form of an emotional need to supplant the function.

 

In accordance with this vision, 17 studios and duos of international composition have responded to our call, including: Ángel Mombiedro, SpainBling Studio, France Cécile Bichon, Francedellostudio, Italy and UKIda Elke, DenmarkJean-Baptiste Durand and Virginie Willerval, FranceKabinet, ItalyLaurène Guarneri, FranceMalcolm Majer, United StatesMartin Thübeck and Elias Bath, SwedenNicholas Hamilton Holmes, CanadaNOOM Home, UkraineParasite 2.0, Italy and BelgiumSophia Taillet, FranceTrey Jones Studio, United StatesWendy Andreu, FranceBram Vanderbeke, Belgium and Winston Cuevas, United States.

 

Huskdesignblog exhibits contemporary designers at Art Elysées 2019

 

 

Pieces designed for the occasion

 

Among these designers, some of them do us the honour of presenting pieces designed especially for the event and have therefore not yet been revealed to the design community. For example, American designers Malcolm Majer and Trey Jones, for whom we have a particular affection since we met when we were established in the United States, 2 years ago.

 

Malcolm's work uses the vocabulary and materials of architecture to translate them into the world of furniture, to counter preconceived ideas of what a piece of furniture should look like. Thus, he presents the piece Chair 3.2, a legitimate descendant of the first edition.

 

Trey Jones imagined the first pieces of the collection Pannier Vases for the 2018 edition of the event 1000 Vases, and does us the honor of completing the series with a sixth vase, darker than the previous ones. His sculptural work makes sense in the ambiguity between full and empty, when we realize that the designer's choice was to create containers more from empty than full.

 

Trey Jones completes his series of Pannier Vases for Art Elysées for Huskdesignblog
Malcolm Majer creates the Chair 3.2 for Art Elysées for Huskdesignblog, in Paris.
Malcolm Majer creates the Chair 3.2 for Art Elysées for Huskdesignblog, in Paris.
Pannier Vase 04, Trey Jones Studio

Nicholas Hamilton Holmes, using the same specific wood as for his previous collection of sculptures, presented exclusively This and That, an in-depth exploration of simple shapes, proportions and forms. Here, each pair represents a visual metaphor where two forms interact and play together to compose a whole: Big Mama and Daddy, Silent Protest and Sun and Moon.

 

Designer Nicholas Hamilton Holmes creates the unique collection of This and That sculptures for Huskdesignblog at Art Elysées
Designer Nicholas Hamilton Holmes creates the unique collection of This and That sculptures for Huskdesignblog at Art Elysées

Wendy Andreu, French designer, exposes two versions of the 8 Legged Stools on Wheels, that we know pretty well since it is on our online gallery, as well as a copy of the superb Regular Pyramid, designed in collaboration with Belgian designer Bram Vanderbeke. She also presents a unique piece, the Screen Shelf serving as an architectural screen, entirely coated with raw and rough ochre paint, transforming its original metal shelf appearance.

 

Regular Pyramid by Wendy Andreu and Bram Vanderbeke
Screen Shelf, by Wendy Andreu, at the Art Elysées event for Huskdesignblog
Screen Shelf, by Wendy Andreu, at the Art Elysées event for Huskdesignblog
8 Legged Stool on Wheels by Wendy Andreu

Finally, the Swedish design duo Martin Thübeck and Elias Bath give us the privilege of exhibiting the collection Dirty Iron, a series of three sculptures resulting from their research and initiatory journey through their country, in order to review their history and the industrial steel sites of Sweden, once the largest steel producer in the world and a neutral country in wartime over the past 200 years.

 

These forms come from metal residues from all weapons produced, however, for wars in which the country claims never to have participated...

 

Martin Thübeck and Elias Bath for Huskdesignblog at the Art Elysées 2019 event.

 

 

French designers

 

We are also delighted to present a very varied panel of French designers, composed of the young Bling Studio and its incredible mirror Dune with multiple or even infinite reflections and Cécile Bichon, a self-taught ceramist and his incredible vases inspired by natural phenomena such as termite mounds, stalactites, and stalagmites.

 

The duo Jean-Baptiste Durand and Virginie Willerval and their experimental design, both luminaire and sculpture, or luminaire and animal, also gives us the honour of being present, just as Laurène Guarneri and her colored mirrors, displayed as secret doors to another dimension and the incredible work of Sophia Tailletwith glass, of which you will find more details here.

 

Dune Mirror, by Bling Studio
Series of vases by Cécile Bichon exhibited on the occasion of Art Elysées 2019
Jean-Baptiste Durand and Virginie Willerval, Larry luminaire at Art Elysées
Sophia Taillet, Curve glass high table

Laurène Guarneri presents the Horizon series of mirrors at Art Elysées, for Huskdesignblog

 

 

Pieces from other countries

 

The Spanish designer Angel Mombiedro, whose work is inspired by the colourful culture of his country, exhibits two emblematic pieces of his work that are the chairs Bullarengue and Qoticher. Highlighted on our online shop, we are delighted to finally be able to show these copies. We also welcome on our stand the creative duo dellostudio, who, adjusting the notion of sculpture on a domestic scale, has done us the honor of presenting the Onda Chair, rising star of Instagram, and a series of vases from which a wind of Antiquity blows and made by Mondo Marmo Design.

 

chair Klein blue, by Angel Mombiedro
Dellostudio presents a series of marble flare made by Mondo Marmo Design

Dellostudio presents the chairsculptural Onda Chair

 

Among the worthy representatives of metalworking, we present the lamp Odd Shell Light of Danish designer Ida Elke, whose work is inspired by the nature in which she lives, and Kabinet, an Italian studio dedicated to bringing a sculptural-functional scale to this contemporary material.

 

In this edition of Art Elysées, NOOM Home, a Ukrainian studio, has specially entrusted us with its vases Delaunay and Gabo, inspired by the Supremacist movement initiated by Kazimir Malevich, in order to present them to the general public. Just like the studio Parasite 2.0, who presents an exclusive rug, designed on the ambivalence between humanity and technology, previously made during an artist residency in London.

 

Finally, we have the privilege of exhibiting at Art Elysées an extraordinary piece, the chair Mono Pink of American designer Winston Cuevas, and who examines the poetic notions of innocence and purity under aesthetic airs that takes us into a fairy tale similar to that created by Walt Disney...

 

Ida Elke presents the sculptural lamp Odd Shell light
Resin and metal console by Kabinet à Art Elysées

chair Mono Rose by American designer Winston Cuevas for Huskdesignblog at Art Elysées

 

 

Art Elysées - Art & Design, from 17 to 21 October 2019

_

Between Place Clémenceau and Place de la Concorde, Paris 8ème

 

LIKE and SHARE!

T H A N K S

 

Written by

Chloé founded Huskdesignblog in 2016. Ever since, she is decoding every nook and cranny to find the best interiors and furniture ideas for her beloved readers and followers, eager for beautiful things.

Input your search keywords and press Enter.

Now Reading:

Art Elysées X Huskdesignblog: Une exposition unique de design contemporain à Paris

Pour la première fois, nous nous associons à Art Elysées afin de présenter une exposition de pièces de design contemporain et collectible design à Paris, pendant toute la durée de l’évènement, du 17 au 21 octobre 2019. L’occasion pour Huskdesignblog de présenter à un public large de passionés et professionnels notre première exposition en tant que curator et de mettre en avant des designers émergents ou déjà sous le feu des projecteurs auxquels nous croyons. Découvrez notre sélection!

 

 

 

Le design d’aujourd’hui s’expose à Art Elysées

 

Illustrant une nouvelle ère, celle du design au présent et de ses transformations à venir, le mobilier et objets présentés s’assemblent et se connectent dans un panel de matériaux et formes audacieuses. Ainsi, à l’occasion d’Art Elysées notre but est d’initier le contact, de faire en sorte que le design contemporain et ses acteurs puisse dialoguer avec un public varié et à l’écoute de la nouvelle génération du design: celle d’une époque ou enfin, son lien de parenté avec l’art est en passe d’être reconnu. Car si dans nos esprits de connaisseurs, le design a une place claire et bien définie, il n’en est pas de même pour tous.

 

 

Huskdesignblog expose des designers contemporains à Art Elysées 2019

Huskdesignblog expose des designers contemporains à Art Elysées 2019
Huskdesignblog expose des designers contemporains à Art Elysées 2019

En France et en Europe notamment, la tradition du design dit dessiné, hérité des architectes et de la démocratisation du design pour tous des années 50/70 est encore très ancré dans les moeurs et la vision que l’on s’en fait. Alors qu’elle est la place des designers souvent makers que l’on est prêt à faire aujourd’hui? Car il est dorénavant commun que ces créateurs eux-mêmes, se tournent davantage vers un design dit artistique, indépendant et collectible, en choisissant par exemple de vendre eux-mêmes leurs pièces ou de se faire représenter par une galerie.

De plus, il est à prendre en compte qu’au même tire que l’art, les designers proposent des pièces en éditions limitées, voire uniques, que le savoir-faire et la technique rendent tout à fait singulières, en opposition avec la tradition du design dit dessiné, pour le compte de grandes marques.

 

 

Huskdesignblog expose des designers contemporains à Art Elysées 2019

Huskdesignblog expose des designers contemporains à Art Elysées 2019
Huskdesignblog expose des designers contemporains à Art Elysées 2019

Huskdesignblog propose une exposition qui a pour but de révéler au grand jour le travail de ces artistes internationaux de talent qui renouvèlent le genre dans leurs ateliers, et n’ont pas peur d’allier leurs aspirations esthétiques et techniques aux tendances d’aujourd’hui. Ainsi, différents travaux exposés à Art Elysées représentent le travail du métal, du bois, de la céramique et bien d’autres à l’ère d’aujourd’hui, le rapport des designers à la matière, et surtout comment ils se la sont appropriée.

 

 

Une représentation internationale du design contemporain

 

Lors de cette édition d’Art Elysées 2019, nous avons l’honneur et le profond bonheur de présenter un panel de designers internationaux présentant du mobilier, des miroirs, des vases et des textiles. Le design est une question d’émotion, de ressenti, et toutes les pièces ainsi présentes nous ont procuré des sensations plus que positives à leur contact. Car nous privilégions le design, qui, vous l’aurez compris, au même titre que l’art provoque en nous quelquechose, celui qui n’est pas uniquement support du fonctionnel pour combler un besoin, mais celui qui prend bel et bien la forme d’un besoin émotionnel pour supplanter la fonction.

 

En accord avec cette vision, 17 studios et duos de composition internationale ont répondu à notre appel, dont: Ángel Mombiedro, EspagneBling Studio, France Cécile Bichon, Francedellostudio, Italie et Royaume-UniIda Elke, DanemarkJean-Baptiste Durand et Virginie Willerval, FranceKabinet, ItalieLaurène Guarneri, FranceMalcolm Majer, Etats-UnisMartin Thübeck et Elias Bath, SuèdeNicholas Hamilton Holmes, CanadaNOOM Home, UkraineParasite 2.0, Italie et BelgiqueSophia Taillet, FranceTrey Jones Studio, Etats-UnisWendy Andreu, FranceBram Vanderbeke, Belgique et Winston Cuevas, Etats-Unis.

 

Huskdesignblog expose des designers contemporains à Art Elysées 2019

 

 

Des pièces conçues pour l’occasion

 

Parmi ces designers, certains d’entre eux nous font l’honneur de présenter des pièces conçues spécialement pour l’évènement et n’ont donc pas encore été révélées aux yeux de la communauté du design. Comme par exemples les designers américains Malcolm Majer et Trey Jones, pour qui nous avons une affection particulière, puisque rencontrés losque nous étions établis aux Etats-Unis, il y a 2 ans.

 

Le travail de Malcolm utilise le vocabulaire et des matériaux de l’architecture afin de les transposer dans le monde du mobilier, afin de contrer les idées préconçues de ce à quoi une pièce de mobilier devrait ressembler. Ainsi, il présente la pièce Chair 3.2, légitime descendante de la première édition.

 

Trey Jones a imaginé les premières pièces de la collection Pannier Vases pour l’édition 2018 de l’évènement 1000 Vases, et nous fait l’honneur de compléter la série avec un sixième vase, plus sombre que les précédents. Son travail sculptural prend sens dans l’ambiguïté entre pleins et vides, lorsque l’on réalise que le parti pris du designer a été de créer des contenants davantage à partir de vides que de pleins.

 

Trey Jones complète sa série des Pannier Vases à l'occasion d'Art Elysées pour Huskdesignblog
Malcolm Majer crée la Chair 3.2 à l'occasion d'Art Elysées pour Huskdesignblog, à Paris.
Malcolm Majer crée la Chair 3.2 à l'occasion d'Art Elysées pour Huskdesignblog, à Paris.
Pannier Vase 04, Trey Jones Studio

Nicholas Hamilton Holmes, en utilisant le même bois coti que pour sa précédente collection de sculptures, présente en exclusivité This and That, une exploration poussée des formes simples, des proportions et des formes. Ici, chaque paire représente une métaphore visuelle où deux formes interagissent et jouent ensemble pour composer un tout: Big Mama and Daddy, Silent Protest et Sun and Moon.

 

Le designer Nicholas Hamilton Holmes crée la collection unique de sculptures This and That pour Huskdesignblog à Art Elysées
Le designer Nicholas Hamilton Holmes crée la collection unique de sculptures This and That pour Huskdesignblog à Art Elysées

Wendy Andreu, designer française, expose deux versions des tabourets 8 Legged Stools on Wheels, que nous connaissons bien puisque présents sur notre boutique, ainsi qu’un exemplaire de la superbe Regular Pyramid, réalisée en collaboration avec le designer belge Bram Vanderbeke. Elle présente également une pièce unique, la Screen Shelf faisant office d’écran architectural, entièrement revêtue de peinture ocre à l’état brut et rugueux, transformant son aspect premier d’étagère de métal.

 

Regular Pyramid par Wendy Andreu et Bram Vanderbeke
Screen Shelf, par Wendy Andreu, lors de l'évènement Art Elysées pour Huskdesignblog
Screen Shelf, par Wendy Andreu , lors de l'évènement Art Elysées pour Huskdesignblog
8 Legged Stool on Wheels par Wendy Andreu

Enfin, le duo de designers suédois Martin Thübeck et Elias Bath nous font le privilège d’exposer la collection Dirty Iron, une série de trois sculptures issues de leurs recherches et parcours initiatique à travers leur pays, afin de revenir sur leur histoire et les sites sidérurgiques industriels de la Suède, autrefois le plus grand producteur d’acier au monde et pays neutre en temps de guerre au cours des 200 dernières années.

 

Ces formes proviennent des résidus de métal issus de toutes les armes produites cependant pour les guerres auxquelles le pays prétend ne jamais avoir participé…

 

Martin Thübeck et Elias Bath pour le compte de Huskdesignblog lors de l'évènement Art Elysées 2019.

 

 

Les designers français

 

Nous sommes également ravis de présenter un panel de designers français très varié, composé du jeune Bling Studio et son incroyable miroir Dune aux reflets multiples voire infinis et de Cécile Bichon, céramiste autodidacte et ses incroyables vases inspirés de phénomènes naturels tels les termitières, stalactites et stalagmites.

 

Le duo Jean-Baptiste Durand et Virginie Willerval et leur design expérimental, à la fois luminaire et sculpture, ou luminaire et animal nous fait également l’honneur d’être présent, tout comme Laurène Guarneri et ses miroirs colorés, affichés comme des portes secrètes vers une autre dimension et l’incroyable travail du verre de Sophia Taillet, dont vous trouverez plus de détails ici.

 

Miroir Dune, par Bling Studio
Série de vases de Cécile Bichon exposés à l'occasion de Art Elysées 2019
Jean-Baptiste Durand et Virginie Willerval, luminaire Larry à Art Elysées
Sophia Taillet, table haute en verre Curve

Laurène Guarneri présente la série de miroirs Horizon à Art Elysées, pour Huskdesignblog

 

 

Des pièces venues d’ailleurs

 

Le designer espagnol Angel Mombiedro, dont le travail s’inspire de la culture haute en couleurs de son pays, expose deux pièces emblématiques de son travail que son les chaises Bullarengue et Qoticher. Mis en avant sur notre boutique en ligne, nous sommes ravis de pouvoir enfin montrer ces exemplaires. Nous accueillons également sur notre stand le duo créatif dellostudio, qui, adaptant la notion de sculpture à l’échelle domestique, nous fait l’honneur de présenter la Onda Chair, star d’Instagram, et une série de vases d’où souffle un vent d’Antiquité et réalisés par Mondo Marmo Design.

 

Chaise bleu Klein, par Angel Mombiedro
Dellostudio présente une série d évasé en marbre réalisés par Mondo Marmo Design

Dellostudio présente la chaise sculpturale Onda Chair

 

Parmi les dignes représentants du travail du métal, nous présentons la lampe Odd Shell Light de la designer danoise Ida Elke, dont le travail s’inspire de la nature au coeur de laquelle elle vit, et de Kabinet, un studio italien ayant à coeur d’apporter une échelle sculpturo-fonctionnelle à ce matériau contemporain.

 

En cette édition d’Art Elysées, NOOM Home, studio ukrainien, nous a spécialement confié ses vases Delaunay et Gabo, inspirés du mouvement Suprématiste initié par Kazimir Malevich, afin de les présenter au grand public. Tout comme le studio Parasite 2.0, qui présente un tapis exclusif, conçu sur l’ambivalence entre humanité et technologie, réalisé précédemment au cours d’une résidence d’artistes à Londres.

 

Enfin, nous avons privilège d’exposer à Art Elysées une pièce hors du commun, la chaise Mono Rose du designer américain Winston Cuevas, et qui examine les notions poétique d’innocence et de pureté sous des airs esthétiques qui nous emmène dans une féérie proche de celle créée par Walt Disney…

 

Ida Elke présente la lampe sculpturale Odd Shell light
Console en résine et métal par Kabinet à Art Elysées

Chaise Mono Rose par le designer Américain Winston Cuevas pour Huskdesignblog à Art Elysées

 

 

Art Elysées – Art & Design, du 17 au 21 octobre 2019

_

Entre la Place Clémenceau et Place de la Concorde, Paris 8ème

 

LIKE and SHARE!

M E R C I

 

Share This Articles
Written by

Chloé founded Huskdesignblog in 2016. Ever since, she is decoding every nook and cranny to find the best interiors and furniture ideas for her beloved readers and followers, eager for beautiful things.

Input your search keywords and press Enter.