DESIGN: Workstead, the material strength

.

 

Workstead is a studio of interior architecture and design whose work is oriented towards spaces and objects that are both functional and emblematic. Especially known for the design of hotels whose reputation is firmly established - the Dewberry in Charleston, the Wythe Hotel in Brooklyn, etc - Workstead has also completed a collection of fixtures and furniture that will leave you speechless...

 

Workstead, Candlestick Two, Natural
Workstead, during Oxidized Full Black
Workstead, Lodge candlestick Five Oxidized Black On
Workstead, Helios Furqan lamp
Workstead, during Natural Ace Basin Daytime

Based in Brooklyn and Charleston in the United States, Workstead is at the origin of a characteristic design of The New American Wave, and is part of this generation of studios in Brooklyn which give meaning to materiality by creating genuine and authentic objects, and directly inspired by craftmanship. Their work is clean, the balance is well found between a formal envelope and at the same time close to the trends of today and tomorrow. Their collection is timeless, able to adapt to a retro, modern or contemporary architecture, thanks to the use of natural materials which one can not get tired of.

Continually demonstrating their interest in usefulness, Workstead has developed allegorical luminaires, worthy representatives of what is currently expected of the luminous function: simplicity and efficiency.

 

Workstead, Sconce Natural Off White
Workstead, Signal during Hewn Brass Off
Workstead, Sconce Oxidized On Angle White
Workstead, Signal Sconce Hewn Brass Side Off
Workstead, Wardrobe

At Workstead, the search for the raw but perfect form is no less a luxurious dimension in the creation of their products. Indeed, the strength of their collection probably lies in the fact that the studio claims a holistic approach to design, where the form and the material strength must form a whole. To the elegant and original woods of oak, ash and walnut, they voluntarily associate refined and sophisticated metals and milks, in order to give depth to their work and to give each room a strong and emblematic position.

Reinforcing the meaning of the places and objects that surround us in a quest for authenticity, the work of Workstead  is without any doubts the value to add to each project...

 

Workstead, Credenza
Workstead, Credenza
Workstead, Credenza

 

I also invite you to discover their interior design projects!

 

 ➡ Be awesome, LIKE and SHARE!

T H A N K S

 

Chloé Valette

DESIGN: Workstead, la force matérielle

.

 

Workstead est un studio d'architecture d'intérieur et de design dont le travail s'oriente vers des espaces et des objets à la fois fonctionnels et emblématiques. Notamment connu pour le design d'hôtels dont la réputation n'est plus à faire - le Dewberry à Charleston, le Wythe Hotel à Brooklyn, etc - Workstead a également à son actif une collection de luminaires et mobilier qui ne laisse pas indifférente...

 

Basé à Brooklyn et Charleston aux Etats-Unis, Workstead est à l'origine d'un design caractéristique de la nouvelle vague américaine, et fait partie de cette génération de studios à Brooklyn qui redonnent du sens à la matérialité en créant des objets véritables et authentiques, et directement inspirés du savoir-faire artisanal. Leur travail est épuré, l'équilibre est bien trouvé entre une enveloppe formelle à la fois proche des tendance d'aujourd'hui et de demain. Leur collection est intemporelle, pouvant s'adapter à une architecture rétro, moderne ou contemporaine, grâce notamment à l'emploi de matériaux naturels dont il est impossible de se lasser. 

Manifestant sans cesse leur intérêt pour l'utilité, Workstead a élaboré des luminaires allégoriques, dignes représentants de ce l'on attend actuellement de la fonction lumineuse: simplicité et efficacité.

 

Chez Workstead, la recherche de la forme brute mais parfaite n'enlève pas moins une dimension luxueuse dans la création de leurs produits. En effet, la force de leur collection réside probablement dans le fait que le studio revendique une approche holistique du design, où la forme et la force matérielle doivent former un tout. Aux bois élégants et originels que sont le chêne, le frêne et le noyer, ils associent volontairement des métaux et laitons raffinés et sophistiqués, afin de donner de la profondeur à leur travail et de donner à chaque pièce une position forte et emblématique.

Renforçant le sens des lieux et des objets qui nous entourent dans une quête vers l'authentique, le travail de Workstead est sans nuls doutes la valeur à ajouter dans chaque projet...

 

 

Je vous invite à découvrir également leurs projets d'architecture d'intérieur!

 

 ➡ Be awesome, LIKE and SHARE!

M E R C I

 

Chloé Valette