Now Reading:
3daysofdesign: In Copenhagen, the hidden gems of design

3daysofdesign: In Copenhagen, the hidden gems of design

Originally posted 2019-05-31 15:00:30.

Lately, we were delighted to go to the Danish capital to attend the 3daysofdesign. event. After first having taken place in a traditional format outside the city, in an exhibition hall for a few years, the annual event now takes place in the heart of Copenhagen, making every visit even more pleasant, and transforming every discovery into a real treasure. Between emerging talents and already familiar names, immerse yourself in the heart of what's the Danish design today and what it has to offer for the near future...

 

 

Copenhagen through its designers at 3daysofdesign

 

Hotel Charlottenborg

 

3daysofdesign exhibition at the Hotel Charlottenborg, Copenhagen
3daysofdesign exhibition at the Hotel Charlottenborg, Copenhagen
3daysofdesign exhibition at the Hotel Charlottenborg, Copenhagen
3daysofdesign exhibition at the Hotel Charlottenborg, Copenhagen

It is along an exhibition about hospitality and curated by Ark journal and theAssociation of Danish Wood and Furniture Industries at the Hotel Charlottenborg, that we found many interesting hidden pieces. Indeed, in a small room bathed in the typical and gentle light of Copenhagen, there was for instance Martini Board 2, an impressive sculpture made by the well-known duo Pettersen & Hein, a composition between art and design of Birgitte Due Madsen, a luminous work of Frederik Nystrup Larsen and Oliver Sundqvist, and other beautiful pieces. A small world apart, where functionality has given way to the expression plastic and the imaginary, and where harmony of materials and tones colors were authentic.

 

 

Jakob Jørgensen

 

Danish designer and metalworker Jakob Joergensen's Totems
Danish designer and metalworker Jakob Joergensen's Totems

Jakob Jørgensen is a metalworker who turns tubes into art sculptures or design pieces. Met on the first day of 3daysofdesign Thanks to the Danish Arts Foundation, it is in a huge workshop with each floor its speciality (metal, wood, ceramics, etc.) that we realized the enormous work to be done in order to give life to the series of Totems of the designer. From simple but imposing industrial steel tubes, Jakob shapes objects that seem almost light to the eye, as he has succeeded in transforming our perception of metal. Nice work.

 

 

Mater

 

Mater at 3daysofdesign, Copenhagen
Mater at 3daysofdesign, Copenhagen

At a turn in our design press tour in the city, we were seduced by the new collection of Mater, including the set of two chairs He and She by the designer Eva Harlou. Simple materials, connected with grace, gave birth to a minimalist and efficient design that does not leave indifferent.

 

 

Mia Lagerman

 

Mia Lagerman at 3daysofdesign
Wooden, rattan and glass Red Cabinet at 3daysofdesign

Wooden, rattan and glass Red Cabinet at 3daysofdesign

The Swedish-Danish designer Mia Lagerman presented a set of pieces made in the recent years at the Swedish Embassy on the occasion of 3daysofdesign. Among these, two cool pieces came to our attention, one in glass with a fruit pattern, the other, transparent, in rattan. A remarkable work with the real will of the Scandinavian designer to produce of quality, functional but aesthetic objects.

"Design is allowed to have a twinkle in the eye, but must still be able to be taken seriously. It's about creating a surprise, something you don't expect. It's about contemplation (...) "

Mia Lagerman

 

 

Turi Heisselberg Pedersen

 

Faceted ceramic sculptures by Turi Heisselberg Pedersen
Faceted ceramic sculptures by Turi Heisselberg Pedersen
Faceted ceramic sculptures by Turi Heisselberg Pedersen
Faceted ceramic sculptures by Turi Heisselberg Pedersen

Sometimes the gems of design are not the ones we expected. Indeed, it was on the occasion of an exhibition of furniture, that we discovered the extraordinary sculptural work of Turi Heisselberg Pedersen, whose objects where there to decorate tables and consoles. So we were stunned to find these singular and fascinating ceramics where we did not expect to find them! A rather well-known talent of the Danish designscene, who has already exhibited works in New York, Paris or Brussels a few years ago and whose work deserve to be shared with the greatest number. A crush.

 

 

 

DAWN Exhibition

 

Helle Mardahl

 

3daysofdesign, DAWN Exhibition, Helle Mardahl

3daysofdesign, DAWN Exhibition, Helle Mardahl
3daysofdesign, DAWN Exhibition, Helle Mardahl

3daysofdesign, DAWN Exhibition, Helle Mardahl

3daysofdesign, DAWN Exhibition, Helle Mardahl
3daysofdesign, DAWN Exhibition, Helle Mardahl

As you may have noticed, the work of Helle Mardhal undoubtedly pleased us at 3daysofdesign. The artist and designer has several strings and inspirations to his arch, including sculpture, painting, styling or even interior architecture. Universes that have without any doubts guided the designer to this flamboyant collection, as she likes to qualify her work, where the work of color on solid or transparent surfaces is a subject in itself. Cherry, is a collection of unique handmade glass objects and lamps made with the utmost care, and of which each piece is signed by the designer. In perfect pedestals to this collection, simple and colorful pieces of furniture come to enhancing even more this extravagant aesthetic and giving life to the exhibition space.

 

 

Ida Elke

 

Metal sculptural lamps by Iza Elke
IDA Elke at DAWN Exhibition 2019

Already mentioned on the blog for her careful and delicate work, Ida Elke is one of the designers whose work we really enjoyed during the DAWN Exhibition. Indeed, she presented her extraordinary and fantasmagorical Odd Shell Lightings, proudly displayed on the pedestals QB. Thanks to their aluminum envelope, these sculptural luminaires are playing with the light they produce as well as the one they reflect, giving them as much shine as they are on or off. The contrast with each pedestal, very massive, is interesting, and this is where both objects really make sense thanks to each other. Nice work.

 

 

Justyna Poplawska

 

Justyna Poplawska at DAWN Exhibition 2019, 3daysofdesign.
Justyna Poplawska at DAWN Exhibition 2019, 3daysofdesign.

Justyna Poplawska at DAWN Exhibition 2019, 3daysofdesign.

It has been a long time since the work of Justyna Poplawska had to be mentioned on the blog, and we are delighted that 3daysofdesign finally gives us the opportunity! The designer, based in Copenhagen, made the occasional tables and screen divider of the series Tinct, with recycled colorful glass grits, almost applied like a paint. The result is a collection of poetic and very feminine objects, manufactured through an intelligent recycling process and which one can easily imagine what it could give, applied on a wide scale. A subtle mix and match between experimental design and craft techniques.

 

 

Poppykalas X Layered

 

Poppykalas X Layered at 3daysofdesign
Poppykalas X Layered at 3daysofdesign

Poppykalas X Layered at 3daysofdesign

Poppykalas X Layered at 3daysofdesign
Poppykalas X Layered at 3daysofdesign

The DAWN Exhibition began with the unveiling of the much awaited collaboration between the Danish renowned florist Poppykalas and decoration and rugs brand, Layered: The secret garden collection. Poppykalas has been able to put her very floral, lyrical and romantic world in a field that is usually not hers, giving an abstract version of the plant universe. The installation, like a theater set, staged the already famous rugs, like fantastic landscapes or prodigious gardens punctuated here and there with vegetation, and brought to light occasionally by the delicate products of Nuura. We were immersed in a very singular creation, with the utmost pleasure.

 

 

Seven Subjects

 

A modern Danish design table lamp.
A modern Danish design table lamp.

Seven Subjects is an art and design studio based in Copenhagen, exploring all facets of subjectivity. During this Danish design week, the studio presented the Moon Traveler Lamp, inspired by the Greenland origins of its founder, Aviaaja Ezekiassen. Indeed, a legend says that a shaman with the will to restore the balance of nature, would have gone into a trance thanks to the sound of the drums of Greenland... The lamp is a narrative interpretation of this scene, where the shaman would have contacted The Man of the Moon. A beautiful story to hear before falling asleep, a sleek design that we definitely like.

 

 

 

Etage Projects

 

Natural Futurism

 

Jacob Egeberg at Etage Projects

Jacob Egeberg at Etage Projects
Jacob Egeberg at Etage Projects
Jacob Egeberg at Etage Projects
Jacob Egeberg at Etage Projects

The inescapable design gallery Etage Projects was also part of our program during the 3daysofdesign. Although its programming has been related to the Art Week and not the Design Week, the exhibited pieces have to appear here! On this occasion, the gallery presented the first solo exhibition of young designer Jacob Mathias Egeberg, a rising star in the Danish design scene. Between exploiting industrial manufacturing techniques and its propensity to produce sculptural objects with fantastical and fabulous aesthetics, the designer delivers an exhibition, lively, vibrant and full of beautiful promises for the future.

 

 

World of Ulteriors

 

World of Ulteriors, a contemporary design exhibition by soft Baroque.

World of Ulteriors, a contemporary design exhibition by soft Baroque.
World of Ulteriors, a contemporary design exhibition by soft Baroque.

World of Ulteriors, a contemporary design exhibition by soft Baroque.

World of Ulteriors, a contemporary design exhibition by soft Baroque.
World of Ulteriors, a contemporary design exhibition by soft Baroque.

Design studio Soft Baroque also exhibited a series of new designs at Etage Projects, under the name World of Ulteriors. In terms of furniture, designers advocate the experience that each piece arouses and makes us live, a feeling closer to the felt than any material or functional contribution. With the collaboration and the 3D work of the designer Nicholas Ashby, the trio of London designers explores the capabilities of this visual art transposed to materials, or how formal experiments in 3D give rise to a genuine and clairvoyant use of each material. Between the craft and the image, the gallery and the designers of Soft Baroque offer here to let the poetry merged with design, thanks to a series of strange objects andfictional interiors. Incredible.

 

 

 ➡ Many thanks to The Design Release and Danish Arts Foundation for their invitation to 3daysofdesign!

 

 

 ➡ Be awesome, LIKE and SHARE!

T H A N K S

 

Share This Articles
Written by

Chloé founded Huskdesignblog in 2016. Ever since, she is decoding every nook and cranny to find the best interiors and furniture ideas for her beloved readers and followers, eager for beautiful things.

Input your search keywords and press Enter.

Now Reading:
3daysofdesign: A Copenhague, les joyaux cachés du design

3daysofdesign: A Copenhague, les joyaux cachés du design

Dernièrement, c’est non sans enthousiasme que nous nous sommes rendus dans la capitale danoise pour assister à l’évènement 3daysofdesign. Après tout d’abord avoir eu lieu dans un format classique en dehors de la ville, dans un hall d’exposition pendant quelques années, l’événement annuel a désormais lieu au coeur de Copenhague, rendant chaque visite encore plus plaisante, et transformant chaque trouvaille en un véritable trésor. Entre talents émergents et ceux dont les noms nous sont déjà familiers, plongez au coeur du design danois d’aujourd’hui et ce qu’il a à nous offrir pour l’avenir…

 

 

Copenhague à travers ses designers à 3daysofdesign

 

Hotel Charlottenborg

 

3daysofdesign exhibition at the Hotel Charlottenborg, Copenhagen
3daysofdesign exhibition at the Hotel Charlottenborg, Copenhagen
3daysofdesign exhibition at the Hotel Charlottenborg, Copenhagen
3daysofdesign exhibition at the Hotel Charlottenborg, Copenhagen

C’est au détour de l’exposition autour de l’hospitalité et organisée par Ark Journal et l’Association of Danish Wood and Furniture Industries à l’Hotel Charlottenborg, que se cachaient plusieurs pièces intéressantes. En effet, dans une petite pièce baignée de la lumière typique et douce de Copenhague, se trouvait par exemple Martini Board 2, une sculpture impressionnante réalisée par le duo bien connu Pettersen & Hein, une composition entre art et design de Birgitte Due Madsen, une oeuvre lumineuse de Frederik Nystrup Larsen et Oliver Sundqvist, et d’autres belles pièces. Un petit monde à part, où la fonctionnalité a laissé place à l’expression plastique et l’imaginaire, et où harmonie des matériaux et tonalités couleurs faisaient foi.

 

 

Jakob Jørgensen

 

Danish designer and metalworker Jakob Joergensen's Totem
Danish designer and metalworker Jakob Joergensen's Totem

Jakob Jørgensen travaille le métal pour en faire des sculptures d’art ou des pièces de design. Rencontré lors du premier jour de 3daysofdesign grâce à la Danish Arts Foundation, c’est dans un workshop immense et à chaque étage sa spécialité (métal, bois, céramique, etc) que nous avons réalisé le travail titanesque à fournir afin de réaliser la série de Totems du designer. A partir de simples mais imposants tubes en acier industriels, Jakob façonne des objets qui paraissent presque légers à l’oeil, tant il a su transformer notre perception du métal. Du beau travail.

 

 

Mater

 

Mater at 3daysofdesign, Copenhagen
Mater at 3daysofdesign, Copenhagen

Au détour de notre visite de l’évènement et de la ville, nous avons été séduits par la nouvelle collection de Mater, présentant notamment l’ensemble de deux chaises He and She par la designer Eva Harlou. Des matériaux simples, connectés avec grâce ont donné naissance à un design minimaliste et efficace qui ne laisse pas indifférent.

 

 

Mia Lagerman

 

Mia Lagerman at 3daysofdesign
Wooden, rattan and glass Red Cabinetat 3daysofdesign

Wooden, rattan and glass Red Cabinetat 3daysofdesign

La designer suédo-danoise Mia Lagerman présentait un ensemble de pièces réalisées ces dernières années, à l’ambassade de Suède à l’occasion de 3daysofdesign. Parmi celles-ci, notre attention s’est porté sur deux vitrines, l’une en verre aux motifs de fruits, l’autre, transparente, en rotin. Un travail remarquable et emprunt de la volonté de la designer scandinave de produire des objets de qualité, fonctionnels mais esthétiques.

“Design is allowed to have a twinkle in the eye, but must still be able to be taken seriously. It’s about creating a surprise, something you don’t expect. It’s about contemplation(…)”

Mia Lagerman

 

 

Turi Heisselberg Pedersen

 

Faceted ceramic sculptures by Turi Heisselberg Pedersen
Faceted ceramic sculptures by Turi Heisselberg Pedersen
Faceted ceramic sculptures by Turi Heisselberg Pedersen
Faceted ceramic sculptures by Turi Heisselberg Pedersen

Parfois, les joyaux du design ne sont pas ceux qu’on croit. En effet, c’est à l’occasion d’une exposition de mobilier, que nous avons découvert l’extraordinaire travail sculptural de Turi Heisselberg Pedersen, dont les objets décoraient tables et autres consoles. Quel ne fut pas notre bonheur de trouver ces céramiques singulières et fascinantes là où ne pensions pas en trouver! Un talent plutôt bien connu de la scène du design danois, et qui a déjà exposé ses oeuvres à New York, Paris ou encore Bruxelles et que nous sommes ravis de partager avec le plus grand nombre. Un vrai coup de coeur.

 

 

 

DAWN Exhibition

 

Helle Mardahl

 

3daysofdesign, DAWN Exhibition, Helle Mardahl

3daysofdesign, DAWN Exhibition, Helle Mardahl
3daysofdesign, DAWN Exhibition, Helle Mardahl

3daysofdesign, DAWN Exhibition, Helle Mardahl

3daysofdesign, DAWN Exhibition, Helle Mardahl
3daysofdesign, DAWN Exhibition, Helle Mardahl

Vous l’aurez compris, le travail de Helle Mardhal nous a indéniablement plut lors de 3daysofdesign. L’artiste et designer a plusieurs cordes et inspirations à son arc, dont la sculpture, la peinture, le stylisme ou encore l’architecture d’intérieur. Univers qui ont sans aucun doutes guidés la designer à cette collection flamboyante, comme elle aime à qualifier son travail, où le travail de la couleur sur surfaces pleines ou transparentes est un sujet en lui-même. Cherry, est une collection d’objets et de lampes uniques en verre faits à la main et réalisés avec le plus grand soin, et dont chaque pièce est signée par la designer. En parfaits piédestaux à cette collection, des éléments de mobilier simples et colorés viennent parfaire cette esthétique extravagante et donnent vie à l’espace d’exposition.

 

 

Ida Elke

 

Metal sculptural lamps by Iza Elke
Ida Elke at DAWN Exhibition 2019

Déjà mentionnée sur le blog pour son travail soigné et délicat, Ida Elke fait partie des designers dont nous avons vraiment apprécié le travail lors le la DAWN Exhibition. En effet, elle a présenté ses extraordinaires et fantasmagoriques Odd Shell Lamps, fièrement disposées sur les piédestaux QB. Grâce à leur enveloppe d’aluminium, ces luminaires sculpturaux de jouer aussi bien avec la lumière qu’ils produisent que celle qu’ils renvoient, leur donnant autant de brillance qu’ils soient allumés, ou éteints. Le contraste avec chaque piédestal, plus massif est intéressant, et là où les deux objets prennent véritablement sens. Beau travail.

 

 

Justyna Poplawska

 

Justyna Poplawska at DAWN Exhibition 2019, 3daysofdesign.
Justyna Poplawska at DAWN Exhibition 2019, 3daysofdesign.

Justyna Poplawska at DAWN Exhibition 2019, 3daysofdesign.

Cela faisait longtemps que le travail de Justyna Poplawska devait être mentionné sur le blog, et nous sommes ravis que 3daysofdesign nous en donne enfin l’occasion! La designer, basée à Copenhague, a réalisé elle-même les tables d’appoint et l’écran de séparation de la série Tinct, avec des grains de verre coloré recyclés, appliqués comme une peinture. En résulte une collection d’objets poétiques et très féminins, fabriqués grâce à un processus de recyclage intelligent et dont on imagine facilement ce qu’il pourrait donné, appliqué à grande échelle. Un subtil mélange entre design expérimental et techniques artisanales.

 

 

Poppykalas X Layered

 

Poppykalas X Layered at 3daysofdesign
Poppykalas X Layered at 3daysofdesign

Poppykalas X Layered at 3daysofdesign

Poppykalas X Layered at 3daysofdesign
Poppykalas X Layered at 3daysofdesign

La DAWN Exhibition commençait notamment par le dévoilement de la collaboration relativement attendu entre la floriste danoise et renommée Poppykalas et la marque de décoration et tapis Layered: The Secret Garden Collection. Poppykalas a su insuffler son univers, floral, lyrique et romantique dans un univers qui n’est habituellement pas le sien avec brio, donnant ainsi une version abstraite de l’univers végétal. L’installation, comme un décor de théâtre, mettait en scène les fameux tapis, comme des paysages fantastiques ou jardins prodigieux ponctués ça et là de végétation, et mis en lumière à l’occasion par les produits de délicats de chez Nuura. Nous avons été plongé dans un univers très singulier, avec grand plaisir.

 

 

Seven Subjects

 

A modern danish design table lamp.
A modern danish design table lamp.

Seven Subjects est un studio d’art et de design basé à Copenhague, explorant toute les facettes de la subjectivité. Lors de cette design week danoise, le studio a notamment présenté la Moon Traveler Lamp, inspirée des origines groenlandaises de sa fondatrice, Aviaaja Ezekiassen. En effet, une légende raconte qu’un shaman voulant restorer l’équilibre de la nature, serait rentré en transe grâce au son des tambours du Groenland… La lampe est une interprétation narrative de cette scène, où le shaman serait entré en contact avec L’homme de la Lune. Une belle histoire a raconter avant de s’endormir, un design épuré qui nous plaît.

 

 

 

Etage Projects

 

Natural Futurism

 

Jacob Egeberg at Etage Projects

Jacob Egeberg at Etage Projects
Jacob Egeberg at Etage Projects
Jacob Egeberg at Etage Projects
Jacob Egeberg at Etage Projects

L’incontournable galerie Etage Projects faisait aussi partie de notre programme lors de 3daysofdesign. Bien que sa programmation ait été apparenté à la Art Week et non la Design Week, les pièces exposés ont indéniablement leur place ici! A cette occasion, la galerie a présenté la première exposition solo du jeune designer Jacob Mathias Egeberg, une étoile montante de la scène du design danois. Entre exploitation des techniques industrielles de fabrication et sa propension à produire des objets sculpturaux à l’esthétique fantasque et fabuleuse, le designer livre une exposition, vivante, vibrante et pleine de belles promesses pour l’avenir.

 

 

World of Ulteriors

 

World of Ulteriors, a contemporary design exhibition by Soft Baroque.

World of Ulteriors, a contemporary design exhibition by Soft Baroque.
World of Ulteriors, a contemporary design exhibition by Soft Baroque.

World of Ulteriors, a contemporary design exhibition by Soft Baroque.

World of Ulteriors, a contemporary design exhibition by Soft Baroque.
World of Ulteriors, a contemporary design exhibition by Soft Baroque.

Le studio de design Soft Baroque a également exposé une série de pièces chez Etage Projects, sous l’appellation World of Ulteriors. En matière de mobilier, les designers prônent l’expérience que chaque pièce suscite et nous fait vivre, soit un sentiment davantage proche du ressenti qu’un quelconque apport matériel ou fonctionnel. Avec la collaboration et le travail en 3D du designer Nicholas Ashby, le trio de designers londoniens explore les capacités de cet art visuel transposé aux matériaux, ou comment des expérimentations formelles en 3D donnent naissance à une exploitation véritable et clairvoyante de chaque matériau. Entre la technique et l’image, la galerie et les designers de Soft Baroque proposent ici de laisser entrer la poésie dans le design, grâce à une série d’objets étranges et d’intérieurs fictifs. Incroyable.

 

 

 ➡ Tous nos remerciements et bons sentiments à The Design Release et la Danish Arts Foundation pour leur invitation à 3daysofdesign!

 

 

 ➡ Be awesome, LIKE and SHARE!

M E R C I

 

Share This Articles
Written by

Chloé founded Huskdesignblog in 2016. Ever since, she is decoding every nook and cranny to find the best interiors and furniture ideas for her beloved readers and followers, eager for beautiful things.

Input your search keywords and press Enter.