Now Reading:

KRISTINA DAM, an interview between Art and Design

Long before Husk started, I already had the idea to write an article about Kristina Dam and her work. Kristina Dam Studio is coming from Copenhagen, the birthplace of the minimal design. I was amazed when I saw her taking part in Maison&Objet, early last month... and luckily she was there. Smiling, as delicate as her objects, meeting with a rising star of Danish design.

      

KRISTINA DAM

.

 
 Kristina dam designer interview

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Chloe from Husk : Can you tell me more about your background, where did you studied and in a few words, what brought you to design?

Kristina Dam : I have always been creative and I loved painting and make sculptures since my childhood – in high school, I already knew that I wanted to do something creative. I studied at the  Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts and Architecture and I graduated in 2007, as a graphic designer *.

* Kristina is also an architect

 

C.H : I really like your work, and more particularly the contrast between the heavy and powerful materials you use and the fineness of your design. What are your inspirations?

K.D : I’m mostly inspired by art – I love to roam museums all over the world - and even browse the internet - looking for sculptures, installations, and art pieces – sometimes it is just a detail in a painting or a shape of a sculpture that gives me inspiration for my next furniture. I also love to study materials and the best thing I know for that is to visit my production and touch the materials, combining them in a different way.

 

C.H : Typically, how do you work ? Do you have a work ritual ?

K.D : My work is very intuitive, in general, I get an idea very quickly of which include my next collection, as much in terms of objects and furniture. And I attach great importance to express my ideas and different inspirations in a way improvised, to see the outcome. Ideas are not lacking, and truth be told, the hard part is to make a choice between them in order to compose a collection that is consistent.

 
 
 
 
interview kristina furniture dam
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 "Sometimes only a detail catches my attention in a painting, or just a form of a sculpture (...)"
 
 
 
 
 
 
interview kristina furniture dam
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

It is interesting to learn here that Kristina graduated as a graphic designer, because indeed, her work is quite close to graphic illustration. Her pieces are very graphic, playing with full and empty, strength and lightness. We perfectly imagine her creations to the drawing status evolving gradually towards the material, taking consistency...

 
 
 
interview kristina dam sculptures
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

Chloe from Husk : How do you choose your materials ?

Kristina Dam : I love the eternal and raw materials. At the studio, we chose generally of raw oak, marble, steel, brass. Our choices are always moving toward pure, never reworked materials.

 

C.H : Among all your collection, do you have a favorite piece? ( and if yes, which one and why? ;) )

K.D : The sculptures are definitely my favorite. People know us for the sculptures and they really tell the story that I’m working between art and design. Especially the Marble Circles, they are so simple and have such a nice symbolic meaning.

 

C.H : I noticed that you had a series of posters only available in a limited edition, each copy is individually signed by you. It's as if each drawing was a unique work of art. The approach is beautiful and goes against the design of mass. How do you qualify this approach?

K.D : It's one of my goals: introduce and make art accessible to people who normally don't buy art works. I like knowing that these editions are limited, and that only a few people possess a copy, their copy. I will always take care to keep this approach and this type of production, much closer to the people, in all my future collections.

 
 
 interview kristina dam sculptures
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I always liked the idea of accessible design, regarding the price or the shape. Kristina Dam Studio approach is probably the future of design but also art, where the notion of elite no longer exists and where anyone can own a piece of something unique. This would make a design for the mass, but without mass production.

 
 interview kristina dam posters
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Chloe from Husk : What do you think of the design community today, would you change anything?

Kristina Dam : Oh, there is so many talented young people who graduate each year and I would love that people pay them more attention and having more job opportunities. I think it is difficult to be a company like us because there are so many big companies that “own” the design scene especially in Denmark where consumers are used to buy their products, so you really have to fight to be a part of the the design scene currently.

 

C.H : What are your future projects ?

K.D : I have more and more projects of apartments and hotels throughout the world, for whom I work closely with my team of Interior designers, also I would like to have more projects like these! Then, I will discuss my collection to add more furniture and designs made of new materials. And of course, there will be new sculptures!

 
 
interview kristina dam
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Thank you very much, Kristina !
 

Thank you for taking the time to respond to these questions in order to discover your world a little more. We you want countless wonderful projects around the world, continue to make us dream! And to finish this interview in beauty, here are with products of the:

 
 
 

KRISTINA DAM, an interview between Art and Design

Husk Mention

 

 

kristina dam husk selection interview

1. double Moon Sculpture / Marble, mirror and former mirror -. from 2675 DKK / 359€ / $403

2 Graphic Shelves / Painted steel. from 3300 DKK / 443€ / $497

3 Outline Mirror / Painted steel and mirror (available in white). from 4800 DKK / 645€ / $723

4 Endless A3 / Ink on paper, black metal frame. from 750 DKK / 100€ / $113

5 - Table / Black Hetree oiled -. from 2100 DKK / 282€ / $316

6 Marble Circles / Marble -. from 3150 DKK / 423€ / $475

 
 
 
 

Find out the online store of Kristina Dam and her studio's news here !

 

T H A N K S

 
 
Written by

Chloé founded Huskdesignblog in 2016. Ever since, she is decoding every nook and cranny to find the best interiors and furniture ideas for her beloved readers and followers, eager for beautiful things.

Input your search keywords and press Enter.

Depuis bien avant que Husk soit en ligne, j'avais déjà l'idée d'écrire un article sur Kristina Dam et son travail. Kristina Dam Studio nous vient tout droit de Copenhague, berceau du design minimal. Quelle ne fut pas ma surprise lorsque j'ai aperçu son stand à Maison&Objet, au début du mois dernier... Et par chance, elle était là. Souriante à souhait, aussi délicate que ses oeuvres, rencontre avec une des étoiles montantes du design Danois.

      

KRISTINA DAM

.

 
 kristina dam designer portrait

 

 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Chloe from Husk : Pouvez-vous m'en dire plus sur votre parcours, où avez-vous étudié et en quelques mots, qu'est-ce qui vous a amené au design ?

Kristina Dam : J'ai toujours été créative, j'aime peindre et m'exercer à la sculpture depuis que je suis enfant. Au lycée déjà, je savais pertinemment que je choisirai une voie créative. J'ai étudié à la  Royal Danish Academy of Fine Arts and Architecture et obtenu mon diplôme en 2007, comme designer graphique*.

*Kristina est également architecte

 

C.H : J'aime vraiment votre travail, et plus particulièrement le contraste entre les matériaux lourds et puissants que vous utilisez et la finesse de votre design. Quelles-sont vos inspirations ?

K.D : Je suis principalement inspirée par l'art. J'aime parcourir les musées du monde entier - et même internet - à la recherche de sculptures, d'installations et d'oeuvres d'art. Parfois, seul un détail attire mon attention dans une peinture, ou bien juste une forme d'une sculpture m'inspire pour ma prochaine collection. J'aime étudier les matériaux, je passe des heures dans mes ateliers à toucher les différentes matières et à essayer différentes associations.

 

C.H : Typiquement, comment travaillez-vous ? Avez-vous une sorte de rituel de travail ?

K.D : Mon travail est très intuitif, en général j'ai très vite une idée de ce qui composera ma prochaine collection, autant en matière d'objets que de mobiliers. Et j'attache beaucoup d'importance à laisser mes idées et différentes inspirations s'exprimer de manière improvisée, pour voir ce qui en découle. Les idées ne manquent pas, et à vrai dire, le plus dur est de faire un choix entre elles afin de composer une collection qui soit cohérente.

 
 
 
 
interview kristina dam mobilier
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 " Parfois, seul un détail attire mon attention dans une peinture, ou bien juste une forme d'une sculpture (...) "
 
 
 
 
 
 
interview kristina dam mobilier
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Il est intéressant d'apprendre ici que Kristina a été diplômée en tant que designer graphique, car en effet, son univers est très proche de l'illustration. Ces différentes pièces sont très graphiques, jouent avec les pleins et les vides, la force et la légèreté. On imagine parfaitement ses créations à l'état de dessin évoluer petit à petit vers de la matière, prendre de la consistance...

 
 
 
interview kristina dam sculptures
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Chloe from Husk : Comment choisissez-vous vos matériaux ?

Kristina Dam : J'aime les matériaux bruts et éternels. Au studio, on choisi générallement du chêne brut, du marbre, de l'acier, du laiton. Nos choix s'orientent toujours vers des matériaux pures, jamais  retravaillés.

 

C.H : Parmi toute votre collection, avez-vous une pièce préférée ( et si oui, laquelle et pourquoi ? )

K.D : Les sculptures sont définitivement mes favorites. Car les gens connaissent ces pièces et notre studio justement pour ces sculptures, qu'ils qualifient de créations entre art et design. Les Marble Circles par exemple, ces formes très simples, dégagent pourtant une symbolique très forte pour la plupart des gens.

 

C.H : J'ai noté que vous aviez une série d'affiches uniquement proposée en édition limitée, chaque exemplaire étant individuellement signé par vous. Un peu comme si chaque dessin était une oeuvre d'art unique. L'approche est belle et va totalement à l'encontre du design de masse. Comment qualifierez-vous cette démarche ?

K.D : C'est un de mes buts: introduire et rendre accessible l'art à des personnes qui normalement n'achètent pas d'oeuvres d'art. J'aime savoir que ces éditions sont limitées, et que seulement quelques personnes possèdent un exemplaire, leur exemplaire. Je prendrai toujours soin de garder cette démarche et ce type de production, beaucoup plus proche des gens, dans toutes mes collections futures.

 
 
 interview kristina dam sculptures
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

J'ai toujours aimé l'idée d'un design accessible, dans le prix ou dans la forme. La démarche de Kristina Dam Studio est probablement le futur du design mais aussi de l'art, où la notion d'élite n'existerait plus et où chacun pourrait posséder un morceau de quelquechose d'unique. Cela reviendrait à faire un design pour la masse, mais sans production de masse.

 
 interview kristina dam affiches
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

Chloe from Husk : Que pensez-vous de la communauté du design aujourd'hui, changeriez-vous quelquechose ?

Kristina Dam : Oh, il y a tant de jeunes gens talentueux qui obtiennent leur diplôme chaque année, et je voudrais bien qu'on leur porte plus d'attention et qu'ils aient plus d'opportunités d'emplois. Il est vraiment difficile d'exister pour un studio comme nous par exemple, car il y a tellement d'autres studios et agences très connues qui monopolisent l'attention, tout particulièrement ici au Danemark, que les clients ont l'habitude d'acheter leurs produits... Il faut donc réellement se battre pour faire partie de la scène design actuellement.

 

C.H : Quels sont vos futurs projets ?

K.D : J'ai de plus en plus de projets d'appartements et d'hôtels à travers le monde, pour lesquels je collabore étroitement avec mon équipe d'architectes d'intérieur, d'ailleurs j'aimerais avoir davantage de projets comme ceux-là ! Ensuite, je me pencherai sur ma collection afin d'y ajouter plus de mobilier et de créations composées de nouveaux matériaux. Et bien sûr, il y aura de nouvelles sculptures !

 
 
interview kristina dam
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 
Merci beaucoup Kristina !
 

Merci d'avoir pris le temps de répondre à ces quelques questions afin de nous faire découvrir un peu plus votre univers. Nous vous souhaitons d'innombrables merveilleux projets à travers le monde, continuez à nous faire rêver ! Et afin de terminer cette interview en beauté, voici les produits dotés de la :

 
 
 

Mention Husk

 

 

interview kristina dam la selection husk

1 - Double Moon Sculpture / Marbre, miroir et miroir ancien - à partir de 2675 DKK / 359€ / $403

2 - Graphic Shelves / Acier peint - à partir de 3300 DKK / 443€ / $497

3 - Outline Mirror / Acier peint et miroir (existe en blanc) - à partir de 4800 DKK / 645€ / $723

4 - Endless A3 / Encre sur papier, cadre en métal noir - à partie de 750 DKK / 100€ / $113

5 - Table / Hêtreê noir huilé - à partie de 2100 DKK / 282€ / $316

6 - Marble Circles / Marbre - à partir de 3150 DKK / 423€ / $475

 
 
 

Retrouvez la boutique en ligne de Kristina Dam et les news du studio ici !

 

M E R C I

 
 
Chloé Valette