Now Reading:
Savannah Bay Gallery: The new generation underway!

Savannah Bay Gallery: The new generation underway!

Savannah Bay Gallery: The new generation underway!

.

 

In Paris, across the city, designers, galleries and other personalities are busy moving the lines of what defines design and how professionals as individuals do go on, little by little. This is the case for example of Lena Jaroschek and Quentin Daly, the smart founders of Savannah Bay Gallery, a gallery of the new era, exclusively online and which offers pieces of international designers with a huge concern of quality. Thus, they present the work of Dmitry Samygin, Richard YasmineFrédéric Saulou and many others... Meeting with those who finally dust off the job.

 

Savannah Bay Gallery: The new generation underway!

 

Huskdesignblog: You present a very massive, sculptural design, halfway with art and which seems to be inspired by the spirit of the greatest American galleries, both in terms of products as well as of image. How would you define yourself?

 

Savannah Bay gallery: We first built ourself against a certain preconceived notion of design, against the current generalist style and mass production. We work on small series, and we do everything possible to propose a contemporary and signed design, but not industrial. The idea of the design that we convey and love is that of the preciousness, of the quality. We carefully select each craftsman who will work on a piece, and humanly, we are very committed in every relationship that we connect with the different actors of the same project: designer, customer, craftsman, we truly feel the need to go meeting these different personalities, so that a project takes its meaning. The manufacturing process takes time, but we like to take care of it, there is our guarantee of quality. Lately, we have presented a table designed by Hormé (photos below) – a Parisian designers duo –  made by three different craftmen, one for wood, one for brass, one for marble, true craftmen of art! And by the way, this is our first piece in co-edition...

 

Lena Jaroschek and Quentin Daly, are the proud founders of the online gallery Savannah Bay, which renews design, the idea we make of it but also the very profession of gallerist... Meeting.
Lena Jaroschek and Quentin Daly, are the proud founders of the online gallery Savannah Bay, which renews design, the idea we make of it but also the very profession of gallerist... Meeting.
Lena Jaroschek and Quentin Daly, are the proud founders of the online gallery Savannah Bay, which renews design, the idea we make of it but also the very profession of gallerist... Meeting.

- Hormé X Savannah Bay -

 

 

Huskdesignblog: Co-edition is a very good idea. This opens up to a new field of possibilities in relation to your profession, and to future collaborations too... Could you tell me more?

 

Savannah Bay gallery: We obviously represent the artists as a gallery, but we really want to engage more in the creative process and co-edit some pieces with the designers. Our short-term project, is to go for luminaires edition, which is a quite daring and complicated project to set up... We are only at the beginning of the reflection but it goes with our willingness to engage in stronger relationships with the designers, the idea is to be involved behind the project rather than to find us only at the end of the line, just as resellers. This makes it possible to put ideas together and to propose a whole new type of products on our website. We do not know how to sketch, this requires technical and artistic skills that we do not have, but on the other hand we deal with the quality of the products and choose the craftmen with good care. Taking part of the project of an artist, it's so great, and we all find strength through unity!

 

Lena Jaroschek and Quentin Daly, are the proud founders of the online gallery Savannah Bay, which renews design, the idea we make of it but also the very profession of gallerist... Meeting.
Lena Jaroschek and Quentin Daly, are the proud founders of the online gallery Savannah Bay, which renews design, the idea we make of it but also the very profession of gallerist... Meeting.
Lena Jaroschek and Quentin Daly, are the proud founders of the online gallery Savannah Bay, which renews design, the idea we make of it but also the very profession of gallerist... Meeting.

  - Dmitry Samygin - 

 

 

Huskdesignblog: It's very interesting, it really changes the idea we have of a gallery. How do you see it, is co-edition brings you to rethink your process? For example – apart from these products – do you ask for exclusivity on the work of the artists and designers you represent?

 

Savannah Bay gallery: For us, the very principle of exclusivity rhymes with the old model. We have always been very transparent with our artists from the start, and have never considered it legitimate to impose any kind of exclusivity. Going against this trend has allowed us to gain access to some artists who already had a small reputation, and to establish a real relationship of trust, an honest and long-term partnership. As gallery owners, it is not advantageous to obtain exclusivity on a product, because in any case if the artist gains visibility and his work gains fame, each of his representatives will naturally - and if they do their job well! - – will benefit from the same visibility. In the field, designers should not forget that they are in a position to negotiate, and from our point of view, granting exclusivity to anyone is a mistake, and can stifle innovation and creativity.

 

Lena Jaroschek and Quentin Daly, are the proud founders of the online gallery Savannah Bay, which renews design, the idea we make of it but also the very profession of gallerist... Meeting.
Lena Jaroschek and Quentin Daly, are the proud founders of the online gallery Savannah Bay, which renews design, the idea we make of it but also the very profession of gallerist... Meeting.
Lena Jaroschek and Quentin Daly, are the proud founders of the online gallery Savannah Bay, which renews design, the idea we make of it but also the very profession of gallerist... Meeting.

- Richard Yasmine, Bentu Design and Frédéric Saulou -

 

 

Huskdesignblog: Speaking of creativity, what is the level of adaptability of Savannah Bay for the architects? What kind of personalised accompaniment can you offer?

 

Savannah Bay gallery: We are fortunate that 80 to 90% of our collection can be made to measure, because as these are small series, the artists are very open to this type of request and control the production themselves, so everything is possible for the architects. For example, if they take a console from our catalogue, they can ask for a 30 cm extension or ask for a walnut top instead of ebony, without any problem. This is a particularity and a real strength that we really want to promote, because thanks to this flexibility we are able to respond to a real demand.

 

.

 

 

Huskdesignblog: Indeed, this flexibility of manufacturing while remaining in a range of very qualitative products is very sought by architects and interior designers. In addition, I imagine that architects can also greatly help to promote Savannah Bay. Do you have a recent collaboration to tell us?

 

Savannah Bay Gallery: We have recently been invited by the Interior Design agency RINCK to present furniture in the VIP dressing rooms that they designed for the Longines Masters – Grand Prix of horse races – project for which we chose to exhibit three pedestal tables. This kind of agency and event allows us to gain visibility on the client's side, and it is an undeniable advantage for us to be able to present pieces in situation. Moreover, the French market is still very cautious about selling pieces in small series, let's say that it is not common (much more widespread in United Kingdom or to United States, for example), so having products "approved" by architects is a kind of validation step that the French public often expects to get interested, so we need this kind of triggering events. We hope that we will be able to collaborate more and more with other personalities, even abroad. And we meet more and more people of our generation everyday (designers, galleries, etc.) which is a key factor to create great exchanges and therefore possible collaborations.

 

Lena Jaroschek and Quentin Daly, are the proud founders of the online gallery Savannah Bay, which renews design, the idea we make of it but also the very profession of gallerist... Meeting.
Lena Jaroschek and Quentin Daly, are the proud founders of the online gallery Savannah Bay, which renews design, the idea we make of it but also the very profession of gallerist... Meeting.
Lena Jaroschek and Quentin Daly, are the proud founders of the online gallery Savannah Bay, which renews design, the idea we make of it but also the very profession of gallerist... Meeting.

- Zieta and Dmitri Samygin -

 

 

Huskdesignblog: What is your current situation and what can we wish you?

 

Savannah Bay Gallery: We currently focus on renewing ourselves, and therefore proposing new artists and designers. Moreover, we are delighted because the collective Zieta or Zieta Prozessdesign just joined us! They already have fame because they developed a technology ("FiDU") that allows them to pump draws air between two welded metal plates to give shape to their furniture; like we'd blow in a balloon, actually! We have also recently added the drawings of Dmitry SamyginWe have been working with the Russian designer since the beginning. Otherwise, we work on our website, because it is our real working tool, and we also build in parallel our catalogue which has become necessary to reach our customers. Generally speaking, we are confident for the future, because a real change is underway, mentalities are evolving - and the design too! - – and expectations are changing. Even the buying process is changing, people of our generation are looking for quality but also originality. More and more designers are contacting us directly and coming to us to work together, we are really happy and hope it lasts!

 

 

... and we hope you do! Thanks to Lena and Quentin for meeting me.

Designers, architects, you know where to go now : )

 

 ➡ Be awesome, LIKE and SHARE!

T H A N K S

 

Originally posted 2018-04-09 10:30:58.

Written by

Chloé founded Huskdesignblog in 2016. Ever since, she is decoding every nook and cranny to find the best interiors and furniture ideas for her beloved readers and followers, eager for beautiful things.

Input your search keywords and press Enter.

Savannah Bay gallery: La nouvelle génération est en marche!

.

 

A Paris, aux quatre coins de la capitale, designers, galeristes et autres personnalités s’affairent à faire bouger les lignes de ce qui défini le design et la façon dont professionnels comme particuliers y accèdent, petit à petit. C’est le cas par exemple de Lena Jaroschek et Quentin Daly, les ingénieux fondateurs de Savannah Bay gallery, une galerie de la nouvelle ère, exclusivement en ligne et qui propose des pièces de designers internationaux avec un immense souci de qualité. Ainsi, ils proposent le travail de Dmitry Samygin, Richard Yasmine, Frédéric Saulou et bien d’autres… Rencontre avec ceux qui dépoussièrent enfin le métier.

 

 

Huskdesignblog: Vous présentez un type de design très massif, sculptural, à mi-chemin avec l’art et qui semble s’inspirer de l’esprit des grandes galeries américaines, autant en terme de produits présentés que d’image. Comment vous définiriez-vous?

 

Savannah Bay gallery: On s’est tout d’abord construits contre une certaine idée toute faîte du design, contre l’idée généraliste actuelle et de la production de masse. On travaille sur des petites séries, et on met tout en oeuvre pour proposer un design contemporain et signé, mais pas industriel. L’idée du design que l’on véhicule et que l’on aime est celle de la préciosité, de la qualité. On sélectionne avec soin chaque artisan qui va travailler sur une pièce, et humainement, nous sommes très engagés dans chaque relation que l’on tisse avec les différents interlocuteurs d’un même projet: designer, client, artisan, nous ressentons véritablement le besoin d’aller à la rencontre de ces différentes personnalités, afin qu’un projet prenne tout son sens. Le processus de mise en fabrication prend du temps, mais on aime s’en occuper, là est notre gage de qualité. Dernièrement, nous avons présenté un guéridon dessiné par Hormé (photos ci-dessous) – duo de designers parisien –  réalisé par trois artisans différents, un pour le bois, un pour le laiton, un pour le marbre, de vrais artisans d’art! Et d’ailleurs c’est notre première pièce en co-édition…

 

Lena Jaroschek et Quentin Daly, sont les heureux fondateurs de la galerie en ligne Savannah Bay gallery, qui renouvèle le design, l'idée qu'on s'en fait mais aussi le métier même de galeriste... Rencontre.
Lena Jaroschek et Quentin Daly, sont les heureux fondateurs de la galerie en ligne Savannah Bay gallery, qui renouvèle le design, l'idée qu'on s'en fait mais aussi le métier même de galeriste... Rencontre.
Lena Jaroschek et Quentin Daly, sont les heureux fondateurs de la galerie en ligne Savannah Bay gallery, qui renouvèle le design, l'idée qu'on s'en fait mais aussi le métier même de galeriste... Rencontre.

– Hormé X Savannah Bay –

 

 

Huskdesignblog: La co-édition est une très bonne idée. Cela ouvre vers un nouveau champ des possibles par rapport à votre métier, et à de futures collaborations aussi… Pourriez-vous m’en dire plus?

 

Savannah Bay gallery: On représente évidemment les artistes en tant que galerie, mais on veut véritablement s’engager davantage dans le processus de création et co-editer certaines pièces avec les designers. Notre projet à court terme, est de se lancer dans l’édition de luminaires, ce qui un projet assez audacieux et compliqué à mettre en place… Nous ne sommes qu’au début de la réflexion mais cela va avec notre volonté de nous engager dans des relations plus solides avec les designers, l’idée c’est d’être davantage à l’origine du projet plutôt que de se trouver uniquement en bout de chaine, comme simple revendeur. Cela permet de mettre les idées en commun et de proposer un tout nouveau type de produits sur notre site. On ne sait pas dessiner, il faut des compétences techniques et artistiques que nous n’avons pas, en revanche on s’occupe de la qualité des produits et de choisir les artisans avec soin. Prendre part au projet d’un artiste, c’est génial, et à plusieurs on est plus forts!

 

Lena Jaroschek et Quentin Daly, sont les heureux fondateurs de la galerie en ligne Savannah Bay gallery, qui renouvèle le design, l'idée qu'on s'en fait mais aussi le métier même de galeriste... Rencontre.
Lena Jaroschek et Quentin Daly, sont les heureux fondateurs de la galerie en ligne Savannah Bay gallery, qui renouvèle le design, l'idée qu'on s'en fait mais aussi le métier même de galeriste... Rencontre.
Lena Jaroschek et Quentin Daly, sont les heureux fondateurs de la galerie en ligne Savannah Bay gallery, qui renouvèle le design, l'idée qu'on s'en fait mais aussi le métier même de galeriste... Rencontre.

  – Dmitry Samygin – 

 

 

Huskdesignblog: C’est très intéressant, cela fait vraiment évoluer l’idée qu’on se fait d’une galerie. Comment voyez-vous les choses, la co-édition vous amène t-elle à repenser votre modèle? Par exemple – en dehors de ces produits –  demandez-vous l’exclusivité sur les pièces des artistes et designers que vous représentez?

 

Savannah Bay gallery: Pour nous, le principe même d’exclusivité rime avec ancien modèle. Nous avons toujours été très transparents avec nos artistes dès le début, et n’avons jamais considéré être légitimes d’imposer une quelconque exclusivité. Aller contre ce courant nous a d’ailleurs permis d’accéder à certains artistes qui avaient déjà une petite renommée, et d’établir une réelle relation de confiance, un partenariat honnête et sur le long terme. En tant que galeristes, il n’est pas avantageux d’obtenir l’exclusivité sur un produit, car de toute façon si l’artiste gagne en visibilité et son travail en renommée, chacun de ses représentants va d’une manière naturelle – et s’ils font bien leur travail! – bénéficier de cette même visibilité. Dans le milieu, les designers ne doivent pas oublier qu’ils sont en position de négocier, et de notre point de vue, accorder l’exclusivité à qui que ce soit est une erreur, et peut même être un frein à la créativité.

 

Lena Jaroschek et Quentin Daly, sont les heureux fondateurs de la galerie en ligne Savannah Bay gallery, qui renouvèle le design, l'idée qu'on s'en fait mais aussi le métier même de galeriste... Rencontre.
Lena Jaroschek et Quentin Daly, sont les heureux fondateurs de la galerie en ligne Savannah Bay gallery, qui renouvèle le design, l'idée qu'on s'en fait mais aussi le métier même de galeriste... Rencontre.
Lena Jaroschek et Quentin Daly, sont les heureux fondateurs de la galerie en ligne Savannah Bay gallery, qui renouvèle le design, l'idée qu'on s'en fait mais aussi le métier même de galeriste... Rencontre.

– Richard Yasmine, Bentu Design et Frédéric Saulou –

 

 

Huskdesignblog: En parlant de créativité, quel est le niveau d’adaptabilité de Savannah Bay pour des projets d’architectes par exemple? Quel est le genre d’accompagnement qu’il vous est possible de proposer?

 

Savannah Bay gallery: Nous avons justement la chance que 80 à 90% de notre collection puisse être réalisée sur mesure, car justement comme ce sont de petites séries, les artistes sont très ouverts à ce genre de demandes et contrôlent eux-mêmes la production, tout est donc possible pour les architectes. En prenant par exemple une console de notre catalogue, ils peuvent par exemple demander une rallonge de 30 cm ou demander à avoir un plateau en noyer plutôt qu’en ébène, sans aucun problème. C’est d’ailleurs une particularité et une vrai force qu’on désire vraiment mettre en avant, car grâce à cette souplesse on est à même de répondre à une vrai demande.

 

.

 

 

Huskdesignblog: En effet, cette flexibilité du produit tout en restant dans une gamme de produits très qualitatifs est très recherchée par les architectes et architectes d’intérieur. De plus, j’imagine que les architectes peuvent aussi largement contribuer à faire connaitre Savannah Bay. Avez-vous une récente collaboration à nous raconter?

 

Savannah Bay Gallery: Nous avons récemment été invités par l’agence d’architecture d’intérieur RINCK à présenter du mobilier dans les loges VIP qu’elle a réalisé pour les Longines Masters – grand prix de courses épiques – projet pour lequel nous avons choisi d’exposer trois guéridons. Ce genre d’agence et d’évènement nous permet effectivement de gagner en visibilité côté client, et c’est pour nous un avantage indéniable de pouvoir présenter des pièces en situation. De plus, le marché français étant encore très frileux quant à la vente de pièces en petite série, disons que ce n’est pas commun (beaucoup plus répandu au Royaume-Uni ou aux Etats-Unis, par exemple), avoir des produits “approuvés” par les architectes est une sorte d’étape de validation que le public français attend souvent pour susciter chez lui de l’intérêt, nous avons donc besoin de ce genre d’évènements déclencheurs. On espère qu’on pourra de plus en plus collaborer avec d’autres personnalités, voir même à l’étranger cela nous interesse beaucoup. Et nous rencontrons de plus en plus de gens de notre génération (designers, galeristes, etc) qui est un facteur clé pour créer des échanges et donc de possibles collaborations.

 

Lena Jaroschek et Quentin Daly, sont les heureux fondateurs de la galerie en ligne Savannah Bay gallery, qui renouvèle le design, l'idée qu'on s'en fait mais aussi le métier même de galeriste... Rencontre.
Lena Jaroschek et Quentin Daly, sont les heureux fondateurs de la galerie en ligne Savannah Bay gallery, qui renouvèle le design, l'idée qu'on s'en fait mais aussi le métier même de galeriste... Rencontre.
Lena Jaroschek et Quentin Daly, sont les heureux fondateurs de la galerie en ligne Savannah Bay gallery, qui renouvèle le design, l'idée qu'on s'en fait mais aussi le métier même de galeriste... Rencontre.

– Zieta et Dmitri Samygin –

 

 

Huskdesignblog: Quelle est votre actualité et que peut on vous souhaiter?

 

Savannah Bay Gallery: Nous nous concentrons actuellemment sur le fait de nous renouveler, et donc de proposer de nouveaux artistes et designers. D’ailleurs, nous sommes ravis car le collectif Zieta ou Zieta Prozessdesign vient de nous rejoindre! Ils ont déjà leur petite renommée notamment parce qu’ils ont développé une technologie («FiDU») qui leur permet d’insuffler de l’air entre deux plaques de métal soudées pour donner forme à leur mobilier; comme on soufflerait dans un ballon en fait! Nous proposons également depuis peu les dessins de Dmitry Samygin, designer russe avec qui on travaille depuis le début. Sinon, on travaille sur notre site, car c’est notre véritable outil de travail, et on construit aussi en parallèle notre catalogue qui est devenu nécessaire pour aller au devant de notre clientèle. D’une manière générale, nous sommes confiants pour la suite, car un réel un changement est en cours, les mentalités évoluent – et le design aussi! – et les attentes se renouvellent. Même le parcours d’achat change, les gens de notre génération recherche la qualité mais aussi l’originalité. De plus en plus de designers nous contactent directement et viennent vers nous pour que l’on travaille ensemble, on est vraiment ravis et pourvu que cela dure!

 

 

… et on vous le souhaite vivement! Merci à Lena et Quentin pour cette rencontre.

Designers, architectes, vous savez où vous adresser désormais : )

 

 ➡ Be awesome, LIKE and SHARE!

M E R C I