REYKJAVIK: DesignMarch, the best of Icelandic and Nordic design

.

 

DesignMarch – HönnunarMars in Icelandic –it's the Icelandic design week. For four days, from March 15 to 18 in Reykjavik, conferences, exhibitions, workshops and performances succeeded each other in order to honor design in all disciplines, and throughout the city. It is interesting to get to know once on the spot the real link that exists between the Nordic countries – or even Arctic –who support each other and feed each other in many ways. Indeed, in many projects, the conceptual spirit of Icelanders mixed with the formal meaning of the Finns or the creativity of the Swedes, etc. Selection of the best Icelandic design, but not only.

 

 

DESIGN TALKS

 

The selection of the best of Icelandic and Nordic design during the design week -DesignMarch - from March 15 to 18, 2018, in Reykjavik, Iceland.
The selection of the best of Icelandic and Nordic design during the design week -DesignMarch - from March 15 to 18, 2018, in Reykjavik, Iceland.
The selection of the best of Icelandic and Nordic design during the design week -DesignMarch - from March 15 to 18, 2018, in Reykjavik, Iceland.

DesignMarch opened on March 15th through a series of conferences – called talks – as inspiring as the others, given by Icelandic and Nordic designers in order to demonstrate that design can and must be part of a societal approach. In fact, through the various speakers, we discover the Nordic tendency to consider Design as deeply useful to the evolution of our society in all areas, bringing solutions to minor as well as major issues.

This is how we discover the incredible talent of Marjan van Aubel, DSolar Esigner, who dedicates her time to inject this energy from elsewhere in our daily life, as for example above in a table or even solar windows in order to recharge directly phones and small devices. It's ingenious, it is worth asking why haven't these products invaded our lives yet..?

Or even Tekla Severin, PHotographe and Swedish Designer Set to whom we owe many images become famous of interiors and objects (below, the apartment of Daniel Heckscher, designer within Note Design Studio, or the scenography of the launch stand of the brand Northern, at the Stockholm Furniture Fair this year).

 

The selection of the best of Icelandic and Nordic design during the design week -DesignMarch - from March 15 to 18, 2018, in Reykjavik, Iceland.
The selection of the best of Icelandic and Nordic design during the design week -DesignMarch - from March 15 to 18, 2018, in Reykjavik, Iceland.

 

 

DECORATIVE OBJECTS / LIGHTING / RUGS

 

The selection of the best of Icelandic and Nordic design during the design week -DesignMarch - from March 15 to 18, 2018, in Reykjavik, Iceland.
The selection of the best of Icelandic and Nordic design during the design week -DesignMarch - from March 15 to 18, 2018, in Reykjavik, Iceland.

But let's go back to Icelandic design. Strolling through the city over the different places stamped DesignMarch, we discover that the designers from here propose a design whose concept and basic idea come from afar, and they really care about them. The idea is strongly elaborated, and the final object minimalist. Thus, Theodóra Alfredsdóttir presented Mould, a series of small objects like puzzles, highlighting the mold, an ephemeral object and quickly set aside while its role is essential in the mass production as small series. A complete reflection between reuse of materials and how to bring to light a new category of objects, invisible to our eyes until then.

 

The selection of the best of Icelandic and Nordic design during the design week -DesignMarch - from March 15 to 18, 2018, in Reykjavik, Iceland.
The selection of the best of Icelandic and Nordic design during the design week -DesignMarch - from March 15 to 18, 2018, in Reykjavik, Iceland.

In the same place, the local brand FÓLK Reykjavik also exhibited its collection of products: a very smart and minimalist shelving system, and a series of decorative objects to put together and compose as we please in collaboration with the Icelandic designer Ólína Rögnudóttir. Photos by Baldur Kristjans.

 

The selection of the best of Icelandic and Nordic design during the design week -DesignMarch - from March 15 to 18, 2018, in Reykjavik, Iceland.
The selection of the best of Icelandic and Nordic design during the design week -DesignMarch - from March 15 to 18, 2018, in Reykjavik, Iceland.

Further, we also discover the Studio 1 + 1 + 1, which, as its name implies, is actually composed of three Scandinavian design studios: Hudgetta (Iceland), Alto + Alto (Finland) and Petra Lilja (Sweden). Each product designed by the group is always composed of three parts, each of them highlighting its own way of seeing things. So, in the 2017 vase series, each piece of the series was designed by one of the studios, and same thing for the lamps Sierra Leone Presented at DesignMarch, everyone has his own, that creates a varied but harmonious whole and once again a fine example of the importance of the links that keeps Nordic designers all together.

 

The selection of the best of Icelandic and Nordic design during the design week -DesignMarch - from March 15 to 18, 2018, in Reykjavik, Iceland.
The selection of the best of Icelandic and Nordic design during the design week -DesignMarch - from March 15 to 18, 2018, in Reykjavik, Iceland.

On the Icelandic side, the duo of Usee Studio just received the Design Award for best product line of the year by the magazine Reykjavik Grapevine. Founded by Halla Hakónardóttir and Helga Kjerulf, the studio offers products in an eco-responsible approach of recycling materials, without losing sight of the objective of a strong visual and fun impact. The duo designed the above rugs, Palm on a pelvis and Face in a Forest (also available in illustration), but also clothing and accessories.

 

The selection of the best of Icelandic and Nordic design during the design week -DesignMarch - from March 15 to 18, 2018, in Reykjavik, Iceland.
The selection of the best of Icelandic and Nordic design during the design week -DesignMarch - from March 15 to 18, 2018, in Reykjavik, Iceland.
The selection of the best of Icelandic and Nordic design during the design week -DesignMarch - from March 15 to 18, 2018, in Reykjavik, Iceland.

On the last day, I had the opportunity to meet Ragna Ragnarsdottir and whose work I greatly appreciate. The designer presented her vases Ground, small containers Globules and some pieces of the collection Main d'Oeuvre. Resin compounds of different colors, the work of Ragna Could almost register in the graphic register as the motifs she managed to create resemble illustrations voluntarily obtained. Between design, art and exploration of the creative process, his work has reached the maturity of a complete and successful project.

 

The selection of the best of Icelandic and Nordic design during the design week -DesignMarch - from March 15 to 18, 2018, in Reykjavik, Iceland.
The selection of the best of Icelandic and Nordic design during the design week -DesignMarch - from March 15 to 18, 2018, in Reykjavik, Iceland.

For its project Candelabra, Studio Flétta was looking for a simple, honest principle that can be handmade and resulting in an affordable final product. The designers – Birta Rós Brynjólfsdóttir and Hrefna Sigurðardóttir – have therefore chosen a hand-modelled clay aesthetic made very quickly (one minute for each candlestick!!), in order to highlight the creative process and crafts. A collection that attracts the eye by its strange and captivating forms and its glossy appearance that unconditionally brings a precious aspect.

 

The selection of the best of Icelandic and Nordic design during the design week -DesignMarch - from March 15 to 18, 2018, in Reykjavik, Iceland.
The selection of the best of Icelandic and Nordic design during the design week -DesignMarch - from March 15 to 18, 2018, in Reykjavik, Iceland.
The selection of the best of Icelandic and Nordic design during the design week -DesignMarch - from March 15 to 18, 2018, in Reykjavik, Iceland.

The Icelandic duo And Anti Matter – Þórey Björk Halldórsdóttir and Baldur Björnsson – is comitted to reintroduce the concept of visual aesthetics in our everyday objects. They propose a series of sculptures called Modular, that one can choose to associate or dissociate as stands and pedestals for an object or accessory that is dear to us, or as a decorative sculpture as such. With tones reminiscent of the Oddsson Hotel  Reykjavik) and made up of colorful concrete, the duo is inspired by a technique once used to create graphic floors in order to give a unique look to these sculptures. During the Design Talks from this beginning of the festival, we were also able to see their lamps Dust Blue and Peach Noise on the stage...

 

The selection of the best of Icelandic and Nordic design during the design week -DesignMarch - from March 15 to 18, 2018, in Reykjavik, Iceland.
The selection of the best of Icelandic and Nordic design during the design week -DesignMarch - from March 15 to 18, 2018, in Reykjavik, Iceland.
The selection of the best of Icelandic and Nordic design during the design week -DesignMarch - from March 15 to 18, 2018, in Reykjavik, Iceland.

After working with different media in the field of textiles, Sigrun Lara Shanko made Icelandic wool her hobbyhorse for her brand ShankoRugs. Each rug is unique, directly inspired by the complexity of Iceland's landscapes between sky, sea, ice and volcanic eruptions – above the red and black piece Holuhraunis in homage to the last eruption of the volcano of the same name and was presented on the occasion of DesignMarch  or the customer for whom the artist and designer receives orders. Lately, she worked for the Saatchi Gallery of London.

 

The selection of the best of Icelandic and Nordic design during the design week -DesignMarch - from March 15 to 18, 2018, in Reykjavik, Iceland.
The selection of the best of Icelandic and Nordic design during the design week -DesignMarch - from March 15 to 18, 2018, in Reykjavik, Iceland.

The project Souvenir/Minning of the Atelier Dottir – based in Paris – begins a quest for souvenirs and memory of an era, a place and even a feeling. By extrapolating the principle of "Madeleine de Proust", the designer, Hera Gudmundsdottir, literally gives a different smell to each of her sculptures impregnated with essential oils. Each one is unique, and everyone will find the one that appeals to him the most. Through this work, the Atelier Dottir tries to provoke reactions but also answers to the following questions: Is it possible to inspire fixed responses through scent? Can a smell evoke similiar emotional reaction in different individuals? That is the question...

 

The selection of the best of Icelandic and Nordic design during the design week -DesignMarch - from March 15 to 18, 2018, in Reykjavik, Iceland.
The selection of the best of Icelandic and Nordic design during the design week -DesignMarch - from March 15 to 18, 2018, in Reykjavik, Iceland.

Through her series Another Dialog presented at DesignMarch, the designer Hannah Whitehead offers new perspectives to tableware. Indeed, carefully listening to the needs, desires and recommendations of her close circle regarding what everyone would like to be able to do and have concerning these objects of everyday life, Hanna Whitehead changes the form for even more functionality. Her pieces of incredible lightness facilitate the contact with the latter, while shaping new uses... Nice work.

In the form of an exhibition more related to art than design, Hannah Whitehead also collaborated with Hilda Gunnarsdóttir - Founder and designer of the brand Milla Snorrason in order to create Illikambur, an installation where the styles of the two designers come together and combine with strength in a common aesthetic, in homage to a hill of the same name. The new garment collection by Milla Snorrason is accompanied, like jewellery, by Hanna Whitehead's creations.

 

The selection of the best of Icelandic and Nordic design during the design week -DesignMarch - from March 15 to 18, 2018, in Reykjavik, Iceland.
The selection of the best of Icelandic and Nordic design during the design week -DesignMarch - from March 15 to 18, 2018, in Reykjavik, Iceland.

 

 

GRAPHIC DESIGN 

 

The selection of the best of Icelandic and Nordic design during the design week -DesignMarch - from March 15 to 18, 2018, in Reykjavik, Iceland.
The selection of the best of Icelandic and Nordic design during the design week -DesignMarch - from March 15 to 18, 2018, in Reykjavik, Iceland.

I'm not used to publishing graphic design projects, but as far as Icelandis concerned, it is difficult to miss the good work done by the Studio Fræ with their collection Twinkle-Twinkle, in homage to the different landscapes that can be encountered during a stay in the heart of Icelandic nature. A futuristic aesthetic highlighting the treasures present on Earth since the dawn of time... Nice project.

 

 

FURNITURE

 

The selection of the best of Icelandic and Nordic design during the design week -DesignMarch - from March 15 to 18, 2018, in Reykjavik, Iceland.
The selection of the best of Icelandic and Nordic design during the design week -DesignMarch - from March 15 to 18, 2018, in Reykjavik, Iceland.
The selection of the best of Icelandic and Nordic design during the design week -DesignMarch - from March 15 to 18, 2018, in Reykjavik, Iceland.
The selection of the best of Icelandic and Nordic design during the design week -DesignMarch - from March 15 to 18, 2018, in Reykjavik, Iceland.

This year edition of DesignMarch was proudly supported by The Institute of Foreign Languages, which allowed students of Kunsthochschule Kassel ofGermany to present their Butterfly Project, or the demonstration of the possibilities available to designers in terms of materials and shapes to tackle the design of a stool. More importantly, the students demonstrate here that an object as simple and common as a stool can quite be part of a contemporary approach to make life easier for users. Nice reflection.

 

The selection of the best of Icelandic and Nordic design during the design week -DesignMarch - from March 15 to 18, 2018, in Reykjavik, Iceland.
The selection of the best of Icelandic and Nordic design during the design week -DesignMarch - from March 15 to 18, 2018, in Reykjavik, Iceland.

Studio Portland, composed of three complementary personalities – Karen Ósk Magnúsdóttir, the engineer, Sóley Kristjánsdóttir, the leader and Sölvi Kristjánsson, the product designer –has looked at aluminum, its properties and its ability to be recycled in order to achieve three parts: a stool, a suspension and an acoustic speaker. Indeed, aluminum recycles very well and is able to take any form, and it turns out that Iceland every year consumes three million of tea candles(!!), of which the container is of course aluminum made... The trio harvests and reshapes this material which keeps all its aesthetic properties but also solidity in their work.

 

 

Thanks to DesignMarch and the designers I've met!

 

 ➡ Be Awesome, LIKE and SHARE!

T H A N K S

REYKJAVIK: DesignMarch, le meilleur du design Islandais et Nordique

.

 

DesignMarch – HönnunarMars en Islandais – c’est la design week à l’Islandaise. Pendant quatre jours, du 15 au 18 mars à Reykjavik, conférences, expositions, ateliers et performances se sont succédés afin de faire honneur au design dans toutes les disciplines, et dans toute la ville. Il est intéressant de prendre connaissance une fois sur place du véritable lien qui unit les pays nordiques – ou même arctiques – qui se soutiennent et se nourrissent les uns les autres par de nombreux moyens. En effet, dans bon nombre de projets, l’esprit conceptuel des islandais s’est mélangé au sens formel des finlandais ou à la créativité des suédois, etc. Sélection du meilleur du design islandais, mais pas que.

 

 

DESIGN TALKS

 

La sélection du meilleur du design islandais et nordique lors de la design week - DesignMarch - du 15 au 18 mars 2018, à Reykjavik en Islande.
La sélection du meilleur du design islandais et nordique lors de la design week - DesignMarch - du 15 au 18 mars 2018, à Reykjavik en Islande.
La sélection du meilleur du design islandais et nordique lors de la design week - DesignMarch - du 15 au 18 mars 2018, à Reykjavik en Islande.

DesignMarch s’est ouvert le 15 mars dernier par une série de conférences – dits talks – aussi inspirantes les unes que les autres, données par des designers islandais et nordiques dans le but de démontrer que le design peut et doit s’inscrire dans une démarche sociétale. En effet, à travers les différents intervenants, on découvre la tendance nordique à considérer le design comme profondément utile à l’évolution de notre société dans tous les domaines, et apporteur de solutions face à des problèmes mineurs comme majeurs.

C’est ainsi que l’on découvre l’incroyable talent de Marjan van Aubel, Designer Solaire, qui consacre son temps à insuffler cette énergie venue d’ailleurs dans notre quotidien, comme par exemple ci-dessus dans une table ou encore des fenêtres solaires afin de recharger directement téléphones et petits appareils. C’est ingénieux, au point de se demander pourquoi ces produits n’ont-ils pas encore envahi nos vies..?

Ou encore Tekla Severin, Photographe et Set Designer suédoise à qui l’on doit de nombreuses images devenues cultes d’intérieurs et d’objets (ci-dessous, l’appartement de Daniel Heckscher, designer au sein de Note Design Studio, ou encore la scénographie du stand de lancement de la marque Northern, lors du Stockholm Furniture Fair cette année).

 

La sélection du meilleur du design islandais et nordique lors de la design week - DesignMarch - du 15 au 18 mars 2018, à Reykjavik en Islande.
La sélection du meilleur du design islandais et nordique lors de la design week - DesignMarch - du 15 au 18 mars 2018, à Reykjavik en Islande.

 

 

OBJETS DÉCORATIFS / LUMINAIRES / TAPIS

 

La sélection du meilleur du design islandais et nordique lors de la design week - DesignMarch - du 15 au 18 mars 2018, à Reykjavik en Islande.
La sélection du meilleur du design islandais et nordique lors de la design week - DesignMarch - du 15 au 18 mars 2018, à Reykjavik en Islande.

Mais revenons au design islandais. En déambulant dans la ville au fil des différents endroits estampillés DesignMarch, on découvre que les designers d’ici proposent un design dont le concept et l’idée de base viennent de loin, et leur tiennent véritablement à coeur. L’idée est fortement travaillée, et l’objet final minimaliste. Ainsi, Theodóra Alfredsdóttir présentait Mould, une série de petits objets comme des puzzles, mettant en lumière le moule, objet éphémère et rapidement mis de côté alors que son rôle est primordial dans la production du design de masse comme des petites séries. Une réflexion complète entre réutilisation des matériaux et mis en lumière d’une nouvelle catégorie d’objets, invisibles à nos yeux jusqu’alors.

 

La sélection du meilleur du design islandais et nordique lors de la design week - DesignMarch - du 15 au 18 mars 2018, à Reykjavik en Islande.
La sélection du meilleur du design islandais et nordique lors de la design week - DesignMarch - du 15 au 18 mars 2018, à Reykjavik en Islande.

Au même endroit, la marque locale FÓLK Reykjavik exposait également sa collection de produits: un système d’étagères intelligent et minimaliste, et une série d’accessoires décoratifs à assembler et composer à notre guise en collaboration avec la designer islandaise Ólína Rögnudóttir. Photos par Baldur Kristjans.

 

La sélection du meilleur du design islandais et nordique lors de la design week - DesignMarch - du 15 au 18 mars 2018, à Reykjavik en Islande.
La sélection du meilleur du design islandais et nordique lors de la design week - DesignMarch - du 15 au 18 mars 2018, à Reykjavik en Islande.

Plus loin, on découvre également le studio 1+1+1, qui comme son nom l’indique est en fait composé de trois studios de design scandinaves: Hudgetta (Islande), Alto+Alto (Finlande) et Petra Lilja (Suède). Chaque produit imaginé par le groupe est toujours composé de trois parties, chacun mettant en avant sa façon de voir les choses. Ainsi, dans la série de vase de 2017, chaque pièce de la série a été conçue par un des studios, et même chose pour les lampes Sierra Leone présentées lors de DesignMarch, à chacun la sienne, ce qui crée un ensemble varié mais harmonieux et encore une fois un bel exemple de l’importance des liens qui unissent les designers nordiques.

 

La sélection du meilleur du design islandais et nordique lors de la design week - DesignMarch - du 15 au 18 mars 2018, à Reykjavik en Islande.
La sélection du meilleur du design islandais et nordique lors de la design week - DesignMarch - du 15 au 18 mars 2018, à Reykjavik en Islande.

Du côté Islandais, le duo de Usee Studio vient juste de se voir remettre le Design Award pour la meilleure ligne de produits de l’année par le magazine Reykjavik Grapevine. Fondé par Halla Hakónardóttir et Helga Kjerúlf, le studio propose des produits dans une démarche éco-responsable de recyclage de matériaux, sans perde de vue l’objectif d’un impact visuel fort et fun. Le duo a conçu les tapis ci-dessus, Palm on a pelvis et Face in a Forest (également disponibles en illustration), mais aussi des vêtements et accessoires.

 

La sélection du meilleur du design islandais et nordique lors de la design week - DesignMarch - du 15 au 18 mars 2018, à Reykjavik en Islande.
La sélection du meilleur du design islandais et nordique lors de la design week - DesignMarch - du 15 au 18 mars 2018, à Reykjavik en Islande.
La sélection du meilleur du design islandais et nordique lors de la design week - DesignMarch - du 15 au 18 mars 2018, à Reykjavik en Islande.

Le dernier jour, j’ai eu l’occasion de rencontrer Ragna Ragnarsdottir dont j’apprécie beaucoup le travail. La designer présentait ses vases Ground, petits contenants Globules et quelques pièces de la collection Main d’Oeuvre. Composés de résines de différentes couleurs, le travail de Ragna pourrait presque s’inscrire dans le registre graphique tant les motifs qu’elle a réussi à créer ressemblent à des illustrations volontairement obtenues. Entre design, art et exploration du processus de création, son travail a atteint la maturité d’un projet complet et aboutit.

 

La sélection du meilleur du design islandais et nordique lors de la design week - DesignMarch - du 15 au 18 mars 2018, à Reykjavik en Islande.
La sélection du meilleur du design islandais et nordique lors de la design week - DesignMarch - du 15 au 18 mars 2018, à Reykjavik en Islande.

Pour son projet Candelabra, le Studio Flétta était à la recherche d’un principe simple, honnête, qui puisse être réalisé à la main et résultant d’un produit final abordable. Les designers – Birta Rós Brynjólfsdóttir et Hrefna Sigurðardóttir – ont donc choisi une esthétique en argile modelée à la main et réalisée rapidement (une minute pour chaque chandelier!!), afin de mettre en valeur le processus créatif et l’artisanat. Une collection qui attire l’oeil par ses formes étranges et captivantes et son aspect brillant qui lui apporte inconditionellement un aspect précieux.

 

La sélection du meilleur du design islandais et nordique lors de la design week - DesignMarch - du 15 au 18 mars 2018, à Reykjavik en Islande.
La sélection du meilleur du design islandais et nordique lors de la design week - DesignMarch - du 15 au 18 mars 2018, à Reykjavik en Islande.
La sélection du meilleur du design islandais et nordique lors de la design week - DesignMarch - du 15 au 18 mars 2018, à Reykjavik en Islande.

Le duo islandais And Anti Matter – Þórey Björk Halldórsdóttir et Baldur Björnsson – met un point d’honneur à réintroduire la notion d’esthétique dans les objets usuels. Ainsi, ils proposent une série de sculptures appellées Modular, que l’on peut au choix associer ou dissocier en tant que supports et piédestals pour un objet ou accessoire qui nous est cher, ou comme sculpture décorative en tant que telle. Avec des tons rappelant l’hôtel Oddsson (Reykjavik) et constituées de béton coloré, le duo s’inspire d’une technique jadis utilisée pour créer des sols graphiques afin de donner une allure unique à ces sculptures. Lors des Design Talks de ce début de festival, on a également pu apercevoir leurs lampes Dust Blue Transmetter et Peach Noise sur la scène…

 

La sélection du meilleur du design islandais et nordique lors de la design week - DesignMarch - du 15 au 18 mars 2018, à Reykjavik en Islande.
La sélection du meilleur du design islandais et nordique lors de la design week - DesignMarch - du 15 au 18 mars 2018, à Reykjavik en Islande.
La sélection du meilleur du design islandais et nordique lors de la design week - DesignMarch - du 15 au 18 mars 2018, à Reykjavik en Islande.

Après avoir travaillé différents médiums dans le domaine du textile, Sigrun Lara Shanko a fait de la laine islandaise son cheval de bataille pour sa marque ShankoRugs. Chaque pièce est unique, s’inspirant directement de toute la complexité des paysages d’Islande entre ciel, mer, glace et éruptions volcaniques – ci-dessus la pièce rouge et noir Holuhraun est en hommage à la dernière éruption du volcan du même nom et était présentée à l’occasion de DesignMarch  ou bien du client pour lequel l’artiste et designer reçoit commande. Elle a notamment dernièrement travaillé pour la Saatchi Gallery de Londres.

 

La sélection du meilleur du design islandais et nordique lors de la design week - DesignMarch - du 15 au 18 mars 2018, à Reykjavik en Islande.
La sélection du meilleur du design islandais et nordique lors de la design week - DesignMarch - du 15 au 18 mars 2018, à Reykjavik en Islande.

Le projet Souvenir/Minning de l’Atelier Dottir – basé à Paris – part à la recherche des souvenirs et de la mémoire d’une époque, d’un lieu et même d’un sentiment. En extrapolant le principe de “Madeleine de Proust”, la designer, Hera Gudmundsdottir, donne littérallement une odeur différente à chacune de ses sculptures imprégnées d’huiles essentielles. Chacune est unique, et chacun trouvera celle qui l’interroge le plus. A travers ce travail, l’Atelier Dottir cherche à susciter réactions mais aussi réponses quant aux questions suivantes: est-il possible d’inspirer des réponses récurrentes en fonction de l’odeur? Une même odeur peut-elle provoquer une réction émotionnelle similaire chez plusieurs individus? Telle est la question…

 

La sélection du meilleur du design islandais et nordique lors de la design week - DesignMarch - du 15 au 18 mars 2018, à Reykjavik en Islande.
La sélection du meilleur du design islandais et nordique lors de la design week - DesignMarch - du 15 au 18 mars 2018, à Reykjavik en Islande.

A travers sa série Another Dialog présenté lors de DesignMarch, la designer Hanna Whitehead offre de nouveaux horizons à la vaiselle. En effet, écoutant avec attention les besoins, envies et recommandations de son entourage concernant ce que chacun aimerait pouvoir faire et avoir de plus concernant ces objets du quotidien, Hanna Whitehead change la forme pour encore plus de fonctionnalité. Ses pièces d’une légèreté incroyable facilitent le contact avec ces dernières, tout en façonnant de nouveaux usages… Beau travail.

Sous la forme d’une exposition davantage liée à l’art qu’au design, Hanna Whitehead a également collaboré avec Hilda Gunnarsdóttir – fondatrice et designer de la marque Milla Snorrason afin de créer Illikambur, une installation où les styles des deux designers se rejoignent et se combinent avec force dans une esthétique commune, en hommage à une colline du même nom. La nouvelle collection de vêtements signée Milla Snorrason étant accompagnée, comme des bijoux, des créations d’Hanna Whitehead.

 

La sélection du meilleur du design islandais et nordique lors de la design week - DesignMarch - du 15 au 18 mars 2018, à Reykjavik en Islande.
La sélection du meilleur du design islandais et nordique lors de la design week - DesignMarch - du 15 au 18 mars 2018, à Reykjavik en Islande.

 

 

DESIGN GRAPHIQUE 

 

La sélection du meilleur du design islandais et nordique lors de la design week - DesignMarch - du 15 au 18 mars 2018, à Reykjavik en Islande.
La sélection du meilleur du design islandais et nordique lors de la design week - DesignMarch - du 15 au 18 mars 2018, à Reykjavik en Islande.

Je n’ai pas l’habitude de publier des projets de design graphique, mais en ce qui concerne l’Islande, il est difficile de passer à côté du beau travail réalisé par le Studio Fræ avec leur collection Twinkle-Twinkle, en hommage aux différents paysages que l’on peut rencontrer lors d’un séjour au coeur de la nature Islandaise. Une esthétique futuriste mettant en lumière des trésors présents sur Terre depuis la nuit des temps… Beau projet.

 

 

MOBILIER

 

La sélection du meilleur du design islandais et nordique lors de la design week - DesignMarch - du 15 au 18 mars 2018, à Reykjavik en Islande.
La sélection du meilleur du design islandais et nordique lors de la design week - DesignMarch - du 15 au 18 mars 2018, à Reykjavik en Islande.
La sélection du meilleur du design islandais et nordique lors de la design week - DesignMarch - du 15 au 18 mars 2018, à Reykjavik en Islande.
La sélection du meilleur du design islandais et nordique lors de la design week - DesignMarch - du 15 au 18 mars 2018, à Reykjavik en Islande.

Cette éditon de DesignMarch était fièrement soutenue par l’Institut des Langues Etrangères, ce qui a permis aux étudiants de la Kunsthochschule Kassel d’Allemagne de présenter leur Butterfly Project, ou la démonstration des possibilités qui s’offrent aux designers en terme de matériaux et de formes pour d’attaquer au design d’un tabouret. Plus encore, les édudiants démontrent ici qu’un objet aussi simple et commun que le tabouret peut tout à fait s’inscrire dans une démarche contemporaine de faciliter la vie des utilisateurs. Belle réflection.

 

La sélection du meilleur du design islandais et nordique lors de la design week - DesignMarch - du 15 au 18 mars 2018, à Reykjavik en Islande.
La sélection du meilleur du design islandais et nordique lors de la design week - DesignMarch - du 15 au 18 mars 2018, à Reykjavik en Islande.

Le studio Portland, composé de trois personnalités complémentaires – Karen Ósk Magnúsdóttir, l’ingénieur, Sóley Kristjánsdóttir, le leader et Sölvi Kristjánsson, le designer produit – s’est penché sur l’aluminium, ses propriétés et sa capacité à être recyclé afin de réaliser trois pièces: un tabouret, une suspension et un ampli acoustique. En effet, l’aluminium se recycle très bien et est capable de prendre n’importe quelle forme, et il se trouve que l’Islande consomme justement chaque année trois millions de bougies chauffe-plat(!!), dont le contenant est en aluminium… Le trio récolte et refond donc cette matière qui garde toutes ses propriétés esthétiques mais aussi de solidité dans leur travail.

 

 

Merci à DesignMarch et aux designers rencontrés!

 

 ➡ Be awesome, LIKE and SHARE!

M E R C I