Hotel Oddsson / Reykjavik, Iceland / Design by Dödlur

 

 

Have you ever been in Iceland ? I do, and the next time I go, trust me this is where I'm going to: the Oddsson Hotel or a gem of design located at only 10 minutes from the city center of Reykjavik. 

It is true that refined and evolved interior design hotels are not lacking in Iceland and especially in the Nortern countries. But this one has something special for me... Designed by the Icelandic agency Dödlur, here are 3 good reasons to be interested in this project AND to spend your next vacations there:

 

1 / THE SCANDINAVIAN SPIRIT, THE PURE, THE TRUE ONE

 

Let's start by saying that this hotel is absolutely borrowing of Scandinavian style. It smells like the spirit of the North, from the lobby to the bathrooms, with this perfect colour ans styles mix. This match between materials, similar or opposite, reminds me the Acne Studios shops designed by the architecture firm BozarthFornell (Sweden).

The lobby makes me want to spend hours reading a book of Arnaldur Indridasson*, sipping mojitos or a cup of tea, according to the period... I honestly want to try all the seatings there, while feeding my mind and my eyes with this marvelous furniture set.

The rooms are both very cozy and soothing, all have a very wide window, like a picture of the sea...

 

lobby hotel oddsson dodlur
The Lobby - Oddsson Hotel
front desk oddsson hotel
The front desk - Oddsson Hotel
Hotel oddsson dodlur huskdesignblog
A room - Oddsson Hotel

 

2 / A VERY TRENDY STYLE

 

The outline of a project that we might begin to like are drawn. But what about details ? It is clear that this part was also very neat. This hotel was born in the spring of 2016, and needed to show some current headlight and trendy parts. Thereby, we can see the Utrecht Chair designed in 1935 by Gerrit T. Rietveld and edited by CASSINA, ( presented coated of the "Boxblocks" fabric by Bertjan Pot at the Milan Design fair. This Special Edition is available in 3 colours, each limited to 90 copies ). In the rooms, you can also sight the very cult Parentesi lamp of Achille Castiglioni edited by FLOS.

 

oddsson hotel front desk
The front desk, the Utrecht chair by CASSINA - Oddsson Hotel

 

In addition Dödlur and Stass Architects have designed a chair especially for this hotel, so you will see it only there! (#exclusivity ! ) I love this "beach style" inspiration with very trendy colors, and high-end materials and finishes.

 

oddsson dodlur Chair
Oddsson - Dodlur Chair

 

3 / BECAUSE THERE IS ALSO A RESTAURANT !

 

That is the good news. You can also go to the Bazaar restaurant, bistro and bar, which is the second place to be. The restaurant offers home made and inventive cooking, whose colorful associations provide a luxurious touch to the decor... Gross industrial ceiling, Oddsson chairs and this turquoise/hazelnut color cast always there: 70's effect guaranteed !

In addition, these small touches of architectural humor scattered throughout ( take a look at this false obscured window ! ) that make this space winning good points. Humor is needed even while eating after all, isn’t it ?

 

Restaurant bazaar oddsson
The Bazaar restaurant - Oddsson Hotel
Restaurant bazaar oddsson
The Bazaar restaurant - Oddsson Hotel

 

So, who will go there ? ; )

BOOK HERE !

 

 ➡ Please do not forget to LIKE and SHARE if you like this post ! One small step for you, a big one for me !  

T H A N K S

*Arnaldur Indridasson is an Icelandic polar writer.

Sources: DödlurOddsson Hotel

Chloé Valette

Hôtel Oddsson / Reykjavik, Islande / Design par Cléa Lautrey et l'agence Dödlur

 

 

Etes-vous déjà allé en Islande ? Moi oui, et la prochaine fois que j'y passe croyez-moi, c'est là que j'irai : L'Hôtel Oddsson, où un petit bijou de design situé à 10 minutes seulement du centre-ville de Reykjavik. 

Il est vrai que les hôtels à l'intérieur raffiné et évolué en terme de design ne manquent pas en Islande et dans les pays du Nord en général. Mais celui-là à quelquechose de spécial pour moi... Imaginé par l'Agence islandaise Dödlur et la directrice artistique Cléa Lautrey, voilà les 3 bonnes raisons de s'intéresser à ce projet ET d'y passer vos prochaines vacances :

 

1/ L'ESPRIT SCANDINAVE, LE PURE, LE VRAI

 

Tout d'abord, commençons par avouer que cet hôtel est absolument emprunt du style scandinave. Ca sent bon l'esprit du Nord, du lobby aux salles de bain, avec cette maîtrise parfaite des associations de couleurs et de styles. Cette fluidité entre les matériaux, mêmes opposés, me rappelle les boutiques Acne Studios imaginées par l'agence d'architecture BozarthFornell ( Suède ).

Le lobby me donne envie d'y passer des heures à lire un bon bouquin d'Arnaldur Indridasson*, en sirotant des mojitos où un bon thé bien chaud selon la période... C'est bien simple, j'ai envie d'essayer toutes les assises qui s'y trouvent, tout en nourrissant mon esprit et mes yeux de ce "mix and match" de mobiliers, que je trouve très réussi.

Les chambres à la fois douillettes et apaisantes, sont toutes équipées d'une très large fenêtre, comme un tableau sur la mer...

 

lobby hotel oddsson dödlur
Le Lobby - Hôtel Oddsson
accueil hôtel oddsson
L'Accueil - Hôtel Oddsson
hotel oddsson dodlur huskdesignblog
Une chambre - Hôtel Oddsson

 

2/ UN DESIGN TRES TENDANCE

 

Les grandes lignes d'un projet qu'on risque d'aimer sont donc tracées. Mais qu'en est-il des détails ? Force est de constater que cette partie a également été très soignée. Cet hôtel a vu le jour au printemps 2016, et se devait donc d'afficher quelques pièces phares et tendances du moment. Ainsi, on retrouve le fauteuil Utrecht dessiné en 1935 par Gerrit T. Rietveld et édité par CASSINA, ( présenté revêtu du tissu “Boxblocks“ de Bertjan Pot au Salon de Milan. Edition spéciale disponible en 3 couleurs, chacune limitée à 90 exemplaires ). On aperçoit également dans les chambres la cultissime lampe Parentesi d'Achille Castiglioni, éditée par FLOS.

 

accueil hôtel oddsson
L'Accueil, fauteuil Utrecht de CASSINA - Hôtel Oddsson

 

De plus, Dödlur, Cléa et Stáss Architects ont imaginé une chaise du même nom que l'hôtel, tout spécialement pour ce lieu, vous ne la verrez donc que là-bas ! ( #exclusivité ! ) J'adore cette inspiration "chaise pliante de plage" aux couleurs actuelles, retravaillée avec des tissus et matériaux de finitions haut de gamme. 

 

chaise oddsson dodlur
Chaise Oddsson - Dödlur

 

3/ ET PARCE QU'IL-Y-A AUSSI UN RESTAURANT !

 

Ca c'est une bonne nouvelle. L'hôtel abrite également le Bazaar restaurant, bistrot et bar, qui se trouve être un passage obligé. Le restaurant propose de la cuisine fait maison et inventive, dont les associations colorées apporteront une touche luxe au décor... qui en fait se suffit à lui-même ! Plafond industriel brut, chaises Oddsson et toujours cette dominante turquoise/noisette : effet 70's garanti !

De plus, ces petites touches d'humour architectural disséminées un peu partout ( à noter cette fausse fenêtre  occultée ! ) fait gagner des points à cet espace. Car après tout l'humour, on en a besoin même en mangeant, n'est-ce-pas ?

 

restaurant bazaar oddsson
Restaurant Bazaar - Hôtel Oddsson
restaurant bazaar oddsson
Restaurant Bazaar - Hôtel Oddsson

 

Alors, qui veut essayer ? ; )

RESERVEZ ICI !

 

 ➡ N'oubliez pas de LIKER et de PARTAGER si vous avez aimé ! Un petit pas pour vous, un très grand pour moi !  

M  E R C I

*Arnaldur Indridasson est un écrivain de polar Islandais.

Sources: Cléa Lautrey, DödlurHôtel Oddsson

Chloé Valette