INTERIOR DESIGN:

Why are we obsessed with the 70's?

.

 

The 70's are always in a corner of our head in interior design and design. These flagship years have succeeded because it is a bit like asking each new idea or project in order to get the most out of what they have brought to us.But why this obsession for the 70's style?

 

 

AN IDENTIFIED STYLE

 

First of all, it is a key factor - and can not be denied - which makes the 70s and what they represent are anchored in our minds: envy. Yes, we envy this strong style, which marked the ages and is perfectly recognizable among other, probably for eternity. Wallpaper*, in collaboration with Matthew Morris, again paid homage to this time while giving back to the United States the glory of the invention of the motels, because they are to this country the very idea that one makes it: big roads-motels(a little glaucous)-freedom. And indeed, the motels have always been the ambassadors of the interior architecture of the 70's, with their walnut furniture, velvet materials and pop colors.

 

 

THE FASCINATION OF COLORS

 

In addition We all remained fascinated by the use and color control of that time. Indeed today, the colors are embarrassing. Too much present, we get tired of it faster and we opt - loosely - for neutral tones. Once again, the ambition of knowing how to handle the nuances and knowing how to associate them dwells in us. Like Scandinavian designers, we would also like not to be afraid of a blue with a pink or a yellow with a green ... Fortunately, some have inherited the gift of communicating the 70's style to our time: this is the case for many interior designers as in particular Studiopepe, Cristina Celestinoetc.

 

 

ICONIC PIECES

 

And finally, it is difficult not to see that many pieces of furniture and accessories designed in the 70's that have remained cults and known to all. Real desirable objects, who does not dream of himself as a collector of Charlotte Perriand, Verner Panton, Pierre Paulin, Knoll, Achille Castiglioni and many others. Because the 1970s were the apogee of the politically-incorrect, the designers, artists, writers and architects were free, free to imagine, to push the boundaries and thus to create with genius pieces that have crossed the years, leading them to us. Something that makes us proud, but still envious!

 

the-70s-wallpaper-motel-space-story-Matthew-Morris-Huskdesignblog3

 

 ➡ Please do not forget to LIKE and SHARE this article if you liked it. A small step for you, a great support for Husk!

T H A N K S

Photographs: John Short

Source: Eclectic Trends

 

 

Chloé Valette

ARCHITECTURE D'INTERIEUR:

Pourquoi cette obsession pour les années 70?

.

 

Les années 70 sont toujours dans un coin de notre tête en matière d'architecture d'intérieur et de design. Ces années phares ont réussi leur coup, car c'est un peu comme si on les interrogeait à chaque nouvelle idée ou nouveau projet afin de tirer le meilleur de ce qu'elles nous ont apporté. Mais pourquoi cette obsession pour les années et le style 70?

 

 

UN STYLE IDENTIFIÉ

 

Tout d'abord, il est un facteur clé - et que l'on ne peut nier - qui fait que les années 70 et ce qu'elles représentent sont ancrées dans nos esprits: l'envie. Oui, on envie ce style fort, qui a marqué les âges et parfaitement reconnaissable parmi d'autres, probablement pour l'éternité. Wallpaper*, en collaboration avec Matthew Morris, a de nouveau rendu hommage à cette époque tout en redonnant aux Etats-Unis la gloire de l'invention des motels, car ils sont à ce pays l'idée même que l'on s'en fait: grandes routes-motels(un peu glauques)-liberté. Et en effet, les motels ont toujours été les ambassadeurs de l'architecture d'intérieur des années 70, avec leurs meubles en noyer, les matières velours et les couleurs pop.

 

 

LA FASCINATION DES COULEURS

 

De plus, nous sommes tous restés fasciné par l'utilisation et la maîtrise des couleurs de cette époque. En effet aujourd'hui, les couleurs nous embarrassent. Trop présentes, on s'en lasse plus vite et on opte donc - un peu lâchement - pour des tons neutres. Une fois encore, l'ambition de savoir manier les nuances et de savoir les associer nous habite. A la manière des designers scandinaves, nous aimerions nous aussi ne pas être effrayés d'un bleu avec un rose ou d'un jaune aux côtés d'un vert... Heureusement, certains ont hérité du don de communiquer le style 70 à notre époque: c'est le cas de nombreux stylistes d'intérieur comme notamment Studiopepe, Cristina Celestino, etc.

 

 

DES PIECES TOUJOURS CULTES

 

Et enfin, il est difficile de ne pas voir que nombreuses sont les pièces de mobilier et accessoires dessinés dans les années 70 qui sont restés cultes et connus de tous. Véritables objets désirables, qui ne se rêve pas en collectionneur de Charlotte Perriand, Verner Panton, Pierre Paulin, Knoll, Achille Castiglioni et bien d'autres. Parce que les années 70 furent l'apogée du politiquement-incorrecte, les designers, les artistes, les écrivains et les architectes étaient libres, libres d'imaginer, de repousser les limites et donc de créer avec génie des pièces qui ont traversés les années, les menant jusqu'à nous. De quoi nous rendre évidemment fières, mais tout de même, toujours envieux!

 

années-70-wallpaper-motel-space-story-matthew-morris-huskdesignblog3

 

 ➡ N'oubliez pas de LIKER et de PARTAGER cet article si vous avez aimé. Un petit geste pour vous, un grand soutien pour Husk!

M E R C I

Photographies: John Short

Source: EclecticTrends

 

 

Chloé Valette

Comment on Facebook