Now Reading:
Pli Public Workshop: 7 extraordinary projects of upcoming young talents

Pli Public Workshop: 7 extraordinary projects of upcoming young talents

For the first time, the organization and publisher of its own creative magazine Pli and its founder Christopher Dessuss, present the Pli Public Workshop. After publishing a significant number of young designers and architects, Pli is now tackling the issue of production and is setting up a creative assistance program around a project for students still in training or young graduates.

 

Supervised by a jury of experts including great personalities from architecture, design, but also from other artistic disciplines, that the participants of the Pli Public Workshop have created a group exhibition on theObsessiontheme. By means of these issues, Pli sought to answer two questions through all this promising work: How can these obsessive systems be meaningfully invested through architecture and design? How does young creation appropriate this subject? Discover the 7 works that have particularly affected us.

 

 ➡ Exhibition on view at the Pavillon de l'Arsenal in Paris, until 12 January 2020.

 

 

Pli Public Workshop 2019

 

Halah Al Juhaishi

 

Pli Public Workshop 2019, Halah Al Juhaishi, ru-iinhiar
Pli Public Workshop 2019, Halah Al Juhaishi, ru-iinhiar

Space designer Halah Al Juhaishi went in search of her childhood memories through her project ru-iinhiar. Indeed, of Iraqi origin, it was during a recent stay in her native country that she rediscovered her culture, unfortunately marked by ruined architecture. It is through an initiatory work both of memory and material that she has built a decor, as a witness and a bridge between the country where she was born and her current life. The more we progress in this architecture, the more the notion of ruin is felt and takes over from our feelings. Smart project.

 

 

Lionel Dinis Salazar and Jonathan Omar

 

Pli Public Workshop 2019, Lionel Dinis Salazar and Jonathan Omar, Face-à-face(s)
Pli Public Workshop 2019, Lionel Dinis Salazar and Jonathan Omar, Face-à-face(s)

Döppel Studio tackled the obsession of humans with themselves in this Pli Public Workshop. Inspired by the omnipresence of selfies and the need to stage oneself can have, the designers have diverted a gym environment, where everyone likes to take pictures, thus giving the visitor an opportunity to find himself behind closed doors, somewhere in between desire and repulsion. The reflective material distorts, blurs, and leads to the confusion of a body in a space.

 

 

Pauline Bailey and Hugo Poirier

 

Pli Public Workshop 2019, Pauline Bailey and Hugo Poirier, Variations autour de la grille
Pli Public Workshop 2019, Pauline Bailey and Hugo Poirier, Variations autour de la grille
Pli Public Workshop 2019, Pauline Bailey and Hugo Poirier, Variations autour de la grille
Pli Public Workshop 2019, Pauline Bailey and Hugo Poirier, Variations autour de la grille

The designers regularly work around the grid motif, and it was natural that they developed it into an obsession during the workshop. This is how Pauline Bailey and Hugo Poirier present Variations autour de la grille and test the boundaries between architecture, sculpture and object with it, in a series of poetic experiments combining metal, wood, stone and delicate plants. In this work, the grid is both a reference point and a constraint, their basic work but also their purpose.A crush!

 

 

Laure Berthet and Axel Mert (studio sätel) and Julienne Richard

 

Pli Public Workshop 2019, Laure Berthet, Axel Mert and Julienne Richard, Léonor
Pli Public Workshop 2019, Laure Berthet, Axel Mert and Julienne Richard, Léonor
Pli Public Workshop 2019, Laure Berthet, Axel Mert and Julienne Richard, Léonor
Pli Public Workshop 2019, Laure Berthet, Axel Mert and Julienne Richard, Léonor

The trio composed of studio sätel and Julienne Richard has joined forces during the Pli Public Workshop and reinvents the principle of the Golden Ratio, choosing to refer entirely to the body of Leonor, imaginary muse, as a unit of measurement. Indeed, each element created here has as measures those of the muse: the glasses the circumference of her mouth, the ceramic plates the size of her hands and the lamp has a foot equal to the circumference of her neck and the width of her arms. A precise and singular work linking human measurements and creation, initiating a reflection on a possible normality and generality of this principle. Interesting.

 

 

Bertrand Rougier and François Sabourin

 

Pli Public Workshop 2019, Bertrand Rougier and François Sabourin
Pli Public Workshop 2019, Bertrand Rougier and François Sabourin

Quebec architects Bertrand Rougier and François Sabourin have become attached to the world of hunting, and the obsession with perfect camouflage. Thus, their project Verdures explores man's desire to blend into nature, to such an extent that he has developed an art... With the help of a company specialized in this field in the United States, the duo has created a garment, but also a shelter or tapestry specially adapted to the Parisian flora to blend in. A nod to medieval tapestries but also to hunters, Bertrand and François present here a very complete work, for which we can easily imagine an evolution.

 

 

Antoine Behaghel and Alexis Foiny

 

Pli Public Workshop 2019, Antoine Behaghel and Alexis Foiny, Tubulure
Pli Public Workshop 2019, Antoine Behaghel and Alexis Foiny, Tubulure
Pli Public Workshop 2019, Antoine Behaghel and Alexis Foiny, Tubulure
Pli Public Workshop 2019, Antoine Behaghel and Alexis Foiny, Tubulure
Pli Public Workshop 2019, Antoine Behaghel and Alexis Foiny, Tubulure
Pli Public Workshop 2019, Antoine Behaghel and Alexis Foiny, Tubulure

And here is our second favourite of this edition of the Pli Public Workshop: the work of the talented design students Antoine Behaghel and Alexis Foiny, and their installation Tubulure. In direct connection with the experimental and sculptural design that we are promoting, the designers have focused on creating a new standard of furniture, far from mass production, and redefining, for our great pleasure, what today's and tomorrow's furniture could/should look like.

 

Thanks to a simple ventilation tube that has been coated, painted and diverted, the Tubulure project gives rise to a number of original and quasi-primitive experiments with objects, furniture and lighting that are part of the current movement in contemporary design and its willingness to link up with art once and for all. Nice project and young talents to follow closely!

 

 

Rebecca Chipkin and Jack Swanson

 

Pli Public Workshop 2019, Rebecca Chipkin and Jack Swanson, Fixation

This incredible sculptural object made by Rebecca Chipkin, a work restorer and Jack Swanson, architect, explore their common obsession with tidying up the mess in their work with Fixationand the fine balance between fixed and moving objects. Drawing on the principle of architectural follies, the duo explain that they are contemplative of the "future state of objects", and consider them to be both static and expressive of the notion of change over time. This architectural balance of elementary forms finds its beauty in the present moment, but also in its evolution, possibly the state of decay in which it is possible that it ends...

 

 ➡ Exhibition on view at the Pavillon de l'Arsenal in Paris, until 12 January 2020.

.

 

The other remarkable projects of the Pli Public Workshop:

 

Wilderness artefacts, by Giaime Meloni and Parasite 2.0, Tisser le paysage, by Maison N and Cécile Gray, SOON, d’Erwin Souvetonand La Mesure et le Tas, fiction et réalité, by MLAV.LAND.

 

The winners of the competition:

 

Halah Al Juhaishi: Special Mention of the Jury
Antoine Behaghel & Alexis Foiny: Pli Prize - Exhibition
Bertrand Rougier & François Sabourin: Pli Prize - Residence
Maud Lévy & Antoine Vercoutère (MLAV.LAND): Pli Prize - Publishing
&
Antoine Behaghel and Alexis Foiny have postponed the Exhibition Prize - ARCHIK
Bertrand Rougier and François Sabourin have awarded the Residence Prize - La Métive
Antoine Vercoutère and Maud Lévy won the Éditions - Pli Éditions prize
 
 

LIKE and SHARE!

T H A N K S

 

Written by

Chloé founded Huskdesignblog in 2016. Ever since, she is decoding every nook and cranny to find the best interiors and furniture ideas for her beloved readers and followers, eager for beautiful things.

Input your search keywords and press Enter.

Now Reading:
Pli Public Workshop: 7 projets extraordinaires de jeunes talents en devenir

Pli Public Workshop: 7 projets extraordinaires de jeunes talents en devenir

Pour la première fois, l’association et éditeur de son propre magazine créatif Pli et son fondateur Christopher Dessus, présentent le Pli Public Workshop. Après avoir publié bon nombre de jeunes designers et architectes, Pli s’attaque désormais à la problématique de la production, et met en place un programme d’aide à la création autour d’un projet pour les étudiants encore en formation ou jeunes diplômés.

 

C’est encadrés par un jury d’experts englobant des personnalités de l’architecture, du design, mais aussi d’autres disciplines artistiques, que les lauréats du Pli Public Workshop ont créé une exposition collective sur le thème de l’Obsession. A travers cette problématique, Pli a cherché a répondre à deux questions au travers de tous ces travaux prometteurs: Comment investir significativement à travers l’architecture et le design ces systèmes obsessionnels? Comment la jeune création s’approprie-t-elle ce sujet? Découvrez les travaux qui nous ont particulièrement touchés en ce sens.

 

 ➡ Exposition au Pavillon de l’Arsenal à Paris, jusqu’au 12 janvier 2020.

 

 

Pli Public Workshop 2019

 

Halah Al Juhaishi

 

Pli Public Workshop 2019, Halah Al Juhaishi, ru-iinhiar
Pli Public Workshop 2019, Halah Al Juhaishi, ru-iinhiar

La designer d’espace Halah Al Juhaishi est partie à la recherche de ses souvenirs d’enfance à travers son projet ru-iinhiar. En effet, d’origine irakienne, c’est lors d’un séjour récent dans son pays natal qu’elle redécouvre sa culture, hélas marquée par des architectures en ruines. C’est à travers un travail initiatique à la fois de mémoire mais aussi matériel qu’elle a construit un décor, comme témoin et passerelle entre le pays qui l’a vue naître et sa vie actuelle. Plus l’on progresse dans cette architecture, plus la notion de ruine se fait ressentir et prend le dessus sur nos sensations. Beau projet.

 

 

Lionel Dinis Salazar et Jonathan Omar

 

Pli Public Workshop 2019, Lionel Dinis Salazar et Jonathan Omar, Face-à-face(s)
Pli Public Workshop 2019, Lionel Dinis Salazar et Jonathan Omar, Face-à-face(s)

Döppel Studio s’est attaqué à l’obsession des humains pour eux-mêmes dans le cadre de ce Pli Public Workshop. Inspirés par l’omniprésence des selfies et le besoin de s’auto-mettre en scène, les designers ont détourné un environnement de salle de sport, où tout un chacun aime à se prendre en photo, donnant ainsi la possibilité de se retrouver en huit-clos avec soi-même, entre désir et répulsion. La matière réfléchissante déforme, floute, et conduit à la confusion d’un corps dans un espace.

 

 

Pauline Bailey et Hugo Poirier

 

Pli Public Workshop 2019, Pauline Bailey et Hugo Poirier, Variations autour de la grille
Pli Public Workshop 2019, Pauline Bailey et Hugo Poirier, Variations autour de la grille
Pli Public Workshop 2019, Pauline Bailey et Hugo Poirier, Variations autour de la grille
Pli Public Workshop 2019, Pauline Bailey et Hugo Poirier, Variations autour de la grille

Les designers travaillent régulièrement autour du motif de la grille, et c’est naturellement qu’il l’ont fait évoluer en obsession lors du workshop. C’est ainsi que Pauline Bailey et Hugo Poirier présentent Variations autour de la grille et testent les limites entre architecture, sculpture et objet grâce à elle, dans une série d’expérimentations poétiques mêlant à la fois métal, bois, pierre et délicats végétaux. Dans ce travail, la grille est à la fois repère et contrainte, la base de leur travail mais également la finalité. Coup de coeur!

 

 

Laure Berthet et Axel Mert (studio sätel) et Julienne Richard

 

Pli Public Workshop 2019, Laure Berthet, Axel Mert et Julienne Richard, Léonor
Pli Public Workshop 2019, Laure Berthet, Axel Mert et Julienne Richard, Léonor
Pli Public Workshop 2019, Laure Berthet, Axel Mert et Julienne Richard, Léonor
Pli Public Workshop 2019, Laure Berthet, Axel Mert et Julienne Richard, Léonor

Le trio composé du studio sätel et de Julienne Richard s’associe lors du Pli Public Workshop et réinvente le principe du nombre d’or, en choisissant de se référer entièrement au corps de Léonor, muse imaginaire, comme unité de mesure. En effet, chaque élément ici créé a pour mesures celles de la muse: les verres la circonférence de sa bouche, les assiettes en céramique la taille de ses mains et la lampe a un pied égal à la circonférence de son cou et la largeur de ses bras. Un travail précis et singulier faisant le lien entre mensurations humaines et création, initiant une réflexion sur une possible normalité et généralité du principe. Intéressant.

 

 

Bertrand Rougier et François Sabourin

 

Pli Public Workshop 2019, Bertrand Rougier et François Sabourin
Pli Public Workshop 2019, Bertrand Rougier et François Sabourin

Les architectes québécois Bertrand Rougier et François Sabourin se sont attachés à l’univers de la chasse, et l’obsession du camouflage parfait. Ainsi, leur projet Verdures explore la volonté de l’homme de se fondre dans la nature, à tel point qu’il en a développé un art… Avec l’aide d’une société spécialisée dans le domaine aux Etats-Unis, le duo a créé un vêtement, mais aussi abri ou tapisserie spécialement adapté à la flore parisienne pour s’y confondre. Clin d’oeil aux tapisseries médiévales mais aussi plus simplement au chasseur, Bertrand et François présentent ici un travail complet, que l’on imagine facilement évoluer.

 

 

Antoine Behaghel et Alexis Foiny

 

Pli Public Workshop 2019, Antoine Behaghel and Alexis Foiny, Tubulure
Pli Public Workshop 2019, Antoine Behaghel and Alexis Foiny, Tubulure
Pli Public Workshop 2019, Antoine Behaghel and Alexis Foiny, Tubulure
Pli Public Workshop 2019, Antoine Behaghel and Alexis Foiny, Tubulure
Pli Public Workshop 2019, Antoine Behaghel and Alexis Foiny, Tubulure
Pli Public Workshop 2019, Antoine Behaghel and Alexis Foiny, Tubulure

Et voici notre deuxième coup de coeur de cette édition du Pli Public Workshop: le travail des talentueux étudiants en design Antoine Behaghel et Alexis Foiny, et leur installation Tubulure. En lien direct avec le design expérimental et sculptural dont nous faisons la promotion, les designers se sont attachés à créer de nouveau standard de mobilier, loin de la fabrication de masse, et en redéfinissant, pour notre grand plaisir ce à quoi devrait/pourrait ressembler le mobilier d’aujourd’hui et de demain.

 

Grâce à un simple tube de ventilation enduit, peint et détourné, le projet Tubulure donne lieu à plusieurs expérimentations inédites et quasi-primitives d’objets, mobiliers et luminaires qui s’inscrivent dans le mouvement actuel du design contemporain et sa volonté de se lier une fois pour toute à l’art. Beau projet et jeunes talents à suivre de près!

 

 

Rebecca Chipkin et Jack Swanson

 

Pli Public Workshop 2019, Rebecca Chipkin and Jack Swanson, Fixation

Cet incroyable objet-sculpture réalisé par Rebecca Chipkin, restauratrice d’oeuvre et Jack Swanson, architecte, explorent leur obsession commune de mise en ordre avec Fixation, et le mince équilibre entre objet fixe et mouvant. En s’inspirant du principe des folies architecturales, le duo explique qu’il est contemplatif de “l’état futur des objets”, et les considère à la fois statiques et exprimant la notion de changement dans le temps. Cet équilibre architectural de formes élémentaires trouve sa beauté dans l’instant présent, mais aussi dans son évolution, soit possible l’état de délabrement dans lequel il est possible qu’elle finisse…

 

 ➡ Exposition au Pavillon de l’Arsenal à Paris, jusqu’au 12 janvier 2020.

.

 

Les autres projets remarquables de cette édition du Pli Public Workshop:

 

Wilderness artefacts, de Giaime Meloni et Parasite 2.0, Tisser le paysage, de Maison N et Cécile Gray, SOON, d’Erwin Souveton, et La Mesure et le Tas, fiction et réalité, de MLAV.LAND.

 

Les lauréats du concours:

 

Halah Al Juhaishi: Mention Spéciale du Jury
Antoine Behaghel & Alexis Foiny: Prix Pli – Exposition
Bertrand Rougier & François Sabourin: Prix Pli – Résidence
Maud Lévy & Antoine Vercoutère (MLAV.LAND): Prix Pli – Edition
&
Antoine Behaghel et Alexis Foiny ont reporté le Prix Exposition – ARCHIK
Bertrand Rougier et François Sabourin ont reporté le Prix Résidence – La Métive
Antoine Vercoutère et Maud Lévy ont remporté le Prix Éditions – Pli Éditions
 
 

LIKE and SHARE!

M E R C I

 

Share This Articles
Written by

Chloé founded Huskdesignblog in 2016. Ever since, she is decoding every nook and cranny to find the best interiors and furniture ideas for her beloved readers and followers, eager for beautiful things.

Input your search keywords and press Enter.