TREND: Towards iridescence

.

 

Created from light interference, iridescence is an optical effect whose original defects have become the assets that designers have made the best of. Luminaires, furniture and accessories will become more and more enamored of this phenomenon and will make it matter. Decryption in six projects.

 

 

As an introduction to iridescence, it is impossible to miss a project that has definitely marked this year: the Ombr Glass Chair by GERMAN ERMICS. Presented at the Milan design Fair, the balance between certain fragility and incredible material has since marked the spirits. This project, which has given rise to a growing fascination for the immaterial and transparent, marks the entrance of iridescence into current and future trends.

 

 

From a technical point of view, iridescence is obtained through the use of a dichroic glass, which makes it possible to get these reflections so coveted. The Italian studio FORMAFANTASMA used this material to communicate its exploration of the interaction between light and architecture. As usual, designers have the gift to make us forget any technique behind a huge part of poetry that we love...

 

 

This material, whose indefinable color as multiple attracts us, was also explored by STUDIO FINNA in the form of mouth blown objects according to a traditional technique. Each element is unique and once combined, the installation forms an ecclectic but definitely harmonious whole. The delicacy of these forms combined with the effect of dichroic glass plays with light and gives rise to almost mystical objects.

 

 

The French guys of NORMAL STUDIO have also chosen an iridescent structure for the creation of their Readymade lamp, paying tribute to the technique of assembly that was practiced by Achille Castiglioni in the 50s and 60s. With a careful selection of materials here combined, the studio is part of the long tradition of explorers of the almost invisible frontier between art and design, and of trend forerunners.

 

 

The Dichroic effect can also be achieved through a film applied between two material parts. This is the case with the Prismania Chair by ELISE LUTTIK, which joins the family of privileged people who have seen the undeniable potential of iridescence. The subtlety of the coloring of this chair being dependent on the point of view according to which one looks at it, makes it disappear sometimes. Between furniture and artefact, this project leads us to see all the colors of the spectrum thanks to its dichroic film.

 

 

And finally, here is probably the last collection to the iridescent finish: Bubbly Light from New-York based designer ROSIE LI, presented this year at the event ICFF 2017. These strange creatures that seem straight out of the spirit of Yayoi Kusama are inspired by soap bubbles as much for their shape as for the use of the botryoidal hematite for their base. And the designer to explain:

 

"The real challenge was defining an internal logic for this system, as we wanted to strike a balance between organic liveliness and structured simplicity."

Rosie Li for Dezeen

 

 

An invaluable source of inspiration, and ideal for the summer 😎 

 

 ➡ Please do not forget to LIKE and to SHARE this article! A small action for you, a great support for Husk!

T H A N K S

Sources: Dezeen, Trendland, Sight Unseen

 

Chloé Valette

TENDANCE: Vers l'iridescence

.

 

Crée à partir d'interférences lumineuses, l'iridescence est un effet d'optique dont les défauts d'origine sont devenus les atouts dont les designers ont su tirer le meilleur. Luminaires, mobilier et accessoires seront de plus en plus épris de ce phénomène et la rendront matière. Decryptage en six projets.

 

 

En guise d'introduction à l'iridescence, il est impossible de passer à côté d'un projet qui aura à coup sûr marqué l'année 2017: l'Ombr Glass Chair par GERMAN ERMICS. Présentée au Salon de Milan, l'équilibre entre fragilité certaine et matériau incroyable a depuis lors marqué les esprits. Ce projet, qui a fait naître en nous une fascination grandissante pour l'immatériel et la transparence, marque l'entrée de l'iridescence dans les tendances actuelles et à venir.

 

 

D'un point de vue technique, l'iridescence s'obtient par l'utilisation d'un verre dichroïque, qui permet d'obtenir ces reflets tant convoités. Le studio italien FORMAFANTASMA a utilisé ce matériau afin de communiquer son exploration de l'interaction entre lumière et architecture. Comme à leur habitude, les designers ont le don de faire oublier toute technique derrière une énorme décharge de poésie qu'on adore...

 

 

Cette matière dont la couleur indéfinissable car multiple nous attire, a été également explorée par  STUDIO FINNA sous forme d'objets soufflés à la bouche selon une technique traditionnelle. Chaque élément est unique et une fois combinés, l'installation forme un ensemble ecclectique mais définitivement harmonieux. La delicatesse de ces formes alliée à l'effet du verre dichroïque joue avec la lumière et donne lieu à des objets presque mystiques.

 

 

Les français NORMAL STUDIO ont également choisi une base iridescente pour la création de leur lampe Readymade, en hommage à la technique d'assemblage que pratiquait Achille Castiglioni dans les années 50 et 60. Avec un choix minutieux des matériaux ici combinés, le studio s'inscrit dans la longue tradition des explorateurs de la frontière quasi-invisible entre art et design, et des précurseurs de tendances.

 

 

L'effet dichroïque peut également être obtenu grâce à un film appliqué entre deux plaques de matière. C'est le cas de la Prismania Chair par ELISE LUTTIK, qui rejoint la famille des privilégiés ayant su voir l'indéniable potentiel de l'iridescence. La subtilité de la mise en couleur de cette chaise étant dépendante du point de vue selon laquelle on la regarde, fait que parfois, elle disparait. Entre mobilier et artefact, ce projet nous amène à voir toutes les couleurs du spectre grâce à son film dichroïque.

 

 

Et enfin, voici probablement la dernière collection en date à la finition iridescente: Bubbly Lights de la designer new-yorkaise ROSIE LI, présentée cette année lors de l'évènement ICFF 2017. Ces étranges créatures qui semblent tout droit sorties de l'esprit de Yayoi Kusama sont inspirées des bulles de savons autant pour leur forme, que pour l'utilisation de l'hématite botryoïdale pour leur base. Et à la designer d'expliquer:

 

"Le véritable défi était de définir une logique interne pour ce système, car nous voulions trouver un équilibre entre la vitalité organique et la simplicité structurée".

Rosie Li pour Dezeen

 

 

Une source d'inspiration inestimable, et idéale pour l'été  😎 

 

 ➡ N'oubliez pas de LIKER et de PARTAGER cet article! Un petit geste pour vous, un grand soutien pour Husk!

M E R C I

Sources: Dezeen, Trendland, Sight Unseen

 

Chloé Valette