Now Reading:

TREND: Totems, essential form and mystical protection

TREND: Totems, essential form and mystical protection

TREND: Totems, essential form and mystical protection

.

 

Totems. In 2018, these strange forms devoted to the field of action of the ritual evolve in a safe way towards objects that are an integral part of our daily lives. Find out how designers take this trend and re-introduce totems into our lives...

 

 

 

LITERAL TOTEMS

 

Designers are inspired by totems in order to create everyday objects and furniture with essential forms and the protective function...
Designers are inspired by totems in order to create everyday objects and furniture with essential forms and the protective function...

A totem is an emblem, an animal, plant or abstract representation of a living or mystical being venerated. In terms of design, the totems allow us to convey some idea of respect for the material Used, from the putting forward of a material for these aesthetic, visual but also structural benefits.

The artist CARLA CASCALES ALIMBAU Creates and refines sculptures that seem to be derived from the fruit and natural shaping of nature. To a close detail that it adds to the beauty of the material even a complex form which can only be identified as the action of Man: a circle, a sphere, as the symbol of a sacred force.

 

Designers are inspired by totems in order to create everyday objects and furniture with essential forms and the protective function...
Designers are inspired by totems in order to create everyday objects and furniture with essential forms and the protective function...

Lately presented on the Toronto Design Offsite Festival, the series Useful/Useless by NICHOLAS HAMILTON HOLMES explores the creation of an object for the beauty of the gesture and the human contact with the matter, rather than advocating the function above all. The volumes are associated in order to find the most minimal composition, causing the maximum of feeling. The totems Of the artist explore a natural and desired chaos, in strong opposition to the fashion of industrial manufacture.

 

 

 

FURNITURE TOTEMS

 

Designers are inspired by totems in order to create everyday objects and furniture with essential forms and the protective function...
Designers are inspired by totems in order to create everyday objects and furniture with essential forms and the protective function...

Totems are also objects that can mutate into furniture. Represented by essential and elementary forms, this object under which the modern design appears, may then be compared as wanting to attract luck, good vibes in an interior and thus happiness.

ESTUDIO PERSONA Creates collections with unique shapes that only claim their inheritance. In other words, these totems Contemporaries have neither ancestors, nor past, they are timeless and are the emblems that remind us that design is fundamentally in constant evolution.

 

Designers are inspired by totems in order to create everyday objects and furniture with essential forms and the protective function...
Designers are inspired by totems in order to create everyday objects and furniture with essential forms and the protective function...

The Berea series by HANK BEYER and ALEX SIZEMORE, plays on the balance of the opposites. In fact, it is from raw silica falls, i.e. rejected parts, that they create on the contrary an object that arouses mystery and interest in its smooth appearance, and the real desire to come into contact with the object. It's a totem which is reborn from its ashes, a waste transformed into desire.

 

 

 

DECORATIVE AND VIRTUAL TOTEMS

 

Designers are inspired by totems in order to create everyday objects and furniture with essential forms and the protective function...
Designers are inspired by totems in order to create everyday objects and furniture with essential forms and the protective function...

The totems are also entities to which there is a quasi-religious respect, a sacred element. They are the light in the night, the pillar of the dark days as a real sign and rallying place in order to comfort the troops. 

The designer KATIA TOLSTYKH has recently created the vase series Meme, whose inspiration comes from brutalist sculptures and urban furniture. Among this melting pot of shapes, we see the emergence of totems Which each part finds its balance through the other. Rather than fighting, each element that composes the vase becomes a marker and a support zone for another, as a true lesson of tolerance.

 

Designers are inspired by totems in order to create everyday objects and furniture with essential forms and the protective function...

Finally, it is in a world at once chaotic and serene that the studio SIX N. FIVE gave birth to the series of virtual images Co-Existe, where the hyper-materiality of the totems presented – Metal, earth, mirror or ceramic – Opposed to a peaceful and immaculate nature. Are the objects here represented the disturbing elements, or a kind of place of worship, to the great contrary reassuring and allowing to gather? 

 

And you, what other properties do you think these objects can have on our mind and therefore our daily lives?

 

 

 ➡ Be awesome, LIKE and SHARE!

T H A N K S

 

Share This Articles
Written by

Chloé founded Huskdesignblog in 2016. Ever since, she is decoding every nook and cranny to find the best interiors and furniture ideas for her beloved readers and followers, eager for beautiful things.

Input your search keywords and press Enter.

TENDANCE: Totems, forme essentielle et protection mystique

.

 

Totems. En 2018, ces étranges formes vouées au champ d’action du rituel évoluent de manière sûre vers des objets faisant partie intégrante de notre quotidien. Découvrez comment les designers s’emparent de cette tendance et réintroduisent les totems dans nos vies…

 

 

 

TOTEMS LITTERAUX

 

Les designers s'inspirent des totems afin de créer des objets et mobilier du quotidien aux formes essentielles et à la fonction protectrice...
Les designers s'inspirent des totems afin de créer des objets et mobilier du quotidien aux formes essentielles et à la fonction protectrice...

Un totem est un emblème, une représentation animale, végétale ou abstraite d’un être vivant ou mystique que l’on vénère. En matière de design, les totems permettent de véhiculer une certaine idée de respect du matériau utilisé, de la mise en avant d’une matière pour ces bienfaits esthétiques, visuels mais aussi structurels.

L’artiste CARLA CASCALES ALIMBAU crée et peaufine des sculptures qui ont tout l’air d’être issues du fruit et du façonnage naturel de la nature. A un détail près qu’elle ajoute à la beauté du matériau même une forme complexe ne pouvant être identifiée que comme étant l’action de l’Homme: un cercle, une sphère, comme le symbole d’une force sacrée.

 

Les designers s'inspirent des totems afin de créer des objets et mobilier du quotidien aux formes essentielles et à la fonction protectrice...
Les designers s'inspirent des totems afin de créer des objets et mobilier du quotidien aux formes essentielles et à la fonction protectrice...

Présentée dernièrement sur le Toronto Design Offsite Festival, la série Useful/Useless par NICHOLAS HAMILTON HOLMES explore le fait de créer un objet pour la beauté du geste et du contact de la main avec la matière, plutôt que de prôner la fonction avant tout. Les volumes sont associés dans le but de trouver la composition la plus minimale possible, avec le maximum de ressenti face à elle. Les totems de l’artiste explorent un chaos naturel et désiré, en opposition forte au mode de fabrication industrielle.

 

 

 

TOTEMS MOBILIER

 

Les designers s'inspirent des totems afin de créer des objets et mobilier du quotidien aux formes essentielles et à la fonction protectrice...
Les designers s'inspirent des totems afin de créer des objets et mobilier du quotidien aux formes essentielles et à la fonction protectrice...

Les totems sont également des objets pouvant muter en mobilier. Représentés par des formes essentielles et élémentaires, cet objet sous lequel apparaît le design moderne pourrait alors être apparenté au fait de vouloir provoquer la chance, les bonnes ondes dans un intérieur et donc le bonheur.

ESTUDIO PERSONA crée des collections aux formes uniques et qui ne revendiquent qu’elles-mêmes en héritage. En d’autres mots, ces totems contemporains n’ont ni ancêtres, ni passé, ils sont intemporels et sont les emblèmes qui rappellent que le design est fondamentalement en constante évolution.

 

Les designers s'inspirent des totems afin de créer des objets et mobilier du quotidien aux formes essentielles et à la fonction protectrice...
Les designers s'inspirent des totems afin de créer des objets et mobilier du quotidien aux formes essentielles et à la fonction protectrice...

La série Berea par HANK BEYER et ALEX SIZEMORE, joue sur l’équilibre des contraires. En effet, c’est à partir de chutes de silice brute, à savoir des parties rejetées, qu’ils créent à l’opposé un objet qui suscite mystère et intérêt de par son aspect lisse, et l’envie réelle de rentrer en contact avec l’objet. C’est un totem qui renaît de ses cendres, un rebut transformé en désir.

 

 

 

TOTEMS DECORATIFS ET VIRTUELS

 

Les designers s'inspirent des totems afin de créer des objets et mobilier du quotidien aux formes essentielles et à la fonction protectrice...
Les designers s'inspirent des totems afin de créer des objets et mobilier du quotidien aux formes essentielles et à la fonction protectrice...

Les totems sont également des entités auxquelles on voue un respect quasi-religieux, un élément à proprement dit sacré. Ils sont la lumière dans la nuit, le pilier des jours sombres comme un véritable signe et lieu de ralliement afin de réconforter les troupes. 

La designer KATIA TOLSTYKH a récemment crée la série de vases Meme, dont l’inspiration vient des sculptures brutalistes et et du mobilier urbain. Parmi ce melting-pot de formes, on voit émerger des totems dont chaque partie trouve son équilibre grâce à l’autre. Plutôt que de se combattre, chaque élément qui compose le vase devient repère et zone d’appui pour un autre, comme une véritable leçon de tolérance.

 

Les designers s'inspirent des totems afin de créer des objets et mobilier du quotidien aux formes essentielles et à la fonction protectrice...

Enfin, c’est dans un monde à la fois chaotique et serein que le studio SIX N. FIVE a donné naissance à la série d’images virtuelles Co-Existe, où l’hyper-matérialité des totems présentés – en métal, en terre, en miroir ou en céramique – s’oppose à une nature paisible et immaculée. Les objets ici représentés sont-ils les éléments perturbateurs, ou une sorte de lieu de culte, au grand contraire rassurant et permettant de rassembler? 

 

Et vous, quelles autres propriétés pensez-vous que ces objets peuvent avoir sur notre mental et donc notre quotidien?

 

 

 ➡ Be awesome, LIKE and SHARE!

M E R C I