Now Reading:
How Avoirdupois revives mid-to-late 20th-century furniture style

How Avoirdupois revives mid-to-late 20th-century furniture style

Tripartite is the first collection of furniture fromAvoirdupois, a design studio that was inspired by the interiors and style of the East Berlin government offices in the mid-20th century. A bold choice that gives a new lease of life to the codes previously related to vintage pieces only. Discover Avoirdupois' cool furniture remake of such period.

 

 

 

Avoirdupois: Rediscovering the 20th century

 

Avoirdupois reinterprets the style of 20th century furniture

Avoirdupois reinterprets the style of 20th century furniture
Avoirdupois reinterprets the style of 20th century furniture

Avoirdupois reinterprets the style of 20th century furniture

By discovering the collection of Avoirdupois, we feel little by little caught up like in a movie set. As if we were in a kind of new space-time, mixing both the references of the past and the premises of what our future environment might look like. And for good reason, since the designer James Stumpf, Avoirdupois' founder, was inspired by the interiors of East Berlin's government facilities, a real pivotal period for Europe.

The 20th century is also a key design era, that of the advent of designed and functional furniture created to serve the greatest number of people. Time during which the iconic works of Marcel Breuer, Mies van der Rohe, Charles and Ray Eames, Le Corbusier and Charlotte Perriand, the undisputed masters of tubular structures furniture and ergonomics in general. Avoirdupois perpetuates this heritage with similar materials, with both qualitative and simple connotations. It should also be noted that each piece has been designed with attention to detail and has very beautiful finishes.

And if the entire collection goes so far in its perfection and exploration of materials, it is undoubtedly because James Stumpf is both a designer and an engineer, using his in-depth understanding of both technical and aesthetic fits.

 

 

 

Tripartite: tribute to trilogy

 

Avoirdupois reinterprets the style of 20th century furniture

Avoirdupois reinterprets the style of 20th century furniture
Avoirdupois reinterprets the style of 20th century furniture

Avoirdupois reinterprets the style of 20th century furniture

Property-poise-20th-century-Tripartite-Public-Seating-huskdesignblog
Avoirdupois reinterprets the style of 20th century furniture

Tripartite is literally the visual division of the number three. Indeed, if we look closely at each piece, we always find a motif on the triplicating principle, more or less explicit and visible. For instance, the tubular structures are composed of three lines, seats are grouped by three, the recurrent oval shape for the luminaires and the furniture is showing two solid spaces and one empty space... All of this fits with the technical and mathematical personality of the designer, who had the desire to explore the notion of triplicating in a multitude of materials, such as veneers, lacquers, hardwoods, metals, upholstered furniture, etc.

Like a lucky number cleverly and subtly hidden at the very heart of the collection, the number three also reminds us of the clear and precise rhythm of mid-century furniture. The rhythm but also the harmony of the forms were essential, as the designers used to choose for all parts of a piece, whether a geometric or curved theme. The curve is very present in the work of the American designer, using it alternatively as a model or detail.

A beautiful tribute to the 20th century, but above all an intelligent use of the heritage of design, the collection ofAvoirdupois is composed of 22 pieces in total. Unveiled for the first time this year, James Stumpf's collection has been entirely designed and manufactured by the designer himself in his SoHo workshop, in New York City.

 

 

LIKE and SHARE!

T H A N K S

 

Originally posted 2019-08-05 15:00:51.

Written by

Chloé founded Huskdesignblog in 2016. Ever since, she is decoding every nook and cranny to find the best interiors and furniture ideas for her beloved readers and followers, eager for beautiful things.

Input your search keywords and press Enter.

Now Reading:
Comment Avoirdupois fait revivre le mobilier du milieu du 20e siècle

Comment Avoirdupois fait revivre le mobilier du milieu du 20e siècle

Tripartite est la première collection de mobilier d’Avoirdupois, un studio de design qui s’est inspiré des intérieurs et du style présent dans les locaux du gouvernement de Berlin-Est vers le milieu du 20e siècle. Un parti pris audacieux et qui donne un second souffle aux codes jusque là apparentés aux pièces vintage uniquement. Découvrez comment Avoirdupois donne un second souffle à ce mobilier.

 

 

 

Avoirdupois: Redécouvrir le 20e siècle

 

Avoirdupois réinterprète le style du mobilier du 20e siècle

Avoirdupois réinterprète le style du mobilier du 20e siècle
Avoirdupois réinterprète le style du mobilier du 20e siècle

Avoirdupois réinterprète le style du mobilier du 20e siècle

En découvrant la collection du studio Avoirdupois, on se sent petit à petit happés dans un décor de cinéma. Comme si nous nous trouvions dans une sorte de nouvel espace temps, mêlant à la fois les références du passé et les prémisses de ce à quoi pourrait ressembler notre futur environnement. Et pour cause, puisque le designer James Stumpf, fondateur d’Avoirdupois, s’est inspiré des intérieurs des installations gouvernementales de Berlin-Est, soit une période charnière pour l’Europe.

Le 20e siècle est également une époque clé en matière de design, celle de l’avènement du mobilier dessiné et fonctionnel à vocation de servir le plus grand nombre. Epoque pendant laquelle sont apparus les travaux restés iconiques de Marcel Breuer, Mies van der Rohe, Charles et Ray Eames, Le Corbusier et Charlotte Perriand, maîtres incontestés des structures tubulaires et de l’ergonomie. Avoirdupois perpétue cet héritage avec des matériaux similaires, aux connotations à la fois qualitatives et simples. Il est à noter également que chaque pièce a été pensé avec le souci du détail et présente de très belles finitions.

Et si la collection toute entière va aussi loin dans sa perfection et son exploration des matériaux, c’est sans nul doute du fait que James Stumpf est à la fois designer et ingénieur, mettant à profit sa compréhension approfondie des accords techniques comme esthétiques.

 

 

 

Tripartite: hommage au principe de trilogie

 

Avoirdupois réinterprète le style du mobilier du 20e siècle

Avoirdupois réinterprète le style du mobilier du 20e siècle
Avoirdupois réinterprète le style du mobilier du 20e siècle

Avoirdupois réinterprète le style du mobilier du 20e siècle

Avoirdupois-mobilier-20e-siecle-Tripartite-Public-Seating-huskdesignblog
Avoirdupois réinterprète le style du mobilier du 20e siècle

Tripartite est littéralement la division visuelle du chiffre trois. En effet, si l’on regarde attentivement chaque pièce, on retrouve à chaque fois un motif sur le principe de triplement, plus ou moins explicite et visible. Par exemple, les structures tubulaires en métal sont composés de trois lignes, les assises groupées par trois, la forme ovale récurrente pour les luminaire et le mobilier composée de deux espaces pleins et d’un espace vide… Tout ceci concorde avec la personnalité technique et mathématique du designer, qui a eu le désir d’explorer la notion de triplement dans une multitude de matériaux, comme notamment des placages, des laques, des bois durs, des métaux, des meubles rembourrés…

Tel un chiffre porte-bonheur dissimulé habilement et subtilement au coeur même de la collection, le chiffre trois nous rappelle également le rythme clair et précis  que suivait le mobilier du milieu du siècle. Le rythme mais aussi l’harmonie des formes étaient de mise, les designers choisissant d’emblée, et ce pour toutes les parties d’une pièce, une thématique plutôt géométrique, ou plutôt courbée. La courbe est très présente dans le travail du designer américain, l’utilisant tout à tour comme modèle ou détail.

Un bel hommage au 20e siècle, mais surtout une utilisation intelligence de l’héritage du design, la collection d’Avoirdupois est composée de 22 pièces au total. Dévoilée pour la première fois cette année, la collection de James Stumpf a été entièrement conçue et est fabriquée par le designer lui-même dans son atelier de SoHo, à New York.

 

 

LIKE and SHARE!

M E R C I

 

Share This Articles
Written by

Chloé founded Huskdesignblog in 2016. Ever since, she is decoding every nook and cranny to find the best interiors and furniture ideas for her beloved readers and followers, eager for beautiful things.

Input your search keywords and press Enter.