Now Reading:

DesignMiami/ Basel 2017: The selection

DesignMiami/ Basel 2017:

The Best-of

.

 

From 13 to 18 June, the event DesignMiami/ Basel 2017 has brought to light the best of designers by the best galleries around the world. A good way to get in touch with the novelty and tame it, or to rediscover with pleasure parts of the (past). Guided tour of the best of the salon DesignMiami/Basel...

 

 

GALLERIES

 

ammann//gallery, Germany

 

DesignMiami/Basel 2017, Ammann//gallery, Studio Nucleo, Iron Age Coffee Table

This polished iron table was designed by Studio Nucleo and exclusively for the Ammann gallery. At the 2016 edition in Miami, the gallery had already presented the work of the studio with the incredible Lapilazuli Stone Fossil 03+04.

 

 

 Chamber, USA

 

DesignMiami/Basel 2017, Chamber NYC, Carl Emil Jacobsen, Powder table
DesignMiami/Basel 2017, Chamber NYC, Berger Watch, Cassus

It is also with pleasure that we find the gallery Chamber, which for this edition DesignMiami/ Basel 2017, brought to light the tribal and intriguing style of the Powder Table of the sculptor Carl Emil Jacobsen, as well as the bench Cassus, by Bertille Laguet, which is the culmination of a series of research on the aluminum smelter. Great event, great design.

 

 

 Demisch Danant, France

 

DesignMiami/Basel 2017, Demisch Danat, Jacques Dumont
DesignMiami/Basel 2017, Demisch Danae, Etienne Fermigier, F170 Table lamp
DesignMiami/Basel 2017, Demisch Danae, Etienne Fermigier, F230 Table lamp
DesignMiami/Basel 2017, Demisch Danat, English
DesignMiami/Basel 2017, Demisch Danat, Jean-Pierre Mignon, Table Lamp

On the vintage side, the Demisch Danat Gallery paid homage to several personalities: first of all, Jacques Dumont (armchairs above), French architect and decorator of the 45-60's, and whose architectural style is highly recognizable. Then, a series of designers who also marked their time as Etienne Fermigier (two left lamps), and Jean-Pierre Mignon.

 

 

Friedman Benda, USA

 

DesignMiami/Basel 2017, Friedman Benda, Ettore Sottsass, Cabinet No. 81
DesignMiami/Basel 2017, Friedman Benda, Ettore Sottsass

DesignMiami/ Basel 2017 is also an opportunity to highlight the big names of design that continue to influence the crowds nowadays. The choice of the gallery Friedman Benda Therefore focused on Ettore Sottsass, our master at all in order to celebrate the centenary of his birth. The pieces presented are rare products and illustrate the various essential currents that have made the designer's career.

 

 

Kreo Gallery, United Kingdom

  

DesignMiami/Basel 2017, Galerie Kreo, François Bauchet, Azo Table
DesignMiami/Basel 2017, Galerie Kreo, Jaime hatchback, skating Daybed

The Kreo Gallery Has the habit of exposing designers to the heart of trends. This year, the coup de coeur is particularly focused on the Azo Table by François Bauchet, for its massive and sculptural style, with a certain audacity in color and material (composite of sand, concrete and resin). As well as on the amazing Ice-Skating Bed by Jaime Hayon, the designer operate always between innovation and humour with precision.

 

 

 Galerie Maria Wettergren, France

 

DesignMiami/Basel 2017, Galerie Maria Wettergren, Large Growth Table
DesignMiami/Basel 2017, Galerie Maria Wettergren, High Grid Chair, Boris Berlin

At Maria Wettergren, the movement is in the spotlight. Between the Large Growth table by Mathias Bengtsson and High Grid Chair by Boris Berlin, it is as if the inert came to life. We take to see them move and oscillate behind our backs... Isn't the suggestion better than reality?

 

 

Philippe Gravier Gallery, France 

 

DesignMiami/Basel 2017, Galerie Philippe Gravel, Sou Fujimoto, Forest of books

The most interesting pieces of the collection Philippe Gravier are without any doubts these wired towers called Forest of Books, designed in 2016 by the designer SOU Fujimoto. An unexpected way to store your precious books by giving greatness and perspective to your spaces.

 

 

ALL Gallery, USA/China

 

DesignMiami/Basel 2017, Galerie ALL, Mad Martian

The ALL Gallery specializes in the exhibition of the most experimental parts. Besides, in China, All Was from 2013 the first gallery to exhibit only pieces of furniture and objects only available in limited edition. On the occasion of DesignMiami/ Basel 2017, the gallery asked the architect Ma Yansong To create a very special collection... MAD Martian.

 

 

 FUMI Gallery, United Kingdom

 

DesignMiami/ Basel 2017, Galerie Fumi, the Fonteyn chair, Brooksbank & Collins
DesignMiami/ Basel 2017, Galerie Fumi, the Fonteyn chair, Brooksbank & Collins
DesignMiami/Basel 2017, Galerie FUMI, Blankenau Side table, Lukas Wegwerth

The gallery presented one of the most beautiful stands on the show, and the Fonteyn Chair by Brooksbank & Collins is a product we won't forget any time soon. Nest of green marble and veneered Oak, this massive but simple object may soon be embarked on the most connected projects... And with the Blankenau Side Table by Lukas Wegwerth, it is highly appreciated that the stability of a table is finally questioned.

 

 

Maniera, Belgium

 

DesignMiami/Basel 2017, Madenia, Brick Study III, Studio Mumbai/Bijoy Jain Bench

The gallery Maniera has exhibited many objects among which was the bench Brick Study III, by Studio Mumbai. Halfway between the search for a new design and the know-how of the past, this unique furniture has been able to stand out. Maniera Has the principle to collaborate with artists and architects on limited edition pieces, in search of new trends but also of authenticity.

 

 

 Sarah Myerscough Gallery, United Kingdom

 

DesignMiami/Basel 2017, Sarah Myerscough, Josepgh Walsh, Enigmatum Desk IV

Finally, we will obviously remember theEnigmatum Desk by Joseph Walsh proposed by the Sarah Myerscough Gallery. For this series (also includes a chair and a wall shelf), the artist has broken down the wood into several layers, to better assemble them afterwards in order to give birth to an organic form, a unique partnership between nature and man.

 

 

 

CURIO

 

 Oscar Humphries presents Theatro Mollino

 

DesignMiami/Basel 2017, Oscar Humphries, Theatro Mollino

This installation honors the work of the architect Carlo Mollino, a major actor of the 20th century, presenting to the visitor a work of both performance, architecture, cinema and photography. Featuring the famous armchairs designed for theRAI Auditorium, in Turin in 1952, this installation raises the question of seeing and being seen, because it takes us in turn to be spectator and then observed...

 

 

Supergufram presents Studio Job

  

DesignMiami/Basel 2017, Supergufram presents Studio Job

On the occasion of DesignMiami/Basel 2017, Supergufram, such as a tool put at the service of designers, offered the opportunity to Studio Job To go far in the experimentation of polyurethane foam. It is between industrial design and art that the duo designed a series of limited edition pieces including the magnificent lunar cupboard that revisits their already well-known wardrobe, Globe. The tracks are blurred, the studio tests our perception of reality and our habits in order to surprise us.

 

 

 ➡ Please do not forget to LIKE and SHARE this article if you liked it. A small step for you, a great support for Husk!

T H A N K S

Photographs: James Harris

 

 

Input your search keywords and press Enter.

DesignMiami/ Basel 2017:

La sélection

.

 

Du 13 au 18 juin, l'évènement DesignMiami/ Basel 2017 a mis en lumière le meilleur des designers par les meilleures galleries à travers le monde. Un bon moyen pour prendre contact avec la nouveauté et l'apprivoiser, ou bien redécouvrir avec plaisir des pièces du (passé). Visite guidée du meilleur du salon DesignMiami/ Basel...

 

 

GALERIES

 

ammann//gallery, Allemagne

 

Cette table en fer poli a été imaginée par Studio Nucleo et exclusivement pour la galerie Ammann. Lors de l'édition 2016 à Miami, la galerie avait déjà présenté le travail du studio avec les incroyables Lapilazuli Stone Fossil 03+04.

 

 

 Chamber, Etats-Unis

 

C'est également avec plaisir que l'on retrouve la galerie Chamber, qui pour cette édition DesignMiami/ Basel 2017, a mis en lumière le style tribal et intriguant de la Powder Table du sculpteur Carl Emil Jacobsen, ainsi que le banc Cassus, par Bertille Laguet, qui est l'aboutissement d'une série de recherches sur la fonderie d'aluminium. A grande manifestation, grand design.

 

 

 Demisch Danant, France

 

Côté vintage, la galerie Demisch Danant a rendu hommage a plusieurs personnalités: tout d'abord Jacques Dumont (fauteuils ci-dessus), architecte et décorateur français des années 45-60, et dont le style architectural est fort reconnaissable. Puis, une série de designers ayant également marqué leur époque tels Etienne Fermigier (deux lampes de gauche), et Jean-Pierre Mignon.

 

 

Friedman Benda, Etats-Unis

 

DesignMiami/ Basel 2017 est aussi l'occasion de mettre en valeur les grands noms du design qui continuent d'influencer les foules de nos jours. Le choix de la galerie Friedman Benda s'est donc porté sur Ettore Sottsass, notre maître à tous afin de célébrer le centenaire de sa naissance. Les pièces présentées sont des produits rares et illustrent les différents courants essentiels qui ont fait la carrière du designer.

 

 

Galerie Kreo, Royaume-Uni

  

La galerie Kreo a pour habitude d'exposer les designers au coeur des tendances. Cette année, le coup de coeur se porte particulièrement sur la Azo Table par François Bauchet, pour son style massif et sculptural, avec une audace certaine dans la couleur et le matériau (composite de sable, béton et résine). Ainsi que sur l'étonnant Ice-Skating Bed par Jaime Hayon, le designer opèrant toujours entre innovation et humour avec justesse.

 

 

 Galerie Maria Wettergren, France

 

Chez Maria Wettergren, le mouvement est à l'honneur. Entre la Large Growth Table par Mathias Bengtsson et la High Grid chair par Boris Berlin, c'est comme si l'inerte prenait vie. On se prend à les voir bouger et osciller derrière notre dos... La suggestion n'est-elle pas meilleure que la réalité?

 

 

Galerie Philippe Gravier, France 

 

Les pièces les plus intéressantes de la collection Philippe Gravier sont sans aucuns doutes ces tours filaires appellées Forest of Books, dessinées en 2016 par le designer Sou Fujimoto. Un moyen inattendu de ranger vos précieux ouvrages en donnant de la grandeur et de la perspective à vos espaces.

 

 

Galerie ALL, Etats-Unis/Chine

 

La galerie ALL est spécialisée dans l'exposition des pièces les plus expérimentales. D'ailleurs, en Chine, ALL a été dès 2013 la première galerie à n'exposer que des pièces de mobilier et objets uniquement disponibles en édition limitée. A l'occasion de DesignMiami/ Basel 2017, la galerie a demandé à l'architecte Ma Yansong de créer une collection très spéciale... MAD Martian.

 

 

 Galerie FUMI, Royaume-Uni

 

La galerie a présenté un des plus beaux stands sur le salon, et la Fonteyn Chair par Brooksbank & Collins est un produit qu'on oubliera pas de si tôt. Emboîtement de marbre vert et de chêne plaqué, cet objet massif mais simple risque de se retrouver bientôt embarqué dans les projets les plus branchés... Et avec la Blankenau Side Table par Lukas Wegwerth, on apprécie grandement que la stabilité d'une table soit enfin remise en question.

 

 

Maniera, Belgique

 

La galerie Maniera a exposé bon nombre de pièces parmi lesquelles se trouvait le banc Brick Study III, par Studio Mumbaï. A mi-chemin entre la recherche d'un design nouveau et le savoir-faire du passé, ce mobilier unique a su se démarquer. Maniera a pour principe de collaborer avec des artistes et architectes sur des pièces en édition limitée, à la recherche des nouvelles tendances mais aussi d'authenticité.

 

 

 Galerie Sarah Myerscough, Royaume-Uni

 

Pour finir, on retiendra bien évidemment l'Enigmatum Desk par Joseph Walsh proposé par la galerie Sarah Myerscough. Pour cette série (comprend également une chaise et une étagère murale), l'artiste a décomposé le bois en plusieurs calques, pour mieux les assembler ensuite afin de donner naissance à une forme organique, partenariat unique entre la nature et l'Homme.

 

 

 

CURIO

 

 Oscar Humphries présente Theatro Mollino

 

Cette installation honore le travail de l'architecte Carlo Mollino, acteur majeur du 20e siècle, en présentant au visiteur une oeuvre à la fois performance, architecture, cinema et photographie. Mettant en scène les célèbres fauteuils conçus pour l'auditorium RAI, à Turin en 1952, cette installation pose la question du voir et être vu, car elle nous amène tour à tour à être spectateur puis observé...

 

 

Supergufram présente Studio Job

  

A l'occasion de DesignMiami/ Basel 2017, Supergufram, tel un outil mis au service des concepteurs, a offert la possibilité à Studio Job d'aller loin dans l'expérimentation de la mousse de polyuréthane. C'est entre design industriel et art que le duo a conçu une série de pièces d'édition limitée dont le magnifique placard lunaire qui revisite leur armoire déjà bien connue, Globe. Les pistes sont brouillées, le studio met à l'épreuve notre perception de la réalité et nos habitudes afin de nous surprendre.

 

 

 ➡ N'oubliez pas de LIKER et de PARTAGER cet article si vous avez aimé. Un petit geste pour vous, un grand soutien pour Husk!

M E R C I

Photographies: James Harris

 

 

Chloé Valette

Comment on Facebook