Now Reading:
Pierre Marie: Let yourself be overwhelmed by his world with Olu Nelum

Pierre Marie: Let yourself be overwhelmed by his world with Olu Nelum

In the 9th arrondissement of Paris, the Pierre Marie gallery is the perfect summary of the artist's flamboyant universe. Currently, a new exhibition is taking place there, Olu Nelum, displaying some of the objects that Pierre Marie designed especially for the edition of the Design Parade 2018. Discover a one-of-a-kind place and objects, just like their creator.

 

 

Pierre Marie, the passion for forgotten craftsmanships

 

 

Pierre Marie presents Olu Nelum, an exhibition of objects that takes place in his own gallery.

Pierre Marie presents Olu Nelum, an exhibition of objects that takes place in his own gallery.
Pierre Marie presents Olu Nelum, an exhibition of objects that takes place in his own gallery.
Pierre Marie presents Olu Nelum, an exhibition of objects that takes place in his own gallery.
Pierre Marie presents Olu Nelum, an exhibition of objects that takes place in his own gallery.

 

Pierre Marie presents Olu Nelum, an exhibition of objects that takes place in his own gallery.

This second installation takes place within the Gallery of Pierre Marie is called Olu Nelumor "Lotus flower" in Sri Lankan. Taking advantage of his own space, the designer has chosen to highlight his various collaborations with workshops of ancestral and forgotten crafstmanship, by exhibiting some of the pieces created last year for the former Archbishopric of Toulon during the Design Parade.

The trades that have passed through time and French craftsmen are dear to the artist, and he likes to have them work on his projects regularly, like a 19th century interior designer, thinking his projects down to the last detail. Thus, the exhibition is the perfect setting to house unique pieces of blown glass by theAtelier Gamil, a Parisian glass workshop at the service of luxury, design and plastic arts. These master glassmakers are used to transform this material into real pieces of art, of a large or small scale.

In addition, on the occasion of the exhibition Olu Nelum, the stained-glass window made in 2018 by the Ateliers Duchemin was dismantled and reassembled as part of a grandiose architectural form, the centrepiece of the exhibition, designed by theAtelier François Pouenat. On the floor, underneath this metal and glass impressive spider, is also a rug with rich and powerful patterns, made by the Aubusson Manufacture Robert Four for Pierre Marie.

 

 

 

An artist from another time

 

Pierre Marie presents Olu Nelum, an exhibition of objects that takes place in his own gallery.

Galerie-de-Pierre-Marie-Olu-Nelum-huskdesignblog8 exhibition
Pierre Marie presents Olu Nelum, an exhibition of objects that takes place in his own gallery.
Pierre Marie presents Olu Nelum, an exhibition of objects that takes place in his own gallery.
Pierre Marie presents Olu Nelum, an exhibition of objects that takes place in his own gallery.

And if Pierre Marie is so keen to collaborate with the holders of these incredible skills, it is because they know how best to serve his whimsical and colourful aesthetic. Indeed, the artist, designer and "ornamental drawer"as he defined himself, would certainly have become the enemy ofAdolf Loof for whom the ornament was a crime! But it is precisely thanks to this generous universe, closer to the dream than to reality, that Pierre Marie has been able to charm the crowds, and especially the great and luxurious Parisian houses such as Hermès and Dyptique.

Places like the Pierre Marie's gallery are the perfect stage of his talent for the objects on display, but also regarding the decor inspired by all his influences. In the manner of Dimorestudio, the French artist does not neglect any detail, each square centimeter of the exhibition space being probably the faithful representation of his spirit and his taste for baroque patterns. He works on interiors in the same way, referring to the functions of an architect, interior designer and industrial designer that a draftsman must have practiced in the past.

In addition to his very singular world, we will also note the designer's attraction for pieces that are not widely used nowadays, such as stained-glass windows and ancien type tapestries, fields of application of his art in which Pierre Marie can certainly express to the maximum his draftsman discipline in three dimensions.

 

 ➡ LIKE and SHARE!

T H A N K S

 

Written by

Chloé founded Huskdesignblog in 2016. Ever since, she is decoding every nook and cranny to find the best interiors and furniture ideas for her beloved readers and followers, eager for beautiful things.

Input your search keywords and press Enter.

Now Reading:
Pierre Marie: Laissez-vous submerger par son univers avec Olu Nelum

Pierre Marie: Laissez-vous submerger par son univers avec Olu Nelum

Dans le 9ème arrondissement de Paris, la Galerie de Pierre Marie est le parfait résumé de l’univers flamboyant de l’artiste. Actuellement, une nouvelle exposition y prend place, Olu Nelum, mettant en scène certaines des pièces que Pierre Marie a imaginées spécialement pour l’édition de la Design Parade 2018. Découvrez un lieu et des objets cocasses, à l’image de leur créateur.

 

 

Pierre Marie, la passion des savoir-faire oubliés

 

 

Pierre Marie présente Olu Nelum, une exposition d'objets qui a lieu au sein de sa galerie.

Pierre Marie présente Olu Nelum, une exposition d'objets qui a lieu au sein de sa galerie.
Pierre Marie présente Olu Nelum, une exposition d'objets qui a lieu au sein de sa galerie.
Pierre Marie présente Olu Nelum, une exposition d'objets qui a lieu au sein de sa galerie.
Pierre Marie présente Olu Nelum, une exposition d'objets qui a lieu au sein de sa galerie.

 

Pierre Marie présente Olu Nelum, une exposition d'objets qui a lieu au sein de sa galerie.

Cette deuxième installation ayant lieu au sein de la Galerie de Pierre Marie s’intitule Olu Nelum, soit “fleur de Lotus” en Sri lankais. Profitant de son propre espace, le designer a choisi de mettre en lumière ses différentes collaborations avec des ateliers aux savoir-faire ancestraux et oubliés, en exposant certaines des pièces exposées l’an dernier à l’ancien Archevêché de Toulon lors de la Design Parade.

Les métiers qui ont traversé le temps ainsi que les artisans français sont chers à l’artiste, et il aime à les faire travailler sur ces projets régulièrement, à la manière d’un décorateur ensemblier du XIXème siècle, pensant ses projets dans le moindre détail. Ainsi, l’exposition se fait le parfait écrin pour abriter des pièces uniques en verre soufflées à l’Atelier Gamil, atelier verrier parisien au service du luxe, du design et des arts plastiques. Ces artisans verriers ont l’habitude de transformer la matière en de véritables oeuvres d’art, à petite ou grande échelle.

De plus, à l’occasion de l’exposition Olu Nelum, le vitrail réalisé en 2018 par les Ateliers Duchemin a été démonté et ré-assemblé comme parties d’une forme architecturale grandiose, soit la pièce maîtresse de l’exposition, conçue par l’Atelier François Pouenat. Au sol, sous cette araignée de métal et de verre, se trouve également un tapis aux motifs riches et puissants, réalisé par la Manufacture d’Aubusson Robert Four pour Pierre Marie.

 

 

 

Un artiste venu d’ailleurs

 

Pierre Marie présente Olu Nelum, une exposition d'objets qui a lieu au sein de sa galerie.

Galerie-de-Pierre-Marie-exposition-Olu-Nelum-huskdesignblog8
Pierre Marie présente Olu Nelum, une exposition d'objets qui a lieu au sein de sa galerie.
Pierre Marie présente Olu Nelum, une exposition d'objets qui a lieu au sein de sa galerie.
Pierre Marie présente Olu Nelum, une exposition d'objets qui a lieu au sein de sa galerie.

Et si Pierre Marie a autant à coeur de collaborer avec les détenteurs de ces savoir-faire incroyables, c’est parce qu’ils savent servir au mieux son esthétique fantaisiste et généreuse en couleurs. En effet, l’artiste, designer et “dessinateur ornementiste”, comme il se défini lui-même, serait à coup sûr devenu l’ennemi d’Adolf Loof pour qui l’ornement était crime! Mais c’est justement grâce à cet univers généreux, davantage proche du rêve que de la réalité, que Pierre Marie a su charmer les foules, et surtout les grandes maisons parisiennes telles Hermès et Dyptique.

Des lieux comme la Galerie de Pierre Marie sont le théâtre de son talent, d’un point de vue des objets présentés, mais aussi du décor emprunt de toutes ses influences. A la manière de Dimorestudio, l’artiste français ne néglige aucun recoin, chaque centimètre carré de l’espace d’exposition étant probablement la représentation fidèle de son esprit et son goût pour les motifs baroques. Il travaille d’ailleurs les intérieurs de la même façon, faisant référence aux fonctions d’architecte, d’architecte d’intérieur et de designer industriel que devait pratiquer un dessinateur dans le passé.

Outre son univers original, on notera également l’attrait du designer pour les médiums peu employés de nos jours, comme les vitraux et les tapisseries, domaines d’application de son art dans lequel Pierre Marie peut certainement exprimer au maximum sa discipline première de dessinateur en trois dimensions.

 

 ➡ LIKE and SHARE!

M E R C I

 

Share This Articles
Written by

Founder & Interior Designer

    Input your search keywords and press Enter.