TOM DIXON: Design at the heart

.

 

Tom Dixon was born in Tunisia and arrived at the age of four United Kingdom, and is certainly the most influential English designer, and surely the one who has conquered the world. First passed into the hands ofHabitat and Artek, he became known as a designer when his S-Chair was edited by Cappellini. Discover the latest projects of a designer who never stops.

 

 

THE LIGHT MAKER

 

Tom Dixon, cut lighting Collection

 

A month ago, Architonicreleased its Top 100 Designers 2016/2017. The name of Tom Dixon appearing proudly in first position Made me want to tell you a little more about the projects that we owe him. 

The beginning of the year 2017 was rich in light for the designer, starting with the presentation of three new luminaires during the Stockholm Design Week of February. On the program, a 100% Dixonienne wall sconce and in the chromed brass spirit that we know so well, Void, an imposing candlestick and long m length, Plane, as well as its first collection of table lamps intended for the work environment, Boom Task.

Also noticed this month at the Theatro Manzoni in Milan at the Salone del Mobile 2017, Tom Dixon presented its incredible range of luminaires Cut, which has the peculiarity of wrapping us with a kaleidoscope of reflection ... Indeed, the mirror finish appears opaque when the luminaire is turned off, where the bulb is revealed and reflected endlessly on the walls when lit. Magic.

 

 

 

The workspace, finally

 

Not that this area is neglected by the designers, on the contrary. On the other hand, this area suffers from less interest on the part of the public, probably due to The working environment seen as less creative and therefore less appreciated in everyone's imagination. But Tom Dixon is one of those big names who came to change our minds.

First of all, by creating His first collection dedicated to the world of the Office from the beginning of 2016, the designer created the surprise but especially the craze. Composed of an individual office- Slab Desk -An extra table- Screw Table -The stool of the same name, a chair- Y -and a table lamp- Boom Task -, the collection is inspired by The Victorian era and its dark wood desks.

Rather, in the year, The Atrium co-working space had been furnished with the designer's products, and at the Clerkenwell Design Week, he had provisionally arranged a church with his furniture and fixture collections. 2016, the year co-working for Tom Dixon.

  

 

 

TOM DIXON THE CONQUEROR

 

Conquer, became visible on new territories, still unknown until then. In this area, the designer is not left out. Indeed last year, Tom Dixon has targeted the United States market, with the opening of a brand new showroom on Howard Street in New York, and simultaneously, the opening of its first shop on the West Coast in Los Angeles, in collaboration with the ready-to-wear brand Curve.

Finally, in 2017, he announced -Also during the Milan Design Week- his first collaboration with the furniture giant on the popular and international market: IKEA. They worked on the development ofA modular day-bed/sofa, able to adapt to the needs of everyone and the evolution of our lives. With an aluminium structure, Delaktig is like the work of the designer in general, made to last.

 

"It's turned into a raft, it's turned into a double decker bed, a sofa system for airports," Dixon said of the student projects. "It's a bed first but it can turn into anything."

 

 

 

 ➡ Please do not forget to LIKE and SHARE this article if you liked it. A small step for you, a great support for Husk!

T H A N K S

 

 

Chloé Valette

TOM DIXON: Le design au coeur

.

 

Tom Dixon est né en Tunisie et arrivé à l'âge de 4 ans au Royaume-Uni, et est certainement le designer Anglais le plus influent, et assurément celui qui a su conquérir le monde. Tout d'abord passé dans les mains d'Habitat et de Artek, il devient connu en tant que designer lorsque sa chaise S-Chair fut éditée par Cappellini. Découvrez les derniers projets d'un designer qui ne s'arrête jamais.

 

 

LE FAISEUR DE LUMIÈRE

 

Tom Dixon, cut lighting collection

 

Il y a un mois, Architonic publiait son Top 100 des designers 2016/2017. Le nom de Tom Dixon apparaissant fièrement en première position m'a donné envie de vous en raconter un peu plus sur les projets que l'on lui doit. 

Ce début d'année 2017 fut riche en lumière  pour le designer, a commencer par la présentation de trois nouveaux luminaires lors de la Stockholm Design Week de février. Au programme, une applique murale 100% Dixonienne et dans l'esprit laiton chromé qu'on lui connaît si bien, Void, un chandelier imposant et tout en longueur d'1M60 de long, Plane, ainsi que sa première collection de lampes de table destinée à l'environnement de travail, Boom Task.

Egalement remarqué ce mois-ci au Theatro Manzoni de Milan lors du Salone del Mobile 2017, Tom Dixon présentait son incroyable gamme de luminaires Cut, qui a la particularité de nous envelopper d'une réflexion kaléidoscopique... En effet, la finition miroir semble opaque lorsque le luminaire est éteint, où l'ampoule se trouve révélée et reflétée sans fin sur les murs une fois allumée. Magique.

 

 

 

L'ESPACE DE TRAVAIL, ENFIN

 

Non pas que ce domaine soit délaissé par les designers, au contraire. En revanche ce domaine souffre d'un intérêt moindre de la part du public, dû probablement à l'environnement de travail vu comme moins créatif et donc moins apprécié dans l'imaginaire de chacun. Mais Tom Dixon fait partie de ces grands noms venus nous faire changer d'avis.

Tout d'abord, en créant sa première collection dédié à l'univers du bureau dès la rentrée 2016, le designer a créée la surprise mais surtout l'engouement. Composée d'un bureau individuel - Slab Desk - d'une table d'appoint - Screw Table - du tabouret du même nom, d'une chaise - Y - et d'une lampe de table - Boom Task -, la collection est inspirée de l'époque Victorienne et de ses pupitres de bois foncé.

D'ailleurs plutôt dans l'année, l'espace de co-working Atrium s'était vu meublé avec les produits du designer, et lors de la Clerkenwell Design Week, il avait aménagé provisoirement une église avec ses collections mobilier et luminaire. 2016, l'année co-working pour Tom Dixon.

  

 

 

TOM DIXON LE CONQUÉRANT

 

Conquérir, s'est se rendre visible sur de nouveaux territoires, encore inconnus jusque là. Dans ce domaine non plus, le designer n'est pas en reste. En effet l'année dernière, Tom Dixon a lancé plusieurs assauts aux les Etats-Unis, avec le showroom sur Howard Street à New York, et simultanément, l'ouverture de sa première boutique sur la côte Ouest à Los Angeles, en collaboration avec la marque de prêt-à-porter Curve.

Enfin, en 2017, il annonçait - également lors de la Milan Design Week - sa première collaboration avec le géant du mobilier sur le marché populaire et international: IKEA. Ils ont travaillé sur l'élaboration d'un day-bed/sofa modulaire, capable de s'adapter aux besoins de chacun et à l'évolution de nos vies. Doté d'une structure en aluminium, Delaktig est comme le travail du designer en général, fait pour durer.

 

"It's turned into a raft, it's turned into a double decker bed, a sofa system for airports," Dixon said of the student projects. "It's a bed first but it can turn into anything."

 

 

 

 ➡ N'oubliez pas de LIKER et de PARTAGER cet article si vous avez aimé. Un petit geste pour vous, un grand soutien pour Husk!

M E R C I

 

 

Chloé Valette