Now Reading:
Ste.Marie studio designs Jaybird, a highly sensory space dedicated to Yoga

Ste.Marie studio designs Jaybird, a highly sensory space dedicated to Yoga

There are some incredible places that go in the opposite direction of what we expected. It is a design and interior design studio that works very closely with sensations and intuitions in order to design unexpected projects, as close as possible to their future users. In this sense, find out Ste.Marie studio's work, which has turned the yoga and meditation practice center into a vessel connecting body, mind, and space all around...

 

 

Yoga and suitable materials

 

Ste.Marie studio creates Jaybird, a yoga and meditation center with an intuitive and unusual design.

Ste.Marie studio creates Jaybird, a yoga and meditation center with an intuitive and unusual design.
Ste.Marie studio creates Jaybird, a yoga and meditation center with an intuitive and unusual design.

Ste.Marie studio creates Jaybird, a yoga and meditation center with an intuitive and unusual design.

 

If the design of yoga centers is more inclined towards light and breathable colors, in connection with the positive energies summoned through this discipline, it is surprising and fascinating to see that Ste.Marie studio has chosen a completely different path. Indeed, the Canadian designers have found their own connection to this universe, advocating a hushed, soothing and enveloping atmosphere. In their view, meditation spaces such as Jaybird must pay special attention to the sensory and emotional qualities of the surrounding materials, thus facilitating the connection between the external environment and our internal state.

 

In this sense, the studio has opted for the rehearsal of natural materials, featuring recycled cork and its excellent aesthetic and acoustic properties. Jaybird, thus conducive to inner reflections is erected in a subdued atmosphere and no mirrors are present, neither in the private rooms nor in the general classrooms, which are directed solely by music and operate in the dark. Ste.Marie studio has oriented its design and architectural choices more on a problem of sensations rather than impressions, and has also wished to make a link with the movements of the body...

 

 

Ste.Marie studio, yoga, and movement

 

Ste.Marie studio creates Jaybird, a yoga and meditation center with an intuitive and unusual design.

Ste.Marie studio creates Jaybird, a yoga and meditation center with an intuitive and unusual design.
Ste.Marie studio creates Jaybird, a yoga and meditation center with an intuitive and unusual design.

Ste.Marie studio creates Jaybird, a yoga and meditation center with an intuitive and unusual design.

 

In order to create a link and even a symbiosis between body and space, the designers relied on the poetic dimension of the sculptures driven by Constantin Brâncuși , of modern dancers Lucinda Childs and Yvonne Rainers, thus integrating the principle of flow in the practice of yoga. The distribution of materials and art objects is both intuitive and reactive, proposing a literally scenic path of use between spaces. Ste.Marie studio has designed the reception area as a welcoming cave, gradually guiding users to their respective rooms by means of brighter markers thanks in particular to the light oak benches. 

 

The instinctive and almost mystical conception of the Jaybirdcenter, allows yogis to leave pretension aside and respond spontaneously to their environment. The design of Jaybird transports the body and guides the mind, referring to yoga of course but also to all disciplines where the mind/body/space connection is essential to their good practice.

 

 

LIKE and SHARE!

T H A N K S

 

Input your search keywords and press Enter.

Now Reading:
Le studio Ste.Marie crée Jaybird, un espace sensoriel dédié au yoga

Le studio Ste.Marie crée Jaybird, un espace sensoriel dédié au yoga

Il est des lieux incroyables qui vont dans la direction opposée de celle qu’on attendait. Il est des studio de design et d’architecture d’intérieur qui travaillent davantage avec les sensations et leurs intuitions afin de concevoir des projets inattendus, davantage proche des leurs futurs utilisateurs. En ce sens, découvrez le travail du studio Ste.Marie, qui a fait du centre de pratique de yoga et de méditation un vaisseau connectant le corps, l’esprit et l’espace tout autour…

 

 

Yoga et matériaux adaptés

 

Le studio Ste.Marie créé Jaybird, un centre de yoga et de méditation au design intuitif et hors du commun

Le studio Ste.Marie créé Jaybird, un centre de yoga et de méditation au design intuitif et hors du commun
Le studio Ste.Marie créé Jaybird, un centre de yoga et de méditation au design intuitif et hors du commun

Le studio Ste.Marie créé Jaybird, un centre de yoga et de méditation au design intuitif et hors du commun

 

Si le design des centres de yoga a davantage tendance à s’orienter vers des couleurs claires et respirantes, en lien avec les énergies positives convoquées grâce à cette discipline, il est surprenant et fascinant de voir que le studio Ste.Marie a choisi un tout autre chemin. En effet, les designers canadiens ont trouvé leur propre connection à cet univers, prônant une atmosphère feutrée, apaisante et enveloppante. Les espaces de méditation tels que Jaybird se doivent d’apporter une attention toute particulière aux qualités sensorielles et émotionnelles des matériaux présents, facilitant ainsi la connexion entre l’environnement externe et l’état interne.

 

En ce sens, le studio a opté pour la répétition de matériaux naturels, mettant notamment en avant le liège recyclé et ses excellentes propriétés à la fois esthétiques et acoustiques. Jaybird, ainsi propice aux réflexions intérieures, est érigé dans une atmosphère tamisée et aucun miroir n’y est présent, ni dans les chambres ni dans les espaces de cours dirigés uniquement par la musique et fonctionnant dans l’obscurité. Le studio Ste.Marie a orienté son design et ses choix architecturaux davantage sur une problématique de sensations plutôt que d’impressions, et a également souhaité faire un lien avec les mouvements du corps…

 

 

Le studio Ste.Marie, le yoga, le mouvement

 

Le studio Ste.Marie créé Jaybird, un centre de yoga et de méditation au design intuitif et hors du commun

Le studio Ste.Marie créé Jaybird, un centre de yoga et de méditation au design intuitif et hors du commun
Le studio Ste.Marie créé Jaybird, un centre de yoga et de méditation au design intuitif et hors du commun

Le studio Ste.Marie créé Jaybird, un centre de yoga et de méditation au design intuitif et hors du commun

 

Pour créer un lien et même une symbiose entre corps et espace, les designers se sont appuyés sur la dimension autement poétique des sculptures animées de Constantin Brâncuși des danseurs modernes Lucinda Childs et Yvonne Rainer, intégrant ainsi le principe du flow dans la pratique du yoga. La répartition des matériaux et des objets d’art est à la fois intuitive et réactive, proposant un chemin d’utilisation littérallement scénographié entre les espaces. Le studio Ste.Marie a conçu l’espace d’accueil comme une grotte accueillante, guidant progressivement les utilisateurs vers leurs salles respectives par des repères plus lumineux grâce notamment aux bancs de chêne clair. 

 

La conception instinctive et presque mystique du centre Jaybird, permet aux yogis de laisser de côté la prétention et de répondre spontanément à leur environnement. Le design de Jaybird transporte le corps et guide l’esprit, faisant référence au yoga biensûr mais également toutes les disciplines où la connection corps/esprit/espace est essentielle à leur bonne pratique.

 

 

LIKE and SHARE!

M E R C I

 

Written by

Chloé founded Huskdesignblog in 2016. Ever since, she is decoding every nook and cranny to find the best interiors and furniture ideas for her beloved readers and followers, eager for beautiful things.

Input your search keywords and press Enter.