Now Reading:
4 Sculptural Design studios to pay close attention to in 2020

4 Sculptural Design studios to pay close attention to in 2020

Despite the small world of design, many new studios emerge every year, at each trade fair or design week, further enriching our sphere of inspiration with brand new creations. The sculptural design is undoubtedly part of the coveted Collectible Design family, a creative entity for which it is difficult to define a framework. It is in this sense that we present four studios whose sculptural and original design particularly amazed us when we discovered them.

 

 

 

Jordi Verbaan, The Netherlands

 

If you went to Dutch Design Week in October 2019, the collection X4 of designer Jordi Verbaan will not have escaped your attention. The designer presented sculptural furniture by combining his aspirations as a conceptual artist with his woodworking know-how. It is thanks to this type of design, which he has developed, that Jordi finds meaning in the interaction of art and design, but also of design with everyday life.

 

By creating simple and perennial forms, to which everyone can hang on to his or her desires and history, Dutch designer questions the function itself and its evolution in some familiar places, thanks to nice shelving and seating.

 

Sculptural design furniture Dutch designer Jordi Verbaan
Sculptural design furniture Dutch designer Jordi Verbaan
Sculptural design furniture Dutch designer Jordi Verbaan
Sculptural design furniture Dutch designer Jordi Verbaan

 

 

Matthew Dasneves, South Africa

 

The architect Matthew Dasneves has recently tried his hand at sculptural design inspired by the construction industry. Nominated to the Dezeen Awards 2019, his series called Caulked Chairs is made from offcut polystyrene used as a base, then sculpted into functional shapes and covered with rubber sealant traditionally used in construction.

 

Matthew Dasneves, as a South Africanarchitect, has succeeded in getting the rubber beads as a powerful decorative effect and enhancing the functionality of the chairs at the same time, giving them a smooth, practicable and distinguished surface. Moreover, the artistic gesture of putting the sealant on, its imperfections and different thicknesses bring the visitor and the designer's work considerably closer, as if he had just made it right in front of our eyes, just for us...

 

Sculptural designer furniture Sculptural designer furniture South African designer Matthew Dasneves

Sculptural designer furniture Sculptural designer furniture South African designer Matthew Dasneves
Sculptural designer furniture Sculptural designer furniture South African designer Matthew Dasneves

 

 

Studio Sho Ota, The Netherlands

 

In recent times, many notable appearances of the designer's work Sho Otahave been made. Of Japanese origin, the designer studied at the prestigious Design Academy Eindhoven from which he graduated in 2018, and presented his work for the first time at the Dutch Design Week in the same year. In 2019, the designer's sculptural work was notably exhibited at Collectible, at the famous Villa Noailles, and once again at the DDW.

 

His background as a wood craftsman/maker in Japan took him as far as the Netherlands, allowing him to experiment with complex and poetic design. Literally sculptures, his objects highlight the infinite properties of wood and its material and visual qualities.

 

Sculptural design furniture Japanese designer Sho Ota

Sculptural design furniture Japanese designer Sho Ota
Sculptural design furniture Japanese designer Sho Ota

Sculptural design furniture Japanese designer Sho Ota

 

 

 

Turbina, Spain

 

Turbina is a multidisciplinary design studio based in Barcelona. The studio's sculptural design explores the creation of kinetic and unexpected objects, both in form and material. The notion of time and the vision that everyone has of it is a real creative engine for the studio, as much as the notion of matter: "We respect the materials own language, we select them for their implicit symbology and we explore their possibilities while comprehending their nature".

 

Upon receiving this work with its strong yet minimalist concept, we were disturbed by its singular and mineral aesthetic, so close to raw and natural elements, yet completely shaped by man's hands. The studio's research gives these pieces an almost sacred dimension, whose aura is well worth watching in 2020...

 

Sculptural design furniture, design studio Turbina, Spain

Sculptural design furniture, design studio Turbina, Spain
Sculptural design furniture, design studio Turbina, Spain
Sculptural design furniture, design studio Turbina, Spain
studio-design-sculptural-2020-Turbina-Orbital-huskdesignblog

 

 

LIKE and SHARE!

T H A N K S

 

Input your search keywords and press Enter.

Now Reading:
4 studios de design sculptural, à suivre de près de 2020

4 studios de design sculptural, à suivre de près de 2020

En dépit du petit monde qu’est le design, de nombreux nouveaux studios émergent chaque année, à l’occasion de chaque salon ou design week, venant enrichir toujours plus notre sphère d’inspiration de toutes nouvelles créations. Le design sculptural fait sans aucun doute partie de la très convoitée famille du Collectible Design, entité créative pour laquelle il est pourtant difficile de définir un cadre. C’est donc en ce sens que nous vous présentons quatre studios dont le design sculptural et original nous a particulièrement émerveillé lors de leur découverte.

 

 

 

Jordi Verbaan, Pays-Bas

 

Si vous vous êtes rendus à la Dutch Design Week en octobre 2019, la collection X4 du designer Jordi Verbaan ne vous aura sûrement pas échappée. Le designer présente en effet du mobilier sculptural en alliant à la fois ses aspirations d’artiste conceptuel et son savoir-faire en matière de travail du bois. C’est grâce à ce type de design, qu’il a développé, que Jordi trouve sens dans l’interaction de l’art et du design, mais aussi du design avec la vie quotidienne.

 

En créant des formes simples et pérennes, auxquelles chacun peut raccrocher ses envies et son histoire, le designer néerlandais questionne la fonction et l’évolution de celle-ci dans les espaces qui nous sont familiers, grâce notamment à des étagères et des assises.

 

Mobilier design sculptural designer néerlandais Jordi Verbaan
Mobilier design sculptural designer néerlandais Jordi Verbaan
Mobilier design sculptural designer néerlandais Jordi Verbaan
Mobilier design sculptural designer néerlandais Jordi Verbaan

 

 

Matthew Dasneves, Afrique du Sud

 

L’architecte Matthew Dasneves s’est récemment essayé au design sculptural en s’inspirant du domaine de la construction. Nominée aux Dezeen Awards 2019, sa série intitulée Caulked Chairs est réalisée à partir de déchets de polystyrène récupérés comme base, puis sculptés en des formes fonctionnelles, et recouvertes de mastic en caoutchouc traditionnellement utilisé dans la construction.

 

Matthew Dasneves, architecte sud-africain, réussi ici l’exploit de donner aux perles de caoutchouc un effet décoratif puissant, tout en renforçant la fonctionalité des chaises, leur offrant une surface lisse, pratiquable et distinguée. De plus, le geste artistique de la pose du mastic, ses imperfections et différentes épaisseurs rapprochent considérablement le visiteur et le travail du designer, comme s’il venait de le réaliser sous nos yeux, rien que pour nous…

 

Mobilier design sculptural designer Mobilier design sculptural designer sud-africain Matthew Dasneves

Mobilier design sculptural designer Mobilier design sculptural designer sud-africain Matthew Dasneves
Mobilier design sculptural designer Mobilier design sculptural designer sud-africain Matthew Dasneves

 

 

Studio Sho Ota, Pays-Bas

 

Ces derniers temps, nombreuses et remarquées furent les apparitions du travail du designer Sho Ota. D’origine japonaise, le designer a fait ses classes à la prestigieuse Design Academy Eindhoven dont il fut diplômé en 2018, et a dans la foulée présenté son travail pour la première lors de la Dutch Design Week la même année. En 2019, le travail sculptural du designer a notamment été exposé lors du salon Collectible, à la Villa Noailles, et une fois de plus à la DDW.

 

Son cursus en tant qu’artisant/maker du bois au Japon l’a mené jusqu’aux Pays-Bas, lui permettant dorénavant d’expérimenter un design à la fois complexe et poétique. Littérallement sculptures, ses objets mettent en avant les propriétés infinies du bois et ses qualités tant matérielles que visuelles.

 

Mobilier design sculptural designer japonais Sho Ota

Mobilier design sculptural designer japonais Sho Ota
Mobilier design sculptural designer japonais Sho Ota

Mobilier design sculptural designer japonais Sho Ota

 

 

 

Turbina, Espagne

 

Turbina est un studio de design pluridisciplinaire basé à Barcelone. Le design sculptural du studio explore la création d’objets cinétiques et inattendus, tant par leurs formes que leurs matériaux. La notion du temps et la vision que chacun s’en fait est un réel moteur de création pour le studio, autant que la notion de matière: “We respect the materials own language, we select them for their implicit symbology and we explore their possibilities while comprehending their nature”.

 

A la réception de ce travail au concept fort et pourtant si minimaliste, nous avons été troublé par son esthétique singulière et minérale, si proche d’éléments bruts et naturels, et pourtant complètement façonnés par les mains de l’Homme. Les recherches du studio confèrent à ces pièces une dimension presque sacrée, dont l’aura est bel et bien à suivre de près en 2020…

 

Mobilier design sculptural, studio de design Turbina, Espagne

Mobilier design sculptural, studio de design Turbina, Espagne
Mobilier design sculptural, studio de design Turbina, Espagne
Mobilier design sculptural, studio de design Turbina, Espagne
studios-design-sculptural-2020-Turbina-Orbital-huskdesignblog

 

 

LIKE and SHARE!

M E R C I

 

Written by

Chloé founded Huskdesignblog in 2016. Ever since, she is decoding every nook and cranny to find the best interiors and furniture ideas for her beloved readers and followers, eager for beautiful things.

Input your search keywords and press Enter.