Now Reading:
Sindroms launches Omakase: Pink, a limited-edition design gift box

Sindroms launches Omakase: Pink, a limited-edition design gift box

Available online in pre-sale until December 1st, the   Omakase: Pink gift boxes by Sindroms have something for all design fans to enjoy. Indeed, this limited-edition of 30 original boxes contains a series of objects kept secret and partly created exclusively for this project, by renowned designers... Find out more about this original project and its concept, thanks to our interview with Miruna Sorescu, Creative Artistic Director of Sindroms:

 

 

Omakase: Pink by Sindroms

 

Omakase: Pink by Sindroms, an original design gift box
Omakase: Pink by Sindroms, an original design gift box

 

What is Omakase and its concept?

Omakase is a Japanese concept of allowing the chef to decide your meal, instead of choosing yourself. It translates to ‘I leave it up to you’, and the concept is very much an exercise of trust - you put your taste buds in the hands of an expert and trust that the experience will be great. This concept of mystery, of surprise experiences or gifting, is not new at all - people enjoy being surprised. 

Our interpretation resulted in  Omakase: Pink gift boxes, a monochrome , limited-edition gift box, for which we have curated a selection of pink design objects & products, collaborating with some of our favorite designers, artists, or brands. The box is, of course, a mystery - so you only discover the contents once you receive it.  

 

Where did the idea to create Omakase come from? Is it related to design?

It definitely is. If you look at it, design is a gift in itself. It turns functionality into desire and beauty, with no other aim than to please your senses and enhance emotions in the space around it. Every time we work on a new Sindromsissue, we fall in love with the different designers, artists or brands we discover, interview, or feature in the magazine.

We like trying to bring them closer to our readers - for example, our launch event for the white issue was staged as a gallery exhibition, where we exhibited work of the artists featured in the issue. We were ultimately inspired to bring some of them even closer to our audience, through an ode to beautiful, contemporary design and craftsmanship: a gift box.

We have also been focusing on immersing people into different monochrome experiences - both through the four issues, as well as events - and we started looking for new ways of creating such an experience. It all came together quite naturally into Omakase: Pink gift boxes .

 

Sindroms magazine Pink, 2019
Omakase: Pink by Sindroms, an original design gift box

 

How were the designers and objects selected?

We knew from the beginning we wanted to collaborate with different designers and artists we love and have worked with before for the magazine, to create something unique and exclusive for the boxes - something they wouldn’t be able to just find or buy in a store. So we definitely had some of them in mind from the very inception of the Omakase idea, and then we also wanted to include some products from established brands that we love, so it was then just a matter of curating the ‘right’ pink products from them.

The box was curated as both an overarching story across the objects, and also as independent designs, in a unisex mix.

 

How did the pink edition of Sindroms influence the project?

We started working on the boxes around the same time we started working on the pink issue, so it has definitely influenced it. Two of the brands/designers we ended up including in the box we discovered while putting together the  Sindroms, Pink issue...

 

Omakase: Pink by Sindroms, an original design gift box

 

Can you give us some clues as to what is inside?

Each box consists of 6 pink design objects and products, plus a copy of the Pink Sindrom. Half of the products have been created exclusively for Omakase: Pink, in collaboration with two artists/designers, and one brand. The other 3 were carefully selected from one emerging designer and two renowned brands. We included a couple of Scandinavian designers/brands, and the rest are international.

We went for a varied mix of design objects and design products, and we chose them in a way that they can all be gifted together, and also separately. So you can, of course, get the whole box for yourself or gift it to someone, but also keep what you like and gift one or some of the products to one or more friends. Make the most of it as it best suits you! 

 

Will this type of project complement every edition of Sindroms in the future?

It’s definitely something we’d love to continue doing if this first pink box is a success. It was an exciting process for us - choosing and convincing designers and artists to join in, designing the box, etc. - and we think it’s an exciting product. It can be a great way to let yourself be surprised or it can be a unique gift for someone who loves pink, beautiful objects or simply has an eye for aesthetics and design. We like this concept of blind trust - and we are very flattered every time a box is bought, knowing that someone puts their trust in us.

 

Sindroms magazine Pink, 2019
Sindroms magazine Pink, 2019

 

Omakase: Pink Gift Boxes, available in pre-order and exclusively on our online store

Thanks to Miruna Sorescu for giving us this interview / Images by Andrés Reisinger.

 

LIKE  and SHARE!

T H A N K S

 

Originally posted 2019-10-04 14:00:19.

Written by

Chloé founded Huskdesignblog in 2016. Ever since, she is decoding every nook and cranny to find the best interiors and furniture ideas for her beloved readers and followers, eager for beautiful things.

Input your search keywords and press Enter.

Now Reading:
Sindroms lance Omakase: Pink, un coffret cadeau design en série limitée

Sindroms lance Omakase: Pink, un coffret cadeau design en série limitée

Disponibles en ligne en pré-vente jusqu’au 1er Décembre, les coffrets Omakase: Pink par Sindroms ont de quoi ravirent tous les fans de design. En effet, cette édition limitée de 30 écrins originaux, renferme une série d’objets tenue secrète et en partie créée exclusivement pour ce projet, par des designers renommés… Découvrez-en plus sur ce projet original et son concept, grâce à notre interview de Miruna Sorescu, directrice artistique de Sindroms:

 

 

Omakase: Pink vue par Sindroms

 

Omakase: Pink par Sindroms, un coffret-cadeau design et original
Omakase: Pink par Sindroms, un coffret-cadeau design et original

 

Qu’est-ce qu’Omakase et quel est son concept?

Omakase s’inspire du concept japonais qui consiste à laisser le chef décider de votre menu au lieu de le choisir vous-même. Cela se traduit par «Je vous laisse le soin de le faire», un réel exercice de confiance: vous confiez vos papilles à un expert et vous avez la certitude que l’expérience sera enrichissante. Mais le concept de mystère, d’expériences-surprises ou de présent secret n’est pas nouveau: les gens aiment être surpris.

Notre interprétation en a résulté dans Omakase: Pink, un coffret cadeau monochrome à tirage limité, pour lequel nous avons sélectionné une sélection d’objets et de produits de design roses, en collaboration avec certains de nos designers, artistes ou marques préférés. La boîte est bien-sûr un mystère, vous ne découvrirez donc le contenu qu’une fois que vous l’aurez reçue!

 

D’où est venue l’idée de créer Omakase? Est-ce lié au design?

Oui, clairement. Quand on y pense, le design est un cadeau en soi. Il transforme la fonctionnalité en désir et en beauté, sans autre objectif que de plaire à vos sens et de renforcer les émotions dans l’espace qui l’entoure. Chaque fois que nous travaillons sur un nouveau numéro de Sindroms, nous tombons amoureux de différents designers, artistes ou marques que nous découvrons, interviewons ou présentons dans le magazine.

Nous aimons essayer de les rapprocher de nos lecteurs – par exemple, notre événement de lancement du numéro blanc a été organisé comme une exposition dans une galerie, où nous avons exposé le travail des artistes présentés dans ce numéro. En fin de compte, nous avons été inspirés par notre rapprochement avec certains d’entre eux, par le biais d’une ôde au beau et au design contemporain: un coffret cadeau.

Nous nous sommes également attachés à plonger les gens dans différentes expériences monochromes – à travers les quatre thèmes et événements de Sindroms – et nous avons commencé à rechercher de nouveaux moyens de créer une telle expérience. L’idée d’Omakase: Pink nous est donc venue assez naturellement.

 

Sindroms magazine Pink, 2019
Omakase: Pink par Sindroms, un coffret-cadeau design et original

 

Comment s’est faite la sélection des designers et des objets?

Dès le début, nous savions que nous voulions collaborer avec différents designers et artistes que nous aimons et avec qui nous avons déjà travaillé pour le magazine, afin de créer quelque chose d’unique et d’exclusif en ce qui concerne les coffrets – quelque chose que les gens ne pourraient tout simplement pas trouver ou acheter dans un magasin. Nous en avions donc certains noms en tête dès les prémisces de l’idée d’Omakase, mais nous voulions aussi inclure certains produits de marques établies que nous adorons. Il ne restait donc plus qu’à choisir les «bons» produits roses.

La boîte a été pensée à la fois comme une histoire globale à travers des objets, et aussi comme un projet de design indépendant, avec une sélection d’objets unisexes.

 

Comment l’édition rose de Sindroms a-t-elle influencée le projet?

Nous avons commencé à travailler sur les boîtes à peu près au même moment où nous avons commencé à travailler sur l’édition rose, l’un a donc indéniablement influencé et inspiré l’autre. Deux des marques/designers avec qui nous avons collaboré pour le magazine figurent dans la boîte. Nous les avons découverts alors que nous nous préparions à l’assemblage du magazine Sindroms, Pink…

 

Omakase: Pink par Sindroms, un coffret-cadeau design et original

 

Pouvez-vous nous donner des indices afin d’imaginer ce qu’il y a à l’intérieur..?

Chaque boîte contient 6 objets de design et produits roses, ainsi qu’un exemplaire du Pink Sindrom. La moitié des produits ont été créés exclusivement pour Omakase: Pink, en collaboration avec deux artistes/designers et une marque. Les 3 autres ont été soigneusement sélectionnés parmi le travail d’un designer émergent et de deux marques renommées. Nous avons inclus quelques noms scandinaves, le reste restant international.

Nous avons opté pour un mélange varié d’objets design, et nous les avons choisis de manière à ce qu’ils puissent être disposés ensemble, mais aussi séparément. Vous pouvez donc bien sûr obtenir la boîte entière pour vous-même ou la donner à quelqu’un, mais aussi garder ce que vous aimez et offrir un ou plusieurs objets à un ou plusieurs amis. Utilisez-la comme il vous convient!

 

Ce type de projet viendra-t-il dorénavant compléter chaque édition de Sindroms?

C’est définitivement quelque chose que nous aimerions continuer de faire si ce premier coffret rose est un succès. C’était un processus passionnant pour nous – choisir et convaincre les designers et les artistes de s’associer, concevoir le coffret, etc., nous avons trouvé l’ensemble du projet passionnant. Ce peut être un excellent moyen de vous laisser surprendre ou un cadeau unique pour quelqu’un qui aime le rose, les beaux objets ou tout simplement le sens de l’esthétique et du design. Nous aimons ce concept de confiance aveugle, et nous sommes très flattés chaque fois que quelqu’un acquiert une boîte, car cela veut dire que quelqu’un croit en nos goûts et en notre oeil.

 

Sindroms magazine Pink, 2019
Sindroms magazine Pink, 2019

 

Coffrets Omakase: Pink, disponibles en pré-commande et en exclusivité sur notre boutique

Merci à Miruna Sorescu de nous avoir accordé cette interview / Visuels par Andrés Reisinger.

 

LIKE and SHARE!

M E R C I

 

Share This Articles
Written by

Chloé founded Huskdesignblog in 2016. Ever since, she is decoding every nook and cranny to find the best interiors and furniture ideas for her beloved readers and followers, eager for beautiful things.

Input your search keywords and press Enter.