Now Reading:
London Design Festival & Fair: 3 high-profile shows that made the difference

London Design Festival & Fair: 3 high-profile shows that made the difference

The London Design Festival and London Design Fair are two concurrent events held in London, each year in September. Previously noticed, the London Design month is for us, one of the best design events on view nowadays. Many talents are discovered or brought to light there, and the exhibition format of the pieces is wide and varied. Between official exhibitions and incredible OFF shows, find out 3 events that literally steal the scene during this 2019 edition.

 

 

ADORNO at the London Design Festival / Crossovers

 

Founded in 2017, Adorno is a platform for promoting emerging designers, and which advocates collaboration as a tool to push up design communities. A kind of online catalog of the great design family and its actors, Adorno began in 2018, also at the London Design Fair, to become a curator and collaborated with others to exhibit pieces from their community.

 

This year the two founders, Kristian Snorre Andersen and Martin Clausenpresented Crossovers, or a large collection of works encompassing several countries, and brought together under a single umbrella. To enable this unique exhibition to best represent today's world, its issues, and trends, they have teamed up with renowned curators to target the best designers. Thus, Belgian, Danish, Finnish, French, Italian, Mexican, Norwegian, Swedish, Swiss and Turkish designers were carefully selected to make Crossovers an eclectic event, where everyone could make their own style discoveries.

 

Adorno liked to showcase a mix of works representing both ancient and modern manufacturing techniques, thus allowing these young talents whose names are more or less familiar The London Design Festival is an event that is followed worldwide by the press, professionals and design enthusiasts. Below is a selection of the projects on display, representing each of the selected countries:

 

BELGIUM, curator Elien Haentjens

 

London Design Festival 2019: Adorno presents the Crossovers exhibition
London Design Festival 2019: Adorno presents the Crossovers exhibition
London Design Festival 2019: Adorno presents the Crossovers exhibition
London Design Festival 2019: Adorno presents the Crossovers exhibition

 

DENMARK, Curator Pil Bredahl

 

London Design Festival 2019: Adorno presents the Crossovers exhibition
London Design Festival 2019: Adorno presents the Crossovers exhibition

London Design Festival 2019: Adorno presents the Crossovers exhibition

 

 

FINLAND, Curator Sebastian Jansson

 

London Design Festival 2019: Adorno presents the Crossovers exhibition
London Design Festival 2019: Adorno presents the Crossovers exhibition

 

FRANCE, Curator François Le Blanc

 

London Design Festival 2019: Adorno presents the Crossovers exhibition
London Design Festival 2019: Adorno presents the Crossovers exhibition

 

ITALY, Curators Annalisa Rosso and Francesco Mainardi

 

London Design Festival 2019: Adorno presents the Crossovers exhibition
London Design Festival 2019: Adorno presents the Crossovers exhibition
London Design Festival 2019: Adorno presents the Crossovers exhibition
London Design Festival 2019: Adorno presents the Crossovers exhibition

 

MEXICO, Curators Ana Elena Mallet and Pilar Obeso

 

London Design Festival 2019: Adorno presents the Crossovers exhibition
London Design Festival 2019: Adorno presents the Crossovers exhibition

 

NORWAY, Curators Jannicke Kråkvik and Alessandro D'Orazio

 

London Design Festival & Fair: 3 high-profile shows that made the difference

London Design Festival 2019: Adorno presents the Crossovers exhibition
London Design Festival 2019: Adorno presents the Crossovers exhibition

 

SWEDEN, Curator Paola Bjaringer

 

London Design Festival 2019: Adorno presents the Crossovers exhibition
London Design Festival 2019: Adorno presents the Crossovers exhibition

London Design Festival 2019: Adorno presents the Crossovers exhibition

 

 

SWITZERLAND, Curator Davide Fornari

 

London Design Festival & Fair: 3 high-profile shows that made the difference

London Design Festival 2019: Adorno presents the Crossovers exhibition
London Design Festival 2019: Adorno presents the Crossovers exhibition

 

TURKEY, Curator Gökhan Karakus

 

London Design Festival 2019: Adorno presents the Crossovers exhibition
London Design Festival 2019: Adorno presents the Crossovers exhibition

 

 

 

Relay Design Agency / Arcade Collection #1

 

For the first time, Relay Design Agency has brought together designers under the name Arcade Collection #1 in London, showcasing unique pieces or limited edition sets of objects and furniture. The agency was particularly interested in the talents of the designers-makers for this edition of the London Design Festival, their way of approaching the material, transforming and sublimating it. Six studios were part of the adventure, including Attua Aparicio, HAHA Studio, Jochen Holz, Robin Grasby, Richard Healy and Silo Studio.

 

What's important to notice in this project is the common points that some pieces can have, and therefore some designers in their work and approach, although the works have been made completely separately. HAHA Studio and Silo Studio both highlighted anodized metal in their creations, when Attua Aparico and Jochen Holz experiment and explore glass work, as an integral part of sculptural lighting, for example, pushing back its limits and the properties we know about it. 

 

Seeking to penetrate the depth and complexity of the material's surface, Arcade Collection #1, as a whole, combines the processes of industrial and serial production to adapt to another scale, that of the language of the artist's studio and his hand, allowing everyone to feel closer to the material and the peopl who shape it.

 

"Arcade performs as a commissioning platform allowing artists and designers to produce work outside of their regular remit. Arcade has a strong focus on experimentation, the only adherence is that all pieces, be they an item of furniture, lighting or an object, must have a perceivable function."

Neil Walsh, Managing Director at Relay Design Agency

 

London Design Festival 2019: Relay Design Agency presents Arcade Collection #1

London Design Festival 2019: Relay Design Agency presents Arcade Collection #1
London Design Festival 2019: Relay Design Agency presents Arcade Collection #1

London Design Festival 2019: Relay Design Agency presents Arcade Collection #1

London Design Festival 2019: Relay Design Agency presents Arcade Collection #1
London Design Festival 2019: Relay Design Agency presents Arcade Collection #1

 

 

 

M.A.H x dellostudio / Prototypes

 

Created in 2019 by Laura Fulmine, former editor of Grand Designs magazine and an accustomed personality to the creative universe as a whole, the gallery M.A.H (Modern Art Hire) makes art objects, sculptures and furniture prototypes available to hire to any profession in the field. An innovative and very clever approach, as it is part of a certain contemporaneity in the promotion of artists and designers. Thus, for a project, a series of photographs, a clothing collection, you can now buy rare or even unique pieces at M.A.H, which is consistent with the principles of sustainable development and to allow the creative people to be paid differently.

 

For the London Design Festival 2019, the artistic director called on the creativity of dellostudio, a nice collaboration between artists and designers Charlotte Taylor and Oscar Piccolowhose talent was particularly noticeable on Instagram lately. The duo, which successfully practises interior architecture, furniture design and exceptional set designs, has created a collection entitled Prototypes for the occasion. An undeniable reference to Laura Fulmine's approach by introducing with poetry the process of ephemeral creation.

 

Inspired by Greek and Roman architecture, and the codes of antiquity in general - at the heart of current trends - the duo designed a playful collection consisting of a table, four chairs, a bookcase, a room divider, and a coffee table. An abstract and organic design, handcrafted, that will undoubtedly inspire many other creative people for their own ongoing or future projects.

 

London Design Festival 2019: Modern Art Hire and Laura Fulmine present Prototypes by dellostudio

London Design Festival 2019: Modern Art Hire and Laura Fulmine present Prototypes by dellostudio
London Design Festival 2019: Modern Art Hire and Laura Fulmine present Prototypes by dellostudio

London Design Festival 2019: Modern Art Hire and Laura Fulmine present Prototypes by dellostudio

London Design Festival 2019: Modern Art Hire and Laura Fulmine present Prototypes by dellostudio
London Design Festival 2019: Modern Art Hire and Laura Fulmine present Prototypes by dellostudio

 

LIKE and SHARE!

T H A N K S

 

Originally posted 2019-10-01 15:00:09.

Written by

Chloé founded Huskdesignblog in 2016. Ever since, she is decoding every nook and cranny to find the best interiors and furniture ideas for her beloved readers and followers, eager for beautiful things.

Input your search keywords and press Enter.

Now Reading:
London Design Festival & Fair: 3 expositions extraordinaires qui ont tout changé

London Design Festival & Fair: 3 expositions extraordinaires qui ont tout changé

Les London Design Festival et London Design Fair sont deux évènements concomitants ayant lieu à Londres, chaque année en septembre. L’ayant déjà constaté l’année précédente, le mois du design londonien est à nos yeux aujourd’hui, l’un des meilleurs évènements design actuellement en scène. De nombreux talents y sont découverts ou révélés au grand jour, et le format d’exposition des pièces y est large et varié. Entre expositions officielles et OFF incroyables, découvrez 3 évènements qui ont crevé l’écran lors cette édition 2019.

 

 

ADORNO au London Design Festival / Crossovers

 

Créé en 2017, Adorno est une plateforme de mise en avant des designers émergents, et qui prône la collaboration comme outil de promotion des différentes communautés. Comme une sorte de catalogue en ligne de la grande famille du design et de ses acteurs, Adorno a commencé en 2018, également lors du London Design Fair, a devenir curator et à collaborer avec d’autres pour exposer les pièces de leur communauté.

 

Cette année les deux fondateurs, Kristian Snorre Andersen et Martin Clausen, présentaient Crossovers, soit une collection large de travaux englobant plusieurs pays, et réunis sous une seule et même égide. Pour permettent à cette exposition singulière de représenter au mieux le monde d’aujourd’hui, ses problématiques et ses tendances, ils se sont alliés à des curators renommés afin de cibler le meilleur. Ainsi, des designers belges, danois, finlandais, français, italiens, mexicains, norvégiens, suédois, suisses et turques ont été sélectionnés avec soin et ont ainsi participé à faire de Crossovers un évènement éclectique, où chacun a pu faire ses propres découvertes en matière de style.

 

Aimant à mettre en avant un savant mélange de travaux représentants à la fois les techniques anciennes et modernes de fabrication, Adorno a ainsi permis à ces jeunes talents plus ou moins connus, d’avoir leur mot à dire et d’être représentés lors de l’évènement mondialement suivi par la presse, les professionnels et les amateurs de design qu’est le London Design Festival. Ci-dessous, découvrez une sélection de projets exposés, représentant chaque pays sélectionné:

 

BELGIQUE, curator Elien Haentjens

 

London Design Festival 2019: Adorno présente l'exposition Crossovers
London Design Festival 2019: Adorno présente l'exposition Crossovers
London Design Festival 2019: Adorno présente l'exposition Crossovers
London Design Festival 2019: Adorno présente l'exposition Crossovers

 

DANEMARK, Curator Pil Bredahl

 

London Design Festival 2019: Adorno présente l'exposition Crossovers
London Design Festival 2019: Adorno présente l'exposition Crossovers

London Design Festival 2019: Adorno présente l'exposition Crossovers

 

 

FINLANDE, Curator Sebastian Jansson

 

London Design Festival 2019: Adorno présente l'exposition Crossovers
London Design Festival 2019: Adorno présente l'exposition Crossovers

 

FRANCE, Curator François Le Blanc

 

London Design Festival 2019: Adorno présente l'exposition Crossovers
London Design Festival 2019: Adorno présente l'exposition Crossovers

 

ITALIE, Curators Annalisa Rosso et Francesco Mainardi

 

London Design Festival 2019: Adorno présente l'exposition Crossovers
London Design Festival 2019: Adorno présente l'exposition Crossovers
London Design Festival 2019: Adorno présente l'exposition Crossovers
London Design Festival 2019: Adorno présente l'exposition Crossovers

 

MEXIQUE, Curators Ana Elena Mallet et Pilar Obeso

 

London Design Festival 2019: Adorno présente l'exposition Crossovers
London Design Festival 2019: Adorno présente l'exposition Crossovers

 

NORVÈGE, Curators Jannicke Kråkvik et Alessandro D’Orazio

 

London Design Festival & Fair: 3 expositions extraordinaires qui ont tout changé

London Design Festival 2019: Adorno présente l'exposition Crossovers
London Design Festival 2019: Adorno présente l'exposition Crossovers

 

SUÈDE, Curator Paola Bjaringer

 

London Design Festival 2019: Adorno présente l'exposition Crossovers
London Design Festival 2019: Adorno présente l'exposition Crossovers

London Design Festival 2019: Adorno présente l'exposition Crossovers

 

 

SUISSE, Curator Davide Fornari

 

London Design Festival & Fair: 3 expositions extraordinaires qui ont tout changé

London Design Festival 2019: Adorno présente l'exposition Crossovers
London Design Festival 2019: Adorno présente l'exposition Crossovers

 

TURQUIE, Curator Gökhan Karakus

 

London Design Festival 2019: Adorno présente l'exposition Crossovers
London Design Festival 2019: Adorno présente l'exposition Crossovers

 

 

 

Relay Design Agency / Arcade Collection #1

 

Pour la première fois, Relay Design Agency a réunit des designers sous l’appellation Arcade Collection #1 à Londres, lesquels ont créé un ensemble d’objets et mobilier en pièces uniques ou édition limitée. L’agence s’est particulièrement intéressée aux talents de makers des designers pour cette édition du London Design Festival, leur façon d’aborder la matière, de la transformer et de la sublimer. Ainsi, six studios ont fait partie de l’aventure, dont Attua Aparicio, HAHA Studio, Jochen Holz, Robin Grasby, Richard Healy et Silo Studio.

 

Ce qui interpèle dans ce projet, c’est les points communs que peuvent avoir certaines pièces, et donc certains designers dans leur travail et leur approche, bien que les pièces aient été réalisées de manière totalement séparée. HAHA Studio et Silo Studio ont tous deux mis le métal anodizé en avant dans leurs créations, quand Attua Aparico et Jochen Holz qui expérimentent et explorent le travail du verre, comme partie intégrante d’un éclairage sculptural par exemple, repoussant ses limites et les propriétés qu’on lui connait. 

 

Cherchant en tous points à pénétrer la profondeur et la complexité de la surface du matériau, Arcade Collection #1, dans son ensemble, combine les processus de production industrielle et de série pour s’adapter à une autre échelle, celle du langage de l’atelier de l’artiste et de sa main, permettant à chacun de se sentir plus proche de la matière et des mains qui la façonne.

 

“Arcade performs as a commissioning platform allowing artists and designers to produce work outside of their regular remit. Arcade has a strong focus on experimentation, the only adherence is that all pieces, be they an item of furniture, lighting or an object, must have a perceivable function.”

Neil Walsh, Managing Director at Relay Design Agency

 

London Design Festival 2019: Relay Design Agency présente Arcade Collection #1

London Design Festival 2019: Relay Design Agency présente Arcade Collection #1
London Design Festival 2019: Relay Design Agency présente Arcade Collection #1

London Design Festival 2019: Relay Design Agency présente Arcade Collection #1

London Design Festival 2019: Relay Design Agency présente Arcade Collection #1
London Design Festival 2019: Relay Design Agency présente Arcade Collection #1

 

 

 

M.A.H x dellostudio / Prototypes

 

Créée en 2019 par Laura Fulmine, ex-rédactrice du magazine Grand Designs et habituée de l’univers créatif dans sa globalité, la galerie M.A.H (Modern Art Hire) met à la disposition de toute profession du domaine, des objets d’art mais aussi des sculptures et des prototypes de meubles. Une démarche innovante qui nous intéresse, tant elle s’inscrit dans une certaine contemporanéité de la promotion d’artistes et de designers. Ainsi, pour un projet, une série de photographies, la mise en avant d’une collection, vous pouvez désormais vous procurer des pièces rares ou mêmes uniques chez M.A.H, dans une logique de ne pas gâcher et de permettre aux créatifs d’être rémunérés autrement.

 

A l’occasion du London Design Festival 2019, la directrice artistique a sollicité la créativité de dellostudio, une belle association entre les artistes et designers Charlotte Taylor et Oscar Piccolo, dont le talent s’est fait notamment remarqué sur Instagram. Le duo, qui exerce l’architecture d’intérieur, le design de mobilier et de set designs exeptionnels avec brio, a imaginé une collection intitulée Prototypes pour l’occasion. Soit un clin d’oeil indéniable à la démarche de Laura Fulmine en introduisant avec poésie la démarche de la création éphémère.

 

S’inspirant des architectures grecques et romaines, et des codes de l’antiquité en générale – au coeur des tendances actuelles – le duo a dessiné une collection ludique composée d’une table, de quatre chaises, une bibliothèque, un écran de séparation et une table basse. Un design abstrait et organique, façonné à la main, qui sans nul doute inspirera bon nombre d’autres créatifs pour leurs propres projets, en cours ou à venir.

 

London Design Festival 2019: Modern Art Hire et Laura Fulmine présentent Prototypes par dellostudio

London Design Festival 2019: Modern Art Hire et Laura Fulmine présentent Prototypes par dellostudio
London Design Festival 2019: Modern Art Hire et Laura Fulmine présentent Prototypes par dellostudio

London Design Festival 2019: Modern Art Hire et Laura Fulmine présentent Prototypes par dellostudio

London Design Festival 2019: Modern Art Hire et Laura Fulmine présentent Prototypes par dellostudio
London Design Festival 2019: Modern Art Hire et Laura Fulmine présentent Prototypes par dellostudio

 

LIKE and SHARE!

M E R C I

 

Share This Articles
Written by

Chloé founded Huskdesignblog in 2016. Ever since, she is decoding every nook and cranny to find the best interiors and furniture ideas for her beloved readers and followers, eager for beautiful things.

Input your search keywords and press Enter.