Now Reading:
Acne Studios refreshes its iconic Norrmalmstorg store in Stockholm

Acne Studios refreshes its iconic Norrmalmstorg store in Stockholm

Each Acne Studios store draws inspiration, in terms of design, from the place in which it is located. Indeed, the brand likes atypical places, full of history, or with a real local identity. The boutique on Norrmalmstorg Square in Stockholm really has something special since it was in the premises of this former bank that the hostage-taking took place in 1973, and from which emerged the famous "Stockholm syndrome". Discover the new look of this iconic place.

 

Acne Studios, Norrmalmstorg, Stockholm

 

The Acne Studios store in Norrmalmstorg, in Stockholm, is an impressive place. Both for its history, because of the events that this place has undergone and seen pass within it, but also for its architecture itself. A massive architecture where marble already reigned supreme, and where the choice was made to further amplify the presence of this material. Thus, this Acne Studios boutique goes from a place with a noble atmosphere to a completely different, almost futuristic universe.

This project was entrusted to the very talented architecture firm Arquitectura-G, and the work initially consisted of researching the history of the building, which led the architects to get rid of the superfluous and reveal only the marble structures that dominate the space. The material has since inspired a monochrome style in which the floor, walls, and freestanding furniture are all made of marble.

In some places, the walls have even been painted in a subtle color, also reminiscent of the tones of the columns. For the purposes of the project, some of them were rebuilt to support the fitting rooms, in a lighter marble, echoing the floor and furniture, creating a contrast between ancient and structural marble, and the contemporary and sculptural one.

"It's a temple. For me, the idea of a temple is a place that belongs to no one but is owned by everyone. It's part of our history but also the future. This is how I see our monumental flagship store in Stockholm."

Jonny Johansson, Creative Director of Acne Studios.

 

Acne Studios, Norrmalmstorg, Stockholm

Marble interior shop

 

Then, on the furniture side, and if the brand has been collaborating for a long time with the designer Max Lamb, it also got the habit of punctuating its points of sale with unique displays and furniture, and this place, entirely made of marble, gives the designer's work an even more natural legitimacy. Thus, five very massive, monolithic tables and, on the contrary, very thin shelves were designed to blend perfectly into the décor, giving the impression of having always been part of the building. As if they had come out of the ground, these tables give the impression of having been detached from it over time, like tectonic plates that would have slowly migrated to create a new island.

Acne Studios has often been known for its incredible shops, with metal as the star material. This time, metal makes a discreet but not the least discreet appearance, serving as minimalist clothing hangers and allowing the space to be visually uncluttered. Also a long-time collaborator on the Acne Studios concepts, the lighting French designer Benoit Lalloz also participates in the dignified representation of metal, having designed a unique, custom-made lighting system for the Norrmalmstorg store. Both raw and sophisticated, these fixtures create the necessary breakthrough to give this place the elegance and avant-garde spirit it deserves.

 

Acne Studios Stockholm, design Arquitectura-G

Marble table, design Max Lamb

 

Finally, for early fans and those who find themselves fascinated by the history of this place, it is worth noting that a capsule collection called, of course, Stockholm Syndrome was designed by the brand, drawing its inspiration from the 1973 hostage-taking that really made an impression on the Swedish people's minds. T-shirts, accessories and small leather goods have been available since October 2020 in the Acne Studios boutique of Norrmalmstorg, but also in other iconic stores and online.

 

LIKE and SHARE!

T H A N K S

 

Written by

Chloé founded Huskdesignblog in 2016. Ever since, she is decoding every nook and cranny to find the best interiors and furniture ideas for her beloved readers and followers, eager for beautiful things.

Input your search keywords and press Enter.

Now Reading:
Acne Studios rénove son iconique boutique de la place Norrmalmstorg à Stockholm

Acne Studios rénove son iconique boutique de la place Norrmalmstorg à Stockholm

Chaque boutique Acne Studios tire en partie l’inspiration de son aménagement du lieu dans lequel elle se trouve. En effet, la marque aime les lieux atypiques, chargés d’histoire ou encore emprunts d’une véritable identité locale. La boutique de la place Norrmalmstorg à Stockholm, elle, a une histoire particulière, puisque c’est en ces lieux, lorsque la boutique était alors une banque, qu’eut lieu la prise d’otage de 1973 et dont en est ressorti le fameux “syndrome de Stockholm”. Découvrez le nouveau look de ce lieu iconique.

 

Acne Studios, Norrmalmstorg, Stockholm

 

La boutique Acne Studios de Norrmalmstorg, à Stockholm, est un lieu impressionnant. À la fois pour son histoire, pour les évènements que ce lieu a subis et vu passer en son sein, mais aussi pour son architecture seule. Architecture massive où le marbre régnait déjà en maître, et où le choix a été fait d’amplifier encore davantage la présence de cette matière. Ainsi, cette boutique Acne Studios passe de lieu à l’atmosphère noble à un tout autre univers, presque futuriste.

Projet confié à la très talentueuse agence Arquitectura-G, le travail a tout d’abord consisté à faire des recherches sur l’histoire du bâtiment, ce qui a conduit les architectes à se débarrasser du superflu pour ne révéler que les structures en marbre qui dominent l’espace. Le matériau dès lors a inspiré un style monochrome à son effigie, où le sol, les murs et le mobilier central même sont en marbre.

À certains endroits, les murs ont été peints d’une couleur subtile, rappelant également les tons des colonnes. Pour les besoins du projet, certaines ont d’ailleurs été reconstruites en soutien des cabines d’essayage, dans un marbre plus clair, faisant écho au sol et au mobilier, créant ainsi le contraste entre marbre ancien et structurel, et marbre contemporain et sculptural.

“It’s a temple. For me, the idea of a temple is a place that belongs to no one but is owned by everyone. It’s part of our history but also the future. This is how I see our monumental flagship store in Stockholm.”

Jonny Johansson, Creative Director of Acne Studios.

 

Acne Studios, Norrmalmstorg, Stockholm

Boutique intérieur marbre

 

Ensuite, du côté du mobilier, et si la marque collabore de longue date avec le designer Max Lamb, ponctuant ainsi ses points de vente de présentoirs et mobilier uniques, cet espace entièrement fait de marbre donne au travail du designer une légitimité encore plus naturelle. Ainsi, cinq tables très massives, monolithiques, et au contraire, des étagères très fines, ont été conçues pour se fondre parfaitement dans le décor, donnant l’impression d’avoir toujours fait partie du bâtiment. Comme sorties du sol, ces tables donnent l’impression de s’en être détaché avec le temps, telle des plaques tectoniques qui aurait lentement migré pour créer un nouvel îlot.

Acne Studios s’est souvent illustré par des boutiques incroyables, avec le métal pour matière star. Cette fois-ci, le matériau fait une apparition discrète mais pas des moindres, servant de portant à vêtement minimaliste et permettant ainsi de ne pas alourdir l’espace visuellement. Également collaborateur de longue date sur les concepts Acne Studios, le designer français de luminaires Benoit Lalloz participe également à la digne représentation du métal, en ayant conçu un système d’éclairage unique et sur-mesure pour la boutique de Norrmalmstorg. À la fois bruts et sophistiqués, ces luminaires créent la rupture nécessaire pour accorder à ce lieu l’élégance et l’esprit avant-gardiste qu’il mérite.

 

Acne Studios Stockholm, design Arquitectura-G

Table en marbre, design Max Lamb

 

Enfin, pour les fans de la première heure et ceux qui se trouvent fascinés par l’histoire de ce lieu, il est à noter qu’une collection capsule appelée, bien évidemment, Stockholm Syndrome a été imaginée par la marque, tirant son inspiration de cette prise d’otages de 1973 qui a véritablement marqué les esprits des suédois. Des t-shirts, accesoires et petites maroquinneries sont donc disponibles depuis octobre 2020 dans la boutique Acne Studios de Norrmalmstorg, mais aussi dans d’autres boutiques iconiques et en ligne.

 

LIKE and SHARE!

M E R C I

 

Written by

Chloé founded Huskdesignblog in 2016. Ever since, she is decoding every nook and cranny to find the best interiors and furniture ideas for her beloved readers and followers, eager for beautiful things.

Input your search keywords and press Enter.