Now Reading:

NEW YORK: The world's tallest penthouse, by Kelly Behun

NEW YORK:

The world's tallest penthouse, by Kelly Behun

.

 

AN ARCHITECTURE OF THE SKY

 

As an interior designer, Kelly Behun could not refuse to tackle the penthouse of the 432 Park Avenue in New York, builded by the Uruguayan architect Rafael Viñoly. Indeed, the apartment is none other than the tallest penthouse in the world, with stunning views of Manhattan, with this distinct feeling to not be connected to Earth in any way. 

This is what guided Kelly Behun and studio when choosing materials: apart from a dark parquet floor to "anchor" this place in the Earth and give it the level it deserves, the chosen harmony is that of the sky, gravity, lightness. The future inhabitants and guests will be wrapped in cloudy tones, and comfortable and luminous materials. The designers have however taken care here and there to break the flat and straight architecture of the apartment, by some soft forms or other shades bringing warmth.

 

The 432 Park Avenue Penthouse by Kelly Behun, curated by huskdesignblog.com
The 432 Park Avenue Penthouse by Kelly Behun, curated by huskdesignblog.com
The 432 Park Avenue Penthouse by Kelly Behun, curated by huskdesignblog.com
The 432 Park Avenue Penthouse by Kelly Behun, curated by huskdesignblog.com

This place being the very allegory of the standing, it was necessary to add some pieces of art and design to perfect the whole apartment. For example, there is a unique piece by The Haas Brothers in the living room - golden brass stool, available on Artsy or a work by Yolande Batteau

 

 

 

THE KELLY BEHUN'S STYLE

 

Kelly Behun is well known for designing tailor-made projects that stick perfectly to the skin of her clients. But she has that personal touch in addition, the one that look likes a gallerist's eye,, carefully choosing each piece, each shape, as if each place she had designed had to host dozens of visitors one minute later. The Interior Designer masters the art of mix and match, thus achieving the prowess of creating luxurious spaces, including sculptures or furniture almost out of sync with the main harmony.

But Kelly Behun, also creates unique furniture and accessories. The designer works with black and white and is part somehow, of the new generation of designers who created the second wave of the Memphis Group, founded by Ettore Sottsass in the early 1980s. In addition, Kelly Behun also collaborated with Alex P. White - recently quoted in the article " 8 American designers to closely monitor in 2017 " - on Interior Design projects but also furniture (see chair no. 34).

 

The 432 Park Avenue Penthouse by Kelly Behun, curated by huskdesignblog.com
The 432 Park Avenue Penthouse by Kelly Behun, curated by huskdesignblog.com
Park Avenue apartment by Kelly Behun, curated by huskdesignblog.com

Left: the penthouse / Right: another Park Avenue apartment...

New Maroc chair by Kelly Behun, curated by huskdesignblog.com
Costers & Tray by Kelly Behun, curated by huskdesignblog.com

Left: New Morocco chair / Right: Coasters & Trays

 

 

Photographs: Richard Powers

 

 ➡ Please do not forget to LIKE and SHARE this article if you liked! A small step for you, a great support for Husk.

T H A N K S

Source: Dezeen

 

Originally posted 2017-03-09 02:45:59.

Written by

Chloé founded Huskdesignblog in 2016. Ever since, she is decoding every nook and cranny to find the best interiors and furniture ideas for her beloved readers and followers, eager for beautiful things.

Input your search keywords and press Enter.

NEW YORK:

Le plus haut penthouse du monde, par Kelly Behun

.

 

UNE ARCHITECTURE DU CIEL

 

En tant qu'architecte d'intérieur, Kelly Behun ne pouvait refuser de s'attaquer au penthouse du 432 Park Avenue à New York, réalisé par l'architecte uraguayen Rafael Viñoly. En effet, le dit appartement n'est autre que le penthouse le plus haut du monde, avec vue imprenable sur Manhattan, et la nette impression de n'être relié à la Terre d'aucune manière. 

C'est d'ailleurs ce qui a guidé Kelly Behun et son studio lors du choix des matériaux: mise à part un parquet foncé afin "d'ancrer" ce lieu dans la terre et lui donner l'aplomb qu'il mérite, l'harmonie choisie est celle du ciel, de l'apesanteur, de la légèreté. Les futurs habitants et convives seront enveloppés de tons nuageux, et de matériaux confortables et lumineux. Les designers ont cependant pris soin ça et là de casser l'architecture dure et rectiligne de l'appartement, par quelques formes douces ou autres nuances apportant de la chaleur.

 

Ce lieu étant l'allegorie même du standing, il fallait bien lui ajouter quelques pièces d'art et de design afin de parfaire l'ensemble. On distingue ainsi par exemple une pièce unique de The Haas Brothers dans le salon - tabouret en laiton doré, disponible sur Artsy - ou encore une oeuvre de Yolande Batteau

 

 

 

LE STYLE KELLY BEHUN

 

Kelly Behun est connue pour concevoir des projets sur-mesure, qui collent parfaitement à la peau de leurs commanditaires. Mais elle a cette touche personnelle en plus, celle qui s'apparente à un oeil de galériste, choisissant avec soin chaque pièce, chaque forme, comme si chaque lieu qu'elle avait pensé devait accueillir des dizaines de visiteurs la minute suivante. L'architecte d'intérieur maîtrise parfaitement l'art du mix and match, réussissant ainsi la prouesse de créer des espaces luxueux, incluant des sculptures ou du mobilier quasiment en décalage avec l'harmonie principale.

Mais Kelly Behun, c'est aussi du mobilier et accessoires graphiques et uniques. La créatrice travaille le noir et le blanc et fait partie en quelque sorte, de cette nouvelle génération de designers qui ont crééent la deuxième vague du Groupe Memphis, porté par Ettore Sottsass dans les années 80. De plus, Kelly Behun a également collaboré avec Alex P. White - récemment cité dans l'article "8 designers Américains à suivre de près en 2017" - sur des projets d'intérieur mais aussi du mobilier (voir Chaise no. 34).

 

A gauche: Le penthouse / A droite: un autre appartement de Park Avenue...

A gauche: New Maroc chair / A droite: Coasters & Trays

 

 

Photographies: Richard Powers

 

 ➡ N'oubliez pas de LIKER et de PARTAGER cet article si vous avez aimé! Un petit geste pour vous, un grand soutien pour Husk.

M E R C I

Source: Dezeen

 

Chloé Valette

Comment on Facebook