Now Reading:

ROBERT STADLER: The genius who serves the absurd

Robert Stadler is the kind of designer who despite a perfect background in the best institutions of design (IED/Milan, ENSCI/Les Ateliers, Paris), was able to think outside the box and create his own style, that allowed him to work for very different fields. Find out this designer/artist that nothing can stop as well as a selection of his work.

 

 

ROBERT STADLER:

The genius who serves the absurd

.

 

 

MISUSE OF OBJECTS OR CONTROLLED ABSURDITY

 

What is good with Robert Stadler, it's that somehow, he knows how to extricate our thoughts and convert them into physical ideas, find a new function to a material or even a new shape to a function. Because here is the real genius: finding inspiration where no one else thought. This is what makes the designer's objects particularly remarkable, full of surrealismIn this case, they play a balancing act on the thin line between art and design, with qualities that are certainly visual but, above all, that renew the genre.

With the mobile #mood, he explores how our mind differs, rambling and changing course every minutes facing the immensity of the web...

 

Robert Stadler designer huskdesignblog

Robert Stadler designer huskdesignblog

 

With Apart on the left, R.S is suggesting the invisible. What's more basic than to place a stool against the wall so that it becomes a Chair? The gesture is simple and yet makes a mockery of our appetite for objects that meet every need. This stool is far from absurd, even pretty awesome.

The Royeroid Chair is a tribute to theFrench interior designer Jean Royère and his chair Ours Polaire (Polar Bear). Robert Stadler reworked it as if it were wrapped in a mesh that would take its exact shape. This new suit allows the chair to travel through time and to better acclimatize in our time. It's also a nice wink to the Chesterfieldstyle, with the Stadler touch of course..

 

Robert Stadler designer huskdesignblog 

In 2014, the designer worked on the most famous fabric of KvadratDivina, with the intention of creating something that would reflect the intrinsic quality of the textile: its flexibility, its creases, this malleable matter which would be fixed on what it does best. You may have noticed, R.S knows how to get our attention. By recycling a composite material between marble and aluminum designed especially for the facades of buildings - to the right Cut Paste series - – he suggests that the disappearance of the architecture and what we will do to what remains after its demolition.

 

 

 UNCOMPROMISING SCENOGRAPHIES

 

Regarding the scenography, the designer wants to cover the tracks. Art exhibition, workshop or staging, just as Marcel Duchamp he wondered about the status of the object and if it can change depending on how it is presented to us. Is a chair under glass will find the artwork status to you? That is the question. 

 

His exhibition areas are graphic, but not only. There are a perfect and meticulous analysis of the space to make the best of it and use its shortcomings. Thus, when the city of Vienna offered him to make an installation in the reconstruction of theAdolf Loos, apartment, he choose to exaggerate the situation of this former place of life transformed into a memory to attract attention.

 

Robert Stadler designer huskdesignblog

Robert Stadler designer huskdesignblog 

On the left, at the exhibition 1000 days - as a tribute to three years of work for the famous Carpenters Workshop Gallery R.S make up his work pieces that yet have nothing to do with each other. Nevertheless, its ability to invent and create poetry anywhere here still takes over. 

Create an event from nothing? Robert Stadler knows to do that. On the right, in an old Mansion of Empire style in Vienna, he expressed the past and of this place remained frozen for decades with what he found on hand - floors - which are reproduced as sheets covering furniture and fireplaces, meaning abandonment.

 

Robert Stadler designer huskdesignblog

 

The exhibition l'Usage des Formes (the Use of forms) is an opportunity for Robert Stadler to put forward a subject dear to the designers and to any creator in general: the link between the man and his tool. Thanks to the collaboration of five craftsmen, he devised unique pieces in order to demonstrate how the tool control goes hand in hand with ingenuity, for example by creating a leather curtain and a thermal-wallpaper...

Finally, this designer who turns away so easily each object in absurdity is also greatly able to create. For the exhibition in 2014 at the Poirel Gallery in Nancy (France), R.S gives free rein to his imagination by creating "unrecognisable things" or again, an object series between design, art, furniture, and other stranger things.

 

If you're tempted, know that you can now buy some pieces of the designer through his new online shop The Whatness, including:

 

Robert Stadler designer eshop huskdesignblog

 

 

 ➡ Please do not forget to LIKE and SHARE this article if you liked! A small step for you, a great support for Husk!

T H A N K S

Cover: intramuros

 

Originally posted 2017-01-19 03:00:39.

Written by

Chloé founded Huskdesignblog in 2016. Ever since, she is decoding every nook and cranny to find the best interiors and furniture ideas for her beloved readers and followers, eager for beautiful things.

Input your search keywords and press Enter.

Robert Stadler est le genre de designer qui en dépit d'un parcours sans fautes dans les meilleures institutions du design (IED/Milan, ENSCI/Les Ateliers, Paris), a su sortir des sentiers battus et créer son propre style, qui lui a d'ailleurs permis de travailler pour des domaines très différents. Découvrez ce designer/artiste que rien n'arrête ainsi qu'une sélection de ses travaux.

 

 

ROBERT STADLER:

Le génie au service de l'absurde

.

 

 

DÉTOURNEMENT D'OBJETS OU L'ABSURDE MAÎTRISÉ

 

Robert Stadler designer huskdesignblogCe qu'il y a de bien chez Robert Stadler, c'est qu'il sait en quelques sortes extirper nos pensées et les convertir en idées matérielles, trouver une nouvelle fonction à un matériau ou encore une nouvelle forme à une fonction. Car là est le véritable génie: trouver l'inspiration où personne d'autre n'y a songé. C'est ce qui fait que les objets du designer sont particulièrement remarquables, emprunts de surréalisme, ils jouent les équilibristes sur la fine corde qui sépare art et design, avec des qualités assurément visuelles mais qui surtout, renouvellent le genre.

Avec le mobile #mood, il explore la façon dont notre esprit diverge, divague et change de cap toutes les minutes face à l'immensité du web...

 

Robert Stadler designer huskdesignblog

 

Avec Apart à gauche, R.S suggère l'invisible. Quoi de plus élémentaire que de positionner un tabouret contre un mur afin qu'il devienne chaise? Le geste est simple et pourtant tourne en dérision notre appétit pour des objets répondant à chaque besoin. Ce tabouret est loin d'être absurde, même plutôt génial.

Le fauteuil Royeroïd est lui est un hommage à l'architecte d'intérieur Jean Royère et son fauteuil Ours Polaire. Robert Stadler l'a retravaillé comme s'il était enveloppé d'un maillage qui prendrait sa forme exacte. Ce nouvel habit lui permet de traverser le temps et de mieux s'acclimater à notre époque. C'est également un beau clin d'oeil au style Chesterfield, version Stadler.

 

Robert Stadler designer huskdesignblog 

En 2014, le designer travaille le tissu phare de KvadratDivina, avec l'intention de créer quelque chose qui reflèterait la qualité intrinsèque du textile: sa souplesse, ses plis, cette matière malléable qui serait figée sur ce qu'elle sait faire de mieux. Vous l'aurez compris, R.S sait comment attirer notre attention. En reçyclant un matériau composite entre marbre et aluminium conçu spécialement pour les façades de bâtiments - à droite, série Cut Paste - il suggère la disparition de l'architecture et de ce qu'on fera de ce qui reste après qu'elle ait été détruite.

 

 

 DES SCÉNOGRAPHIES SANS CONCESSIONS

 

Robert Stadler designer huskdesignblog

En ce qui concerne la scénographie, il s'agit pour le designer de brouiller les pistes. Exposition d'art, atelier de création ou mise en scène, à la manière de Marcel Duchamp il questionne le statut de l'objet et si celui-ci peut changer en fonction de  la façon dont il se présente à nous. Est-ce qu'une chaise mise sous verre trouvera à vos yeux le statut d'oeuvre d'art? Telle est la question. 

Ses espaces d'expositions sont graphiques mais pas seulement. On y retrouve une parfaite analyse millimétrée de l'espace afin d'en tirer le meilleur et d'utiliser ses défauts. Ainsi, lorsque la ville de Vienne lui offre la possibilité d'une installation dans la reconstitution de l'appartement d'Adolf Loos, il exagère la situation de cet ancien lieu de vie transformé en souvenir pour attirer l'attention.

Robert Stadler designer huskdesignblog 

A gauche, lors de l'exposition 1000 jours - en hommage à trois années de travail pour la célèbrissime Carpenters Workshop Gallery - R.S compose avec ses différents travaux et qui n'ont pourtant rien à voir les uns avec les autres. Malgré tout, sa capacité à inventer et à créer de la poésie n'importe où prend là encore le dessus. 

Créer l'évènement à partir de pas grand chose? Robert Stadler sait faire. A droite, dans une ancienne maison de style Empire de Vienne, il exprime cette notion du passé et de ce lieu resté figé il y a des décennies avec ce qu'il trouve sur place - les sols - qui sont reproduits sous forme de draps recouvrant meubles et cheminées, signifiant l'abandon.

 

Robert Stadler designer huskdesignblog

 

L'exposition l'Usage des Formes est l'occasion pour Robert Stadler de mettre en avant un sujet cher aux designers et à tout créateur en général: le lien entre l'Homme et son outil. Grâce à la collaboration de cinq artisans, il imagine des pièces uniques afin de démontrer à quel point la maîtrise de l'outil va de pair avec l'ingéniosité, en créant par exemple un rideau en cuir et un papier-peint thermique...

Enfin, ce designer qui détourne si facilement chaque objet en absurdité est également grandement capable d'en créer. Pour l'exposition de 2014 à la galerie Poirel de Nancy, R.S laisse libre cours à son imagination en créant "l'irreconnaissable" ou encore une fois, une série d'objet à mi-chemin entre design, art, mobilier et autres objets du registre de l'étrange.

 

Si vous êtes séduits, sachez que depuis peu vous pouvez vous offrir certaines pièces du designer via sa toute nouvelle boutique en ligne The Whatness, dont notamment:

 

Robert Stadler designer eshop huskdesignblog

 

 

 ➡ N'oubliez pas de LIKER et PARTAGER cet article si vous avez aimé! Un petit geste pour vous, un grand soutien pour Husk!

M E R C I

Couverture: intramuros

 

Chloé Valette