Now Reading:
Taking design inspirations from art galleries, or the discovery of Claudia Martínez Garay's fantastic work

Taking design inspirations from art galleries, or the discovery of Claudia Martínez Garay's fantastic work

As a platform dedicated to design, we seek inspiration in various fields, more or less far from our primary theme being furniture. In this sense, and this has been the case for the past few months, we have noticed a general revival of interest in art galleries, and above all their propensity to host exhibitions that are increasingly imaginative in terms of the staging of the artists represented. This is the case for the Grimm Gallery and the recent exhibition "A las revoluciones, como a los árboles, se reconoce por sus frutos / Revolutions, like trees, are recognized by their fruits.", by the internationally acclaimed artist Claudia Martínez Garay.

 

 

Claudia Martínez Garay

 

If the work of artist Claudia Martínez Garay appears light and poetic at first glance, it is undeniably only an illusion. Indeed, if her work has already been exhibited in the most prominent institutions around the world, it is undoubtedly for its depth, certainly associated with an extremely graphic and eye-catching aesthetic. Her art, which aims to deal with the global history of Peru as well as the socio-political memory of the country, often tackles difficult themes such as propaganda and its iconographic power.

 

Art galleries, Claudia Martinez Garay, design inspirations

 

Claudia Martínez Garay mainly uses paint and creates surprising installations to express her ideas. Her work, naturally marked by her various stays, studies or artist residencies abroad, also emphasizes the re-reading, the recasting and the interpretation of visual traditions. This is how she communicates Peruvian history and the different ancient Amerindian cultures, through the use of abstract figures and ceramic sculptures to reflect on the idea of memory, life and the afterlife.

 

The exhibition "A las revoluciones, como a los árboles, se reconoce por sus frutos / Revolutions, like trees, are recognized by their fruits." at the Grimm Gallery in Amsterdam offers a wealth of details, during which Claudia analyses modernity as an inseparable component of colonialism. Another interesting fact is that the exhibition functioned as an ongoing installation on which the artist keeps working during the exhibition period.

 

Taking design inspirations from art galleries, or the discovery of Claudia Martínez Garay's fantastic work

Art galleries, Claudia Martinez Garay, design inspirations

Art galleries, Claudia Martinez Garay, design inspirations

 

 

 

Art galleries and design inspirations

 

Perhaps this is linked to the fact that designers are increasingly turning to a new and independent kind of trade model - including gallery sales - or is it the galleries themselves, more inclined to represent emerging designers to the overflowing creativity that generates inspiration, but it would seem in any case that exhibitions of this kind benefit design. And more specifically to the collectible design, who makes extensive use of his vague qualification, between art and design to use staging similar to art galleries.

 

Art galleries, Claudia Martinez Garay, design inspirations

 

In this sense, the rise in recent years of events such as DesignMiami for example, where the Curios, small spaces that curators make their own in order to present an exclusive piece or selection of objects, are becoming very important. This way of staging for commercial purposes thus takes up the very principle of gallery and ephemeral installation. This last fact makes it possible to create a real appetence for an exhibition, pushing the creatives to immerse themselves in design inspirations.

 

Because where the art galleries create inspiration, it is the ability for each designer to feel the desire to identify with the works presented and to personally benefit from them. Here, the colors really match in a balance that suggests that it could very well be a selected palette for a restaurant, a hotel, a piece of furniture. The gallery and its touring itinerary stimulate the imagination and interpretation, which is why some institutions do not simply limit themselves to a white background to present their artists: storytelling has taken over our society and the galleries have not escaped it.

 

Because telling a story is to create emotion, a feeling, and it is only through this way that the creative process takes place. And we like to know that artistic fields, no matter how distinct and different they may be, are able to take inspiration everywhere and in the same place at the same time. A bright future for art galleries, design, and more.

 

Art galleries, Claudia Martinez Garay, design inspirations

Art galleries, Claudia Martinez Garay, design inspirations

Art galleries, Claudia Martinez Garay, design inspirations

 

 

Claudia Martínez Garay is represented by the Grimm galleries (NYC/Amsterdam) and Ginsberg Galería (Lima).

 

LIKE and SHARE!

T H A N K S

 

Written by

Chloé founded Huskdesignblog in 2016. Ever since, she is decoding every nook and cranny to find the best interiors and furniture ideas for her beloved readers and followers, eager for beautiful things.

Input your search keywords and press Enter.

Now Reading:
S’inspirer des galeries d’art en design, ou la fantastique découverte de Claudia Martínez Garay

S’inspirer des galeries d’art en design, ou la fantastique découverte de Claudia Martínez Garay

En tant que plateforme dédiée au design, nous cherchons l’inspiration dans des domaines variés, plus ou moins éloignés de notre thématique première étant le mobilier. En ce sens, et ce depuis quelques mois, nous avons constaté d’une manière générale un regain d’intérêt pour les galeries d’art, et surtout la propension de celles-ci à héberger des expositions toujours plus imaginatives concernant la mise en scène des artistes représentés. Tel est le cas de la galerie Grimm et de la récente exposition “A las revoluciones, como a los árboles, se les reconoce por sus frutos / Revolutions, like trees, are recognized by their fruits”, par l’artiste internationalement reconnue Claudia Martínez Garay.

 

 

Claudia Martínez Garay

 

Si le travail de l’artiste Claudia Martínez Garay vous apparaît léger et poétique au premier abord, ce n’est indéniablement qu’une illusion. En effet, si son travail a déjà été exposé dans les institutions les plus en vue, et ce dans le monde entier, c’est sans nul doute pour la profondeur de ses oeuvres, associées certes à une esthétique extrêmement graphique et séduisante à l’oeil. Son art, ayant pour objectif de traiter de l’histoire globale du Pérou ainsi que de la mémoire sociopolitique du pays, s’attaque bien souvent à des thématiques difficiles telle la propagande et sa puissance iconographique.

 

Galeries d'art, Claudia Martinez Garay, inspirations design

 

Claudia Martínez Garay utilise principalement la peinture et crée des installations surprenantes pour exprimer ses idées. Son travail, naturellement empreint de ses différents séjours, études ou résidences d’artistes à l’étranger, met également l’accent sur la relecture, la refonte et l’interprétation des traditions visuelles. C’est ainsi qu’elle communique l’histoire péruvienne et les différentes cultures Amérindiennes, grâce à travers des figures abstraites et des sculptures en céramique pour réfléchir sur l’idée de la mémoire, de la vie et de la vie après la mort.

 

L’exposition “A las revoluciones, como a los árboles, se les reconoce por sus frutos / Revolutions, like trees, are recognized by their fruits” à la galerie Grimm d’Amsterdam offre une multitude de détails, pendant laquelle Claudia analyse la modernité comme une composante inséparable du colonialisme. Autre fait intéressant, l’exposition fonctionnait comme une installation permanente et sur laquelle l’artiste continuait de travailler pendant son déroulement.

 

S'inspirer des galeries d'art en design, ou la fantastique découverte de Claudia Martínez Garay

Galeries d'art, Claudia Martinez Garay, inspirations design

Galeries d'art, Claudia Martinez Garay, inspirations design

 

 

 

Galeries d’art et inspirations design

 

Peut-être est-ce lié au fait que les designers se tournent de plus en plus vers un mode de commerce indépendant de leurs pièces – vente en galeries inclue – ou bien sont-ce les galeries elles-mêmes, plus enclines à représenter des designers émergents à la créativité débordante qui génèrent l’inspiration, mais il semblerait en tout cas que les expositions de ce type profitent au design. Et plus particulièrement au collectible design, qui utilise amplement sa qualification vague, entre art et design pour utiliser des mises en scène similaires aux galeries d’art.

 

Galeries d'art, Claudia Martinez Garay, inspirations design

 

En ce sens, il est noté la montée en puissance ces dernières années d’évènements tels DesignMiami par exemple, où la catégorie des Curios, soit de petits espaces que s’approprient des curators afin d’y présenter une pièce ou sélection d’objets exclusifs. Cette façon de mettre en scène dans un but commercial reprend donc le principe même de galerie et d’installation éphémère. Cette dernière donnée permettant de créer une réelle appétence pour une exposition, poussant les créatifs à s’y imprégner d’inspirations design.

 

Car là où les galeries d’art créent l’inspiration, c’est la capacité à ce que chaque designer ressente l’envie de s’identifier aux oeuvres présentées et d’en tirer personnellement profit. Ici, les couleurs s’accordent réellement dans un équilibre qui laisse à penser qu’il pourrait très bien s’agir d’une palette sélectionnée pour un restaurant, un hôtel, une pièce de mobilier. La galerie et son parcours de visite suscitent l’imagination et l’interprétation, voilà pourquoi certaines institutions de se limitent pas simplement à un fond blanc pour présenter leurs artistes: le storytelling s’est emparé de notre société et les galeries n’y ont pas échappé.

 

Car raconter une histoire c’est créer de l’émotion, un ressenti, et c’est uniquement par ce biais que le processus créatif a lieu. Et nous aimons savoir que les domaines artistiques, aussi distincts et différents soient-ils, sont capables de prendre l’inspiration partout et au même endroit à la fois. Un bel avenir pour les galeries d’art, le design, et plus encore.

 

Galeries d'art, Claudia Martinez Garay, inspirations design

Galeries d'art, Claudia Martinez Garay, inspirations design

Galeries d'art, Claudia Martinez Garay, inspirations design

 

 

Claudia Martínez Garay est représentée par les galeries Grimm (NYC/Amsterdam) et Ginsberg Galería (Lima).

 

LIKE and SHARE!

M E R C I

 

Share This Articles
Written by

Chloé founded Huskdesignblog in 2016. Ever since, she is decoding every nook and cranny to find the best interiors and furniture ideas for her beloved readers and followers, eager for beautiful things.

Input your search keywords and press Enter.