Now Reading:

Amy Brandhorst and Emilia Margulies join forces to design Adidas Germany' premises

Recently, thanks to the magic of Instagram, we've discovered two talented interior designers, two creative minds who have combined their technical, theatrical and aesthetic aspirations to create a unique workspace for Adidas Germany. In order to better understand the creative process that guided them, but also their choices and constraints related to the project, it is in the form of an interview that we decoded the great project of Amy Brandhorst and Emila Margulies, in Berlin. Discover what's behind the scenes...

 

Amy Brandhorst and Emilia Margulies

 

Chloe Valette for Husk - Could you both introduce yourselves?

Amy Brandhorst and Emila Margulies - We are Amy Brandhorst and Emilia Margulies, two Berlin-based designers (and friends). Amy splits her time between Berlin and London, where she co-founded the award-winning Topology Interiors. Amy’s interior work is influenced by her research into the psychology of color and shape - she also has a love for surreal ornaments reflected in her collection of vases and spherical decorations, which are often incorporated into her designs.

Emilia, from the Stockholm archipelago, is sliding between the fields of set design, art direction and interior design. She has an eye for detail and owns an archive of curious objects and interiors found in auctions and antique markets.

 

C.V for Husk - Do you usually collaborate? Or is this the first time?

Amy Brandhorst and Emila Margulies - This project for Adidas was the first that we collaborated on, but is hopefully one of many! When we’re working together, we feed off each other’s love of colour and fabrics - we share an equal eagerness to create a unique, sensory space.

 

Workspace, Amy Brandhorst and Emilia Margulies, Adidas, Germany
Workspace, Amy Brandhorst and Emilia Margulies, Adidas, Germany

Workspace, Amy Brandhorst and Emilia Margulies, Adidas, Germany

 

C.V for Husk - I really like your recent project for Adidas Germany, and more particularly the strong colors you have chosen. What were your inspirations?

Amy Brandhorst and Emila Margulies - It was important to us that the space had a connection toAdidas’ philosophy of boldness, creativity, and progression. We wanted it to be a space that was both powerful and playful, so we discussed how we could achieve this with our chosen color palette. Inspired by the painters of the Bauhaus, Mondrian and Josef Albers, we incorporated the striking primary colours of red, blue and yellow, which are a powerful trio. We also wanted the room to feel dreamlike, so everything from the fall of the curtains to the wiggly coffee table shape to the colored vases looks a little surreal.

 

C.V for Husk - How and what guided your creative choices?

Amy Brandhorst and Emila Margulies - Following numerous meetings with the client, we had multiple requirements to take on board. We first needed to renovate the space - it was a freezing, dripping room when we found it - so we had to think about the technical elements such as heating, lighting and making the room livable. The space also needed to function as both a workspace on some days and an aesthetic backdrop for filming on others, so everything we implemented is flexible and adaptable.

For example, the modular sofa and the desk and cabinet on wheels can be easily moved. Adaptability was also a requirement so we created a design with two personalities - the first is with the curtain closed, creating a blue, sleek and serene environment. The second is with the curtain open, which reveals the colored walls with painted stripes to highlight the rounded structure of the room.

 

Workspace, Amy Brandhorst and Emilia Margulies, Adidas, Germany

 

C.V for Husk - What were the goals of the project both for Adidas and for you as interior designers?

Amy Brandhorst and Emila Margulies - The main goal for both Adidas and us was to create an outstanding design that met the requirements of a flexible working space, but also to create a memorable design that was separate from the classic, industrial Berlin aesthetic. As designers we also wanted to draw on both of our backgrounds: theatrical/dramatics from Emilia 's work and technical/design psychology from Amy's. Bringing in these elements was important because the project itself fell between two disciplines.

 

C.V for Husk - Is there anything else you'd like to say?

Amy Brandhorst and Emila Margulies - There were some challenges, such as how to dress the circular-shaped room - we needed 40 metres of fabric for the curtains to achieve the ‘enclosed’ feeling we were aiming for, and it had to be the right fabric, that fell in exactly the right way. Everything you see in the room (the curtains, the desk, the coffee table, the light) had its own designer and story, so it was our job to ensure that the overall design was harmonious. The financials were also a challenge - we had to accomplish a myriad of requirements within the budget restraints.

 

amy-brandhorst-et-emilia-margulies-adidas-germany-huskdesignblog12 copy
Workspace, Amy Brandhorst and Emilia Margulies, Adidas, Germany

Workspace, Amy Brandhorst and Emilia Margulies, Adidas, Germany

 

C.V for Husk - Generally speaking, how do you work? Did you have some sort of routine work when working on this project?

Amy Brandhorst and Emila Margulies - The project was very hands-on: throughout the process of the renovation and then the cosmetic additions, one of us had to be on site at all times. The depth of detail in the design meant that every day different elements needed to be overseen. Most days we met at the space at 8 am, reviewed the progress from the day before, then we would travel all over the city visiting fabric shops, metal workshops, marble dealers, etc. It was intense but fun - it became our love child!

 

C.V for Husk - What do you think of the design community today: what excites you, what would you change?

Amy Brandhorst and Emila Margulies - It’s exciting because it’s so varied. There is so much opportunity to make your mark, but it’s also very competitive. Now more than ever, designers are looking into different types of materials and fabrics that are sustainable. We’re both into the theme of reusing, and it’s inspiring to see how designers are reusing buildings and materials in innovative ways. It’s also an exciting time to be a designer in Berlin, the landscape of the city is changing rapidly and making room for new ideas to be implemented.

 

Workspace, Amy Brandhorst and Emilia Margulies, Adidas, Germany

 

C.V for Husk - What is your news and what can we wish you? Some upcoming projects?

Amy Brandhorst and Emila Margulies - Emilia is designing the set for a talk show and Amy is designing a doctor’s consultation practice. In Berlin, there are always opportunities popping up so our projects are so varied! We would like to collaborate on an interior project again soon though 's work and technical/design psychology from 

 

 

Thank you so much to Amy and Emilia for answering our questions!

 

Follow their work on Instagram:

@amybhorst

@emilia.margulies

Photographs:  Anne-Catherine Scoffoni

 

 

LIKE and SHARE!

T H A N K S

 

Written by

Chloé founded Huskdesignblog in 2016. Ever since, she is decoding every nook and cranny to find the best interiors and furniture ideas for her beloved readers and followers, eager for beautiful things.

Input your search keywords and press Enter.

Now Reading:

Amy Brandhorst et Emilia Margulies s’unissent pour concevoir les locaux d’Adidas en Allemagne

Récemment et ce grâce à la magie d’Instagram, nous avons découvert deux architectes d’intérieur de grand talent, deux esprits créatifs qui ont su allier leurs aspirations à la fois techniques, théâtrales et esthétiques au service d’un espace de travail pour Adidas Allemagne. Pour mieux comprendre le processus de création qui les a guidé mais aussi leurs choix et leurs contraintes liées au projet, c’est sous forme d’interview que nous avons décrypté le projet d’Amy Brandhorst et Emila Margulies, à Berlin. Découvrez l’envers du décor…

 

Amy Brandhorst et Emilia Margulies

 

Chloé Valette pour Husk – Pourriez-vous vous présenter toutes les deux?

Amy Brandhorst et Emila Margulies – Nous sommes Amy Brandhorst et Emilia Margulies, deux créatrices (et amies) basées à Berlin. Amy partage son temps entre Berlin et Londres, où elle a co-fondé l’agence primée Topology Interiors. Le travail d’architecture d’intérieur d’Amy est influencé par ses recherches sur la psychologie de la couleur et de la forme – elle aime aussi beaucoup les ornements surréalistes reflétés dans sa collection de vases et éléments de décoration sphériques, qui sont souvent incorporés dans ses concepts.

Emilia, originaire de l’archipel de Stockholm, oscille entre les domaines de la scénographie, de la direction artistique et de la décoration intérieure. Elle a le sens du détail et tient une archive d’intérieurs et d’objets étranges trouvés dans les ventes aux enchères et les marchés d’antiquités.

 

C.V pour Husk – Avez-vous pour habitude de collaborer? Est-ce la première fois?

Amy Brandhorst et Emila Margulies – Ce projet pour Adidas a été le premier sur lequel nous avons collaboré, et nous espérons fortement qu’il ne soit pas le dernier! Lorsque nous travaillons ensemble, nous nous nourrissons de l’amour mutuel de la couleur et des tissus, nous partageons la même envie de créer un espace sensoriel unique.

 

Espace de travail, Amy Brandhorst et Emilia Margulies, Adidas, Allemagne
Espace de travail, Amy Brandhorst et Emilia Margulies, Adidas, Allemagne

Espace de travail, Amy Brandhorst et Emilia Margulies, Adidas, Allemagne

 

C.V pour Husk – J’aime beaucoup votre récent projet pour Adidas en Allemagne, et plus particulièrement les couleurs fortes que vous avez choisies. Quelles ont été vos inspirations?

Amy Brandhorst et Emila Margulies – Il était important pour nous que cet espace soit lié à la philosophie d’audace, de créativité et de progression d’Adidas. Nous voulions que ce soit un espace à la fois puissant et ludique, nous avons donc discuté de la manière d’y parvenir grâce à notre palette de couleurs choisie. Inspirés par les peintres du Bauhaus, Mondrian et Josef Albers, nous avons incorporé des couleurs primaires saisissantes comme le rouge, du bleu et le jaune, qui forment un trio puissant. Nous voulions également que la pièce soit onirique, donc tout, du tombé de rideaux à la forme ondulée de la table basse en passant par les vases colorés, semble un peu surréaliste.

 

C.V pour Husk – Comment et qu’est-ce qui a guidé vos choix créatifs?

Amy Brandhorst et Emila Margulies – Suite à de nombreuses rencontres avec le client, nous avons eu plusieurs exigences à prendre en compte. Nous avons d’abord dû rénover l’espace – c’était une pièce glaciale et très humide quand nous l’avons trouvée – nous avons donc dû penser aux éléments techniques tels que le chauffage, l’éclairage et rendre la pièce habitable. L’espace devait également fonctionner à la fois comme espace de travail certains jours et comme toile de fond esthétique pour filmer, de sorte que tout ce que nous avons mis en œuvre est flexible et adaptable.

Par exemple, le canapé modulaire, le bureau et l’armoire sur roulettes peuvent être facilement déplacés. L’adaptabilité était également une exigence, nous avons donc créé un design avec deux personnalités – la première est révélée par un rideau fermé, créant un environnement bleu, élégant et serein. Le second, avec rideau ouvert, révèle des murs colorés aux rayures peintes à la verticale pour mettre en valeur la structure arrondie de la pièce.

 

Espace de travail, Amy Brandhorst et Emilia Margulies, Adidas, Allemagne

 

C.V pour Husk – Quels étaient les objectifs du projet pour Adidas et pour vous en tant qu’architectes d’intérieur?

Amy Brandhorst et Emila Margulies – L’objectif principal pour Adidas et pour nous était de créer un design exceptionnel qui répondait aux exigences d’un espace de travail flexible, mais également un design mémorable capable de se distinguer de l’esthétique berlinoise classique et industrielle. En tant que designers, nous voulions également puiser dans nos deux types de parcours: théâtral/dramatique du travail d’Emilia et technique/psychologie du design d’Amy. L’apport de ces éléments était important car le projet lui-même se situait entre deux disciplines.

 

C.V pour Husk – Il y a t-il autre chose que vous aimeriez préciser?

Amy Brandhorst et Emila Margulies – Il y avait quelques défis, tels que la façon d’habiller la pièce de forme circulaire – nous avions besoin de 40 mètres de tissu pour les rideaux pour obtenir le sentiment “d’espace clos” que nous visions, et ce devait être le bon tissu, qui tombait exactement au bon endroit. Tout ce que vous voyez dans la pièce (les rideaux, le bureau, la table basse, les éclairages) ont leur propre designer et leur histoire, il était donc de notre devoir de veiller à ce que la conception globale soit harmonieuse. Les finances étaient également un défi: nous avons dû accomplir une myriade d’exigences avec un budget limité.

 

amy-brandhorst-et-emilia-margulies-adidas-allemagne-huskdesignblog12 copie
Espace de travail, Amy Brandhorst et Emilia Margulies, Adidas, Allemagne

Espace de travail, Amy Brandhorst et Emilia Margulies, Adidas, Allemagne

 

C.V pour Husk – En règle générale, comment travaillez-vous? Aviez-vous une sorte de routine de travail pour ce projet?

Amy Brandhorst et Emila Margulies – Le projet était très concret: tout au long du processus de rénovation puis des ajouts esthétiques, l’une de nous devait être sur place en permanence. La complexité des détails du projet signifiait que chaque jour, différents aspects devaient être supervisés. La plupart du temps, nous nous réunissions à 8 heures du matin, passions en revue les progrès de la veille, puis nous parcourions la ville ensemble pour visiter des magasins de tissus, des ateliers de métal et de marbre, etc. C’était intense mais amusant – c’est rapidement devenu notre bébé!

 

C.V pour Husk – D’une manière générale, que pensez-vous de la communauté du design aujourd’hui: qu’est-ce qui vous passionne, que changeriez-vous?

Amy Brandhorst et Emila Margulies – C’est excitant parce que c’est tellement varié. Il y a tellement d’opportunités de faire sa place, mais c’est aussi un milieu très compétitif. Plus que jamais, les designers recherchent différents types de matériaux et de tissus durables. Nous abordons toutes les deux le thème de la réutilisation, et il est inspirant de voir comment les designers réutilisent les espaces et les matériaux de manière innovante. C’est aussi une période passionnante pour être designer à Berlin, le paysage de la ville évolue rapidement et laisse place à de nouvelles idées à mettre en œuvre.

 

Espace de travail, Amy Brandhorst et Emilia Margulies, Adidas, Allemagne

 

C.V pour Husk – Quelle est votre actualité et que pouvons-nous vous souhaiter? Quelques projets à venir?

Amy Brandhorst et Emila Margulies – Emilia conçoit le décor d’un talk-show et Amy conçoit un cabinet de consultation de médecin. A Berlin, il y a toujours des opportunités qui se présentent ce qui permet à nos projets d’êtres très variés! Bien-sûr, nous aimerions collaborer de nouveau sur un projet d’architecture d’intérieur – à suivre!

 

 

Merci infiniment à Amy et Emilia d’avoir répondu à nos questions!

 

Suivez leur travail sur Instagram:

@amybhorst

@emilia.margulies

Photographies:  Anne-Catherine Scoffoni

 

 

LIKE and SHARE!

M E R C I

 

Input your search keywords and press Enter.