Now Reading:
How Adam & Arthur are reviving straw marquetry

How Adam & Arthur are reviving straw marquetry

It is not unusual for a beautiful encounter to bring back to life a forgotten skill, such as straw marquetry. This is what happened when Arthur Seigneur, a young French craftsman newly arrived in Sydney, contacted industrial designer Adam Goodrum in 2015 to see if they could possibly work together. The same year, Bloom, the first fruit of their collaboration as A&A, who made their debuts at the Milan Furniture Fair, was the beginning of a very beautiful collection.

Discover the incredible work of Adam & Arthur, a creative duo who have set out to breathe new life into straw marquetry.

 

 

Adam Goodrum and Arthur Seigneur, Longbow Credenza in straw marquetry

Adam and Arthur, straw marquetry wardrobe
Adam and Arthur, straw marquetry wardrobe

The straw marquetry is a meticulous technique similar to marquetry, a technique of veneering wood and materials such as shell and ivory to decorate furniture and other objects. It appeared in Europe in the 17th century and continued to enjoy great esteem in France, particularly during the reign of Louis XV (r.1715-74). Straw marquetry experienced a revival at the beginning of the 20th century thanks to Art Deco light fixtures designed by André Groult, Jean Royère and Jean Michel Frank, the latter uses this technique to decorate entire walls as well as furniture.

Worldwide, there are only about twenty artisans trained to practice this complex and demanding craft, and to his knowledge, Arthur Seigneur is the only one to have worked in Australia.

 

And it is precisely from Australia, that straw marquetry is now reborn. As an amazing synthesis of innovation in design and traditional craftsmanship, the two protagonists created their first piece in 2015, the Bloom cabinet, a very unique artwork made of oak and white maple, entirely handcrafted, closed by two oversized doors that form a circle of 1400 mm in diameter. Inspired by the curved symmetry of the lotus flower, which catches and reflects light, the result is a hypnotic and kaleidoscopic design, similar to a sacred mandala.

 

Adam Seigneur and Adam Goodrum, straw marquetry console

Adam and Arthur, Talleo Tallboy in straw marquetry
Adam and Arthur, Talleo Tallboy in straw marquetry

On the occasion of the Melbourne Design Week 2020, the duo revealed its extraordinary collection in its entirety in the form of a temporary exhibition at the Tolarno Galleries, from March 12 to 28. Each piece is a work of art in itself, and straw marquetry requires a lot of time and meticulousness to complete each realization. Thus, it took between one and two years to complete the recently presented pieces: Archant Console, Longbow Credenzaand Talleo Tallboy in richly colored series of geometric patterns that flow naturally from the shape of each element.

 

When Arthur took months to refine each piece of the collection, including the time it took to dye the straw, Adam was inspired by the shape of the sphericon. This strange Escher-like 'paradoxical solid' is made from a combination of four half cones, and segments of it can be found at either end of the credenza and in the oblique 'frame' surrounding the body of the Talleo Tallboy. "We want to make proud and confident pieces based on unorthodox shapes., Adam explains, adding that each item features custom hinges machined from solid brass, "like jewellery for furniture"..

 

Adam Goodrum and Arthur Seigneur, straw marquetry

Adam and Arthur, console in straw marquetry
Adam and Arthur, Longbow Credenza in straw marquetry

Great projects can thus emerge when the perfect encounter between tradition and innovation happens, and the objects of Adam & Arthur , in this sense, represent the pinnacle of collectible design, one that is not afraid to skillfully mix past and present to exist in a more beautiful way. Their partnership also demonstrates the benefits of going beyond one's own frame of reference to collaborate with designers, artists, and artisans from other cultures. This gives rise to hybrid furniture and intercultural aspects that design cannot do without.

 

 

LIKE and SHARE!

T H A N K S

 

Originally posted 2020-05-15 14:00:38.

Written by

Chloé founded Huskdesignblog in 2016. Ever since, she is decoding every nook and cranny to find the best interiors and furniture ideas for her beloved readers and followers, eager for beautiful things.

Input your search keywords and press Enter.

Now Reading:
Adam & Arthur font revivre la marqueterie de paille

Adam & Arthur font revivre la marqueterie de paille

Il n’est pas rare qu’il faille une belle rencontre pour faire renaitre un savoir-faire oublié, telle la marqueterie de paille. C’est ce qui s’est passé lorsque Arthur Seigneur, jeune artisan français nouvellement arrivé à Sydney, a contacté le designer industriel Adam Goodrum en 2015 pour voir s’ils pourraient éventuellement travailler ensemble. Moins de trois ans plus tard, le cabinet Bloom, premier fruit de leur collaboration en tant que A&A, fait ses débuts au Salon du meuble de Milan en initie ainsi le début d’une très belle collection.

Découvrez le travail incroyable d’Adam & Arthur, un duo créatif qui s’est donné pour objectif de donner un nouveau souffle à la marqueterie de paille.

 

 

Adam Seigneur et Adam Goodrum, Longbow Credenza en marqueterie de paille

Adam et Arthur, armoire en marqueterie de paille
Adam et Arthur, armoire en marqueterie de paille

La marqueterie de paille est une technique minutieuse similaire à la marqueterie, soit une technique de placage de bois ainsi que de matériaux tels que la coquille et l’ivoire pour décorer meubles et autres objets. Elle est apparu en Europe au XVIIe siècle et a continué à jouir d’une grande estime en France, en particulier sous le règne de Louis XV (r.1715-74). La marqueterie de paille connaît un renouveau au début du XXe siècle grâce à des luminaires Art Déco dessinés par André Groult, Jean Royère et Jean Michel Frank, ce dernier utilisant cette technique pour décorer des murs entiers ainsi que des meubles.

À l’échelle mondiale, il n’y a environ qu’une vingtaine d’artisans formés pour pratiquer ce métier complexe et exigeant, et, à sa connaissance, Arthur Seigneur est le seul à travailler depuis l’Australie.

 

Et c’est justement depuis l’Australie, que la marqueterie de paille désormais renait. Comme la synthèse étonnante de l’innovation dans la conception et de l’artisanat traditionnel, les deux protagonistes créent leur première pièce en 2015, l’armoire Bloom, une oeuvre unique faite de chêne et d’érable blanc, entièrement façonnée à la main, fermée par deux portes surdimensionnées qui forment un cercle de 1400 mm de diamètre. Inspirée de la symétrie incurvée de la fleur de lotus, qui attrape et renvoie la lumière, le résultat est un design hypnotique et kaléidoscopique, semblable à un mandala sacré.

 

Adam Seigneur et Adam Goodrum, console en marqueterie de paille

Adam et Arthur, Talleo Tallboy en marqueterie de paille
Adam et Arthur, Talleo Tallboy en marqueterie de paille

A l’occasion de la Melbourne Design Week 2020, le duo a exposé sa collection extraordinaire dans sa globalité sous forme d’une exposition temporaire aux Tolarno Galleries, du 12 au 28 mars derniers. Chaque pièce est une oeuvre d’art en elle-même, et la marqueterie de paille demande beaucoup de temps et de minutie pour  mener à bien chaque réalisation. Ainsi, il a fallu entre un et deux ans pour achever les pièces récemment présentées: Archant Console, Longbow Credenza, et Talleo Tallboy dans une série de motifs géométriques richement colorés qui découlent naturellement de la forme de chaque élément.

 

Quand Arthur a mis des mois à peaufiner chaque pièce de la collection, incluant le temps nécessaire pour teindre la paille, Adam s’est inspiré de la forme du sphericon. Cet étrange “solide paradoxal” de type Escher est fabriqué à partir de la combinaison de quatre demi-cônes, et les segments de celui-ci peuvent être trouvés à chaque extrémité de la crédence et dans le “cadre” oblique entourant le corps de Talleo Tallboy. “Nous souhaitons fabriquer des pièces fières et confiantes, basées sur des formes peu orthodoxes”, explique Adam, ajoutant que chaque article présente des charnières personnalisées usinées en laiton massif, “comme des bijoux pour les meubles”.

 

Adam Seigneur et Adam Goodrum, marqueterie de paille

Adam et Arthur, console en marqueterie de paille
Adam et Arthur, Longbow Credenza en marqueterie de paille

De grands projets peuvent ainsi émerger lorsque de la rencontre parfaite entre tradition et innovation, et les objets de Adam & Arthur représentent en ce sens le summum du design de collection, celuiqui n’a pas peur de mélanger savamment passé et présent pour exister de plus belle. Leur partenariat démontre également les bienfaits acquis lorsque l’on sort de son propre cadre de référence pour collaborer avec des designers, artistes et artisans d’autres cultures. Cela donne lieu à du mobilier hybride et interculturel dont le design ne saurait se passer.

 

 

LIKE and SHARE!

M E R C I

 

Written by

Chloé founded Huskdesignblog in 2016. Ever since, she is decoding every nook and cranny to find the best interiors and furniture ideas for her beloved readers and followers, eager for beautiful things.

Input your search keywords and press Enter.