Now Reading:

Van Cleef & Arpels, a new Paris store by Jouin Manku

For several years, when the Van Cleef & Arpels brand calls in a design agency for their head office, store, or an exhibition, it is usually the French agency Jouin Manku. Indeed, one recalls for example the flagship in New York, they designed in 2013. Patrick Jouin and Sanjit Manku are two designers with a visionary spirit, a unique design and who benefit from their dual cultural profile. 

 

 

Van Cleef & Arpels, Place Vendôme:

a new feat by Jouin Manku

 

 jouin manku boutique van cleef and arpels place vendôme

 

 

 

1. VAN CLEEF & ARPELS AND THE JOUIN MANKU'S STYLE

 

In 2006, when they took charge of the Van Cleef & Arpels parent company, the Jouin Manku agency shows a deep commitment to not distort the place of origin. They work on its strength and character in order to bring out the best. Thus, their contemporary and curved style underlines the architecture of the place, the mouldings and the existing wood panels. The uniqueness of the place is still there, just put forward. 

 

jouin manku boutique van cleef and arpels place vendôme paris

The Mother House of Van Cleef & Arpels, Place Vendôme

 

In 2013 in New York, the challenge was such that it was not only about infusing a European luxury spirit within the cultural capital of the United States, but also to upgrade this luxury, keeping its assets while showing that it had been able to evolve and adapt to the trends, materials and new products.

The place is warm, neat, gilding here and there are inviting us to the valuable, and the typical Jouin Manku pioneering spirit, to modernity.

 

jouin manku flagship van cleef and arpels new york

Flagship Van Cleef & Arpels, New York

 

in Hong Kong, the Van Cleef & Arpels store already stood out from the front. Inside, we can remember this staircase of which design have been shown around the world, both high-tech and very elegant. The different rooms are filled with a soft, poetic lightwhere the designer duo had glass in order to give lightness to the atmosphere.

 

jouin manku flagship van cleef and arpels hong kong

Flagship Van Cleef & Arpels, Hong Kong

 

 

 

2. FIRST, THE KNOW-HOW

 

In order to give life to the project of the Place Vendôme store, the Jouin Manku agency has selected the best craftsmen of France. Indeed, even if this project naturally appeals to new technologies - such as the machining CNC - it's from the hand of various sculptors, rugmakers, decorators, woodworkers and ferroniers of art that the whole project was born. Without their expertise, this luxury major place couldn't make sense. Without their patience and their real work of silversmiths, the details and carefully selected materials in order to make this place unique, would have been in vain.

And that know-how starts from the entrance of the store, where once again, Patrick Jouin and Sanjit Manku stand and demonstrate their control of the place by the presence of another masterful staircase, more akin to an art piece than just an architecture component. A true invitation to climb the ladder to the top of the luxury, this piece was conducted in Stone of Paris, a real tribute to the spirit of the Place Vendôme.

 

jouin manku boutique van cleef and arpels place vendôme

The AOF company made the imposing railing in wrought iron

jouin manku boutique van cleef and arpels place vendôme

The AtelierJean-Loup Bouvier has designed this massive stone staircase

 

And this know-how is continuing inside, because the freestanding displays were made with great care by the Gendre Nantes companyand the various decorative staff elements, meticulously sculpted by Sofrastyl.

 

jouin manku boutique van cleef and arpels place vendôme

The Gendre company at work...

jouin manku boutique van cleef and arpels place vendôme

Floral decorative staff made by the company Sofrastyl

 

 

 

3. THE EXPRESSION OF LUXURY

 

If there is a field where Patrick Jouin and Sanjit Manku are excellent, it is the art of surprise. Since the front desk by an amazing staircase, to the details that make this store a real jewel, designers deliberately take us where we did not expect. 

First of all in the space planning, where we discover a secret path, throughout the visit of the Hall of Mirrors of Van Cleef & Arpels, in other words a real Museum under glass, telling the story of the brand since its inception. We first enter shyly, then completely when we discover all the treasures it has to offer.

 

jouin manku boutique van cleef and arpels place vendôme

 

Details are also surprising. Always with the aim of highlighting the French know-how, suspended ceilings are fully covered with stretched fabric, hand-embroidered, which are a delicate wink to the floral world that has always inspired Van Cleef and Arpels' creations.

 

jouin manku boutique van cleef and arpels place vendôme

 

Finally, what the tandem designers does best, is to allow the contemporary style to be accepted and integrated. Indeed, the way they design and draw a space always takes the form of a chic and cosy place, as if the place had naturally mutated to become a creation of Patrick Jouin and Sanjit Manku.

 

jouin manku boutique van cleef and arpels place vendôme

 jouin manku boutique van cleef and arpels place vendôme

 

If their curved design seems to be the logical next level of Interior Design, he also recalled the spirit of the jewellery brand and its requirement. This shop is a real cocoon and takes care of one of the most coveted jewelry collections in the world.

 

 ➡ Please do not forget to LIKE and SHARE if you liked this post ! A small step for you, a great support for Husk !

T H A N K S

 

Photographs © Eric Laignel and © Franck Beloncle

Sources: S2H Communication,Jouin Manku

 

Originally posted 2016-10-27 06:52:27.

Written by

Chloé founded Huskdesignblog in 2016. Ever since, she is decoding every nook and cranny to find the best interiors and furniture ideas for her beloved readers and followers, eager for beautiful things.

Input your search keywords and press Enter.

Depuis quelques années, lorsque la maison Van Cleef & Arpels fait appel à une agence de design pour leur Maison, une boutique ou une exposition, il s'agit généralement de l'agence française Jouin Manku. En effet, on se rappelle par exemple du flagship de New York, réalisé par ses derniers en 2013. Patrick Jouin et Sanjit Manku sont deux designers à l'esprit visionnaire, au design singulier et qui tirent largement partie de leur profil à double culture. 

 

 

Van Cleef & Arpels, Place Vendôme :

la nouvelle prouesse de Jouin Manku

 

 jouin manku boutique van cleef and arpels place vendôme

 

 

 

1. VAN CLEEF & ARPELS ET LE STYLE JOUIN MANKU

 

Déjà en 2006, lors de leur prise en main de la Maison Mère Van Cleef & Arpels, l'agence Jouin Manku montre un profond attachement à ne pas dénaturer le lieu d'origine. Ils travaillent sur ses forces et son caractère afin d'en faire ressortir le meilleur. Ainsi, leur patte contemporaine et courbe vient souligner l'architecture du lieu, les moulures et les panneaux de bois existants. La singularité du lieu est toujours là, simplement mise en avant. 

 

jouin manku boutique van cleef and arpels place vendôme paris
La Maison Van Cleef & Arpels, Place Vendôme

 

En 2013 à New York, le défi était tel qu'il fallait non seulement insuffler un esprit luxe Européen au sein de la capitale culturelle des Etats-Unis, mais également moderniser ce luxe, lui garder ses atouts tout en montrant qu'il avait su évoluer et s'adapter aux tendances, matériaux et produits du moment.

Le lieu est chaleureux, soigné, les dorures ça et là nous invite au précieux et le style avant-gardiste typique de Jouin Manku, à la modernité.

 

jouin manku flagship van cleef and arpels new york
Flagship Van Cleef & Arpels, New York

 

A Hong-Kong, la boutique Van Cleef & Arpels se démarquait déjà depuis la façade. A l'intérieur, on se rappelle de cet escalier dont le design a fait le tour du monde, à la fois high tech et élégant. Les différentes salles sont emplies d'une lumière douce, poétique, où le duo de designers a disposé du verre afin de rendre l'atmosphère légère.

 

jouin manku flagship van cleef and arpels hong kong
Flagship Van Cleef & Arpels, Hong Kong

 

 

 

2. LE SAVOIR FAIRE AVANT TOUT

 

Afin de donner vie au projet de la boutique Place Vendôme, l'agence Jouin Manku a sélectionné les meilleurs artisans de France. En effet, même si ce projet fait naturellement appel aux nouvelles technologies - tel l'usinage à commande numérique - c'est bien de la main des divers sculpteurs, staffeurs, agenceurs, ébénistes et ferroniers d'art qu'est né l'ensemble du projet. Sans leur savoir-faire, ce haut-lieu du luxe ne pourrait faire sens. Sans leur patience et leur véritable travail d'orfèvres, les détails et matériaux choisis avec soin afin de rendre cet espace unique, auraient été vains.

Et cela commence dès l'entrée de la boutique, où une fois encore, Patrick Jouin et Sanjit Manku se démarquent et démontrent leur maîtrise du lieu par la présence d'un autre escalier magistral, davantage apparenté à une oeuvre d'art qu'à un élément de l'architecture. Véritable invitation à gravir les échelons jusqu'au sommet du luxe, cette pièce a été réalisée en Pierre de Paris, véritable hommage à l'esprit de la Place Vendôme.

 

jouin manku boutique van cleef and arpels place vendôme
L'entreprise AOF a réalisé l'imposant garde-corps en fer forgé
jouin manku boutique van cleef and arpels place vendôme
L'Atelier Jean-Loup Bouvier a conçu cet escalier en pierre massive

 

Et ce savoir-faire continu d'être visible une fois à l'intérieur, puisque les présentoirs centraux ont été réalisés avec grand soin par l'entreprise nantaise Gendre, et les différents éléments de staff décoratif, sculptés avec minutie par Sofrastyl.

 

jouin manku boutique van cleef and arpels place vendôme
L'entreprise Gendre à l'oeuvre...
jouin manku boutique van cleef and arpels place vendôme
Staff décoratif floral réalisé par l'entreprise Sofrastyl

 

 

 

3. L'EXPRESSION DU LUXE

 

S'il y a bien un domaine où Patrick Jouin et Sanjit Manku excellent, c'est bien l'art de la surprise. Depuis l'accueil par un escalier grandiose, jusqu'au détails qui font de cette boutique un véritable écrin, les designers nous emmènent délibérement là où on ne s'attendait pas. 

Tout d'abord dans l'organisation de l'espace, où, tel un passage secret, on découvre au fil de la visite la galerie des glaces de Van Cleef & Arpels, autrement dit un véritable musée sous verre de l'histoire de la marque depuis sa création. On y entre d'abord timidement, puis totalement lorsque l'on découvre tous les trésors qu'elle a à nous offrir.

 

jouin manku boutique van cleef and arpels place vendôme

 

Les détails aussi sont pour le moins surprenants. Toujours dans une optique de mise en avant des savoir-faire Français, on observe la présence de murs et faux-plafonds en tissus tendus, entièrement brodés à la main et qui sont un délicat clin d'oeil à l'univers floral qui a toujours inspiré les créations de Van Cleef and Arpels.

 

jouin manku boutique van cleef and arpels place vendôme

 

Enfin, ce que le tandem de designers fait de mieux, c'est de permettre au style contemporain d'être accepté et intégré. En effet, leur façon de concevoir un espace et de le dessiner prend toujours la forme d'un endroit chic et chaleureux, comme si l'intérieur d'un lieu avait muté de lui-même pour devenir naturellement, une création de Patrick Jouin et Sanjit Manku.

 

jouin manku boutique van cleef and arpels place vendôme

 jouin manku boutique van cleef and arpels place vendôme

 

Si leur design tout en courbe a tout l'air d'être le stade supérieur logique de l'architecture d'intérieur, il rappelle également l'esprit de la marque de joaillerie et son exigence. Cette boutique est un véritable cocon et habrite une des collections de bijoux la plus convoité au monde.

 

 ➡ N'oubliez pas de LIKER et de PARTAGER si vous avez aimé cet article ! Un petit geste pour vous, un grand soutien pour Husk !

M E R C I

 

Photographies © Eric Laignel et © Franck Beloncle

Sources: S2H Communication, Jouin Manku

 

Chloé Valette

Comment on Facebook