Now Reading:

RETAIL: The Architecture of emptiness, a kind of new Luxury

RETAIL: The Architecture of emptiness, a kind of new Luxury

"In the context of the retail overbid, emptiness is the ultimate form of luxury." - Oma Studio

 

 

RETAIL : 

The Architecture of empty space, a kind of new Luxury

 

 

This article could be summed up in one sentence, a quote, for example the one cited above by Oma Architecture Studio, whose work for the new flagship of Repossi, has been very noticed this summer. A few months ago, emerged a movement akin to the  "less is more  about architecture and interior architecture of the high-end luxury category. High density of creative materials and exceptional space management, A look back at this style that is currently spreading like a trend.

 

 

1. THE RADICAL MINIMAL 

 

interior architecture flagship repossi paris oma studio

Flagship Repossi, Paris - Oma Studio

 

By radical I mean global, whole. Here is the new emerging style. As Studio Oma said, in a context of crisis and distorted between classes, the hour has come to the radical change. Is luxury taking humility, moving up to the summit, making its new minimalist aesthetic, the height of luxury ? 

For it is time to see that retail architecture is becoming simpler but perhaps more sophisticated. The flagship of Repossi which opened its doors Place Vendôme this summer, is a perfect example. We are dealing here with a simplified luxury, made of lines, blocks and shapes. The perfect combination of porous and shiny, heavy and transparent is noticeable. This staircase ( photo above ) is the perfect example of this architecture where everything is in contrast. 

From the front desk to the point of sale, through the corridors, space is sufficient in itself. You would like to stand in line for an hour just to see the place, no offense to the Repossi collection, that we also love.

 

  interior architecture flagship repossi paris oma studio

interior architecture flagship repossi paris oma studio

Flagship Repossi, Paris - Oma Studio

 

But Oma and Repossi aren't the only ones to experiment this kind of luxury. We also observed such an architecture during the opening of the new showroom Normann Copenhagen. Designed by Hans Hornemann ( who also designed the Ace collection ) in collaboration with the Brand Manager Britt Bonnesen, this new major place of Nordic design, perfectly joins the thread to a minimal and radical architecture. 

 

interior architecture flagship repossi paris oma studio

Showroom Normann Copenhagen - Hans Hornemann

 

 

2. HIGH-TECH MATERIALS

 

interior architecture biennial interior kortrijk office KGDVS

Installation by KGDVS, at the Kortrijk Biennale

 

We also saw this architecture of the void at the Kortrijk furniture Fair ( photo above ), where the studio KGDVS has created an installation like this. The creations of designers Muller Van Severen were presented there. The materials here are very important. They balance each other, the granites, marbles and other concretes are softened by the presence of glass, sandblasted glass, polycarbonates and others. 

 

interior architecture flagship repossi paris oma studio chanel

 

Aluminium, chrome and other brass play mirrors, when they are not there. The space is constantly increased tenfold and has an infinite perspective. All the mirrors of Repossi flagship have been designed by Sabine Marcelis, whose excellence in terms of reflections is no longer to prove.

 

interior architecture flagship repossi paris oma studio

Flagship Repossi, Paris - Oma Studio

 

But these luxury materials are paradoxical. They represent both our architecture of the void, in the sense that they do everything and are whole architecture, and on the other hand, they frame this emptiness, this absence, this need of epure that the brands are looking for to highlight their clothing, jewelry, watches collections and other luxury items. 

 

interior architecture flagship repossi paris oma studio

Flagship Repossi, Paris - Oma Studio

 

 

 

3. FIND OUT ARCHITECTURE AGAIN

 

interior architecture flagship repossi paris oma studio

Flagship Repossi, Paris - Oma Studio

 

This configuration is the opposite of spaces where products are the architecture themselves ( for example, Aesop ), that works pretty well. Here, the visitor is in a 100% architectural space, where as I said above, we are even tend to forget the item sold, as the architecture is so present, containing, total. 

See how discreet the product is, and at the same time, it is precisely thanks to this simplicity and modesty in the face of the surrounding environment that the product is more luxurious, distinct and prestigious.

 

interior architecture flagship repossi paris oma studio

Flagship Repossi, Paris - Oma Studio

 

 At the Kortrijk furniture Fair, which ended yesterday, we could also observe and experience a live installation of the Dessuant Bonestudio. This installation highlights the Allaert Aluminium materials and basic shapes like a succession of openings and geometries that are a real tribute to architecture. 

 

interior architecture installation biennial interior studio dessuant bone

interior architecture installation biennial interior studio dessuant bone

 

Here is the magic of this architecture of emptiness, that gives to space its fame, and to luxury, a new prestence.

 

 ➡ Please do not forget to LIKE and SHARE this post ! A small step for you, a big support for Husk !

T H A N K S

 

Sources: Nelly Rodi, Designboom, Oma Studio, Normann Copenhagen

Originally posted 2016-10-24 07:42:37.

Written by

Chloé founded Huskdesignblog in 2016. Ever since, she is decoding every nook and cranny to find the best interiors and furniture ideas for her beloved readers and followers, eager for beautiful things.

Input your search keywords and press Enter.

“Dans le contexte de surenchère de l’offre retail, le vide devient la forme ultime du luxe.” – Oma Studio

 

 

RETAIL : 

L'architecture du vide, le nouveau Luxe

 

 

Cet article pourrait se résumer en une phrase, une citation, celle citée plus haut du Studio d'architecture Oma, dont le travail pour le nouveau flagship de Repossi, a été très remarqué cet été. Depuis quelques mois en effet, émerge un mouvement s'apparentant au " less is more " concernant l'architecture et l'architecture d'intérieur du type haut de gamme voir luxe. Matériaux à haute densité créative et gestion exceptionnelle de l'espace, retour sur ce style qui se répand actuellement à la manière d'une tendance.

 

 

1. LE MINIMAL RADICAL 

 

architecture d'intérieur flagship repossi paris oma studio
Flagship Repossi, Paris - Oma Studio

 

Par radical, entendez total, global. Là est le nouveau style émergent. Comme dit le Studio Oma lui-même, dans un contexte de crise et de faussé entre les classes, l'heure est venu au changement radical. Le luxe prendrait-il de l'humilité, ou bien se hisse-t-il au contraire encore plus au sommet, en faisant de sa nouvelle esthétique minimaliste, le comble du luxe ? 

Car il est temps de constater que l'architecture retail se fait plus simple mais peut-être plus sophistiquée. Le flagship de Repossi qui a ouvert ses portes place Vendôme cet été, en est le parfait représentant. On a ici affaire à un luxe simplifié, fait de lignes, de blocs et de formes. On remarque la parfaite association du poreux et du brillant, du lourd et du transparent. Cet escalier ( photo ci-dessus ) est l'exemple parfait de cette architecture où tout n'est que contraste. 

De l'accueil aux points de vente, en passant par les circulations, l'espace se suffit à lui-même. On se verrait bien faire la queue pendant une heure juste pour admirer le lieu, n'en déplaise à la collection Repossi, qu'on adore aussi.

 

 architecture d'intérieur flagship repossi paris oma studio

architecture d'intérieur flagship repossi paris oma studio
Flagship Repossi, Paris - Oma Studio

 

Mais Oma et Repossi ne sont pas les seuls à expérimenter ce style de luxe. On a également pu observer une telle architecture lors de la présentation du nouveau showroom Normann Copenhagen. Conçu par le designer Hans Hornemann ( à qui on doit la dernière collection Ace ) en collaboration avec la Brand Manager Britt Bonnesen, ce nouveau haut-lieu de mise en valeur du design nordique, rejoint parfaitement le fil conducteur d'une architecture minimale et radicale. 

 

architecture d'intérieur flagship repossi paris oma studio
Showroom Normann Copenhagen - Hans Hornemann

 

 

 

 

2. DES MATÉRIAUX HIGH-TECH

 

architecture d'intérieur biennale interieur kortrijk office KGDVS
Installation de KGDVS, à la Biennale de Kortrijk

 

On a vu également une architecture du vide à la Biennale Interieur de Kortrijk ( photo ci-dessus ), où le studio KGDVS a créé une installation de ce style. Les créations des designers Muller Van Severen y étaient  présentées. Les matériaux ont ici une grande importance. Ils s'équilibrent les uns les autres, les granits, marbres et autres bétons sont adoucis par la présence des verres, verres sablés, polycarbonates et autres dérivés. 

 

architecture d'intérieur flagship repossi paris oma studio chanel

 

Les aluminiums, chromes et autres laitons jouent les miroirs, quand ceux-ci ne sont pas là. L'espace est sans cesse décuplé et a une perspective infini. Les miroirs du flagship Repossi ont tous été conçus par la designer Sabine Marcelis, dont l'excellence en matière de reflets n'est plus à prouver.

 

architecture d'intérieur flagship repossi paris oma studio
Flagship Repossi, Paris - Oma Studio

 

Mais ces matériaux du luxe sont paradoxals. Ils représentent à la fois notre architecture du vide, dans le sens où ils font tout et sont toute l'architecture, et d'un autre côté, ils encadrent ce vide, cette absence, ce besoin d'épure que recherchent les marques afin de mettre en valeur collections de vêtements, bijoux, montres et autres objets haut de gamme. 

 

architecture d'intérieur flagship repossi paris oma studio
Flagship Repossi, Paris - Oma Studio

 

 

 

3. RE-DÉCOUVRIR L'ARCHITECTURE

 

architecture d'intérieur flagship repossi paris oma studio
Flagship Repossi, Paris - Oma Studio

 

Cette configuration est l'opposé des espaces où se sont les produits qui font l'architecture ( par exemple Aesop ), et qui en soit fonctionne plutôt bien. Là, le visiteur se retrouve dans du 100% architectural, où comme je le disais plus haut, on a même tendance à oublier l'objet vendu, tellement l'architecture est présente, englobante, totale. 

Voyez comme le produit se fait discret, et en même temps, c'est justement grâce à cette simplicité et à cette modestie face à l'environnement qui l'entoure, que le produit en est davantage luxueux, à part et prestigieux.

 

architecture d'intérieur flagship repossi paris oma studio
Flagship Repossi, Paris - Oma Studio

 

 A la Biennale de Kortrijk qui s'est fini hier, on a pu également observer et vivre l'expérience d'une installation vivante du studio Dessuant Bone. Cette installation met en valeur les matériaux Allaert Aluminium et des formes basiques, comme une succession d'ouvertures et de géométries qui sont un véritable tribut à l'architecture. 

 

architecture d'intérieur installation biennale interieur studio dessuant bone

architecture d'intérieur installation biennale interieur studio dessuant bone

 

Là est la magie de cette architecture du vide, qui rend à l'espace ses lettres de noblesses, et au luxe, une nouvelle prestence.

 

 ➡ N'oubliez pas de LIKER et de PARTAGER cet article ! Un petit gest pour vous, un grand soutien pour Husk !

M E R C I

 

Sources: Nelly Rodi, Designboom, Oma Studio, Normann Copenhagen

Chloé Valette

Comment on Facebook