TRENDS: Black and White simplicity

.

Sometimes it is good and necessary to regain balance. Black and White have the gift of appeasing us, and the merit of never going out of fashion. In design and architecture, the two opposite shades are specific to serenity, but also to highlight and without the use of any additional devices, lines and shapes expertly thought by the designers. A way to stay at the drawing stage, to find inspiration as if we were still in the creator's head...

FURNITURE

In the furniture category, we have recently been able to appreciate a unique collaboration between Luca Nichetto, Nendo and &tradition, on the occasion of the Isole collection release. The couch, stemming from the poetic character of Nendo and pragmatism of Nichetto, finds thanks to our eyes so much that it is half furniture, half object.

The Chinese studio Bentu Design also stood out by imagining a series of tables, shelves and luminaires, made up of tiles and other recycled ceramic debris. Following the Terrazzo tradition, the studio offers us a deep, simple and somewhat luxurious material that renews the possibilities of black and white.

LIGHTING

On the light side, Fools Gold dazzled with its light fixture Lot1 in Milan, and which creates a new category: a luminaire which does not hang, which does not sit on the ground or on a table, but is slightly and delicately leaning against a wall...

At the event ICFF in New York last month, the designer Jonas Wagell has presented a Wander Light, inspired by Oriental paper lamps, and conceived as the least possible version of a lantern, highlighting a black and white contrast that thrills us.

And finally, catching up with the technological breakthrough in stride, we also discovered the portable lamp Empatia of Artemide, a LED source that is charged via USB cable. Here we are finally in a dimension of the future, where the cables would have finally - partially - disappeared.

 ARCHITECTURE

In architecture too, the inspiration is surely black and white. Refined, simple and smart, the Mono Hotel has recently emerged in in Singapore. Stunning result of the monochromatic inspiration of the local studio Spacedge, this place has kept its charm and colonial style while becoming the Temple of contemporary style. A surprising place to stay...

This reminds us of the innovative Portuguese studio project Amatam, which has created Krush it, finally a gym all dressed in black. An intriguing interior, both intimate and close to the night-club spirit set up obviously to attract the visitor. A game of interesting textures juggling between the cold, the hot, the dull and the shiny.

Want more black and white inspirations? Go to Pinterest!

 ➡ Please do not forget to LIKE and SHARE this article if you liked it. A small step for you, a great support for Husk!

T H A N K S

Cover: Studio Nendo, Invisible Outlines

Chloé Valette

TENDANCES: De la simplicité du Noir et Blanc

.

 

Parfois, il est bon et nécessaire de retrouver l'équilibre. Le noir et le blanc ont le don de nous apaiser, et le mérite de ne jamais passer de mode. En design et en architecture, les deux nuances contraires sont propres à la sérennité biensûr, mais également à mettre en valeur et sans artifice les lignes et les formes savamment pensées par les designers. Une manière de rester à l'étape du dessin, de trouver l'inspiration comme si nous étions encore dans la tête du créateur...

 

 

MOBILIER

 

Dans la catégorie mobilier, on a pu ces derniers temps apprécier une collaboration unique entre Luca Nichetto, Nendo et &tradition, à l'occasion de la sortie de la collection d'assises Isole. Le canapé, issu du caractère poétique de Nendo et du pragmatisme de Nichetto, trouve grâce à nos yeux tellement il est mi-meuble, mi-objet. 

Le studio chinois Bentu Design s'est également démarqué en imaginant une série de tables, étagères et luminaires, composés de faïences et autres débris de céramique recycés. Dans la lignée du terrazzo, le studio nous offre là un matériau profond, simple et un peu luxueux et qui renouvelle les possibles du noir et blanc.

 

 

LUMINAIRES

  

Côté lumière, Fools Gold a ébloui avec son luminaire Lot1 à Milan, et qui fait naître une nouvelle catégorie: un luminaire qui ne se suspend pas, qui ne se place ni au sol ni sur une table, mais s'adosse légèrement et avec délicatesse contre un mur...  

Lors de l'évènement ICFF à New York en mai dernier, le designer Jonas Wagell a présenté une Wander Light, inspirée des lampes en papier orientales, et conçue comme la version la plus minimale possible d'une lanterne, mettant en avant un contraste noir et blanc qui nous ravie.

Et enfin, rattrapant l'avancée technologique à grands pas, on a également découvert la lampe portative Empatia d'Artemide, une source LED que l'on recharge via câble USB. Nous voilà enfin dans une dimension du futur, où les câbles auraient enfin - partiellement - disparus.

 

 

 ARCHITECTURE

 

En architecture aussi, l'inspiration est au noir et blanc. Epuré, simple et intelligent, l'Hôtel Mono a vu le jour récemment à Singapour. Fruit de l'inspiration monochromatique du studio local Spacedge, ce lieu a gardé son charme et son style colonial tout en devenant le temple du style contemporain. Un lieu de séjour surprenant...

Cela nous rappelle l'innovant projet du studio portugais Amatam, qui créait Krush it, enfin une salle de fitness toute de noire vêtue. Un intérieur intriguant, à la fois intimiste et proche de l'esprit night-club mis en place de toute évidence pour attirer le visiteur. Un jeu de textures intéressant jonglant entre les froids, les chauds, les mates et les brillants. 

 

 

Vous voulez plus d'inspirations noir et blanc? Rendez-vous sur Pinterest!

 

 ➡ N'oubliez pas de LIKER et de PARTAGER cet article si vous avez aimé. Un petit geste pour vous, un grand soutien pour Husk!

M E R C I

Couverture: Studio Nendo, Invisible Outlines

 

 

Chloé Valette

Comment on Facebook