TREND: Yellow and Gold

.

 

Yellow and Gold, contrary to what one might believe, are not diametrically opposed. Admittedly, one is a color, the other a material. But the fine line that separates them is worth studying, because Yellow is Gold and Gold is Yellow, right? Decoding of an interior trend that tends to rub off on objects...

 

Nothing is comparable to the way yellow returns light. Unlike the other colors, it seems to be the light source itself, as the procured effect is so intense. The gold, of course, is able to increase this sensation with real reflective properties. Gold encompasses light, rounded it and makes it softer so that it appears to us to be of a superior quality.

This is the effect of venturing into the showroom den of NORMANN COPENHAGEN (photos 2 and 3), changed from an intense pink to a powerful yellow and gold set renamed for the occasion: Yellow Is The New Pink

 

In fact, it is in a space where aluminum resonates with Yellow and Gold, that the Danish publisher has disseminated here and there its famous pieces and latest collection. In perfect harmony with the branding: adventurous, comfortable, avant-garde but also timeless, these tones rather connoted 70's are embellished and attractive to the eye.

In the same way, the Canadian architect JEAN VERVILLE (Photos 1, 6 and 7), gives life to a raw space thanks to simple but gilded architectural volumes. It is between sophistication and abstraction that this place comes to life, despite a very minimal action from the architect. The first and domestic function of an apartment disappears, the giant gold bars being arranged so that in this ordinary space, art and architecture take over.

 

But what undoubtedly produces the maximum impact of a yellow and gold interior is the fact that they are confused, that these shades blur the tracks in order to become only one, and associating them in a monochrome scene reveals them for sure. Mix the color and the material, the usual and the luxurious, is certainly not without risk, and only the most daring architects will know how to master this duality. But as Sabine Larsen said, Design & Concept Developer at Normann Copenhagen

 

"We are seeing a trend in interior that is moving towards darker colors and warmer shades." - Sabine Larsen

 

In addition, you can't have missed the increasing power of these tones at the objects scale during the last events, as during the London Design Week where the work of SAMUEL REIS (vase above) and ENEIDA TAVARES (vase below) among others have emerged as the undeniable succession of the Yellow and Gold trend dressed in glass... 

 

 

 ➡ Please do not forget to LIKE and SHARE!

T H A N K S

Sources: Normann Copenhagen, Yatzer (Jean Verville Apartment)

 

Chloé Valette

TENDANCE: de Jaune et d'Or

.

 

Le jaune et l'or, contrairement à ce que l'on pourrait croire, ne sont pas diamétralement opposés. Certes l'un est une couleur, l'autre un matériau. Mais la fine frontière qui les sépare vaut le coup d'être étudiée, car le jaune est d'or et l'or est jaune, n'est ce pas? Decryptage d'une tendance d'intérieur qui tend à déteindre sur les objets...

 

Rien n'est comparable à la façon dont le jaune renvoie la lumière. Contrairement aux autres couleurs, il parait lui-même être la source lumineuse, tant l'effet procuré est intense. L'or, bien évidemment, est lui capable de décupler cette sensation grâce à de réelles propriétés réfléchissantes. L'or englobe la lumière, l'arrondi, la rend plus douce afin qu'elle nous paraisse d'une qualité supérieure.

Tel est l'effet produit lorsque l'on s'aventure dans l'antre du showroom de NORMANN COPENHAGEN (photos 2 et 3), passé d'un rose intense à un ensemble jaune et or puissant rebaptisé pour l'occasion: Yellow Is The New Pink

 

En effet, c'est dans un espace ou l'aluminium entre en résonance avec le jaune et l'or, que l'éditeur Danois a disséminé ça et là les pièces phares de sa collection. En adéquation parfaite avec l'image de la marque: aventureuse, confortable, avant-gardiste mais aussi intemporelle, ces tonalités plutôt connotées années 70 se trouvent embellies et sont attrayantes à l'oeil.

De la même façon, l'architecte canadien JEAN VERVILLE (photos 1, 6 et 7), fait vivre un espace brut grâce à des volumes architecturaux simples mais dorés. C'est entre sophistication et abstraction que ce lieu prend vie, malgré une intervention finalement très minimale de l'architecte. La fonction première et domestique d'un appartement disparaît, les lingots d'or géants étant disposés de sorte que dans cet espace ordinaire,  l'art et l'architecture prennent le dessus.

 

Mais ce qui produit sans nul doute l'impact maximum d'un intérieur jaune et or, c'est le fait qu'on les confonde, que ces nuances brouillent les pistes afin de ne devenir qu'un, et que les associer sous forme d'un tableau monochrome permet de les révéler. Mélanger la couleur et le matériau, l'usuel et le standing, ce n'est certainement pas sans risques, et seuls les architectes les plus audacieux sauront maîtriser cette dualité. Mais comme le disait Sabine Larsen, Design & Concept Developer de Normann Copenhagen

 

"We are seeing a trend in interior that is moving towards darker colors and warmer shades." - Sabine Larsen

 

De plus, il ne vous aura pas échappé la montée en puissance de ces tonalités à l'échelle des objets lors des derniers évènements, comme lors de la London Design Week où le travail de SAMUEL REIS (vase ci-dessus) et ENEIDA TAVARES (vase ci-dessous) entre autres sont apparus comme la relève indéniable de la tendance jaune et or vêtue de verre... 

 

 

 ➡ N'oubliez pas de LIKER et de PARTAGER!

M E R C I

Sources: Normann Copenhagen, Yatzer (Jean Verville appartement)

 

Chloé Valette