Now Reading:

Retail: Ace & Tate, the Optics Revolution by OS and OOS

Retail: Ace & Tate, the Optics Revolution by OS and OOS

Retail: Ace & Tate, the Optics Revolution by OS and OOS

.

 

Forget everything you know about optical shops. Has Eindhoven, the optcial brand ACE & TATE Revolutionizes the world of sunglasses as sun, proposing a trendy collection designed and manufactured to The Netherlands, and at a lower cost. And it's all natural at the local studio OS and OOS that the brand has entrusted the design of its latest shop in the district of Nieuwe Emmasingel.

 

Ace - Tate store, Eindhoven by studio OS and OOS

It was last June, not far from the Design Academy Eindhoven and in a growing area, the Ace & Tate boutique designed by the studio OS and OOS Opened its doors... The meeting of this brand shattering the sales codes but also presentation of the optical products with the creative duo of Concepts was probably an obvious one. Indeed Os and Oos – Composed of Sophie Mensen and Oskar Peet – likes to think of the notion of concept in the broad sense, before bringing it back to a certain balance between forms, materials, environment and users.

 

Ace - Tate store, Eindhoven by studio OS and OOS
Ace - Tate store, Eindhoven by studio OS and OOS

For the purpose of rationalization, the guideline that guides designers is a ôde to minimalism. Their design projects likeInterior Design projects Are the very symbol of the purification. Here, the simplicity of the metal structures – A glance at the city's industrial architectural structures- Sharing space give airs of exhibition scenography, in all simplicity. First of all, it would be easy to think that the work comes mostly from lighting, but it is not. The duo has applied to echo the originality of the concept ofAce & Tate, especially thanks to the materials used. Thus, more or less imposing grids of bent metal make up a space between play of shadow and light, transparency, intimacy or common place.

 

Ace - Tate store, Eindhoven by studio OS and OOS
Ace - Tate store, Eindhoven by studio OS and OOS

Finally, the duo has cleverly disseminated a few strong colors That you discover as you visit. In contrast with the raw metal, some central Claustras are lacquered with a powerful and modern orange, which gives the whole space an interesting reading rhythm. A priori insignificant spaces in the course of the route – Sanitary and Cash desk – are also painted with a bright and surprising Klein blue. 

This alternation between neutral and pronounced colors and play of full and voids disturb the perception that one has of the shop, which from a certain angle, seems entirely transparent. The place is also punctuated by the consultations: indeed, When an eye examination is underway, the polycarbonate cubes are closed by a curtain and, when not used, their materiality is then revealed.

 

Ace - Tate store, Eindhoven by studio OS and OOS
Ace - Tate store, Eindhoven by studio OS and OOS
Ace - Tate store, Eindhoven by studio OS and OOS

 

Photographs: Jeroen van der Wielen

 

 ➡ Please do not forget to LIKE and SHARE this article!

T H A N K S

 

Input your search keywords and press Enter.

RETAIL: Ace & Tate, la révolution de l'optique par OS and OOS

.

 

Oubliez tout ce que vous savez sur les boutiques d'optique. A Eindhoven, la marque ACE & TATE révolutionne l'univers des lunettes de vue comme de soleil, en proposant une collection tendance dessinée et fabriquée aux Pays-Bas, et à moindre frais. Et c'est tout naturellement au studio local OS and OOS que la marque a confié le design de sa dernière boutique dans le quartier de Nieuwe Emmasingel.

 

C'est en juin dernier, non loin de la Design Academy Eindhoven et dans un quartier en pleine expansion, que la boutique Ace & Tate réalisée par le studio OS and OOS a ouvert ses portes... La rencontre de cette marque bouleversant les codes de vente mais aussi de présentation des produits optiques avec le duo créateur de concepts était probablement une évidence. En effet Os and Oos - composé de Sophie Mensen et Oskar Peet - se plaît à penser à la notion de concept au sens large, avant de le ramener à un équilibre certain entre formes, matériaux, environnement et biensûr utilisateurs.

 

Dans un but de rationalisation, la ligne directrice qui guide les designers est une ôde au minimalisme. Leurs projets de design comme d'architecture intérieure sont le symbole même de l'épure. Ici, la simplicité des structures métalliques un clin d'œil aux structures architecturales industrielles de la ville - partageant l'espace donnent des airs de scénographie d'exposition, en toute simplicité. De premier abord, il serait facile de penser que le travail vient surtout de l'éclairage, mais il n'en est rien. Le duo s'est appliqué à faire écho à l'originalité du concept d'Ace & Tate, notamment grâce aux matériaux utilisés. Ainsi, des grilles plus ou moins imposantes en métal plié composent à elles seules un espace entre jeu d'ombre et de lumière, transparence, intimité ou lieu commun.

 

Enfin, le duo a savamment disséminé quelques couleurs fortes que l'on découvre au fur et à mesure de la visite. En constraste avec le métal brut, certains claustras centraux sont laqués d'un orange puissant et moderne, qui donne à l'espace tout entier un rythme de lecture intéressant. Des espaces a priori insignifiants dans le déroulement du parcours - sanitaires et comptoir-caisse - sont également peints d'un bleu Klein vif et surprenant. 

Cette alternance entre couleurs neutres et prononcées et jeu de pleins et de vides troublent la perception que l'on a de la boutique, qui sous un certain angle, paraît entièrement transparente. Le lieu est également rythmé par les consultations: en effet, lorsqu'un examen oculaire est en cours, les cubes en polycarbonate sont fermés par un rideau et, lorsqu'ils ne sont pas utilisés, leur matérialité en est alors révélée.

 

 

Photographies: Jeroen van der Wielen

 

 ➡ N'oubliez pas de LIKER et de PARTAGER cet article!

M E R C I

 

Chloé Valette