Now Reading:

GET THE LOOK # 3 - Patricia Urquiola's way

Room Mate Giulia Hotel / Milan / Design Patricia Urquiola

 

 

The number of hotels designed by famous architects or designers where we would like to spend the night. But most of the time, these places make us pay for the trendy aspect of the place as well as the name that signed it... In other words, unaffordable. 

 

The hotel organisation Room Mate offers exceptional places at an unprecedented price-performance ratio. Anyway, do not expect to pay less than 235€ per night, but to sleep in a room made 100% by one of the most famous female designer of our time, it's a deal!

 

Let's talk in detail about this gorgeous Giulia Hotel, designed by Patricia Urquiola from floor to ceiling. Located in the heart of Milan, this 85-room hotel is inspired by the colours of Milanese interiors and the lines of the Bauhaus with a touch of vintage (yes, all that!)

 

 

"It's new, fresh, fun and welcoming."

           Patricia Urquiola

 

 

Let's see in detail how to remake our room, as if Urquiola was there:

 

hotel milan patricia urquiola

Room Mate Giulia Hotel, room - Patricia Urquiola

 

The wall coverings: In my opinion, an orange Marigold.209 by FARROW&BALL would be pretty good. Choose it in matte finish, to get this warm and powdered effect.

Apparently, CASSINA CONTRACT was responsible for overseeing all custom elements such as: bed, bedside tables, storage systems, ottomans, elements composing the bathroom and blackout curtains. So, hard to get them...

 

+ BUT, about curtainstwo similar collections are interesting. First, Creative Concept by NYA NORDISKAwhich allows you to add a transparent graphic pattern above any colored curtain. Second, Satellite, by KVADRAT. We love these little dots creating a great effect !

+ BUT, because I would never end of praising FERM LIVING, (I have to mention them ), the Gridcurtain will perfectly fit in my opinion.

 

The sofa: Of course designed by Patricia Urquiola, here's the couch Love (Me) Tender by MOROSO. Created in 2014, this modulable sitting system (you can compose your sofa or simply opt for the Meridian version) is still a must have. Two side tables have also been specially designed to be associated with this model. I love the style of the armrests. Available in Steelcut, Steelcut Trio, Divina and Divina fabrics by KVADRAT.

The coffee table: This beautiful copper table with marble top is from the table collection Meshedited by KETTAL. Again, coming straight from the imagination of Patricia Urquiola, this collection finds its place both in inside and outside. The trays are available in theses diameters: 48, 60, 90 and 135 cm, and in green marble, aluminum or teak top finish. 

The Lounge Chair: With these stitching effect which reminds us the leaf spirit, it isn't surprising that its name is Foliage. Edited by KARTELL in an impressive number of fabrics and color frames. This chair would fit as well in the intimacy of a bedroom as a lounge place. I never gave it a try but it looks very comfy.

The reading lamp: After days of searching for it (not 100% of the time, but I finally found it several times!), I FINALLY found the right track: I say "track" because I didn't find the product itself, which was obviously made to measure for the project. However, I did find the brand MARSET and the collection Polo, which takes place in many rooms (see more pictures of the project, it's the small office and the black lacquered floor lamp). 

 

+ BUT, to fill you up anyway on the walls, I found a very similar model in our beloved Swedish brand ORSJO. They offer the wall lights Minipoint, I'm not sure that it is brass but I found that the similarity is rather meaningful and of quality.

 

Sconce: Same thing here, unfortunately I have not found the original... However it is not difficult to substitute this wall light with the AJ Wall, by LOUIS POULSEN. Its retro style is accentuated and this always makes the difference.

The rug: Yes it's true you don't see much on the image! But just to tell you that the brand behind the lobby rug (scratched pattern just like the curtains), is actually GAN. Patricia Urquiola created for them the collection BandasThis allows for the purchase of a carpet. Urquiolian rug ", almost similar to the custom-made one done for the project.

 

 

And here you are, a very rich in furniture references project! I hope you found that useful!

 

  ➡ Please do not forget to LIKE and SHARE if you like this post ! One small step for you, a big one for me ! 

T H A N K S

 

PS: Some brands are not listed here because the furniture do not appears in this picture. Here are other brands that were involved in the project: Andreu World, DePadova, Cassina,Viccarbe, Verywood, Glas Italia, Flos, Oluce, Servomuto, Agape.

Source: DesignCurial

Originally posted 2016-07-10 16:28:17.

Written by

Chloé founded Huskdesignblog in 2016. Ever since, she is decoding every nook and cranny to find the best interiors and furniture ideas for her beloved readers and followers, eager for beautiful things.

Input your search keywords and press Enter.

Room Mate, Hôtel Giulia / Milan / Design Patricia Urquiola

 

 

On ne compte plus les hôtels réalisés par de célèbres architectes ou designers où l'on aimerait bien passer la nuit. Seulement voilà, la plupart du temps, ces endroits nous font payer l'aspect branché du lieu ainsi que le nom qui l'a signé... Autant dire inabordable. 

 

La chaîne d'hôtels Room Mate propose des endroits d'exception aux tarifs qui tendent à défier la concurrence. Comptez quand-même à minima 235€ la nuit, mais bon, pour dormir dans du 100% Urquiola, le deal est conclu !

 

Parlons donc en détail de ce superbe Hôtel Giulia, revêtu du style et du mobilier signé Patricia Urquiola du sol au plafond. Situé en plein coeur de Milan, cet hôtel de 85 chambres s'inspire des couleurs des intérieurs milanais et des lignes du Bauhaus avec une touche de vintage ( oui, tout ça ! )

 

“It’s new, fresh, fun and welcoming.”

           Patricia Urquiola

 

Voyons en détail comment refaire sa chambre, comme si urquiola y était:

 

hotel milan patricia urquiola
Hôtel Giulia, chambre - Patricia Urquiola

 

La couleur des murs: D'après moi, un orange Marigold.209 de chez FARROW&BALL serait plutôt pas mal. Prenez le en finition matte, l'histoire d'obtenir cet effet chaud et poudré.

Apparemment CASSINA CONTRACT s'est chargé de superviser tous les éléments sur-mesure à savoir: le lit, les tables de chevet, les systèmes de rangement, les poufs, les éléments de salle de bain et les rideaux occultants. Dur dur donc de se les procurer...

 

+ MAIS, pour les rideaux, deux collections dans le même esprit sont intéressantes. Premièrement la collection Creative Concept de NYA NORDISKA, qui permet d'ajouter un voile quadrillé devant n'importe quel rideau uni. Deuxièmement Satellite, de KVADRAT, on adore ces petites points créant un super effet faux-uni !

+ MAIS, étant donné que je n'en finirait jamais d'encenser FERM LIVING, autant les citer clairement. Leur papier-peint rayé Grid, fera à mon avis plus que l'affaire.

 

Le canapé: Il s'agit bien d'une pièce dessinée par Patricia Urquiola: voici le canapé Love (Me) Tender de MOROSO. Dessiné en 2014, ce système d'assise modulable ( on peut composer son canapé ou simplement opter pour la version méridienne ) est toujours au goût du jour. Deux petites tables basses ont également été spécialement dessinées pour s'associer avec ce modèle. J'adore le style des accoudoirs ! Disponibles dans les tissus Steelcut, Steelcut Trio, Divina et Divina Melange de KVADRAT.

La table basse: Cette jolie table cuivrée au plateau marbre est issue de la collection de tables Mesh, éditée par KETTAL. Encore une fois tout droit sortie de l'imagination de Patricia Urquiola, cette collection trouve sa place autant en intérieur qu'en extérieur. Diamètres des plateaux disponible: 48, 60, 90 et 135 cm, et finitions en marbre, aluminium ou teak écologique. 

Le fauteuil: Avec ces surpiqûres effet feuille, il n'est pas étonnant qu'il se nomme Foliage. Disponible chez KARTELL dans un nombre impressionant de tissus et de coloris pour les piètements. Ce fauteuil s'accordera aussi bien avec l'intimité d'une chambre que la convivialité d'un salon. Je ne l'ai jamais essayé mais il a l'air très confortable.

La lampe de lecture: Après des jours passés à sa recherche ( pas 100% du temps mais enfin je m'y suis bien prise à plusieurs fois ! ), j'ai ENFIN trouvé la bonne piste: je dis "piste" car je n'ai pas trouvé le produit en lui-même qui visiblement, a été fait sur mesure pour le projet. En revanche, il s'agit de la marque MARSET et de la collection Polo, qui prend place en tant que telle dans certaines chambres ( voir d'autres photos du projet, il s'agit de la petit lampe de bureau et du lampadaire laqués noir ). 

 

+ MAIS, pour vous rassasier quand-même concernant l'applique, j'ai trouvé un modèle très similaire chez nos amis Suédois de la marque ORSJO. Ils proposent l'applique Minipoint, je ne suis pas sûre qu'elle existe en laiton mais je trouve que la similitude est plutôt parlante et la qualité plutôt au rendez-vous.

 

L'applique: Idem, je n'ai malheureusement pas retrouvé l'originale... En revanche il n'est pas difficile de substituer cette applique contre la AJ Wall, de LOUIS POULSEN. Son côté rétro est d'autant plus accentué et elle fait toujours de l'effet.

Le tapis: Oui c'est vrai on ne voit pas grand chose concernant l'image choisie ! Tout ça pour vous communiquer la marque qui a fourni le tapis du lobby d'accueil ( motifs rayés comme les rideaux ). Il s'agit de GAN. Patricia Urquiola a notamment créé pour eux la collection Bandas, ce qui permet de se procurer un tapis "urquiolien", presque similaire à celui ( fait sur-mesure ) de ce projet.

 

Et voilà, encore un projet riche en références ! J'espère qu'il vous sera utile !

  ➡ N'oubliez pas de LIKER et de PARTAGER si vous avez aimé ! Un petit pas pour vous, un très grand pour moi ! 

M E R CI

 

PS: certaines marques ne sont pas citées ici car le mobilier concerné n'apparait pas sur cette photo. Voici donc quelques autres marques qui ont participé au projet: Andreu World, DePadova, Cassina,Viccarbe, Verywood, Glas Italia, Flos, Oluce, Servomuto, Agape.

Source: DesignCurial,

Chloé Valette