Now Reading:
DESIGNER: Johan Viladrich brings to light the invisible

DESIGNER: Johan Viladrich brings to light the invisible

DESIGNER: Johan Viladrich brings to light the invisible

.

 

French designer Johan Viladrich works on heavy and massive materials, and highlights their binding elements. Like a goldsmith, he attaches as much importance to the final appearance of his pieces as to the "mechanism" for making them exist. Decryption of a beautiful association.

 

The designer Johan Viladrich reveals the details and connections of the furniture he designs.
The designer Johan Viladrich reveals the details and connections of the furniture he designs.
The designer Johan Viladrich reveals the details and connections of the furniture he designs.
The designer Johan Viladrich reveals the details and connections of the furniture he designs.

Johan Viladrich does not hide the elements that allow him to stand his work. On the contrary, he displays them and puts them on stage in order to make them an integral part of the furniture he designs. Thus, bolts and straps become more than manufacturing details, but intrinsic elements that combine with the main object to form a whole. 

The RB02 Bench is probably the centerpiece of the collection, because it is by putting tension strips of flexible plastic between the bases and the metal seat, that the shape of a bench is drawn... This principle of tension, or rather the fact of finding that the whole is about a detail, is a constant in the projects of Johan Viladrich.

 

The designer Johan Viladrich reveals the details and connections of the furniture he designs.
The designer Johan Viladrich reveals the details and connections of the furniture he designs.
The designer Johan Viladrich reveals the details and connections of the furniture he designs.
The designer Johan Viladrich reveals the details and connections of the furniture he designs.

In addition, the designer attributes a common purpose to the bench but also to the RS02 shelf and the RT01 table: that of appearing as parts devoid of any superfluous elements. A pure design with essential forms is indeed the master words that characterise the aesthetic and refined vision of Johan Viladrich.

The composition of the RS02 shelf is based on brutalism, just like the RB02 Bench. The materials and joints between the threaded rods and the iridescent steel plates of the latter recalls the structure of a building on another scale. Primary and intense first-view associations where the mass of the materials that weigh on the connections is almost perceived. The RT01 table, with a more moderate design, nevertheless reinforces the designer's position as to the importance of each detail to create a perfect balance.

 

The designer Johan Viladrich reveals the details and connections of the furniture he designs.

 

 

Johan Viladrich is currently exposed at the ToolsGalerie in Paris until April 7.

119 rue Vieille du Temple

75003 Paris, France

 

 ➡ Be awesome, LIKE and SHARE!

T H A N K S

 

Written by

Chloé founded Huskdesignblog in 2016. Ever since, she is decoding every nook and cranny to find the best interiors and furniture ideas for her beloved readers and followers, eager for beautiful things.

Input your search keywords and press Enter.

DESIGNER: Johan Viladrich met en lumière l’invisible

.

 

Le designer français Johan Viladrich travaille des matériaux lourds et imposants, et met en lumière les éléments de liaison qui les lient. Tel un orfèvre, il accorde autant d’importance à l’aspect final de ses pièces qu’au “mécanisme” permettant de les faire exister. Décryptage d’une belle association.

 

Le designer Johan Viladrich révèle les détails et les connections du mobilier qu'il conçoit.
Le designer Johan Viladrich révèle les détails et les connections du mobilier qu'il conçoit.
Le designer Johan Viladrich révèle les détails et les connections du mobilier qu'il conçoit.
Le designer Johan Viladrich révèle les détails et les connections du mobilier qu'il conçoit.

Johan Viladrich ne cache pas les éléments lui permettant de faire tenir l’ensemble de son travail. Au contraire, il les affiche et les met en scène afin d’en faire une part intégrante du mobilier qu’il conçoit. Ainsi, boulons et lanières deviennent plus que des détails de fabrication, mais bien des éléments intrinsèques qui s’allient à l’objet principal pour former un tout. 

Le banc RB02 est probablement la pièce maîtresse de la collection, car c’est en mettant en tension des lanières en matière plastique souple entre les piètements et l’assise en métal, que la forme d’un banc se dessine… Ce principe de tension, ou plutôt le fait de constater que le tout tient à un détail, est une constante dans les projets de Johan Viladrich.

 

Le designer Johan Viladrich révèle les détails et les connections du mobilier qu'il conçoit.
Le designer Johan Viladrich révèle les détails et les connections du mobilier qu'il conçoit.
Le designer Johan Viladrich révèle les détails et les connections du mobilier qu'il conçoit.
Le designer Johan Viladrich révèle les détails et les connections du mobilier qu'il conçoit.

De plus, le designer attribut un but commun au banc mais aussi à l’étagère RS02 et à la table RT01: celui d’apparaître comme des pièces dénuées de tout élément superflus. Un design pure aux formes essentielles sont en effet les maîtres mots qui caractérisent la vision esthétique et raffinée de Johan Viladrich.

La composition de l’étagère RS02 s’inspire du brutalisme, tout comme le banc RB02. Les matériaux et assemblages entre tiges filetées et plaques d’acier irisé de cette dernière rappelle la structure d’un bâtiment, à une autre échelle. Des associations à première vues primaires et intenses où l’on perçoit presque le poids des matériaux qui pèsent sur les connections. La table RT01, au design plus modéré, renforce néanmoins la position du designer quant à l’importance de chaque détail pour créer un ensemble à l’équilibre parfait.

 

Le designer Johan Viladrich révèle les détails et les connections du mobilier qu'il conçoit.

 

 

Johan Viladrich est actuellement exposé à la ToolsGalerie à Paris jusqu’au 7 avril.

119 rue Vieille du Temple

75003 Paris, France

 

 ➡ Be awesome, LIKE and SHARE!

M E R C I