Now Reading:
With Cassiom, design is finally taking inspiration from the outer space

With Cassiom, design is finally taking inspiration from the outer space

The Cosmos, the stars, fascinate us, and with the technological advances that allow us to go further in their knowledge and exploration, all humanity has its eye on what is happening beyond Earth. A completely alien world, but also one of all possibilities and of great poetry. Design, from time to time, has naturally drawn inspiration from this. In 2019, the astronomy enthusiast Florent Le Scornet had the idea of creating French-made celestial objects and using design to connect and raise awareness of outer space. Interview and presentation of the visionary brand Cassiom, which has brilliantly combined technology with the notion of collection design.

 

Design luminaire, celestial inspiration, Cassiom

Constellation, porcelain sculpture, by the French designer Ludovic Roth for Cassiom
Design luminaire, celestial inspiration, Cassiom

 

Chloe Valletta for Huskdesignblog: Hello, Florent! You are the founder of Cassiom, a French brand that reflects both your passion for the cosmos and beautiful objects, but also the desire to make French craftsmanship work, whilst emphasizing very poetic values such as transgenerational transmission... Can you introduce yourself and tell us more about the genesis of Cassiom?

Florent Le Scornet, founder of Cassiom: Hello, Chloe! I've been passionate about astronomy since childhood. The beauty and mysteries of the sky have always fascinated me. But it was during an unusual trip on a container ship, off the coast of Crete, that I had like a flash of inspiration, a kind of call from the open sea mixed with the magic of the sky and I would say that... the stars inspired me to embark on the Cassiom adventure. It was really at that time that I made the decision to create innovative objects, never seen before, related to the Cosmos, the sky, and the great discoveries. My first objective was really educational with the desire to share knowledge and make it accessible to the greatest number.

 

Florent Le Scornet, founder of Cassiom
Ludovic Roth, French designer for Cassiom

Florent Le Scornet, founder - Ludovic Roth, designer

 

C.V: To create some of your products, such as the data sculptures called Constellations, you called upon French designer Ludovic Roth. How did you make this choice? A chance encounter, a real interest in his work?

F.L.S: As I said earlier, my first ideas were "didactic", so I made functional prototypes; everything worked but, really (laughs)... they were not beautiful at all! When I started the project, I knew that I had to entrust the next phase to professionals. So naturally, I turned to several designers; Virginie, my wife, had spotted Ludovic's work and I must say that we immediately had good chemistry; he is sensitive to the beauty of the stars, and it was a crucial factor.

And of course, his achievements and style spoke for him but it was his interest in the subject that triggered our collaboration in the first place. I have no regrets, on the contrary. He helps me to understand how one starts from an idea and moves towards a creative process.

C.V: How did this collaboration and the design process go? What about the choice of materials?

F.L.S: From my ideas, my 'models' and my sketches, Ludovic Roth introduced me to potential object variations: it was then that I realized that these ideas, through Ludovic's drawing, could find a wider and different audience than the one of astronomers and children, which I had initially thought of.  The day of this presentation will remain one of the most memorable days of my life, almost like the birth of a 1er child! The choice of models, variations and materials was then the result of a process and a collaboration that continues and is always on the move!

 

Design glass coffee table, design Ludovic Roth for Cassiom

Constellation, paperweight in Limoges Porcelain, by the French designer Ludovic Roth for Cassiom
Design luminaire, celestial inspiration, Cassiom

 

C.V: What do you want to transmit, to communicate, to leave to the world through these objects whose subjects of inspiration, namely astrology, and the cosmos, are, it is true, unusual?

F.L.S: Uncommon, yes and no: the stars are those "things in the sky" that bring people together; they are the origin of all our beliefs and also of our hopes, and above all they are the same for everyone! Whether you are in China, Europe or Alaska, you share the same sky (well, almost)! But it is true that, in our daily lives, the beauty of the Cosmos is not very present, especially in cities where we can no longer see the sky and even less so the starry night because it is polluted by the lights. 

As a result, re-appropriating the sky thanks to objects that surround us is certainly something new, unheard of and rare. It is really this lack that I wanted to fill: apart from the traditional terrestrial globes, very few objects are inspired by celestial beauties. With my collections, I wish to bring a poetic, original and timeless vision, creating, perhaps, a new current, linking astronomy and design. Unconsciously, there is no doubt the influence of films like 2001 A Space Odyssey where aesthetics and staging play a major role. 

C.V: What is your vision of this theme in design: will it, should it develop?

F.L.S: I can't tell if it will develop, but yes, it should! I think that at this very moment, a new impulse in the conquest of space is taking place; it is the right timing for the world of design, but also the world of art, to appropriate this new frontier of human evolution. Today, everything pushes us to look further.

 

Constellation, porcelain sculpture, by the French designer Ludovic Roth for Cassiom
Design luminaire, celestial inspiration, Cassiom

 

C.V: All Cassiom objects have been validated by the scientific community. Could you tell us more about the link between scientific facts and discoveries and design in the development of your collection? 

F.L.S: For me, it was essential to have the validation of the scientific community. I thank theFrench Astronomical Association for his first-day support. My objects also aim to question great scientific discoveries. We are living in a very exceptional period in human history: until recently, the general public has been able to applaud and discover almost live, the first real film of an object landing on the surface of Mars. It's a giant step, in the true sense of the word, it's "extraordinary"! In addition to that, it was also important to me to reconcile astronomers and astrologers thanks to universalist objects. 

The signs of the zodiac, dear to astrologers, have a scientific reality and it is only recently that we have been able to know with precision the distances of the stars composing these illustrious constellations. That's really what inspired me for the collection Constellation. After all, we're all a bit of stardust. It's magic, isn't it? For the collection Lux Tempora, I clearly wanted to pay tribute to the exploration of our solar system. Of course, the Lux Tempora can be considered as original lighting fixtures, but they are also astronomical clocks.

For the very first time, it's the occasion to show the speed of light thanks to objects, and I'm very proud of it. Although it is a bit technical, they are intended for interior decoration! No need to be called Elon Musk to have one in your living room and you don't even have to go to the museum anymore. Everything you need to know is there, in front of your eyes, it's beautiful. It's a real story to tell. That's also why our collection is related to the decorative art and that we call upon the know-how of French craftsmen.

 

Design luminaire, celestial inspiration, Cassiom

 

C.V: You really want to make French craftsmanship work for the best it has to offer in terms of quality for the manufacture of Cassiom objects. How are your various partnerships with artisans going? What struck you the most?

F.L.S: I discovered a universe I never knew existed. Coming from the world of a multinational company, I took the plunge! First of all, they are passionate and exciting men and women. By going to meet them, I wanted to make them want to think outside the box and, in the end, to take risks. This is what happened with Ludovic and all my interlocutors, craftsmen, such as the ceramist in Limoges, the cabinetmaker in the Gard, the foundryman in Auvergne, or a jewel of French technology in the Paris area, all without exception, have responded.  I'm really happy.

C.V: Although the release of Cassiom could not take place as planned in 2020 due to the exceptional health conditions, what was the reception given to your brand so far? Is a typical customer profile already being felt? Do you have a specific target?

F.L.S: Indeed, it is a very frustrating period because I see it every day, Cassiom objects are, for me, above all, a meeting. By seeing, understanding, or touching the objects, you just yield! I share the little spark of happiness with anyone who discovers a Lux Tempora or a Constellation! I already have some great stories to tell. That being said, I am convinced that the digital encounter can be made. These are different tools and ways of working, but they are essential, it will probably take longer, but I have great faith in it.

Part of the reason is that Cassiom objects are universalist, without language or border constraints. They are intended for everyone, from astronomers to dreamers or collectors. They are objects that can become very personal and tell a beautiful human adventure with a touch of dream. And YES, they are transgenerational objects, bearers of hope.

 

Constellation, paperweight in Limoges Porcelain, by the French designer Ludovic Roth for Cassiom

Sculpture Constellation in homage to the Cosmos, by the French designer Ludovic Roth
Design luminaire, celestial inspiration, Cassiom

C.V: What are your short and long term plans?

F.L.S: In the short term, my ambition is of course to sell! In the long term, I would like to be able to develop concepts that are still in the draft stage but also to offer more latitude to the artists with whom I collaborate.

C.V: What can we wish you?

F.L.S: An alignment of planets favorable to Cassiom's growth!

 

 

Thanks to Florent Le Scornet for his time and his trust!

Find out Cassiom 's products on our online store

 

LIKE and SHARE!

T H A N K S

Written by

Chloé founded Huskdesignblog in 2016. Ever since, she is decoding every nook and cranny to find the best interiors and furniture ideas for her beloved readers and followers, eager for beautiful things.

Input your search keywords and press Enter.

Now Reading:
Cassiom, le design enfin inspiré du Cosmos

Cassiom, le design enfin inspiré du Cosmos

Le Cosmos, les astres, nous passionnent et nous fascinent, et avec les avancées technologiques nous permettant d’aller plus loin dans leur connaissance et leur exploration, c’est l’humanité toute entière qui a désormais l’oeil braqué sur ce qui se passe au-delà de la Terre. Soit un monde totalement étranger, mais aussi celui de tous les possibles et d’une grande poésie. Le design, ponctuellement, en a naturellement tiré inspiration. Jusqu’à ce qu’en 2019, le passionné d’astronomie Florent Le Scornet ait l’idée de créer des objets célestes de manufacture française et d’utiliser le design afin de connecter et sensibiliser les Hommes à l’univers spatial. Interview et présentation de la marque visionnaire Cassiom, qui a su avec brio allier la tech à la notion de design de collection.

 

Luminaire design, inspiration céleste, Cassiom

Constellation, sculpture en porcelaine, par le designer français Ludovic Roth pour Cassiom
Luminaire design, inspiration céleste, Cassiom

 

Chloé Valette pour Huskdesignblog: Bonjour Florent! Vous êtes le fondateur de Cassiom, une marque française qui traduit à la fois votre passion du cosmos, des beaux objets, le souci de faire fonctionner l’artisanat français mais aussi la mise en avant de valeurs très poétiques comme la transmission transgénérationnelle… Pouvez-vous vous présenter et nous en dire plus sur la genèse de Cassiom?

Florent Le Scornet, fondateur de Cassiom: Bonjour Chloé ! Je suis passionné d’astronomie depuis l’enfance. La beauté et les mystères du ciel m’ont toujours interpellé. Mais c’est à l’occasion d’un voyage insolite sur un porte-conteneurs, au large de la Crète, que j’ai eu comme un éclair, une sorte d’appel du grand large mêlé à la magie du ciel et je dirais que… les étoiles m’ont incité à me lancer dans l’aventure Cassiom. C’est vraiment à ce moment-là, que j’ai pris la décision de créer des objets innovants, jamais vus, en lien avec le Cosmos, le ciel et les grandes découvertes. Mon objectif premier était vraiment éducatif avec le désir de partager des connaissances et de les rendre accessibles au plus grand nombre.

 

Florent Le Scornet, fondateur de Cassiom
Ludovic Roth, designer français pour Cassiom

Florent Le Scornet, fondateur – Ludovic Roth, designer

 

C.V: Pour créer certains de vos produits, comme les data sculptures dites Constellations, vous avez fait appel au designer français Ludovic Roth. Comment avez-vous fait ce choix ? Le hasard d’une rencontre, un réel intérêt pour son travail ?

F.L.S: Comme je le disais tout à l’heure, mes premières idées étaient « didactiques », alors j’ai fabriqué des prototypes fonctionnels; tout marchait mais, vraiment (rire)… ils n’étaient pas beaux ! Je savais déjà en démarrant qu’il fallait que je confie la phase suivante à des professionnels. Donc tout naturellement, je me suis adressé à plusieurs designers; Virginie mon épouse avait repéré le travail de Ludovic et je dois dire que le courant est tout de suite passé avec lui; il est sensible à la beauté des astres, c’était un élément déterminant.

Et bien-sûr, ses réalisations et son style parlaient pour lui mais c’est d’abord son intérêt pour le sujet qui a déclenché notre collaboration. Je ne regrette rien, au contraire. Il m’aide à comprendre comment on part d’une idée pour aller vers un processus de création.

C.V: Comment s’est passée cette collaboration et le processus de design de la collection ? Et le choix des matériaux ?

F.L.S: A partir de mes idées, de mes ‘maquettes’ et de mes ébauches, Ludovic Roth m’a présenté des déclinaisons d’objets potentiels: c’est alors que j’ai pris conscience que ces idées, par le dessin de Ludovic, pouvaient trouver un public plus large et différent de celui des astronomes et des enfants, auquel j’avais pensé initialement.  Le jour de cette présentation restera l’un des plus marquants de ma vie, presque comme la naissance d’un 1er enfant ! Le choix des modèles, des déclinaisons et des matériaux a été ensuite le résultat d’un processus et d’une collaboration qui perdure et qui est toujours en mouvement !

 

Table basse en verre design, design Ludovic Roth pour Cassiom

Constellation, presse-papier en Porcelaine de Limoges, par le designer français Ludovic Roth pour Cassiom
Luminaire design, inspiration céleste, Cassiom

 

C.V: Qu’avez-vous envie de transmettre, de communiquer, de laisser au monde à travers ces objets dont les sujets d’inspiration, soit l’astrologie et le cosmos, sont, il est vrai, peu communs ?

F.L.S: Peu communs, oui et non: les astres sont ces « choses dans le ciel » qui rapprochent le plus les hommes; elles sont à l’origine de toutes nos croyances et aussi de nos espoirs, et surtout elles sont les mêmes pour tous ! Que vous soyez en Chine, en Europe ou en Alaska, vous partagez le même ciel (enfin presque)! Mais il est vrai que, dans notre vie quotidienne, la beauté du Cosmos est peu présente, surtout dans les villes où l’on ne voit plus le ciel et encore moins la nuit étoilée car elle est polluée par les éclairages. 

Du coup, se ré-approprier le ciel grâce à des objets qui nous entourent, c’est certain, c’est quelque chose de nouveau, d’inédit et de rare. C’est vraiment ce manque que je voulais combler: mis à part les traditionnels globes terrestres, très peu d’objets s’inspirent des beautés célestes. Avec mes collections, je souhaite apporter une vision poétique, inédite et intemporelle, en créant, peut-être, un nouveau courant, liant l’astronomie et le design. Inconsciemment, il y a sans doute l’influence de films comme 2001 l’Odyssée de l’Espace où l’esthétique et la mise en scène ont un rôle prépondérant. 

C.V: Quelle est votre vision de cette thématique en design : va-t-elle, doit-elle se développer?

F.L.S: Je ne saurais dire s’il elle va se développer, mais oui, elle le devrait ! Je pense qu’en ce moment-même, une nouvelle impulsion dans la conquête spatiale a lieu; c’est le bon timing pour que le monde du design, mais aussi celui des arts, s’approprient cette nouvelle frontière de l’évolution humaine. Tout, aujourd’hui, nous pousse à aller voir plus loin.

 

Constellation, sculpture en porcelaine, par le designer français Ludovic Roth pour Cassiom
Luminaire design, inspiration céleste, Cassiom

 

C.V: Tous les objets Cassiom ont été validés par la communauté scientifique. Pourriez-vous nous en dire plus sur le lien entre faits et découvertes scientifiques et design dans l’élaboration de votre collection ? 

F.L.S: Pour moi, il était primordial d’avoir la validation de la communauté scientifique. Je remercie l’Association Française d’Astronomie pour son soutien du premier jour. Mes objets ambitionnent aussi de s’interroger sur les grandes découvertes scientifiques. Nous vivons une période tout à fait exceptionnelle dans l’histoire humaine: encore récemment, le grand public a pu applaudir et découvrir presque en direct, le premier film réel d’un objet se posant sur la surface de Mars. C’est un pas de géant, dans le vrai sens du terme, c’est «extra-ordinaire» ! En plus de cela, il me tenait à cœur également de réconcilier les astronomes et les astrologues grâce à des objets universalistes. 

Les signes du zodiaque, chers aux astrologues ont une réalité scientifique et ce n’est que depuis très peu de temps que nous sommes capables de connaitre avec précision la distances des étoiles composant ces illustres constellations. C’est vraiment cela qui m’a inspiré pour la collection Constellation. Après tout, nous sommes tous un peu des poussières d’étoiles. C’est magique, non ? Pour la collection Lux Tempora, j’ai clairement voulu rendre hommage à l’exploration de notre système solaire. Evidemment, on peut considérer les Lux Tempora comme des luminaires originaux, mais ce sont aussi des horloges astronomiques.

Pour la toute première fois, c’est l’occasion de montrer, et çà j’en suis très fier, la vitesse de la lumière grâce à des objets, ok très techniques, mais qui sont destinés à la décoration intérieure ! Pas besoin de s’appeler Elon Musk pour en avoir un dans votre salon et vous n’avez même plus besoin d’aller au musée, tout est là, sous vos yeux, c’est beau. Et en plus, c’est une vraie histoire à raconter. C’est aussi pour cela que notre collection est du registre de l’art décoratif et que nous faisons appel au savoir-faire des artisans français.

 

Luminaire design, inspiration céleste, Cassiom

 

C.V: Vous avez la volonté de faire fonctionner l’artisanat français pour ce qu’il a de meilleur à offrir en matière de qualité pour la fabrication des objets Cassiom. Comment se passent vos différents partenariats avec les artisans d’art? Qu’en retenez-vous?

F.L.S: J’ai découvert un univers dont j’ignorais l’existence. Moi qui venais du monde de la multinationale, c’est le grand saut ! Ce sont d’abord des hommes et des femmes passionnés et passionnants. En allant à leur rencontre, je souhaitais leur donner envie de sortir des sentiers battus et à la limite, de prendre des risques. C’est ce qui s’est passé avec Ludovic et tous mes interlocuteurs, artisans d’art, comme le céramiste à Limoges, l’ébéniste dans le Gard, le fondeur en Auvergne, ou encore un fleuron de la technologie française en région parisienne, tous sans exception, ont répondu présents.  Je suis vraiment content.

C.V: Bien que l’inauguration de Cassiom n’ait pu se faire comme prévu en 2020 dû aux conditions sanitaires exceptionnelles, qu’elle a été néanmoins l’accueil réservé à votre marque jusqu’ici? Un profil type de client se fait-il déjà sentir? Avez-vous une cible en particulier?

F.L.S: En effet, c’est une période très frustrante car je le constate tous les jours, les objets Cassiom sont, pour moi, avant tout, une rencontre. En voyant, en comprenant ou en touchant les objets, on craque ! Je partage la petite étincelle de bonheur avec celui ou celle qui découvre une Lux Tempora ou une Constellation ! J’ai déjà de belles histoires à raconter. Cela étant, je suis convaincu que la rencontre par le digital peut se faire. Ce sont des outils et des fonctionnements différents mais incontournables, cela sera sans doute plus long mais j’y crois énormément.

La raison est en partie là : les objets Cassiom sont universalistes, sans contraintes de langues ou de frontières. Ils s’adressent à tous, aussi bien aux astronomes, qu’aux rêveurs ou collectionneurs. Ce sont des objets finalement qui peuvent devenir très personnels et qui racontent une belle aventure humaine avec une part de rêve. Et OUI, ce sont des objets transgénérationnels, porteurs d’espoir.

 

Constellation, presse-papier en Porcelaine de Limoges, par le designer français Ludovic Roth pour Cassiom

Sculpture Constellation en hommage au Cosmos, par le designer français Ludovic Roth
Luminaire design, inspiration céleste, Cassiom

C.V: Quels sont vos projets à court et à long terme?

F.L.S: A court terme, mon ambition est bien-sûr de vendre ! A long terme, je souhaite pouvoir développer des concepts qui sont encore à l’état d’ébauche mais aussi, offrir plus de latitude aux artistes avec lesquels je collabore.

C.V: Que peut-on vous souhaiter?

F.L.S: Un alignement de planètes favorable à l’envol de Cassiom !

 

 

Merci à Florent Le Scornet pour son temps et sa confiance!

Retrouvez les produits Cassiom sur notre boutique en ligne

 

LIKE and SHARE!

M E R C I

Written by

Chloé founded Huskdesignblog in 2016. Ever since, she is decoding every nook and cranny to find the best interiors and furniture ideas for her beloved readers and followers, eager for beautiful things.

Input your search keywords and press Enter.