Now Reading:

Matali Crasset and IKEA: Back to their collaborations

Since 2012, the designer Matali Crasset has collaborated four times with the brand IKEAfor which she has created products and concepts highlighting industrial design. Indeed, the world-famous furniture brand has always been one step ahead. It has therefore been able to carefully choose the designers who have been able to wear its colours while leaving them free to create. In 2014, Matali Crasset told Côté Maison that "IKEA is the only company that allows making your work as an industrial designer in large series and worldwide." A boon for both parties.

 

Matali Crasset and IKEA:

A look back at their collaborations

.

 

2012/2014 

 

For the launch of its new capsule collection Ikea PS 2014, the Scandinavian company has called Matali Crasset between other talented and recognized designers such as Tomas Alonso, David Wahl, Margrethe Odgaard, etc. in order to constitute a research group around this new series. Thanks to her know-how and industrial touch, the designer has succeeded in breathing a new spirit into the design we know.

Indeed with her tray with handles it brings fluidity in everyday life, and this incredible wired wardrobe brings a way to see/and be seen, the owner displaying his personality by his content, but also by the way he/she chose to personalize it... or not.

 

  • Tray with handles in stainless steel and rubber, design Matali Crasset, D. 40cm, 
  • Wardrobe with rod, one adjustable shelf and one fixed shelf, epoxy painted steel, available in silver and white, H. 187 cm, l. 101cm, P. 60 cm.

 

matali crasset wardrobe ikea collection ps 2014

matali crasset wardrobe ikea collection ps 2014

 

 

2015

 

That year, on the occasion of the ephemeral space ofIkea in Milan, Matali Crasset designs Concentric Space and takes ownership of the system Method. It is the story of a multidisciplinary space almost hybrid (see also the "Advocacy for Hybrid Furniture") where the notion of 'rooms ' no longer exists, where all the functions of the house gathered around the kitchen, and where everyone can find his own space while remaining in contact with others. 

This project fits perfectly into the trend that we can qualify as "nomad"This is the first time that the European Union has adopted a new approach to the design of space, which tends to promote increasingly modular spaces that can be shaped by their inhabitants and which redefines the framework of the "Being togetherNo more cumbersome and imposing furniture that remains decades, places to the furniture that becomes a structure, a shelf, a collective or individual space. Premonition or visionary spirit, we will obviously take inspiration for long from this project.

 

matali crasset wardrobe ikea collection ps 2014

matali crasset concentric space milan 2015

 

 

2016/2017 

 

Once again focusing on the issue of ownership and mobility, Matali Crasset has designed for the 2017 version of the Ikea PS collection, a portable lamp inspired by railway lamps. The designer, once again, advocates the fluidity, the movement, and finds once again the way to get rid of our restrictive habits. 

Despite flashy colors colors which are dear to her, is an undated object, which could very well have appeared 50 years ago or in 10 years. This dimension of continuity, to do not anchor design in an era is unique to the designer, who has also chosen the theme of the less is more: empty frame and LED source for low-energy. A fine achievement of intangible design.

 

matali crasset lamp collection ikea ps 2017 light
matali crasset lamp collection ikea ps 2017 light

 

 

 The IKEA PS 2017 collection will be available in February... be patient!

 ➡ Please do not forget to LIKE and SHARE this article if you liked it. A small step for you, a great support for Husk!

T H A N K S

Sources: Côté Maison, Dezeen

 

Originally posted 2017-01-12 03:00:32.

Written by

Chloé founded Huskdesignblog in 2016. Ever since, she is decoding every nook and cranny to find the best interiors and furniture ideas for her beloved readers and followers, eager for beautiful things.

Input your search keywords and press Enter.

Depuis 2012, la designer Matali Crasset a collaboré quatre fois avec la marque IKEA, pour laquelle elle a créé produits et concepts mettant en avant le design industriel. En effet, la marque de mobilier mondialement connue a toujours eu une longueur d'avance. Elle a donc su choisir avec soin les designers qui ont su porter ses couleurs tout en les laissant libres de créer. D'ailleurs Matali Crasset déclarait en 2014 à Côté Maison que "IKEA est la seule société qui permet de faire son métier de designer industriel en grande série et dans le monde entier". Une aubaine pour les deux parties.

 

Matali Crasset et IKEA:

Retour sur leurs collaborations

.

 

2012/2014 

 

Pour le lancement de sa nouvelle collection capsule Ikea PS 2014, la société scandinave a fait appel a Matali Crasset entre autres designers talentueux et reconnus tels Tomas Alonso, David Wahl, Margrethe Odgaard, etc afin de constituer un groupe de recherche  autour de cette nouvelle série. De par son savoir-faire et sa touche industrielle, la designer a su insuffler un esprit nouveau au design que l'on connait.

En effet avec le plateau à poignées elle apporte de la fluidité à la vie de tous les jours, et cette incroyable armoire filaire apporte une dimension propre à voir/et être vu, le propriétaire affichant aux yeux de tous sa personnalité par son contenu, mais aussi par la façon dont il/elle a choisi de la personnaliser...ou non.

 

  • Plateau avec poignées en acier inoxydable et caoutchouc, design Matali Crasset, D. 40cm, 
  • Armoire avec tringle, une étagère réglable et une étagère fixe, en acier peint époxy, existe en argent et blanc, H. 187cm, l. 101cm, P. 60cm.

 

matali crasset armoire collection ikea ps 2014

matali crasset armoire collection ikea ps 2014

 

 

2015

 

Cette année là, à l'occasion de l'espace éphémère d'Ikea à Milan, Matali Crasset conçoit Concentric Space et s'approprie le système Method. C'est l'histoire d'un espace pluridisciplinaire voir hybride (voir aussi le "Plaidoyer pour les Meubles Hybrides") où la notion de "pièces" n'existe plus, où toute les fonctions de la maison sont rassemblées autour de la cuisine, et où chacun trouve son propre espace tout en restant en contact avec les autres. 

Cette réalisation s'inscrit parfaitement dans la tendance que l'on qualifiera de "nomade", qui tend à promouvoir des espace de plus en plus modulaires, façonnables par ses habitants et qui redéfini le cadre du "être ensemble". Fini les meubles encombrants et trop imposants qui restent des dizaines d'années, place au mobilier qui devient tour à tour structure, support, espace collectif ou individuel. Prémonition ou esprit visionnaire, on va de toute évidence s'inspirer encore longtemps de cette réalisation.

 

matali crasset armoire collection ikea ps 2014

matali crasset concentric space milan 2015

 

 

2016/2017 

 

Une fois encore axé sur la problématique de l'appropriation et la mobilité, Matali Crasset a imaginé pour la version 2017 de la collection Ikea PS, une lampe portative inspiré des lampes de cheminots. La designer, une fois encore, se fait l'avocate de la fluidité, du mouvement, et trouve encore une fois le moyen de nous défaire de nos habitudes restrictives. 

Malgré des couleurs flashy qui lui sont chères, c'est un objet non-daté, qui aurait très bien pu apparaître il y a 50 ans ou bien dans 10 ans. Cette dimension de continuité, de ne pas ancrer le design dans une époque est propre à la designer, qui de plus pour cette lampe, a choisi la thématique du less is more: du vide et une source LED basse consommation. Une belle réalisation de design immatériel.

 

matali crasset lampe collection ikea ps 2017 light
matali crasset lampe collection ikea ps 2017 light

 

 

 La collection Ikea PS 2017 sera disponible courant Février... patience!

 ➡ N'oubliez pas de LIKER et de PARTAGER cet article si vous avez aimé. Un petit geste pour vous, un grand soutien pour Husk!

M E R C I

Sources: Côté Maison, Dezeen

 

Chloé Valette