Now Reading:

Taking inspiration from Japanese architects

Taking inspiration from Japanese architects

Do you want to get back to basics and leave the superfluous behind? This article is for you. For thousands of years, the Japanese architects have their own way of interpreting the home and the functions it offers. They are masters in the art of creating a healthy interior, and where what we might call aabsense, is actually a strength. Let's take a look at the guidelines of Japanese interiors, to give us a dose of humility in our vision of modernity.

 

 

Japanese Architects : 

a model of inspiration down to the last detail

 

 

1/ LINES LIKE NO OTHER

 

Because the lines are the key words to describe and understand the way these interiors are designed. In fact, they are organised according toa perfect geometry and quasi-intuitive, the different areas differ from each other almost inherently very simply.

And secondly, it is clear that Japanese architects are not the type to build walls, to separate elements that naturally have to come together. Thus we find a general organisation articulated arounda very large main room. Sometimes the whole house is just one room with the necessary elements for the privacy of its inhabitants when the time comes.

 

inspiration Japanese architects lines

inspiration Japanese architects lines

 

In addition, in Japan, several generations are living under the same roof. Everything is therefore organised so that everyone can find the perfect place to according to its age and its activitiesThey have to find a way to stay together, to see each other. This is a far cry from the cohabitation that implies their separate waysJapanese interiors achieve the feat of offering the perfect balance between communal living spaces and privacy.

 

inspiration Japanese architects common space

 

inspiration Japanese architects common space

 

 

2/ A FOOLPROOF FUNCTIONALITY

 

The world's current population of 7.2 billion is expected to increase by almost a billion people over the next twelve years, according to the UN. In Asia, but also everywhere else, the living space currently available to every city dweller will become smaller. It is therefore urgent to learn to optimise our spaces for the benefit of everyone and everything at the same time, in an intelligent and rational way. For example, vertical farming techniques are already being tested in the Netherlands and the USA.

So what about our interiors? we have much to learn from Japanese architects where the efficiency and functionality of a space is almost a performance. Each element can boast one or two functions, storage spaces are imagined and integrated at every opportunity, from floor to ceiling, while remaining minimalist.

 

inspiration Japanese architects functionality

inspiration Japanese architects functionality

 

The strength and at the same time the difficulty in reproducing this style of habitat is the total purity. It is, as mentioned above, the near absence of furniture and so-called "decoration". Of course, we are free to organise things as we see fit, why not this style with our current furniture ? But do not lose it of its luster, would it not ignore his ingenuity ?

 

 

3/ COLORS AND MATERIALS

 

Of course, as far as the colourful atmosphere is concerned, as I like to say, here it is due to REALLY materials. As you have already seen from the previous photographs, the solid balance of the Japanese style is the rule of two. At bi-material, bi-color. To the duality between the lightness of solid colours of white and the strong presence of wood. You can almost feel the presence of the material and its weight in the space, even in the photos. Something that one would perhaps not dare to do. And yet, therein lies the beauty.

 

inspiration japanese architects colours materials

 

Transparency also has a part to play. In a never-ending game "To see and be seen". From a social point of view, As I was saying, it's about living together without everyone being isolated. From an architectural point of view, the spaces are small but very well laid out, so we try to let in as much light as possible.

 

inspiration Japanese architects transparency

 

Natural light Natural light is present everywhere, it plays with the materials, insinuates itself into the interstices of these as if it were not planned. As if we were surprised to discover that a room had become luminous. It becomes graphic, as if compensating for the non-ornament of the habitat, it "furnishes" the space by its appearances.

 

inspiration Japanese architects light

 

It is also the ideal subject to draw inspiration from wood details, whether minimalist, geometric or poeticThere is something for everyone. Perhaps they are just the solution, for us Westerners who need to go into detail? 

 

inspiration Japanese architects details

 

 

4/ FURNITURE IDEAS

 

In terms of furniture, here is a small selection of quality products made in Japan. I named the brands MEETEE and KARIMOKUwhich offers products designed by Japanese designers/architects but also by international design greats such as Claesson Koivisto Rune ( Meetee ) and Sylvain Willenz ( Karimoku ).

Also take a look at MARUNIwhere fans of Jasper Morrisson and SANAA will certainly find something to their liking.

 

inspiration Japanese architects furniture ideas

 

 

MEETEE

2 – chair "Five"Design Claesson Koivisto Rune,

3 – chair lounge "NadiaDesign Jin Kuramoto,

4 – Dining Table "Nadiadesign, Jin Kuramoto,

8 – Storage system "Mollymade of wood and felt.

 

KARIMOKU

1 –  Side tables "Colour Wood PlainDesign Scholten & Baijings

6 – Stools "Beaver PlusDesign Big-Game,

7 – Coat rack "NookDesign Teruhiro Yanagihara.

 

 

 ➡ Don't forget to LIKE and  SHARE if you liked it! A small step for you, a big one for Husk!

T H A N K S

Sources: Architonic, ArchDaily, Kinaro, Sou Fujimoto.

 

Originally posted 2016-09-29 09:09:42.

Written by

Chloé founded Huskdesignblog in 2016. Ever since, she is decoding every nook and cranny to find the best interiors and furniture ideas for her beloved readers and followers, eager for beautiful things.

Input your search keywords and press Enter.

Vous aspirez à revenir à l'essentiel et à laisser le superflu derrière vous? Cet article est fait pour vous. Depuis des millénaires, les architectes Japonais ont leur façon propre d'interpréter l'habitat et des fonctions qu'il offre. Ils sont passés maîtres dans l'art de créer un intérieur sain, et où, ce que nous pourrions qualifier d'absense, est en fait une force. Voyons quelles sont les lignes directrices propres aux intérieurs japonais, histoire de prendre une dose d'humilité dans notre vision de la modernité.

 

 

Les Architectes Japonais : 

un modèle d'inspiration jusque dans les moindres détails

 

 

1/ DES LIGNES SANS PAREIL

 

Parce que les lignes sont les maîtres-mots qui permettent de qualifier et de comprendre la façon dont ces intérieurs sont pensés. En effet organisés en fonction d'une géométrie parfaite et quasi-intuitive, les différents espaces se différencient les uns des autres presque par nature, très simplement.

Et dans un deuxième temps, force est de constater que les japonais ne sont pas du genre à ériger des murs, à séparer des éléments qui naturellement, doivent s'associer. Ainsi on retrouve une organisation générale articulée autour d'une très grande pièce principale. Parfois même, l'habitat tout entier n'est qu'une seule pièce dotée ça et là des élements nécessairent à l'intimité de ses habitants le moment venu.

 

inspiration architectes japonais lignes

inspiration architectes japonais lignes

 

De plus, au Japon, plusieurs générations vivent sous le même toit. Tout est donc organisé pour que chacun trouve parfaitement sa place en fonction de son âge et de ses activités, tout en trouvant le moyen de rester ensemble, de pouvoir se voir. A mille lieux de la cohabitation qui sous-entend chacun de son côté, les intérieurs japonais réalisent la prouesse d'offrir le parfait équilibre entre lieux de vie communs et intimité.

 

inspiration architectes japonais espace commun

 

inspiration architectes japonais espace commun

 

 

2/ UNE FONCTIONNALITÉ À TOUTE ÉPREUVE

 

La population mondiale actuelle de 7,2 milliards devrait augmenter de près d'un milliard de personnes au cours des douze prochaines années selon l'ONU. En Asie mais aussi partout ailleurs, l'espace de vie dont dispose actuellement chaque citadin va se restreindre. Il est donc urgent d'apprendre à optimiser nos espaces pour le bien de chacun et de tous à la fois, d'une manière intelligente et rationnelle. Par exemple, des techniques d'agriculture verticale sont déjà à l'essai aux Pays-Bas et aux Etats-Unis.

Pour ce qui donc de nos intérieurs, nous avons beaucoup à apprendre des japonais où l'efficacité et la fonctionnalité d'un espace tient presque du rendement. Chaque élément peut se vanter d'avoir une ou deux fonctions, des espaces de rangement sont imaginés et intégrés dès que l'occasion se présente, du sol au plafond.

 

inspiration architectes japonais fonctionnalité

inspiration architectes japonais fonctionnalité

 

La force et à la fois la difficulté à reproduire ce style d'habitat, c'est l'épure total. C'est, comme dit plus haut, la quasi-absence de mobilier et d'éléments dits de "décoration". Libre à nous biensûr, d'organiser les choses comme on l'entend, pourquoi pas ce style avec notre mobilier actuel ? Mais ne perdrait-il pas de sa superbe, ne serait-ce pas ignorer son ingéniosité ?

 

 

3/ COULEURS ET MATIÈRES

 

Evidemment, en ce qui concerne l'ambiance colorée, comme j'aime à le dire, ici cela tient RÉELLEMENT aux matériaux. Comme vous avez déjà pu le constater sur les photographies précédentes, l'équilibre solide du style japonais tient de la règle de deux. Au bi-matière, au bi-color. A la dualité entre la légèreté des aplats de blanc et la forte présence du bois. On peut presque sentir, et cela même sur les photos, la présence du matériau et son poids dans l'espace. Chose que l'on oserait peut-être pas. Et pourtant, là est la beauté.

 

inspiration architectes japonais couleurs matieres

 

La transparence a aussi la part belle. Dans un jeu incessant "de voir et être vu". D'un point de vue social, comme je le disais, c'est le souci de vivre ensemble sans que chacun soit isolé. D'un point de vue architectural, les espaces sont petits bien que très bien agencés, on essaie donc de faire entrer le plus de lumière possible.

 

inspiration architectes japonais transparence

 

La lumière naturelle est présente partout, elle joue avec les matériaux, s'insinue dans les interstices de ceux-ci comme ci ce n'était pas prévu. Comme si on découvrait avec surprise, qu'une pièce devenait lumineuse.  Elle devient graphique, comme venant compenser le non-ornement de l'habitat, elle "meuble" l'espace par ses apparitions.

 

inspiration architectes japonais lumière

 

C'est également le sujet idéal pour s'inspirer de détails concernant le bois, qu'ils soient minimalistes, géométriques ou poétiques, il y en a pour tous les goûts. Peut-être sont-ils justement la solution, pour nous occidentaux qui avons besoin d'aller dans le détail justement ? 

 

inspiration architectes japonais détails

 

 

4/ DES IDÉES DE MOBILIER

 

En terme de mobilier, voici néanmoins une petite sélection de produits qualitatifs et fabriqués au Japon. J'ai nommé les marques MEETEE et KARIMOKU, qui proposent des produits dessinés par des designers Japonais  mais également par des grands noms internationaux du design tel Claesson Koivisto Rune ( Meetee ) et Sylvain Willenz ( Karimoku ).

Jetez également un oeil chez MARUNI, où les fans de Jasper Morrisson et SANAA trouveront  à coup sûr leur bonheur.

 

inspiration architectes japonais idées mobilier

 

 

MEETEE

2 - Chaise "Five", Design Claesson Koivisto Rune,

3 - Chaise lounge "Nadia", Design Jin Kuramoto,

4 - Dining Table "Nadia", design, Jin Kuramoto,

8 - Système de rangement "Molly", en bois et feutre.

 

KARIMOKU

1 -  Tables d'appoint "Colour Wood Plain", Design Scholten & Baijings

6 - Tabourets "Castor Plus", Design Big-Game,

7 - Porte-manteaux "Nook", Design Teruhiro Yanagihara.

 

 

 ➡  N'oubliez pas de LIKER et de PARTAGER si vous avez aimé ! Un petit pas pour vous, un grand pour Husk !

M E R C I

Sources: Architonic, ArchDaily, Kinaro, Sou Fujimoto.

 

Chloé Valette