Now Reading:

MELBOURNE: The Penny Drop café

In the business district of Box Hill in Melbourne, residents and workers have seen recently the beneficial arrival of the Penny Drop café, a warm and clear place, just perfect to start your day. But The Penny Drop is not just a coffee shop, it's also a unique place where life is good.

Designed by Interior Design agency Huntly, composed of Kylie Dorotic and Alicia MacKimm operating in all of their projects with the gift of transforming everyday places into extraordinary experiences, The Penny Drop is the new coffee shop to get together. Open the doors of the most trendy coffee shop in Melbourne.

 

 

MELBOURNE :

The Penny Drop café

.

 

1. TRENDY BUT ACCESSIBLE

 

the-penny-drop-huntly-australia9

 

The Penny Drop is the place to be. And like all openings of new places, it still arouses curiosity and interest. Will we dare to enter ? Are we going to feel comfortable ? Will we want to come back ? But do not fear, the architects of Huntly precisely focused their design on the lexical scope of a friendly place :

 

 » This is not: A boring coffee shop. This is: An exciting new local for Box Hill residents. «  

Huntly

 

Because this coffee is too far from those relating to the trendy to the point of feeling excluded by and regulars coffee, a bit too familiar. The Penny Drop, it's the story of the perfect balance of a trendy place, and which know how to include accessible and friendly and conviviality. Indeed, perfect for taking coffee or to recharge your batteries between noon and night, this cosy, good-sized place welcomes its customers as a restaurant ( up to 100 covers ! ) for lunch and dinner. Large windows also make you want to enjoy the sun in the afternoon, on summer or winter, providing a comfortable place to work in a thousand points better than a Starbucks.

 

the penny drop café melbourne design by huntly

 

The use of marble, granite, waxed concrete, copper details and wood definitely adds a trendy touch very current to the café. However at Penny Drop, no typical customer, no sorting at the entrance blowning by the place. It is a café for all and where to go without any hesitation.

 

 

 

2. SIMPLE AND FUNCTIONAL

 

the penny drop café melbourne design by huntly

 

The Penny Drop is not a trend showcase. Marble and other signs related to a trendy kind here have earned their place in this coffee shop. Carefully selected, all these materials and details that make the identity of this site have all a specific function. Marble, to a place of restoration is engine of hygiene, wood always brings warm aspect that we love so much, earthenware is easy to clean and copper brings this elegant otherwise the space is losing depth, etc.

 

 "Linen sofas are nice, until you spill red wine on them. To us, beauty is not only found in the way something looks, but also in the way it works. Every aesthetic decision should be grounded by purpose, so that we can create a space for you to be in, live in, work in; not just look at. 

Kylie Dorotic and Alicia MacKimm, Huntly

 

As you can see, here the beauty is nothing without the input of the function. I especially like the approach of these architects who only seek to create spaces in which they could easily live or work. That's exactly what's missing on some projects, this closeness, this feeling that the space has been created for you only and for everyone at once. Remember, this is the feeling we have when we're going home or when we are about to spend several hours in a place we love. Confidence and serenity are the order of the day. That's what the Penny Drop seems to say: welcome home.

 

the penny drop café melbourne design by huntly

 

 

 

 

3. ART DECO AS A REFERENCE

 

the penny drop café melbourne design by huntly

 

It is impossible not to notice the Art Deco influences (1910-1930) in the design of The Penny Drop. Warning, we are of course talking about the best of this movement, not the  " pack "  and decorative side which can be reproached to this style sometimes.

 

First of all the shapes, the sweet mix between straight lines and rounds. Note the particular pattern chosen for the wooden screen walls separating the central space, this type of decoration that was created at that time in the form of stained glass. Very geometric, the general plan is also interspersed with curved forms, as this element of separation between the dining room and the bar area. There is also this kind of rounding reminders here and there, like the mirror and the delineation floor bar.

 

Then colors, which are in fact non-colors since they can rather akin to choose materials, are they who make the shades. Supervised by touches of white and black, the space is indeed sometimes marbled, sometimes coppery, sometimes woody. At the time, tinted woods red, blue or green and oak were dominated. The use of concrete and gray shades are also a wink toArt Deco light fixtures, here used sparingly and subtlety. 

 

the penny drop café melbourne design by huntly

 

And finally, it should be noted that the lighting (FLOSString Lights collection, design Michael Anastassiades) chosen are showing for most a half circle, recalling that it was then more common than having all kinds of cutt-off shapes: rectangles, ovals and circles included. This project this disseminated inspiration everywhere, but subtly, without purpose to reproduce. A real tribute with its own identity.

 

 

I encourage you to visit the agency's website Huntly, which is full of beautiful projects !

 ➡ Please do not forget to LIKE and SHARE this post if you liked ! A small step for you, a great support for Husk ! 

T H A N K S

 Sources: Sight Unseen, Huntly

Originally posted 2016-11-10 11:31:43.

Written by

Chloé founded Huskdesignblog in 2016. Ever since, she is decoding every nook and cranny to find the best interiors and furniture ideas for her beloved readers and followers, eager for beautiful things.

Input your search keywords and press Enter.

Dans le quartier d'affaires de Box Hill à Melbourne, les résidents et travailleurs ont vu depuis peu l'arrivée bénéfique du Penny Drop café, un endroit chaleureux et clair, parfait pour commencer la journée. Mais The Penny Drop n'est pas seulement un café, c'est aussi un lieu unique en son genre où il fait bon vivre.

Conçu par l'agence d'architecture d'intérieur Huntly, composée de Kylie Dorotic et Alicia MacKimm qui opèrent dans tous leurs projets avec le don de transformer le quotidien en expérience extraordinaire, The Penny Drop est le nouveau café où se retrouver. Poussez les portes du café le plus tendance du moment à Melbourne.

 

 

MELBOURNE :

The Penny Drop café

.

 

1. TENDANCE MAIS ACCESSIBLE

 

the-penny-drop-huntly-australia9

 

The Penny Drop est un QG. Et comme toutes les ouvertures de nouveaux lieux, cela suscite toujours curiosité et intérêt. Va-t-on oser y mettre le pied ? Est-ce qu'on va s'y sentir à notre aise au point de vouloir y revenir ? Rassurons-nous, les architectes de Huntly ont justement axé leur design sur le champ lexical d'un lieu acceuillant :

 

" This is not: A boring coffee shop. This is: An exciting new local for Box Hill residents. " 

Huntly

 

Car ce café est loin de ceux trop relatifs au branché au point de s'en sentir exclu et du café des habitués, un peu trop familier. The Penny Drop, c'est l'histoire du parfait équilibre d'un endroit aux matériaux et à la conception tendance, et qui a su inclure les caractéristiques de l'accessible et du convivial. En effet, parfait pour prendre le café d'avant-boulot ou pour se ressourcer entre midi et deux, ce lieu chaleureux de belle taille accueille ses clients en tant que restaurant ( jusqu'à 100 couverts ! ) midi et soir. Ses grandes baies vitrées donnent également envie de profiter du soleil d'après-midi, été comme hiver, offrant un endroit confortable où travailler à mille lieux d'un simple Starbucks.

 

the penny drop café melbourne design by huntly

 

Les applications du marbre, granit, béton ciré, détails de cuivre et bois apportent sans conteste une touche tendance et très actuelle au café. Cependant au Penny Drop, pas de clientèle type, pas de tri à l'entrée insufflé de lui-même par le lieu. C'est un café pour tous et où se rendre sans la moindre hésitation.

 

 

 

2. SIMPLE ET FONCTIONNEL

 

the penny drop café melbourne design by huntly

 

Le Penny Drop n'est pas une vitrine de tendances. Le marbre et autres signes apparentés à un genre branché ici présents, ont gagné leur place dans ce café. Choisis avec soin, tous ces matériaux et détails qui font l'identité de ce lieu ont tous une fonction bien précise. Le marbre, pour un lieu de restauration est moteur de l'hygiène, le bois apporte toujours cet aspect chaleureux qu'on aime tant, la faïence est facile à nettoyer, le cuivre apporte cette touche d'élégance sans quoi le café manquerai de profondeur, etc.

 

" Linen sofas are nice, until you spill red wine on them. To us, beauty is not only found in the way something looks, but also in the way it works. Every aesthetic decision should be grounded by purpose, so that we can create a space for you to be in, live in, work in; not just look at. " 

Kylie Dorotic et Alicia MacKimm, Huntly

 

Vous l'aurez compris, ici la beauté n'est rien sans l'apport de la fonction. J'aime particulièrement la démarche de ces architectes qui cherchent uniquement à créer des espaces dans lesquels elles pourraient facilement habiter ou travailler. C'est exactement ce qu'il manque à certains projets, cette proximité, cette sensation que l'espace a été crée pour vous uniquement et pour tout le monde à la fois. Rappelez-vous, c'est la sensation qu'on a lorsque l'on rentre chez soi ou qu'on s'apprête à passer plusieurs heures dans un lieu qu'on aime. Confiance et sérénité vous envahissent alors. C'est ce que semble aussi dire le Penny Drop: bienvenue à la maison.

 

the penny drop café melbourne design by huntly

 

 

 

 

3. L'ART DÉCO POUR RÉFÉRENCE

 

the penny drop café melbourne design by huntly

 

Impossible de ne pas remarquer les influences de l'Art Déco ( 1910-1930 ) dans le design de The Penny Drop. Attention, on parle bien évidemment ici du meilleur de ce mouvement, sans le côté " chargé " et uniquement décoratif qui peut être reproché à ce style.

 

Tout d'abord les formes, le doux mélange des lignes droites et sûres et des arrondis. On remarquera notamment le motif choisi pour les claustras de bois séparant l'espace central, ce type de décoration ayant été créé à cette époque sous forme de vitraux. Très géométrique, le plan général est aussi ponctué de formes galbées, comme cet élément de séparation entre la salle de restaurant et l'espace bar. On trouve également ce genre de rappels de l'arrondi ça et là, comme le miroir et la délimitation au sol du bar.

 

Ensuite les couleurs, qui sont en fait des non-couleurs puisque qu'on peut plutôt les apparenter à des choix de matériaux, se sont eux qui font les nuances. Encadrés par des touches de blanc et de noir, l'espace est bel et bien tantôt couleur marbre, tantôt cuivré, tantôt boisé. A l'époque, les essences de bois teintées rouge, bleu ou vert et de chêne dominaient alors. L'utilisation du béton et des nuances grises sont également un clin d'oeil à l'Art Déco, ici utilisées avec parcimonie et subtilité. 

 

the penny drop café melbourne design by huntly

 

Et enfin on notera que les éclairages ( FLOS, collection String Lights design Michael Anastassiades ) choisis reprennent pour la majorité un demi-cercle, rappelant qu'il était alors plus que commun d'avoir toutes sortes de formes à pans coupés: rectangles, ovales et cercles inclus. On retient de ce projet cette inspiration disséminée un peu partout, mais subtilement, sans but de vouloir reproduire. Un réel hommage ayant sa propre identité.

 

 

Je vous incite à consulter le site de l'agence Huntly, qui regorge de beaux projets !

 ➡ N'oubliez pas de LIKER et de PARTAGER cet article si vous avez aimé ! Un petit geste pour vous, un grand soutien pour Husk ! 

M E R C I

 Sources: Sight Unseen, Huntly

Chloé Valette

Comment on Facebook