Now Reading:

BROOKLYN: A very American coffee shop

BROOKLYN: A very American coffee shop

Tilda All Day / Design The MP ShiftPhotographs ©. Josh Dickinson / Brooklyn, USA.

 

 

Currently living in the USAIt seems to me that it is both important and interesting to take advantage of it to create a movement of cultural exchanges between France and the United States. In this article, I present you a brand new café that only the Americans have the secret of, in the middle of Brooklyn.

 

1/ SIMPLE ON THE OUTSIDE, EXTRAORDINARY ON THE INSIDE

 

in Washington DC,appearances are very deceptive. So you may well come across someone like a Bill Gates , just wearing a short and flip-flops, at any time of the year (I'm hardly exaggerating!). Don't find anything pejorative in what I say, it's simply a way of life, somewhere much simpler than in France.

 

tilda all day coffee shop the mp shift brooklyn

 

For cafés, restaurants, shops, it's more or less the same principle: the fronts are simple,  (sometimes even uninviting!), , but always fully in line with the shelter building. 

And by daring to walk through the door...

 

Tilda all day the MP shift

 

2/ A STRONG DESIGN THAT IS REMEMBERED

 

The MP Shift has thought of everything. First of all, wood for warmth, which with its very Viennese bistro spirit inevitably makes us think of THONET. Then, the whole thing is refined with the appearance here and there of careful details for a very contemporary effect: golden lights, geometric wallpaper and pure lines characteristics of the Japanese architects way to build.

The space-planning is also typically in the American "long live freedom" spiritIn this way, the customer is given all the cards so that he feels that he is the one who decides, and that he has the choice. All the seating configurations are available to people, allowing them to:

 

  • take their breakfast alone at the bar counter,
  • stay the whole afternoon in groups of 5 or 10,
  • or just spend an hour together, chatting on the benches...

 

tilda all day coffee shop the mp shift

tilda all day coffee shop the mp shift

 

3/ A CAFE WHERE WE COME BACK

 

What are the arguments for returning to a place? In this place, the design quality prevail and take away the food with it. Nothing in common with Starbucks where the muffins are crudely laid out behind a window where you can't even see them. This time it is a work of art, tailor-made. Each piece of food is delicately arranged by hand and adjusted, like a ritual, that would fit the design of the place, clean and uncluttered. This is surely due to the talent of the photographer, but even the pastries seem to have been thought of/included with the concept! 

This café exudes freshness and softness, you feel like whispering ( although it seems difficult in the US, as this practice is not integrated in the customs! ) and to cocoon there. Thus we also find there a kind of campus and bohemian spirits as only URBAN OUTFITTERSOver a coffee, we return to the atmosphere of our studies, where a place like this would have attracted us without hesitation. 

 

tilda all day coffee shop the mp shift

tilda all day coffee shop the mp shift

 

Finally, this brightness,which is not at all common in cafés across the Atlantic (most of them play on the "coffee" atmosphere by using brown, black, beige... -> see at my post so as not to fall into an "over corporate" approach! ), makes a big difference. Indeed, the majority use of white, being the worthy representative of the new, increased perspectives. And as winter approaches, we will increasingly seek out light and such spaces to spend long hours in...

As you will have understood, an American café is distinguished not only by a clear and attractive offer (design + food), but also by a family spirit that makes it easy for everyone to take their ease and freedom. GO USA!

 

 

 ➡ Please do not forget to LIKE and SHARE ! One small step for you, a big one for me ! 

T H A N K S

Sources: Business Insider, Tilda All Day

 

Originally posted 2016-09-09 16:59:50.

Written by

Chloé founded Huskdesignblog in 2016. Ever since, she is decoding every nook and cranny to find the best interiors and furniture ideas for her beloved readers and followers, eager for beautiful things.

Input your search keywords and press Enter.

Tilda All Day / Design The MP Shift, photographies © Josh Dickinson / Brooklyn, Etats-Unis.

 

 

Habitant aux Etats-Unis, il me paraît aussi important qu'interessant d'en profiter pour créer un mouvement d'échanges culturels France/USA. Dans cet article, je vous présente un tout nouveau café dont seuls les américains ont le secret, en plein Brooklyn.

 

1/ SIMPLE A L'EXTERIEUR, EXTRAORDINAIRE A L'INTERIEUR

 

A Washington DC, les apparences sont en général très trompeuses. Ainsi, vous pouvez très bien croiser quelqu'un de la trempe d'un Bill Gates dans la rue, habillé en short et tongs, et ce quelque soit la saison ( j'exagère à peine! ). Ne trouvez rien de péjoratif dans mes propos, c'est simplement un mode de vie, quelque part beaucoup plus simple qu'en France.

 

café tilda all day the mp shift brooklyn
Devanture du café

 

Pour les cafés, les restaurants, les magasins, c'est à peu près le même principe: les devantures sont simples,  ( parfois même peu engageantes! ), mais toujours en harmonie avec le bâtiment qui les abrite. 

Et en osant passer la porte...

 

tilda all day the mp shift
Café Tilda All Day - The MP Shift

. . . . EFFET WAOUH GARANTI . . . .

 

2/ UN DESIGN FORT QUE L'ON RETIENT

 

The MP Shift a pensé à tout. Tout d'abord, du bois pour la chaleur, qui de par son esprit très bistrot Viennois nous fait inmanquablement penser à THONET. Ensuite, le tout est peaufiné avec l'apparition ça et là de détails soignés pour l'effet très actuel: des luminaires dorés, un papier peint géométrique, des lignes franches et épurées qui nous rappellent le style des architectes japonais.

Quand à la disposition, on est aussi typiquement dans l'esprit américain "vive la liberté", on donne toutes les cartes en main au client pour qu'il ai impression que c'est lui qui décide, et qu'il a le choix. Toutes les configurations d'assises sont proposées aux visiteurs, qui peuvent aisément:

 

  • prendre leur petit-déjeuner seul au bar,
  • rester l'après-midi entière en groupe de 5 ou 10,
  • ou encore passer juste une petite heure à 2, à discuter sur les banquettes...

 

café tilda all day the mp shift
Le café Tilda All Day

café tilda all day the mp shift

 

3/ UN CAFE OU L'ON REVIENT

 

Quels arguments font que l'on revient à un endroit ? Ici, la qualité du design emporte la qualité de la cuisine avec lui. Rien à voir avec un simple Starbucks où les muffins sont grossièrement étalés derrière une vitrine où ne les voient même pas. Cette fois cela tient de l'oeuvre d'art, du sur-mesure. Chaque pièce de nourriture est délicatement disposée à la main et ajustée, comme un rituel qui se plierait au design de l'endroit, propre et sans bavures. Cela tient sûrement beaucoup au talent du photographe, mais même les pâtisseries ont l'air d'avoir été pensées/inclues avec le concept ! 

Ce café respire la fraîcheur et la douceur, on a envie d'y chuchoter ( même si ça semble difficile aux Etats-Unis, cette pratique n'étant pas intégrée dans les moeurs! ) et d'y cocooner. Ainsi on y retrouve également un esprit campus-bohème typique de chez URBAN OUTFITTERS... On retourne, le temps d'un café, dans l'atmosphère de nos études, où un endroit comme celui-là nous aurait attiré sans hésitation. 

 

café tilda all day the mp shift
Un design épuré...
café tilda all day the mp shift
Des banquettes face à la ville, pour faire le plein de lumière.

 

Enfin, cette clarté, qui n'est absolument pas habituelle dans les cafés outre-atlantique (  la plupart jouent sur l'atmosphère "café" en utilisant le marron, le noir, le beige... --> voir ICI quelques conseils afin de ne pas tomber dans une approche "over corporate"! ), fait grandement la différence. En effet l'utilisation majoritaire du blanc, étant le digne représentant du neuf, agrandi les perspectives. Et l'hiver approchant, nous allons de plus en plus nous mettre en quête de la lumière et de ce genre d'espaces afin d'y passer de longues heures...

Vous l'aurez compris, un café américain se distingue non seulement par une offre claire et alléchante ( design + food ), mais également par un esprit familiale qui fait que chacun peut aisément prendre ses aises et ses libertés. GO USA!

 

 ➡ N'oubliez pas de LIKER et de PARTAGER ! Un petit pas pour vous, un très grand pour moi ! 

M E R C I

Sources: Business Insider, Tilda All Day

 

Chloé Valette