Now Reading:

How much should the value of design pieces influence design choices? Is resale value important?

It shouldn't at all. Buy furniture you love, without thinking of reselling, and you will ideally keep it forever. Even art consultants will tell you the same thing: It is quite rare for most works of art (or furniture) to grow in value unless you get quite lucky. Simply put, secondary markets (such as online resale marketplaces) do not yield very much return on your investment because most consumers do not understand the value of furniture.

However, you can use this to your advantage and find great deals! Our collector friends find most of their furniture at estate sales on Craigslist, Live Auctioneers and eBay Italia, at what they say is a very below-market price.

If you purchase works from higher-end secondary markets like auctions and galleries, the works may be recognized at an institutional level, meaning the designer or work itself has been featured in a museum. This gives the furniture more solidified value, which could increase over time.

 

In my case, when I buy collectible furniture I am placing value on the historical importance of the designer. But more often than not, it is based on the pure aesthetics of the piece, and if my eyes love it.

Julia Hanez Montanez

 

 

 

 ➡ Do you want to ask Julia about furniture, interior design, marketing, trade shows...?

Send over your question now!

 

 

 

Written by

Julia is an interior designer, Architectural Digest Show (NYC) curator, and The Design Release founder. She is closely working with 150+ independent designers per year and thanks to this, she acquired a wide and open eye on design and trends. Julia is an acknowledged interior advisor and history of design connoisseur.

Input your search keywords and press Enter.

Now Reading:

Dans quelle mesure la valeur des pièces de design devrait-elle influencer les choix de conception? La valeur de revente est-elle importante?

Absolument pas. Achetez des meubles que vous aimez, sans songer à les revendre, et idéalement vous les conserverez pour toujours. Même les consultants en art vous diront la même chose: il est assez rare que la plupart des œuvres d’art (ou du mobilier design) prennent de la valeur à moins d’avoir de la chance. En termes simples, les marchés secondaires (tels que les marchés de revente en ligne) ne rapportent pas beaucoup sur votre investissement car la plupart des consommateurs ne comprennent pas la valeur des pièces de design.

Cependant, vous pouvez l’utiliser à votre avantage et trouver de bonnes affaires! Nos amis collectionneurs trouvent la plupart de leurs meubles dans les ventes de patrimoine sur Craigslist, Live Auctioneers et eBay Italia, avec à ce qu’ils disent, des prix très inférieurs au marché.

Si vous achetez des œuvres sur des marchés secondaires haut de gamme comme des ventes aux enchères et des galeries, les œuvres peuvent être reconnues au niveau institutionnel, ce qui signifie que le concepteur ou l’œuvre elle-même a été présentée dans un musée. Cela donne aux pièces de design une valeur plus solide, qui pourrait même augmenter avec le temps.

 

Dans mon cas, lorsque j’achète des meubles de collection, je mets en valeur l’importance historique du designer. Mais le plus souvent, cet achat est basé sur l’esthétique pure de la pièce, et si elle capte mon attention.

Julia Hanez Montanez

 

 

 

 ➡ Vous voulez poser votre question à Julia sur le design, l’architecture d’intérieur, le marketing, les salons..?

Contactez-nous!

 

 

 

Written by

Julia is an interior designer, Architectural Digest Show (NYC) curator, and The Design Release founder. She is closely working with 150+ independent designers per year and thanks to this, she acquired a wide and open eye on design and trends. Julia is an acknowledged interior advisor and history of design connoisseur.

Input your search keywords and press Enter.