Now Reading:
Latin American design shines through Unno, the first digital design gallery

Latin American design shines through Unno, the first digital design gallery

Since the beginning of Huskdesignblog, we mainly put forward design that makes sense, that represents more for the mind of the creator as well as the spectator than a formal or material intention. This search for meaning is all the more important in an era where design is forced to become digital. UNNO is inspired by the Spanish word uno, which means "one", and refers to the idea that the cultures, countries and peoples of Latin America share a common heritage that unites them as a whole.

It is also the result of the partnership between Maria Dolores Uribe and Laura Abe Vettoretti who seek to connect and reconnect with their transcendental roots through a balance of contemporary design collection, to be discovered online. Discover the UNNO project, Latin American design finally brought to light.

 

Latin American design, UNNO Gallery, Latin American landscape

Latin American Design, UNNO Gallery, 32 General Prim, a "Porfirian" house in Mexico
Latin American Design, UNNO Gallery

 

 

Land, tradition and transmission

 

At the origin of the UNNO project, is the beginning. The true beginning, the one linked to the origin of the earth, before history, matter, even before humanity. UNNO is inspired by the use of myths by the ancients to explain existence and how, through a common history, the transmission was made. Underlying the primary concerns, the peoples and generations nevertheless bequeath and spread the knowledge of the earth, but also artistic knowledge and skills to transmit it to the world and to the contemporary era.

The designers whose collections are part of the project are proof of this: the golden age of the civilizations that inhabited the American continent is still a source of inspiration today. UNNO advocates the evolution of design as an art form and a means of expression, bringing together in its name the centuries-old knowledge of craftsmen and the genius potential of contemporary artists. The founders of the digital gallery consider design as an indispensable element bridging eras and beliefs.

 

Maria Dolores Uribe and Laura Abe Vettoretti
Jade sculpture, Mexico
UNNO, digital gallery, presents the work of Ian Felton
Latin American Design, UNNO Gallery, 32 General Prim, a "Porfirian" house in Mexico

 

 

Collectible design and Latin American design

 

The creative idea for this project - made possible by the creative and bubbling synergy of Maria Dolores Uribe and Laura Abe Vettoretti, the founders - is to develop a new way of presenting art and design. This is a globalized and unique concept. It has no physical exhibition space and is therefore accessible to everyone. Since 2019, thanks to the UNNO project, they highlight the work of several Latin American design studios, but not only, whose boldness and innovation they encourage in a logic of paying homage to sacred origins in order to merge different styles in a certain harmony.

Thus, Bandido Studio, César S. Nuñez and Ian Felton have joined the UNNO project, offering objects and furniture made from Latin American materials like onyx, jade, volcanic stone, bronze and nickel, marble, travertine, chalk. Materials that, as the founders of the project wished, have passed through time and have a mystical aura, reflecting each time a little bit of the past where they come from to transmit them to the present.

 

UNNO Digital Gallery, Tequitqui collection by Cesar Nunez
Mullunu dining table by Ian Felton

Latin American Design, UNNO Gallery

 

 

 

The collections

 

All pieces in the UNNO collection are inspired by important markers in Latin American culture, heritage and design. When, for example, the Quintessenza collection by Abe Vettoretti pays homage to architecture in its purest but most raw state, the collection of César Nuñez, Tequitqui, is based on the cultural heritage of Mexico, tells the story of how the destiny of the indigenous people was intertwined with that of the Spanish, and speaks of balance, rebirth, and the multiple faces of time. 

Tlanextli, the collaboration between UNNO and Bandido Studio, is a celebration of the symbolic prominence of the sun and the dual relationship between light and darkness, praised in several pre-Columbian inscriptions. Mullunu, by American designer Ian Felton, In this series, the sacred value of materiality is unraveled through a process of fusing hand-carved volcanic rock and surface enamels that create crystalline compositions, conveying the illusion of coral underwater. Finally, Nuscaa, a collection by Abe Vettoretti and Maria Dolores Uribe recalls the innate connection between the Earth and humanity, and the awe that this great spirit brought to the pre-Hispanic consciousness.

The designers have each highlighted know-how and materials whose use and shaping are ancestral and full of history. The UNNO project represents the current digital revolution. Pioneers in their concept and communication strategy, Abe and Maria Dolores brilliantly convey a unique concept that opens the field of possibilities in terms of creative experiences. A beautiful ode to Latin American design and to collectible design in general.

 

Sculpture Quitessenza by Abe Vettoretti
Onyx and obsidian lamp by Bandido Studio

 

Find out more about the UNNO gallery, online of course

 

LIKE and SHARE!

T H A N K S

 

Written by

Chloé founded Huskdesignblog in 2016. Ever since, she is decoding every nook and cranny to find the best interiors and furniture ideas for her beloved readers and followers, eager for beautiful things.

Input your search keywords and press Enter.

Now Reading:
Le design latino-américain rayonne grâce à Unno, la première galerie de design numérique

Le design latino-américain rayonne grâce à Unno, la première galerie de design numérique

Depuis les débuts de Huskdesignblog, nous mettons principalement en avant le design qui fait sens, qui représente davantage pour l’esprit du créateur comme du spectateur qu’une intention formelle ou matérielle. Cette recherche de sens est d’autant plus importante dans une époque où le design est contraint et forcé de se digitaliser. UNNO est inspiré du mot espagnol uno, qui signifie “un”, et qui renvoie à l’idée que les cultures, les pays et les peuples d’Amérique latine partagent un héritage commun qui les unit comme un ensemble.

C’est aussi le résultat du partenariat entre Maria Dolores Uribe et Laura Abe Vettoretti qui cherchent à connecter et à retrouver leurs racines transcendantales à travers un solde échantillon de design contemporain de collection, à découvrir en ligne. Découvrez le projet UNNO, le design latino-américain enfin mis en lumière.

 

Design latino-américain, UNNO Gallery, paysage d'Amérique latine

Design latino-américain, UNNO Gallery, 32 General Prim, a “Porfirian” house in Mexico
Design latino-américain, UNNO Gallery

 

 

Terre, tradition et transmission

 

À l’origine du projet UNNO, est le commencement. Le véritable commencement, celui lié à l’origine de la terre, avant l’histoire, la matière, avant même l’humanité. UNNO s’inspire du recours aux mythes par les anciens pour expliquer l’existence et comment, à travers une histoire commune, la transmission s’est faite. Sous-jacents aux préoccupations premières, les peuples et les générations néanmoins se lèguent et diffusent le savoir de la terre, mais aussi des connaissances et des capacités artistiques pour la transmettre au monde et à l’époque contemporaine.

Les designers dont les collections font partie du projet en sont la preuve: l’âge d’or des civilisations qui ont habité le continent Américain sont toujours une source d’inspiration aujourd’hui. UNNO prône l’évolution du design comme forme d’art et moyen d’expression, rassemblant en son nom les savoirs millénaires des artisans et le potentiel génial des artistes contemporains. Les fondatrices de la galerie numérique considèrent le design comme élément indispensable faisant le lien entre les époques et les croyances.

 

Maria Dolores Uribe et Laura Abe Vettoretti
Sculpture de jade, Mexique
UNNO, galerie numérique, présente le travaille de Ian Felton
Design latino-américain, UNNO Gallery, 32 General Prim, a “Porfirian” house in Mexico

 

 

Collectible design et design latino-américain

 

L’idée créative de ce projet – rendu possible par la synergie créative et bouillonnante de Maria Dolores Uribe et Laura Abe Vettoretti, les fondatrices – est de développer une nouvelle façon de présenter l’art et le design, dépourvue de tout espace d’exposition physique et, par conséquent, à la portée de chacun: une conception globalisée et unique. Depuis 2019, grâce au projet UNNO, elles mettent en valeur le travail de plusieurs studios de design latino-américains, mais pas que, dont elle encouragent l’audace et l’innovation dans une logique de rendre hommage aux origines sacrées afin de fusionner différents styles dans une harmonie certaine.

Ainsi, Bandido Studio, César S. Nuñez et Ian Felton ont rejoint le projet UNNO, proposant des objets et du mobilier issu de matériaux latino-américains, comme l’onyx, le jade, la pierre volcanique, le bronze et le nickel, le marbre, le travertin, la craie. Des matériaux qui, comme le désiraient les fondatrices du projet, ont traversé le temps et possède comme une aura mystique, reflétant chaque fois un peu du passé d’où elles viennent pour les transmettre au présent.

 

Galerie numérique UNNO, Tequitqui collection par Cesar Nunez
Mullunu dining table by Ian Felton

Design latino-américain, UNNO Gallery

 

 

 

Les collections

 

Toutes les pièces de la collection UNNO s’inspirent de marqueurs importants dans la culture, l’héritage et le design latino-américain. Quand par exemple, la collection Quintessenza de Abe Vettoretti rend hommage à l’architecture dans son état le plus pur mais aussi le plus brut, la collection de César Nuñez, Tequitqui, transmet l’héritage culturel du Mexique, en racontant comment le destin des indigènes s’est entrelacé avec celui des Espagnols, et parle d’équilibre, de renaissance et des multiples visages du temps. 

Tlanextli, collaboration entre UNNO et Bandido Studio, célèbre la proéminence symbolique du soleil et la double relation entre la lumière et les ténèbres, louangées dans plusieurs inscriptions précolombiennes. Mullunu, du designer américain Ian Felton, démêle la valeur sacrée de la matérialité par un procédé de fusion de la roche volcanique sculptée à la main et d’émaux de surface qui créent des compositions cristallines, transmettant l’illusion du corail sous l’eau. Enfin, Nuscaa, la collection de Abe Vettoretti et Maria Dolores Uribe rappelle la connexion innée entre la Terre et l’humanité, et la crainte que ce grand esprit a suscitée sur la conscience préhispanique.

Les designers ont chacun mis en valeur des savoirs faires et des matériaux dont l’utilisation et le façonnage sont ancestraux et chargés d’histoire. Le projet UNNO, quand à lui, représente la révolution numérique actuelle. Pionnières de par leur concept et leur stratégie de communication, Abe et Maria Dolores transmettent brillamment un concept unique et qui ouvre le champ des possibles en matière d’expériences créatives. Une belle ode au design latino-américain et de collection.

 

Sculpture Quitessenza par Abe Vettoretti
Lampe en onyx et obsidienne par Bandido Studio

 

Retrouvez la galerie UNNO en ligne, évidemment

 

LIKE and SHARE!

M E R C I

 

Written by

Chloé founded Huskdesignblog in 2016. Ever since, she is decoding every nook and cranny to find the best interiors and furniture ideas for her beloved readers and followers, eager for beautiful things.

Input your search keywords and press Enter.