Now Reading:

How do you fool-proof your design choices against trends?

If you are looking to redecorate or update your living space without becoming a fashion victim of the home, la meilleure chose que vous puissiez faire est de sortir de votre « zone de confort de conception » and open yourself up to seeing design that has yet to reach magazines or the high street. Visit design fairs (presque toutes les grandes villes en ont un). Via des blogs, Instagram ou Pinterest, discover and open yourself up to design that is not readily available to the masses. Become a fan of independent designers. Entraînez vos yeux à trouver la beauté dans l’étrange et le différent.

For most of us, buying furniture is a thoughtful consideration and sometimes the only way to purchase affordable design is from a big box or high street store. In this case, don't be afraid of being trendy. If you train your eye and open yourself up to different aesthetics, you can trust yourself to buy something without hesitation when you absolutely love it. When you absolutely love something, trends do not matter. Confidence surpasses trendiness.

 

In my case, I am not against trends at all (unless they bother me on an aesthetic level, like copper as plumbing fixtures). Trends are a way of looking back and seeing how people lived in a certain point in time. When I furnish I room, it is a mix of high and low pieces, and some things will be influenced by the current trends that are circulating around me, whether I like it or not!

However when it comes to purchasing an investment or statement piece (une seule et même dans mon cas), it is usually something I have considered for a long time, and something I have felt I could own forever. These pieces continue to stand the test of time in my life.

 

Julia Hanez Montanez

 

 

 

 ➡ Do you want to ask Julia about furniture, interior design, marketing, trade shows...?

Send over your question now!

 

 

Written by

Julia is an interior designer, Architectural Digest Show (NYC) curator, and The Design Release founder. She is closely working with 150+ independent designers per year and thanks to this, she acquired a wide and open eye on design and trends. Julia is an acknowledged interior advisor and history of design connoisseur.

Input your search keywords and press Enter.

Now Reading:

Comment faire confiance à ses choix créatifs s’ils vont à l’encontre des tendances?

Si vous cherchez à redécorer ou à mettre à jour votre espace de vie sans devenir une victime de la mode intérieure, la meilleure chose que vous puissiez faire est de sortir de votre “zone de confort de conception” et de vous ouvrir à un type de design qui n’a pas encore atteint les magazines ou le grand public. Visitez les salons du design (presque toutes les grandes villes en ont un). Via des blogs, Instagram ou Pinterest, découvrez et ouvrez-vous à un design qui n’est pas facilement accessible aux masses. Devenez fan de designers indépendants. Entraînez vos yeux à trouver la beauté dans l’étrange et le différent.

Pour la plupart d’entre nous, l’achat de mobilier est une considération réfléchie et parfois la seule façon d’acheter du design abordable est d’aller dans une grande surface ou un magasin tout public. Dans ce cas, n’ayez pas peur d’être à la mode. Si vous entraînez votre œil et vous ouvrez à différentes esthétiques, vous pouvez vous fier au fait d’acheter quelque chose sans hésitation lorsque vous l’aimez véritablement. Lorsque vous aimez une pièce, les tendances n’ont pas d’importance. La confiance dépasse la tendance.

 

Dans mon cas, je ne suis pas du tout contre les tendances (à moins qu’elles ne me dérangent sur le plan esthétique, comme le cuivre comme robinetterie par exemple). Les tendances sont un moyen de regarder en arrière et d’analyser la façon dont les gens vivaient à un certain moment. Quand j’aménage ma chambre, c’est toujours en variant les pièces hautes et basses, et certaines d’entre-elles seront forcément influencées par les tendances actuelles qui circulent autour de moi, que cela me plaise ou non!

Cependant, lorsqu’il s’agit d’acheter une pièce pour investissement ou une pièce très affirmée (une seule et même dans mon cas), c’est généralement un objet que j’ai envisagé depuis longtemps, quelque chose que je pense pouvoir posséder pour toujours. Ces pièces continuent de résister à l’épreuve du temps et le resteront à vie.

 

Julia Hanez Montanez

 

 

 

 ➡ Vous voulez poser votre question à Julia sur le design, l’architecture d’intérieur, le marketing, les salons..?

Contactez-nous!

 

 

Written by

Julia is an interior designer, Architectural Digest Show (NYC) curator, and The Design Release founder. She is closely working with 150+ independent designers per year and thanks to this, she acquired a wide and open eye on design and trends. Julia is an acknowledged interior advisor and history of design connoisseur.

Input your search keywords and press Enter.