TREND: Reflective Surfaces

.

 

The mirror creation goes back to the night of the times, and yet of all matters, the mirror is the one that is today always as pampered and used. Incredible and modern surfaces that artists, designers, and architects have mastered, reflective surfaces are surrounding us more than it seems. Reflection on a certain topicality...

 

 

Even in design, reflective surfaces always have a strong symbolic connotation. Probably because it leads us to see the truth, without flaws or distortions, pure truth and things as they are. 

Overhung with a blue granite of Brazil, the collection of tables Azul Bahia by .Tino Seubert - exposed by the Bensimon Gallery - feel us a sort of dreamlike universe where it becomes finally quite easy to imagine a deep blue sea, whose specular surface dazzles us thanks to the sun. 

 

Recently, during some design fairs, we were able to appreciate the work of designers who have used a reflective surface in order to give guts, depth, and perhaps a little mystical dimension to objects and furniture of everyday life.

Thus, Sigh Unseen Offsite 2017 currently exhibits in New York a series of Crosby Studios, where an armchair with purified lines and improbable fineness is staged by a shelf and a suspension made of the same matter. A little further on, you will find yourself face-to-face with the furniture-objects of Slash Objects, who used to play with polished brass to create almost untouchable, magical furniture. We also find with pleasure this magical and sacred dimension in the objects presented by Leah Ring and her collection Another Human, where the raw mineral meets the man-made one, isn't this the best scientific and artistic sign of our evolution?

  

There are also those who create the surprise effect, letting a reflection appear where it was not expected. The Maison Gerard Currently exposes a strange fragmented table, Based Upon, on the occasion of the Collective Design Fair, which one imagines having split naturally, and whose cracked surface reveals an interior where one sees oneself. In the way that a little gold, basic to the outside, precious inside.

On the other hand, we also remember the incredible work of Jiyoun Kim, whose unexpected mirror-stools give the impression of wanting to be hidden, like a mistake or a material that would not want to take the color... The mirror surface wins.

 

Then, there is a kind of game, the one that allows the reflective surfaces to blend, to disguise themselves, to appear different. The work of the photographer Kate Jackling is incredible, and leaves us the task of interpreting reflection as we like: exact replica or reverse reality?

In the same way, we greet the collection Laurent by .Lambert & Fils, whose graphic suspensions have been the gift of concealment . Like a chameleon, the lamp 02 uses the reverberation of colors as cunning to soak up the surrounding environment...

 

Finally, in architecture, there is also a real interest in the world of Psyche, where the mirror-object becomes building material and possible evolution of our habitat. Heirs of the audacity of Frank Gehry in terms of reflection on a large and architectural surface, architects now go further. Pushing to the mirror existing as an imposing structure, these buildings are mirrors with a view on the planet.

With the desired elegance and distortion, the "mirage" of .Doug Aitken disturbs our perception of space, and stops the infinite dimension of the desert on the warm side, when the faceted ovoidal sauna of Bigert & Bergström is a real gem of know-how and inventiveness on the cold side.

 

 

 ➡ Please do not forget to LIKE and SHARE this article if you liked it. A small step for you, a great support for Husk!

T H A N K S

Sources: Designboom, Zeutch, Muuuz

Cover: Crosby Studios, sight unseen offs 2017  

 

 

Chloé Valette

How we Facebook

TENDANCE: Surfaces Réfléchissantes

.

 

La création de l'objet miroir remonte à la nuit des temps, et pourtant de toutes les matières, le miroir est celui qui est aujourd'hui toujours aussi choyé et utilisé. Surfaces incroyables et modernes que les artistes, designers et architectes ont su dompter, les surfaces réfléchissantes nous entourent plus qu'il n'y paraît. Reflexion sur une certaine actualité...

 

 

Même en matière de design, les surfaces réfléchissantes comporte toujours une forte connotation symbolique. Probablement parce qu'elle nous amène à voir la vérité, sans défauts ni déformation, la vérité pure et les choses telles qu'elles sont. 

Surplombées d'un granite bleu du Brésil, la collection de tables Azul Bahia de Tino Seubert - exposées à la Galerie Bensimon - nous plongent dans un univers onirique où il devient finalement tout à fait facile de s'imaginer une mer d'un bleu profond, et dont la surface devenue spéculaire nous éblouie grâce au soleil. 

 

Ces derniers temps lors des manifestations en vue, on a pu apprécier des travaux de designers qui se sont servis d'une surface réfléchissante afin de donner du cran, de la profondeur, et une dimension peut-être un peu mystique à des objets et mobilier du quotidien.

Ainsi, Sigh Unseen Offsite 2017 présente actuellement à New York une série de Crosby Studios, où un fauteuil aux lignes épurées et à la finesse improbable est mis en scène par une étagère et une suspension faits du même appareil. Un peu plus loin, on se trouve nez-à-nez avec les meubles-objets de Slash Objects, qui a pris l'habitude de jouer avec le laiton poli afin de créer un mobilier presque intouchable, magique. On retrouve également avec plaisir cette dimension magique et sacrée dans les objets présentés par Leah Ring et sa collection Another Human, où le minéral brut rencontre le minéral façonné par l'Homme, n'est ce pas là le meilleur signe scientifique et artistique de  notre évolution?

  

Il y a également ceux qui créent l'effet de surprise, en laissant apparaître un reflet là où on ne l'attendait pas. La Maison Gerard expose actuellement une étrange table morcelée, Based Upon, à l'occasion du Collective Design Fair, que l'on imagine s'être fendue naturellement, et dont la surface craquelée laisse entrevoir un intérieur où l'on se voit. A la manière qu'un petite d'or, basique à l'extérieur, précieux à l'intérieur.

A l'inverse, on se souvient également du travail incroyable de Jiyoun Kim, dont les tabourets-miroirs inattendus donnent l'impression de vouloir être cachés, comme une erreur ou un matériau qui ne voudrait pas prendre la couleur... Le miroir est roi.

 

Puis il y a le jeu, celui qui permet aux surfaces réfléchissantes de se fondre, de se déguiser, d'apparaître autre. Le travail de la photographe Kate Jackling est incroyable, et nous laisse le soin d'intreprêter la reflexion comme bon nous semble: exacte réplique ou réalité inversée?

De la même manière, on salue la collection Laurent de Lambert & Fils, dont les suspensions graphiques ont reçu le don de dissimulation. Telle un caméléon, la lampe 02 utilise la réverbération des couleurs comme ruse afin de s'imprégner de l'environnement qui l'entoure... 

 

Enfin, en architecture aussi on assiste à un sévère intérêt pour le monde de psyché, où l'objet miroir devient matériau de construction et possible évolution de notre habitat. Héritiers de l'audace de Frank Gehry en terme de reflexion sur une surface large et architecturale, les architectes vont désormais plus loin.  Poussant à le miroir à exister en tant que structure imposante, ces constructions sont des rétroviseurs avec vue sur la planète.

Avec élégance et distortion souhaité, le "mirage" de Doug Aitken vient perturber notre perception de l'espace, et stoppe la dimension infini du désert du côté chaud, quand le sauna ovoïdal à facettes de Bigert & Bergström est un vrai bijou de savoir-faire et d'inventivité du côté froid.

 

 

 ➡ N'oubliez pas de LIKER et de PARTAGER cet article si vous avez aimé. Un petit geste pour vous, un grand soutien pour Husk!

M E R C I

Sources: DesignBoom, Zeutch, Muuuz

Couverture: Crosby Studios, Sight Unseen Offsite 2017  

 

 

Chloé Valette Rendez-vous sur Hellocoton !

Comment on Facebook